Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Book And A Great Exercise Program
Growing up in Yugoslavia I can remember Isometric Exercises like those presented in this excellent book being very popular. The reasons for this are first and foremost they work. I remember watching old time circus strongmen performing incredible feats of strength. One of the main training methods they used was isometrics. Another reason for their popularity back then, I...
Published on January 29, 2010 by Miro Vesely

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The book is completely plagiarised!
This is a COMPLETE ripoff of Paul O'Brien's original '7 seconds to a perfect Body' course. (Which is now, in its new version, better and much more detailed than the original.)

The exercises, the explanations, everything... almost copied word-for-word.

Now, you'd think that he'd put HIS great, muscular body on the front page, just to show off his...
Published 10 months ago by Feliciano


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Book And A Great Exercise Program, January 29, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Power Isometrics: The Complete Course that allows you to Build a Strong and Athletic Body in only 30 minutes a Day! (Animal Kingdom Workouts) (Paperback)
Growing up in Yugoslavia I can remember Isometric Exercises like those presented in this excellent book being very popular. The reasons for this are first and foremost they work. I remember watching old time circus strongmen performing incredible feats of strength. One of the main training methods they used was isometrics. Another reason for their popularity back then, I suspect, was that they can be done anywhere and at anytime without any special equipment. This was important as the notion of gyms as we know them today really didn't exist back then, particular in a poor country.

I found this book's presentation to be simple and straightforward. The workout plan laid out is easy to follow, effective and can be done by anyone and I bet will benefit everyone who tries it, including seniors. Every exercise is illustrated and described in detail. Isometrics may not bet the flashiest exercises out there, but they are effective. Books like this are helping to bring back this classic form of exercise. I think that's a good thing. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Developing strong muscles and getting fit is as close as your own body., March 19, 2011
This review is from: Power Isometrics: The Complete Course that allows you to Build a Strong and Athletic Body in only 30 minutes a Day! (Animal Kingdom Workouts) (Paperback)
I wanted some exercises I could do without equipment. Moreover, I had read that isometric exercises were, in many ways, superior to isotonic, such as weight lifting.

I know that power yoga, a combination of isometric and isotonic, is a wonderful, dynamic workout. But, I wanted something totally isometric and powerful.

What is the secret of the isometric contraction and isometric exercises in general.

According to the author, "Now, instead of performing biceps curls with weights, what happens when you work your muscles against each other? Imagine you place your hands together palm-to-palm in front of your chest and you start squeezing as hard as you can. Your brain is getting the message that it is trying to move your right arm leftward and your left arm rightward. In order to do this it needs to contract muscles in both arms. It starts to do this but because there is no movement, no contraction occurs. How does your brain respond? It keeps recruiting more and more muscle fibers together in an attempt to contract the muscles and move the arms. It has no idea that this is a futile exercise as the arms are acting against themselves! In a way with an isometric contraction you are tricking your brain into using ALL of the available muscle fibers at the same time. This is why it is possible to exhaust ALL of the muscle fibers in 7 to 12 seconds." That, he says, is the secret to isometric exercising.

To illustrate the power of isometrics the author tells the story of Alexander Zass. He writes, "A world famous strongman at the beginning of the last century, he was known by his stage name "The Mighty Samson". He is also considered by many to be the father of isometric exercises. This is his story.

Young Alexander was born in Poland but raised in Russia. When he was a boy his grandfather took him to the circus. Of all the sights he saw there, it was the circus strongmen that impressed him the most. He vowed to become as strong as they were and join the circus himself one day. He started training immediately, doing such activities as climbing trees and lifting barbells and dumbbells.

It wasn't long before he was strong enough to join a circus. Once there he learned even more from the strongmen he worked with. He built his physique up and he was widely known for his great strength. During World War I, however, Alexander Zass was captured and imprisoned by the Austrians.

Confined to a cell and bound by shackles, Zass became despondent. How could he train when he could barely move? He feared that without exercise he would rapidly lose the incredible strength that he had worked so hard to acquire.

Out of sheer frustration he began straining against the shackles that bound him and the prison bars that confined him. Without knowing it he began exercising using isometric principles.

Much to his surprise he found that this method of training allowed him to become stronger than ever before!

How strong did he get? So strong that when the opportunity presented itself he was able to bend and break the shackles that bound him BY HAND. Next he ripped out the prison bars, bent one of them into a J hook for scaling the wall, and was able to make his escape!

After the War, Alexander Zass toured Europe performing amazing feats of strength as the "Mighty Samson". He was known for bending bars, breaking chains with his chest, lifting 500 pound girders with his teeth and carrying small horses. The only training method he used was isometrics - he never lifted weights. Later he published a training book of isometric exercises that sold well throughout Europe."

