Customer Reviews


177 Reviews
5 star:
 (127)
4 star:
 (44)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A strong sophomore release
I have to give credit to this album for being a large stepping stone in my infatuation for hip-hop. It was one of those albums that came along and showed me that hip-hop wasn't dead. And that there are still some great musicians reviving the muddled commercial product of hip-hop. The lyrics are true to the soul, and it possesses a colorful and inventive production to...
Published on July 11, 2005 by Alan Pounds

versus
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Meh, It Could be a Lot Worse
This is not a bad album. And it's certainly not bad for a mainstream rap album. However, it's still a mainstream rap record, and it sounds like one. I'm not one to claim any group has "sold out" or "gone soft", but this album is a departure. I find this a lot worse than both "Quality Control" and the EP. There are definitely some good tracks...
Published on October 21, 2002 by alex2778


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A strong sophomore release, July 11, 2005
This review is from: Power in Numbers (Audio CD)
I have to give credit to this album for being a large stepping stone in my infatuation for hip-hop. It was one of those albums that came along and showed me that hip-hop wasn't dead. And that there are still some great musicians reviving the muddled commercial product of hip-hop. The lyrics are true to the soul, and it possesses a colorful and inventive production to match. Although, the production is a bit different from that of their critically acclaimed 2000 "Quality Control". The production wins points for intelligence and originality, but misses on the freshness that "Quality Control" had. Since the beats are a little darker, and a little more minimal, that just leaves more room to concentrate on four of the greatest tongue-twisters in hip-hop, which leaves little to complain about.

Jurassic 5 takes all the classic elements from the golden age of hip-hop and spins them into exciting and creative directions. Sure, it's what a lot of emcees and producers in hip-hop "try" to do; but the four emcees, DJ Nu-Mark and Cut Chemist simply possess the skills to get the job done. Take "Freedom" for example. The beats are very old-school and skeletal, but the flows, rhymes and messages are on point, which makes it a standout. "If You Only Knew" also contains one of their most important messages, which maps the trials and tribulations that they've gone through over the years. But I must say, "Break" is probably my favorite track, which is little more reminiscent of the production on "Quality Control"; it shines. The simple bass, guitar and drum loop has an infection build-up, which eventually breaks into some sweet scratching for a solid conclusion. Then comes the chorusless and hookless battle rhyming of "A Day at the Races" featuring Big Daddy Kane; very sweet. "What's Golden" (the "hit") has an infectious old-school feel to it, which definitely feels like a Jurassic 5 anthem. Next up is "Thin Line" featuring Nelly Furtado. I like some tunes by Furtado, but this one misses the mark, frankly.

