Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


75 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest blood vomit chicken gore rape zombie diarrhea movie ever!
For those of you not familiar with Troma,
don't be fooled by my 5 star rating.
This movie is horrible.
Horrible in the sleaziest, bloodiest, cheesiest way!
My wife left after 10 minutes (Wahoo!;)
Classic Kaufman.

Here's the plot if you need one--
A fast food chicken joint is constructed on an Native American burial ground. I...
Published on October 21, 2008 by C. Christopher Blackshere

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The surprise of the year.
Poultrygeist: Night of the Chicken Dead (Lloyd Kaufman, 2006)

I'm not a big Troma fan. In fact, the last Troma film I remember actually liking was the original The Toxic Avenger. It's gotten to the point where even the Troma name on a movie will cause me to avoid it (even if they're just distributing--I've seen my share of Troma-distributed flicks, and to a...
Published on December 6, 2008 by Robert Beveridge


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

75 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest blood vomit chicken gore rape zombie diarrhea movie ever!, October 21, 2008
By 
This review is from: Poultrygeist: Night of the Chicken Dead (Three-Disc Collector's Edition) (DVD)
For those of you not familiar with Troma,
don't be fooled by my 5 star rating.
This movie is horrible.
Horrible in the sleaziest, bloodiest, cheesiest way!
My wife left after 10 minutes (Wahoo!;)
Classic Kaufman.

Here's the plot if you need one--
A fast food chicken joint is constructed on an Native American burial ground. I guess, although I'm not really positive, that these native's spirits possessed the dead chickens and arose from the grave, seeking double revenge. Chicken zombies from hell!!! Bwaaaaahahahaa.....

Poultrygeist has the basic Troma stuff:
-more gratuitous nudity than a porno (almost)
-revolting projectile vomiting
-extremely disgusting turd spraying
-absurdily bloody decapitations
-outrageous satirical episodes slamming pop culture
-macaroni and cheesy acting
-excessive damage to the crotchal region
-ignoramus heroes that you gotta love
-tactless social commentary
-insane gore stuffed down your throat

Recommended to rednecks, retards, idiots, and people from Boise, Idaho.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The surprise of the year., December 6, 2008
This review is from: Poultrygeist: Night of the Chicken Dead (Three-Disc Collector's Edition) (DVD)
Poultrygeist: Night of the Chicken Dead (Lloyd Kaufman, 2006)

I'm not a big Troma fan. In fact, the last Troma film I remember actually liking was the original The Toxic Avenger. It's gotten to the point where even the Troma name on a movie will cause me to avoid it (even if they're just distributing--I've seen my share of Troma-distributed flicks, and to a one, they're hideous). But the concept behind Poultrygeist was just too plain old stupid for me to pass up, and I have to say, now that I've watched it, I can't remember the last time I was this surprised by a movie. I can't honestly say that I enjoyed it, but it's certainly the funniest movie I've seen this week.

We open with Arbie and Wendy (are you getting the joke yet?), a typical high school couple, making out in the local Indian burial ground, and Wendy promising that going off to college won't change her feelings for Arbie. Yeah, right. Fast-forward a semester, and Arbie has gone back to relive some memories, only to find that the burial ground has been bulldozed to make way for an American Chicken Bunker, a mega-fast-food-mart. It's on the verge of opening, but is under protest by a number of fringe groups, one of which happens to contain Wendy--who, much to Arbie's musical dismay, has become a lesbian and a vegan. To spite her, he decides to get a job at ACB, where he joins co-workers Denny, Paco Bell, Carl Jr. (okay, are you getting the joke now?), and Hummus. Problem is, interpersonal drama is not the only thing going on here, for those Indian spirits aren't too happy about being bulldozed, and have every intention of getting their revenge by possessing everything in sight. From there, the movie becomes a massive gorefest, but in such an over-the-top way that it seems even less like a gore film than, say, Dead Alive does. It's all just stupid fun. (And has a Ron Jeremy cameo!)

The pop culture references come thick and fast in this one, and there's very little that doesn't get skewered here. As well, if you have any aspirations to political correctness at all, you'll probably want to avoid this flick, which takes potshots at every race, creed, color, sexual preference, body type, etc. No matter who you are, there's something in this movie that's liable to offend you. If you like this sort of thing, however, it's great. I've seen more than one review that calls it Troma's best film ever; I'm inclined to agree. ***
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars HORRIBLE, DISGUSTING AND SICK! YEAH....I LIKED IT!, June 20, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The title alone should have given me some idea what to expect, but nothing could prepare me for what I witnessed when I watched 'Poultrygeist'! Loving or hating this film is really a matter of taste, it's absurd and genius and the same time. Horrible over the top acting and gore make this film a must see for fans of such shocking yet hilarious satire.

The only problem with this film is it's length and the musical numbers are way too long! If this film had been edited better, it would be a masterpiece!

