Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


75 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest blood vomit chicken gore rape zombie diarrhea movie ever!
For those of you not familiar with Troma,
don't be fooled by my 5 star rating.
This movie is horrible.
Horrible in the sleaziest, bloodiest, cheesiest way!
My wife left after 10 minutes (Wahoo!;)
Classic Kaufman.

Here's the plot if you need one--
A fast food chicken joint is constructed on an Native American burial ground. I...
Published on October 21, 2008 by C. Christopher Blackshere

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The surprise of the year.
Poultrygeist: Night of the Chicken Dead (Lloyd Kaufman, 2006)

I'm not a big Troma fan. In fact, the last Troma film I remember actually liking was the original The Toxic Avenger. It's gotten to the point where even the Troma name on a movie will cause me to avoid it (even if they're just distributing--I've seen my share of Troma-distributed flicks, and to a...
Published on December 6, 2008 by Robert Beveridge


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

75 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest blood vomit chicken gore rape zombie diarrhea movie ever!, October 21, 2008
By 
For those of you not familiar with Troma,
don't be fooled by my 5 star rating.
This movie is horrible.
Horrible in the sleaziest, bloodiest, cheesiest way!
My wife left after 10 minutes (Wahoo!;)
Classic Kaufman.

Here's the plot if you need one--
A fast food chicken joint is constructed on an Native American burial ground. I guess, although I'm not really positive, that these native's spirits possessed the dead chickens and arose from the grave, seeking double revenge. Chicken zombies from hell!!! Bwaaaaahahahaa.....

Poultrygeist has the basic Troma stuff:
-more gratuitous nudity than a porno (almost)
-revolting projectile vomiting
-extremely disgusting turd spraying
-absurdily bloody decapitations
-outrageous satirical episodes slamming pop culture
-macaroni and cheesy acting
-excessive damage to the crotchal region
-ignoramus heroes that you gotta love
-tactless social commentary
-insane gore stuffed down your throat

Recommended to rednecks, retards, idiots, and people from Boise, Idaho.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The surprise of the year., December 6, 2008
Poultrygeist: Night of the Chicken Dead (Lloyd Kaufman, 2006)

I'm not a big Troma fan. In fact, the last Troma film I remember actually liking was the original The Toxic Avenger. It's gotten to the point where even the Troma name on a movie will cause me to avoid it (even if they're just distributing--I've seen my share of Troma-distributed flicks, and to a one, they're hideous). But the concept behind Poultrygeist was just too plain old stupid for me to pass up, and I have to say, now that I've watched it, I can't remember the last time I was this surprised by a movie. I can't honestly say that I enjoyed it, but it's certainly the funniest movie I've seen this week.

We open with Arbie and Wendy (are you getting the joke yet?), a typical high school couple, making out in the local Indian burial ground, and Wendy promising that going off to college won't change her feelings for Arbie. Yeah, right. Fast-forward a semester, and Arbie has gone back to relive some memories, only to find that the burial ground has been bulldozed to make way for an American Chicken Bunker, a mega-fast-food-mart. It's on the verge of opening, but is under protest by a number of fringe groups, one of which happens to contain Wendy--who, much to Arbie's musical dismay, has become a lesbian and a vegan. To spite her, he decides to get a job at ACB, where he joins co-workers Denny, Paco Bell, Carl Jr. (okay, are you getting the joke now?), and Hummus. Problem is, interpersonal drama is not the only thing going on here, for those Indian spirits aren't too happy about being bulldozed, and have every intention of getting their revenge by possessing everything in sight. From there, the movie becomes a massive gorefest, but in such an over-the-top way that it seems even less like a gore film than, say, Dead Alive does. It's all just stupid fun. (And has a Ron Jeremy cameo!)

The pop culture references come thick and fast in this one, and there's very little that doesn't get skewered here. As well, if you have any aspirations to political correctness at all, you'll probably want to avoid this flick, which takes potshots at every race, creed, color, sexual preference, body type, etc. No matter who you are, there's something in this movie that's liable to offend you. If you like this sort of thing, however, it's great. I've seen more than one review that calls it Troma's best film ever; I'm inclined to agree. ***
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars HORRIBLE, DISGUSTING AND SICK! YEAH....I LIKED IT!, June 20, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The title alone should have given me some idea what to expect, but nothing could prepare me for what I witnessed when I watched 'Poultrygeist'! Loving or hating this film is really a matter of taste, it's absurd and genius and the same time. Horrible over the top acting and gore make this film a must see for fans of such shocking yet hilarious satire.

The only problem with this film is it's length and the musical numbers are way too long! If this film had been edited better, it would be a masterpiece!

Warning this film is DISGUSTING!....so if you're squeamish don't even think about it! There is also lots of nudity, so if that bothers you......!? Well I don't think that will bother anyone interested in this film!