All and all, the album feels a bit front-loaded. Not to say that it isn't solid, but "Quality Control" was airtight. And subsequently, it's hard to create something as groundbreaking as their debut. There is still a ton of elements to love about this record. Some may be a little disappointed that the change in the formula came so quick, but that shouldn't shadow it's strong points. Nu-Mark and Cut Chemist really refine their production skills here, and you can expect the lyrics and flows to be incredible as always. But I would have to recommend "Quality Control" before this one. It's not that "Power In Numbers" misses the mark. It's just a bit dwarfed by their stunning debut. That certainly doesn't change their reputation of being among the most talented groups in hip-hop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More of quality tracks from J5, October 27, 2002
By 
This review is from: Power in Numbers (Audio CD)
Two years after their critically acclaimed full-length debut, Quality Control, Jurassic 5 is back with their sophomore LP, Power In Numbers. While they have retained their old school style, Jurassic 5 has definitely evolved between their two releases. On PIN they have embraced a slightly more pop sound that will allow a wider number of fans to make the transition from MTV's pop-rap to J5's underground style. However, they are still far from sounding anything like Jay-Z or Nelly.
Structurally, PIN is very similar to their debut album: they both start with a spoken word track and end with a clever instrumental piece by DJs Nu-Mark and Cut Chemist. Power In Number's equivalents are unfortunately inferior to the DJs' previous effort. The closer, "Acetate Prophets," features Nu-Mark's creative beats and samples and Cut Chemist's amazing turntable skills, but it lacks the character of it's Quality Control equivalent, "Swing Set."
However, this does not mean the entire CD is inferior to their first LP. As soon as the second track "Freedom" hits with its simple jazzy guitar and drum loops and flowing lyrics, you'll understand why J5 was on top of many editor's top 10 lists in the year 2000. Jurassic 5 shines in its relatively simple approach to hip-hop. Instead of overwhelming the listener with studio effects, blasting dance beats or electronic noise, J5's DJs use creative instrumental samples that allow emcees Chali 2NA, Marc 7, Zaakir and Akil to flow melodiously over the beat. In fact, J5 is one of the few hip-hop groups that are vocally aware. Throughout the disc all four emcees are in tune with the instrumentals, which is not only a testament to the group's vocal skill, but the DJ's excellent choice of beats and samples.
The other two tracks that retain their old school sound are the first two singles "What's Golden" and "If You Only New." Not only are the two tracks musically amazing, but lyrically they offer a positive message that is usually atypical of hip-hop. The latter track says it the best: "We're real people/Homies just like you...We try and give you something that you ain't use to/Soul music, something we can all relate to." Jurassic 5 is all about having fun and listening to great music; something that most rappers have forgotten in recent years.
Those expecting only J5's old school style will be surprised by the number of experimental tracks on this PIN. The track "Hey" features an almost trip-hop beat with ambient effects that exposes a side of J5 that has never been seen before. While it is nothing like their previous tracks, the sung vocals and few effects make this song surprisingly enjoyable. One shocker on the album is "Thin Line" featuring Nelly Furtado. While I'm no fan of Nelly Furtado or her vocal style, I must admit that this track works almost flawlessly. This is a perfect example of how Jurassic 5 can penetrate the mass market without sacrificing their own style.
The only negative part of this album is the track "One of Them." It is uncharacteristically vulgar. While it condemns all the materially driven pop rappers out there, it goes about it in all the wrong ways.
While some will condemn Jurassic 5 for their slight foray into pop music, no one can deny that they once again produced a classic hip-hop album. Besides, if it means that more people will be picking up J5's new LP instead of a Nelly or P. Diddy album then perhaps the hip-hop world can change for the better. If you are into underground hip-hop then you probably picked this album up on release day with the limited DVD, but those who like any kind of rap or hip-hop but haven't checked out J5 need to grab Power In Numbers. If you don't like hip-hop, J5 may change your mind; their debut introduced me to the amazing world of underground hip-hop. Even skaters (a predominately punk driven group) were enamored with Quality Control. While Power In Numbers does not surpass its predecessor, it is still another great album by one of hip-hop's most up-and-coming artists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I hate hip hop, August 12, 2005
By 
Henry D (Los Angeles, Ca USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Power in Numbers (Audio CD)
To correct myself, it's a love/hate relationship. I grew up on Run DMC and The Beastie Boys, but I quickly lost interest in hip hop during the Mase, Puff Daddy and Biggy days. From that point to now, with all of the commercial so-called "gangster rap" and "durty south", I can easily tell you it's garbage. Because of the trash that soars through the hip hop mainstream, true noble rap has been forced underground.

Now take Jurassic 5, Power in Numbers, and you have great, true to the art form hip hop that sits next to Del, Hieroglyphics, De La Soul, A Tribe Called Quest, and DJ Quik. This album specifically, Power in Numbers, is an awesome follow up to Quality Control, one of my favorite albums. Although not as good as Quality Control, is an amazing sophomore product. The two DJ's don't fail to push out great old school beats whilst 4 MC's synthesize rhymes and kinetic flow over subjects more interesting than hoes and shooting people.

If you love rock, and hate hip hop, but have enough guts to find out what the hip hop underground is all about, pick up this album and help the rest of us enthusiasts bring the art back.