Actually, as the story says, Zass did lift weights at least in the beginning of his career. But apparently he did not after his stint in prison.

But, the important thing is this story illustrates the real power of isometrics. I might add that the late Bruce Lee is said to have used isometrics to a very large extent, as do most martial artists.

The author has a FAQ in the book. He takes the time to answer lots of questions. My one and only concern was that I was not convinced he is truly qualified to write this book. He has no credentials that I can discover. On the other hand, he seems to have done his research.

Finally, he tells us that if we follow the program for a month we can expect the following:

"Your entire body will be stronger, firmer and more defined. You'll have more endurance and mentally you'll be more focused and alert than ever before. You'll feel more alive and your confidence will soar as well."

I rather think he may be right. For the most part, when done correctly, isometric exercises are powerful and safe. He tells you exactly how to do each exercise and offers pictures.

If you're looking for a good book on isometrics, this is a good one. I must say, however, the part of isometric exercises only takes up about one-half the book. The rest is bonus material --- useful but not related to the subject. At least this is true in the Kindle version, which I have.

Having said that, not much more is needed to be said than what he presents. He covers everything.

Highly recommended.

-- Susanna K. Hutcheson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Developing strong muscles and getting fit is as close as your own body., March 19, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I wanted some exercises I could do without equipment. Moreover, I had read that isometric exercises were, in many ways, superior to isotonic, such as weight lifting.

I know that power yoga, a combination of isometric and isotonic, is a wonderful, dynamic workout. But, I wanted something totally isometric and powerful.

What is the secret of the isometric contraction and isometric exercises in general.

According to the author, "Now, instead of performing biceps curls with weights, what happens when you work your muscles against each other? Imagine you place your hands together palm-to-palm in front of your chest and you start squeezing as hard as you can. Your brain is getting the message that it is trying to move your right arm leftward and your left arm rightward. In order to do this it needs to contract muscles in both arms. It starts to do this but because there is no movement, no contraction occurs. How does your brain respond? It keeps recruiting more and more muscle fibers together in an attempt to contract the muscles and move the arms. It has no idea that this is a futile exercise as the arms are acting against themselves! In a way with an isometric contraction you are tricking your brain into using ALL of the available muscle fibers at the same time. This is why it is possible to exhaust ALL of the muscle fibers in 7 to 12 seconds." That, he says, is the secret to isometric exercising.

To illustrate the power of isometrics the author tells the story of Alexander Zass. He writes, "A world famous strongman at the beginning of the last century, he was known by his stage name "The Mighty Samson". He is also considered by many to be the father of isometric exercises. This is his story.

Young Alexander was born in Poland but raised in Russia. When he was a boy his grandfather took him to the circus. Of all the sights he saw there, it was the circus strongmen that impressed him the most. He vowed to become as strong as they were and join the circus himself one day. He started training immediately, doing such activities as climbing trees and lifting barbells and dumbbells.

It wasn't long before he was strong enough to join a circus. Once there he learned even more from the strongmen he worked with. He built his physique up and he was widely known for his great strength. During World War I, however, Alexander Zass was captured and imprisoned by the Austrians.

Confined to a cell and bound by shackles, Zass became despondent. How could he train when he could barely move? He feared that without exercise he would rapidly lose the incredible strength that he had worked so hard to acquire.

Out of sheer frustration he began straining against the shackles that bound him and the prison bars that confined him. Without knowing it he began exercising using isometric principles.

Much to his surprise he found that this method of training allowed him to become stronger than ever before!

How strong did he get? So strong that when the opportunity presented itself he was able to bend and break the shackles that bound him BY HAND. Next he ripped out the prison bars, bent one of them into a J hook for scaling the wall, and was able to make his escape!

After the War, Alexander Zass toured Europe performing amazing feats of strength as the "Mighty Samson". He was known for bending bars, breaking chains with his chest, lifting 500 pound girders with his teeth and carrying small horses. The only training method he used was isometrics - he never lifted weights. Later he published a training book of isometric exercises that sold well throughout Europe."

Actually, as the story says, Zass did lift weights at least in the beginning of his career. But apparently he did not after his stint in prison.

But, the important thing is this story illustrates the real power of isometrics. I might add that the late Bruce Lee is said to have used isometrics to a very large extent, as do most martial artists.

The author has a FAQ in the book. He takes the time to answer lots of questions. My one and only concern was that I was not convinced he is truly qualified to write this book. He has no credentials that I can discover. On the other hand, he seems to have done his research.

Finally, he tells us that if we follow the program for a month we can expect the following:

"Your entire body will be stronger, firmer and more defined. You'll have more endurance and mentally you'll be more focused and alert than ever before. You'll feel more alive and your confidence will soar as well."