Warning this film is DISGUSTING!....so if you're squeamish don't even think about it! There is also lots of nudity, so if that bothers you......!? Well I don't think that will bother anyone interested in this film!

The two disc "EGG-DITION" has tons of extras to keep any fan busy, but the price is a bit much....although it's not much more than the single disc version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cluck you!, August 12, 2008
By 
This review is from: Poultrygeist: Night of the Chicken Dead (Three-Disc Collector's Edition) (DVD)
This is by far the best Troma film to date. Say what you will in argument, but only a select few can truly compare to this finger-licking masterpiece (of chicken). Not only is it a slapstick gore/comedy, but it also makes a tongue-in-cheek-yet-honest poke at the fast food industry. Vegans and PETA fans rejoice! Or at least appreciate. However, this is NOT for those who are easily offended (and really, why are you watching a Troma film if you are?!). A-pluses all around, and a big pat on the back to all of those who slept on basement floors, church floors, and ate cheese sandwiches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 Stars In Troma's world, November 10, 2008
This review is from: Poultrygeist: Night of the Chicken Dead (Three-Disc Collector's Edition) (DVD)
OK, yes it rates low in the overall scheme of things but for Troma this could be the best they've ever done. Buckets of gore and bodily fluids, loads of half naked chicks (no pun intended), terrible acting, hilarious musical numbers. As with most Tromas you get a feature length making of that makes you wonder how they ever get a movie made. I laughed from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than Citizen Kane, August 3, 2008
By 
hukuyu "Oak" (Burlington, NC USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Poultrygeist: Night of the Chicken Dead (Three-Disc Collector's Edition) (DVD)
I like Chicken. I like movies. I like movies about chicken. This is the most anticipated movie of the season for me. Classic Troma Films presentation. Buy it today, but hide it from your girlfriend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poultrygeist: Night of the AWESOME!, August 13, 2008
By 
Dean Pickles (Brooklyn, NY, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Poultrygeist: Night of the Chicken Dead (Three-Disc Collector's Edition) (DVD)
I might be completely biased (okay, I am!), but I'm pretty sure Poultrygeist is the best film Troma's made since THE TOXIC AVENGER (and, although it might be blasphemous to say, it might be even BETTER than the Toxic Avenger!) A true grindhouse flick, with as much gore as Peter Jackson's BRAIN DEAD / DEAD ALIVE, and as much singing and dancing as THE SOUND OF MUSIC. Hilarious, stupid, fun, outrageous, offensive, and completely gleeful in it's utter disregard for community standards or moral standing. I'm super-excited about owning my own copy of this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ONE OF TROMA'S BEST!!, December 6, 2008
By 
Lou Rusconi (El Cajon, California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Poultrygeist: Night of the Chicken Dead (Three-Disc Collector's Edition) (DVD)
POULTRYGEIST is one of Troma's best films to date!! I love the gore and the pure un-PC-ness of everything! This fits nicely next to The Toxic Avenger, Citizen Toxie, Class OF Nuke'EM High and Mother's Day, these are all CLASSICKS in my opinion and POULTRYGEIST fits right in. The songs are AMAZING!! I highly recommend the soundtrack too, which I picked up right away as well!! Lloyd Kaufman really outdid himself on this masterPIECE!!
PICK THIS SUCKA UP!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poultygeist: Night of the Chicken Dead, March 26, 2011
By 
Girly-Girl "Watcher" (Woodbridge, VA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This movie is a gem, a real giggle-fest. It has all the corny, gross, blood-splattering, and nudity you'd expect from a Troma film. It also has some catchy songs you'll be singing all day and hilarious one-liners that will have you rolling off the couch with laughter. This being the Special Egg-Dition, you also have an extra disc of fun facts about the creation of this movie and the dedicated people who really wanted to make this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buckets of Body Fluids!!!, November 25, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Poultrygeist: Night of the Chicken Dead (Three-Disc Collector's Edition) (DVD)
The acting is cheesy, the jokes are corny and there are multiple choreographed songs, but let me tell you that the absurd amount of blood, gore, vomit, diarrhea and decapitations make this one of the most entertaining movies I have seen this year! This is an instant cult classic and Mr. Kaufman has ascended to a new level, your throne is waiting sir! This tornado of insanity runs full throttle from beginning to end without a single dull moment and should have you rolling in hysterics ( Be warned, an extremely sick sense of humor is definitely required! ). This little gem will surely have you asking yourself, Did I just see that? Well...uh...the answer is yes...oh good lord yes! If over-the-top special effects, gratuitous nudity, vulgar language and some of the most eye-wincing, teeth-grinding death scenes ever put on film are your type of thing, pick up this film without any further delay, it will surely not disappoint! Wow....I'm still in amazement, I think I might frame this DVD!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Poultrygeist: Night of the Chicken Dead (Three-Disc Collector's Edition)
Used & New from: $11.54
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.