Summary: This album is a must-own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Holdin' on to What's Golden, February 7, 2004
By 
blakletter (Brooklyn, NY United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Power in Numbers (Audio CD)
Being a champion of pure, old school hip-hop in today's rap scene is incredibly daunting. J5 pulls it off better than anyone else. Still managing to break new ground while reminding us all of how hip-hop used to make us feel, this CD is an exposition of incredible beats, outstanding, intelligent rhymes and an atmosphere that will put a smile on anyone's face. Don't pass it up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best hip-hop album I've ever heard! Bar-none., January 17, 2003
By 
"andmay2" (Sandy, UT United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Power in Numbers (Audio CD)
As one Amazon reviewer of "Quality Control" said, J5 albums were for kids who wanted more eclectic record collections. Before last week, that might have been true for me. I'd thought about picking up this album for a few months, but feared falling into the stereotypes some people would label me with. I finally picked it up (After the Bonus DVD was no longer available). This is truly the most addicting album that I've ever heard. I bought it about a week ago, and it's just about the only album I've listened to since then. It's what true hip-hop is by many people's definitions. Listening to J5's lead emcee Chali 2na's deep, commanding voice is intoxicating, and the beats by Cut Chemist and DJ Nu-Mark are too sweet. If you're thinking about skipping out on this because you think someone might think you're trying to be something you're not, go buy it anyway! Do not miss out on this, no matter who you are. Buy this and you will hear great skillz and style from the J5 emcees that might be the best you've ever heard. Hearing Chali 2na's voice is reason enough to grab this album. The top tracks are: "What's Golden" (This is the single heard on the Sprite commercial with the lo-rider bikes. It's an all around great beat, with great lyrics, but Chali's verse isn't nearly long enough!), Hey (Just smooth and relaxing). Not one bad track. Just go get this album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Theres power in numbers, especially these 4 emcees & 2 Djs, October 16, 2002
By 
A. Bedford (San Francisco, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Jurassic 5 comes through with yet another album with quality, control and experience. The lyrics have the same positive J5 content but much improved from Jurassic 5 EP release. The beats are more chill and sometimes with a hint of jazz which is more or less the usual J5 style. But if you've liked any of their previous releases you will like this album. The bonus DVD is also a great bonus to the CD. The DVD shows a little bit of each member's life in L.A definitely worth checkin out. Also check out Scratch the movie for a short look at J5 and a little expansion of your knowledge of hip hop.-Peace
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music Pa-Pa-Power: The Outstanding Force of J5, July 17, 2004
This review is from: Power in Numbers (Audio CD)
When it comes to hip-hop, J5 knows it best. With their sophmore effort/masterpiece "Power in Numbers", Soup, Chali, Nu-Mark, Akil, Cut-Chemist, and Marc 7 are comin at you harder and with a more matture feel than from what you heard on "Quality Control". The samples are catchier, the beats are thumping, but above all, the lyrics are smoother. "Freedom" and "If You Only Knew" have a oppression-defeated/political-lyrical feel, while "Break" and "A Day at the Races" come at you with incredibley uplifting beats and catchy tounge twisting raps. I know hip hop well, and I would consider this one of the best albums in hip hop thus far. If you loved Quality Control you will ADORE this album. I've had it for almost two years now; ain't sick of one track. You will not regret this album. Take my word for it. You will love it. I can only imagine what J5 will come up with next.
-Randa
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An authentic Hip Hop Record!!, October 15, 2002
By 
J-Ski 1 (From Albany, NY, Now Manchester, NH) - See all my reviews
Jurassic 5's follow up to their critacally acclaimed "Quality Control", is quite refreshing in comparison to the majority rap albums being released as of late. In many cases "Power in numbers start where the last one left off. Primarlily on tracks like the Cut Chemist produced "Break", the 4 MC's flip different lyrical cadences over a straight up break beat. On "A Day At the Races" the crew invites Big Daddy Kane, and Percy P. to flow over an uptempo track, which takes you back to an era between the "Golden years", and 92, and by the way Akil, Zaakir(Soup), Chali2Na, and Marc7 have no trouble keeping up with the veterans. Other standouts include the first single from the album "What's Golden", which was produced by DJ NuMark, "Thin Line" featuring Nelly Furtado, and "After School Special".
The fellas also hit you with a few unexpected tracks, including "One of Them" featuring JuJu of the Beatnuts, where they go on to exploit the fake thug MC of today, check out the exiting conclusion where Soup rips "if there was no cameras aloud and your bodyguard didn't have to hold your hand through the croud." Another must hear is the smoothed out "Hey", it's definately a track that you can just vibe to.
Jurassic 5 most definately serve up another classic on this piece, and put themselves on another level as far as hip hop groups go today. Lets put it this way each member is a Lion, and when they form together, you get Voltron. That's a powerfull force. At this time the band is definately "What's Golden" in hip hop, but the sales could definately be Platinum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sexy Music, October 20, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Power in Numbers (Audio CD)
This is easily one of the best hip-hop albums I've ever heard. No one is out of place in the group. Jurassic 5 really gets back to the old school of big daddy kane and public enemy. Not only do their words have substance but the rhymes are on point! If you like cheap ghetto rap like g-unit or jay z with the catchy hooks, this ain't the album for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This disc is golden., January 6, 2004
By 
H3@+h "Over 1500 reviews!" (thanks for the helpful review votes) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Power in Numbers (Audio CD)
In my opinion, the world of hip-hop has been pretty stagnant lately. Enter "Jurassic 5". It is so refreshing to hear someone rap over good grooves and funky beats, and not try to be hard and gangta all the time. I know "J5" keep getting referred to as "old school", but it really does have that vibe, while still coming off as fresh. "What's Golden" is definitely the big song here, but the whole album has that same feel. It's very cool. A couple of these guys have such a great delivery. If you're someone who always enjoyed groups like "Arrested Development", "De La Soul", or "Digable Planets", check out "Power in Numbers".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Power in Numbers
Power in Numbers by Jurassic 5 (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.