Customer Reviews


88 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HCG Diet
I have been on this diet since January 2011. I have lost well over 25 pounds in 4 weeks. This book is a must for people on HCG. I am going on Maintenance one ,2, 3 here soon. When it is all said and done I will have lost 50 pounds in 5 months.... Its amazing what this HCG Diet will do for you... :)
Published on February 7, 2011 by SSS

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Read
Have not tried the plan yet. It sounds like something I could handle for a trial run. If it does not work for me I will return with another reveiw.
Published 9 months ago by Princess p


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HCG Diet, February 7, 2011
By 
SSS (Colorado, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pounds & Inches: A New Approach To Obesity (Paperback)
I have been on this diet since January 2011. I have lost well over 25 pounds in 4 weeks. This book is a must for people on HCG. I am going on Maintenance one ,2, 3 here soon. When it is all said and done I will have lost 50 pounds in 5 months.... Its amazing what this HCG Diet will do for you... :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lose Weight Quickly But Properly, January 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pounds & Inches: A New Approach To Obesity (Paperback)
Pounds and Inches-A New Approach to Obesity
by Dr. A.T.W. Simeons is a revolutionary concept
which covers eating mechanisms and the process
of dispelling abnormal fat from the body.
Dr.Simeons begins by explaining how pre-Neolithic
humans ate only when hungry. Much of the food
was raw and unrefined like fruits, veggies, nuts
and seeds.

The whole structure of the human digestive system
is very much like a rat or pig. The process of eating
is adjusted to continuous nibbling on tidbits rather
than gorging on lavish meals and huge portions
of food. The modern way of eating burdens the
digestive system according to Dr. A.T.W. Simeons.

Dr. Simeones explains that there are three kinds
of fat. Structural fat is needed to cushion
vital organs; otherwise, a tap to the stomach
could kill you. Normal fat reserves are localized
throughout the body on every limb. Abnormal fat
is locked away in fixed deposits. This fat is the
most difficult to shed for dieters everywhere.
Abnormal fat is responsible for morbid obesity.

Historically, various theoretical notions have
failed in the actual execution of weight loss
attempts. Thyroid modulation deals with normal fat
accumulation not abnormal deposits. Dr. Simeones
found that there is no evidence to suggest that
excess adrenalcortical activity occurs in
obese patients.

Dr. Simeons explains that there are three theories
of obesity. The first is that fat banking capacity
is low at birth. This explains why siblings
who eat the same food at the table have vastly
different weight experiences during life. Some get
fat while others do not. The second reason is the
lowering of a previously normal fat banking activity.
The third reason is analogous to the poor person
getting fat and rich. While poor, he can't afford
to luxuriate on processed foods. A rich person tends
to eat more refined foods and larger portions.

On a small daily dose of HCG
( Human Chorionic Gonadotrophin), patients could
subsist on 500 calories a day and lose a pound a day
under strict medical supervision. Patients who need
to lose 15 pounds or less require 26 days treatment
and daily injections of HCG for 23 days. HCG puts
abnormal fat back into circulation-something that
many diets fail to do. Patients with over 15 pounds
to lose can take 40 HCG injections in the first round.
Limiting HCG injections to 40 prevents developing
an immunity to the HCG injections.

Patients with one hundred or more pounds to lose
have multiple administrations of HCG at 40 doses
of injections for each administration. Some exercise
during treatment facilitates weight loss and
muscle toning. Again, strict medical supervision is
required- especially for morbidly obese patients.

The HCG injections and diet protocol may not be
indicated for patients with cardiovascular
or gallbladder problems. Contraindications
exist for pregnant patients as well. That's
why strict medical supervision is required by
responsible practitioners.

Pounds and Inches-A New Approach to Obesity is
a wonderful medical resource on weight management
under the strictest medical supervision with a
carefully crafted regimen of HCG injections, carefully
portioned diets and strict clinical supervision every
step of the way. Dr. Simeons is a pioneer in the study
of body metabolic systems.