The two disc "EGG-DITION" has tons of extras to keep any fan busy, but the price is a bit much....although it's not much more than the single disc version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cluck you!, August 12, 2008
By 
This is by far the best Troma film to date. Say what you will in argument, but only a select few can truly compare to this finger-licking masterpiece (of chicken). Not only is it a slapstick gore/comedy, but it also makes a tongue-in-cheek-yet-honest poke at the fast food industry. Vegans and PETA fans rejoice! Or at least appreciate. However, this is NOT for those who are easily offended (and really, why are you watching a Troma film if you are?!). A-pluses all around, and a big pat on the back to all of those who slept on basement floors, church floors, and ate cheese sandwiches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 Stars In Troma's world, November 10, 2008
OK, yes it rates low in the overall scheme of things but for Troma this could be the best they've ever done. Buckets of gore and bodily fluids, loads of half naked chicks (no pun intended), terrible acting, hilarious musical numbers. As with most Tromas you get a feature length making of that makes you wonder how they ever get a movie made. I laughed from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Only Troma, Only Troma, December 6, 2008
Yup, that Lloyd Kaufman is at it again. And like most of the recent Troma films, Kaufman is upping the ante on what gross out, bad taste, low brow shenanigans he can put on screen and get away with.
Poultrygeist is about a corporate fast food chicken joint that sets up camp right on top of an ancient Native American burial ground. This makes for some nasty, veiny, green oozing eggs that infect folks and give them a serious case of The Trots. Not only that but the green infected chicken also turns folks into chicken beaked zombies. Arby is a dorky college student on his first day of the job when all of this goes down. He must rekindle his relationship with his girlfriend(who turned lesbian on him while he was away), provide great customer service and deal with the chicken zombies and ultimately save the day.
It's typical Troma fare, though a bit more ambitious in the gross out department. Low grade FX are common for Troma, and while they're still cheap and schlocky here, they're probably some of the best we've seen in a Troma film. It looks like a lot of time was spent on them. The latter half of the film, where the chicken zombies run amok, pulls out all the stops. Kaufman's really going for the throat here. It almost seems as though he were trying to compete with Peter Jackson's Dead Alive, but Jackson's film is nearly impossible to top in sheer quantity of gore, blood and prosthetics. Being Troma, a lot more sexual violence is thrown in such as a guy getting his testicles tore off and thrown into the deep fryer, or a man growing breasts which burst open to reveal baby chicken heads. Of course the childish sex humor is in full swing too. We instinctively know that being a Troma film about fast food that some bodily fluids will end up in the food preparation....and they do! One character has sex with a partially thawed chicken(a hillbilly of course), a few lesbian and bizarre fetish scenes are thrown in as well. No minority group is safe from ribbing either.
I did like the film. I'm not a hardcore Troma fan though I've seen most of their films. For me, the mood has to be right in order for me to enjoy them. I feel that sometimes they just try way too hard to be zany and silly and some of the films tend to run out of steam really fast. This film was kinda fun though. It was gory and off the wall enough to be fascinating. My only real complaint was the leading man, who I feel is one of the most annoying and unlikable "heroes" I've ever seen in a movie, Troma or otherwise. It's sad to see a fast food employee that's actually more annoying than Spongebob Squarepants.
Yes, it's tasteless and disgusting and will have the average moviegoer running for the door(I can't imagine how my wife is gonna respond! He he he.). Troma fans simply can't go wrong. Cult and horror fans might be split down the middle coz even fans of those genres can feel that Troma is just a bit too goofy. But whether you like it or not, I don't think anyone will be able to say it wasn't unique.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 Star Rating For Lloyd Kaufman, November 23, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Troma Film Studios has assembled a great stellar cast including Jason Yachanin, Kate Graham, Robin Watkins, Allyson Sereboff, Joshua Olatunde, Rose Ghavami, Caleb Emerson, Khalid Rivera, Lloyd Kaufman (also the writer/director), Brian Cheverie, Michael Herz as the Subway guy; Jared, Faith Sheenan Gallivan, Ron Jeremy, Tessa Lew and John Karyus as the main cast members for the best Troma movie. This movie is funny but not for all audiences, unless you enjoy gore combined with more gore. But, it's Lloyd Kaufman, what else to say? The main plot is about an idiotic high school graduate (Jason Yachanin) being hired by the American Chicken Bunker; Tromaville's new fast food restaurant. The restaurant was built on Indian Burial Grounds. After a bunch of deaths and possessions take place; the high school graduate (now a cashier), his lesbian turned girlfriend (Kate Graham), a greedy fast food mogul (Robin Watkins), a fellow protestor (Allyson Sereboff), an oddly familiar old man (Lloyd Kaufman), a goofy priest (Brian Cheverie) and a Muslim immigrant (Rose Ghavami) are the only ones to stop the zombie chickens before they take over America. This is also a very loose parody on POLTERGEIST and NIGHT OF THE LIVING DEAD, you can see why too. A few of my favorite scenes are when Arbie questions Carl Jr. about how to kill these zombies, Denny's monologue about a chicken attack on the Indianapolis delivery truck (spoofs Quint's monologue in JAWS about the Indianapolis shark attacck) and Michael Herz making fun of Jared (the man who lost a lot of weight from fast food sandwiches) 5 out of 5 star rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poultrygeist: Night of the AWESOME!, August 13, 2008
By 
Dean Pickles (Brooklyn, NY, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I might be completely biased (okay, I am!), but I'm pretty sure Poultrygeist is the best film Troma's made since THE TOXIC AVENGER (and, although it might be blasphemous to say, it might be even BETTER than the Toxic Avenger!) A true grindhouse flick, with as much gore as Peter Jackson's BRAIN DEAD / DEAD ALIVE, and as much singing and dancing as THE SOUND OF MUSIC. Hilarious, stupid, fun, outrageous, offensive, and completely gleeful in it's utter disregard for community standards or moral standing. I'm super-excited about owning my own copy of this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic horror comedy!, November 15, 2008
By 
John Lindsey "John" (Socorro, New Mexico USA.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
In Tromaville, there was once a sacred Indian burial ground which was part of the town's history as a year later a military themed fast food KFC-like fast food franchise called "American Chicken Bunker" was built over it. A nerdy High School graduate named Arby now works there now that his girlfriend has turned all Lesbian (Or is it Bi?) with some Lesbian protester who wants to have the place shut down. But unfortunately evil spirits begin to take over the food as they turn whoever eats it into vicious killer Chicken-esque zombies or killer fanged Chicken demons as it turns into a blood night of hell.