I rather think he may be right. For the most part, when done correctly, isometric exercises are powerful and safe. He tells you exactly how to do each exercise and offers pictures.

If you're looking for a good book on isometrics, this is a good one. I must say, however, the part of isometric exercises only takes up about one-half the book. The rest is bonus material --- useful but not related to the subject. At least this is true in the Kindle version, which I have.

Having said that, not much more is needed to be said than what he presents. He covers everything.

Highly recommended.

-- Susanna K. Hutcheson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, November 8, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought the Isometric DVD and the Kindle Book as a complement. The program is great and the book gives a history about how Isometrics where developed.
The show images of the parts of the body which an exercise works. This book is filled with information and is written very clearly. I do the routine with the DVD and whenever I get a chance (like when I'm waiting at for someone) I read it on my smartphone to keep learning about the exercises.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The book is completely plagiarised!, September 15, 2013
This review is from: Power Isometrics: The Complete Course that allows you to Build a Strong and Athletic Body in only 30 minutes a Day! (Animal Kingdom Workouts) (Paperback)
This is a COMPLETE ripoff of Paul O'Brien's original '7 seconds to a perfect Body' course. (Which is now, in its new version, better and much more detailed than the original.)

The exercises, the explanations, everything... almost copied word-for-word.

Now, you'd think that he'd put HIS great, muscular body on the front page, just to show off his results. But no - he uses a fitness model. No photos of him on his website either. I wonder why?

He is best known for HIS fitness ideas? Working out like animals do is HIS idea? He got that off Matt Furey, and created a product! He should be best known for his copycat products!

Shame on you, author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes It Does Work, January 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought this book with an open mind. I read the book and did the exercises as recommended. Yes, the exercises do indeed work. They do work your muscles and no it is not a cake walk.

You and your body are all that you need! The exercises will deliver the same intensity you feel just like working out with weights or a weight machine. The great upside is you can do an entire body workout in 15 to 20 minutes.

The biggest excuse most of us have when it comes to working out the old fashioned way (i.e. going to the gym, working out with weights, etc...) is that "I don't have the time". Well after buying this book and doing the exercises, I really don't have that as an excuse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Isometrics Really Work!, May 31, 2014
By 
Ted "cyberwhiz" (Fl United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Power Isometrics: The Complete Course that allows you to Build a Strong and Athletic Body in only 30 minutes a Day! (Animal Kingdom Workouts) (Paperback)
Decided to put the weights aside and give isometrics a try. So starting in April I began doing these exercises and they are tremendous. It takes me far less time to do than the old weight routines I was doing and the results are even better. They have exercises for every major muscle group from the neck to calves and I do them 3 days a week. The pictures and explanations are clear and concise. I've added some routines of my own I call wall isometrics. I lean into and push on a wall varying my arm position (wide, narrow, high,low), hand position (fingers pointing up, sideways and down while on my fingertips) with my feet shoulder width apart and out from the wall sometimes flat or on my toes while strongly contracting the muscles. These allow me to work on several major muscle groups at once if I choose to. I do these wall iso's for only 5 min two days a week. The breathing while doing them is the same way as described in the book. They make a perfect complement to the exercises in the book.

Get the book, do the exercises faithfully as described and you'll get results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Book On Isometric Exercises And A Brief History Of The Method, May 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Here we a have a history of isometric exercises, and a complete course on isometric exercises for anyone to perform, anywhere...without equipment.

The author shows an understanding of how isometric exercises work, and give a fairly complete Frequently Asked Questions section to give some great sage advice on how to perform the exercises.

As this is an inexpensive Kindle book, I also ordered The Isometric Exercise Bible: A Workout Routine For Everyone by Anthony Arnholt.The Isometric Exercise Bible: A Workout Routine For Everyone These books are nearly identical. I mean that 90% of the text is identical. The exercises are nearly all the same (with one exception). Since this book (the one I'm reviewing) was published first, I can only assume the the book by Arnholt was simply copied, and few illustrations changed, and published as his own.

This in no way reflects on this book. I was very happy with my purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great guide, November 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Power Isometrics: The Complete Course that allows you to Build a Strong and Athletic Body in only 30 minutes a Day! (Animal Kingdom Workouts) (Paperback)
A great book to describe isometric exercises. This was recommended by my muscle activation therapist. The pictures help to show you other isometric exercises.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ahhh ha!! Muscles!!, June 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Love this book, easy explanations and good pictures and whats best is that these exercises work and they're not time consuming. Im sorry i didnt find this book sooner, its a great guide to build some strength and gain definiton in your muscles, i love it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.