He discovered the use of injectable atebrin for malaria
for which he was awarded a Red Cross Order of Merit,
and also a new method of staining malaria parasites
now known as "Simeons' stain." 1)
In addition, Dr. Simeones made historic contributions
in the treatment of the bubonic plague and leprosy.

References:
1) Hcgobesity.org by Dr. Simeones
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, January 1, 2011
By 
Kurt (Orem, Ut, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pounds & Inches: A New Approach To Obesity (Paperback)
Great book. I've heard a lot about this diet and once I read the book it made much more sense. Much better then the downloads you can on internet that don't always include all the text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars HCG Know How, August 21, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pounds & Inches: A New Approach To Obesity (Paperback)
I was told to read this book because the detils are from the creator himself- I agree I read others that gave me recipes and such for foods that are not on the diet.
I'm sure glad I listened to that advice, doing this diet correctly is key. I am on day 28 and 25lbs lighter. I will put in the effort to see the results and I have never had results this quickly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Changed my perception of "obesity" forever, April 25, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pounds & Inches: A New Approach To Obesity (Paperback)
This book involves the memoirs of the pioneering work of using a highly precise and sophisticated 500 calorie diet and the use of the HCG hormone, to shift the body into burning fat rather than abnormally storing it, which is the obsity condition and has nothing to do with how much body fat a person carries. In theory even an underweight person can have "obesity."

The book is amazingly 40 years old. Therapy was by injection, but today there is HCG in an oral form.

The online free versions of this book is OK, but for the little money it costs, this book is a better deal. The print is easier to read.

Fascinating book. Anyone who criticises it must have a personality disorder. It is the only real source of information on this. Other books simply rip you off by reinventing the wheel or worse yet will give you a "defective" proverbial wheel that will fall off at 80 mph :-)

It is a protocol and therapy - not a "diet" like some books treat it - with recipes for disaster, to boot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great tool for HCG protocol users, January 25, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pounds & Inches: A New Approach To Obesity (Paperback)
This book was a great tool in assisting me as I underwent the HCG diet. I was able to find answers to my questions and also exactly what the protocol was for following the HCG diet as Dr. Simeons created it. I highly recommend this book to all those who are considering using HCG and even for those who have already gone on the diet/lifestyle change HCG brings about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Basics, April 4, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pounds & Inches: A New Approach To Obesity (Paperback)
If you decide to use the hcg diet you have to have this book for the basics.Well written and informative.A must for the hcg diet beginner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for those going on the HCG Diet, May 7, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pounds & Inches: A New Approach To Obesity (Paperback)
This book is vital to learning all you need to know about doing the HCG diet. Gives history, background and solutions to common errors for people doing the diet. Helps you understand how the whole process works. Excelent resource.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very happy - clean copy of the protocol, October 11, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pounds & Inches: A New Approach To Obesity (Paperback)
I appreciated being able to find this in paper form, while a techno-geek and I have copies on my iPhone, my laptop and Kindle, I'm still connected to paper, a highlighter and writing in the margins.

No modifications to the protocol, you get the plain Jane version and in his own words. Worth it to me to have it as reference and helps keep me honest. Follow it strictly and you will loose more than the new and improved versions of his diet that are currently being marketed. I keep it slid in the side of my briefcase/computer bag, and sits there as a reminder of what I've gained (lost) and to stay the course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HCG Diet, May 30, 2011
By 
Sandy Shores (Lansing, MI United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pounds & Inches: A New Approach To Obesity (Paperback)
Pounds & Inches: A New Approach To Obesity The original manuscript of Dr. A.T.W. Simeons protocol on the HCG diet. I already had a copy I downloaded from the internet, but wanted a more compact edition to carry around. I have begun the protocol and in 5 days on the prescribed diet, I have lost 11 pounds. If you are contemplating this diet, read this book first, as there is a lot to know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Pounds & Inches: A New Approach To Obesity
Pounds & Inches: A New Approach To Obesity by Dr. A.T.W Simeons (Paperback - December 3, 2010)
$14.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.