Entertaining, funny as hell and gory horror musical comedy spoof from Troma has made their greatest masterpiece yet since "The Toxic Avenger". Director and Troma creator Lloyd Kaufman with producer Michael Herz has conjured up a diabolically fun and gruesome flick that uses social satire on the fast food industry, eroticism, lesbianism, vomit, laughs, toliet humor, catchy music, an appearence by the legendary Ron Jeremy, and extreme cartoonish gore and violence abound that will churn your stomach. I saw this last year in theaters at Tromadance and it blew me away, it's an instant cult classic that is a must see but not for the squeamish.

This 3-Disc limited edition has terrific extras like audio commentary, Theatrical trailer to this and other Troma films, Alternate happy ending, Promos, music videos, easter eggs, deleted scenes, feature length documentary, featurettes, and Kara-yolke Karaoke singalong disc. This is one of the most politically incorrect, funniest and bloodiest films i've ever seen but it may offend some people but fans of gore, horror comedies and Troma should see this one.

Also recommended: "Shaun of the Dead", "The Toxic Avenger series", "Street Trash", "Re-Animator", "Dead Alive", "Cemetery Man", "The Return of the Living Dead Trilogy", "Pet Sematary", "Dawn of The Dead (1978 and 2004)", "From Dusk Till Dawn", "Bad Taste", "Fido", "Night of the Living Dead (1968 and 1990)", "Day of the Dead (1985)", "Terror Firmer", "Dance of the Dead (2008)", "Undead", "Evil Dead 1 & 2", "Tromeo and Juliet", "Riki-Oh: The Story of Ricky", "Versus", "Beetlejuice", "Blood Diner", "Cannibal The Musical", "Little Shop of Horrors (1986)", "Class of Nuke'Em High", "Ebola Syndrome", and "Zombie Strippers".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Disgustingly Unique and Entertaining! A True Original!, November 2, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If only Troma was able to crank these gems out faster!
I was lucky enough to be in a test audience for this movie several years ago. It was unfinished but still very entertaining! Troma was 20 years ahead of its time in the 80's, where now the level of comical gore and perversion of those previous 80's films is now commonplace. Poultrygeist is here to raise the bar up several notches! I cannot wait to see the final cut! I remember seeing and hearing things so outrageous I found myself in some weird moral grey area of feeling guilty that I was laughing. I don't want to go into detail spoiling anything, but you will experience things you've never seen before or could imagine. If you don't like politically incorrect comedy with perverted message of demented hope...avoid this movie! If you've just experienced some harsh reality and would like to escape reality into a world of the ridiculous chicken zombie, then this is the movie for you. This movie is not only for the die-hard Troma fan, but also for anyone who enjoys crude humor that can be found on Adult Swim, Comedy Central, or "the Internets" Prepare to have your mind blown. That's right,..."blown"!

UPDATE: After watching the final cut on DVD, I have to subtract 1 star. I was appalled to find out that Lloyd censored the toliet gag. The commentary revealed that his wife, a financier, demanded the effect to be censored. Having remembered the uncensored effect from the rough cut of the movie, I became strangely upset. I wonder if the Blu Ray has added it back? I don't know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Poultrygeist: Night of the Chicken Dead [Blu-ray]
Poultrygeist: Night of the Chicken Dead [Blu-ray] by Lloyd Kaufman (Blu-ray - 2010)
$19.95 $14.28
Usually ships in 2 to 3 days
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.