Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Eli Paperboy Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 17, 2012
Pre-statements for this:

I have been coaching endurance athletes for 10 years, mostly runners with a few triathletes thrown in. I attended USAT and USATF level one clinics many years ago. I have dozens of all-americans, conference champions, school records and NCAA trophy teams in XC and Track.

Pros:

1) The sections on recovery and tissue mobility are worth the price of the kindle book. Myofascial release is given little attention in standard running/endurance texts though it is very important to overall muscle health and function.

2) The form sections are complete, but please refer back to the title of the review. I'll address this later, but it's a solid review of the pose method. Dr. Romanov's books are available, so for further info consult those...

Cons:

1) The standard Crossfit assumption is how runners just do LSD, paying no attention to mobility/strength/coordination/flexibility, etc. It's that we repeat the same general pattern, distances and exercises from week to week without viewing a runner as a total athlete. It's flat out insulting - majorly insulting - to most running coaches. Part of a "new way" of training is the intonation that the "old way" was flawed and poor.

2) There is nothing new - not even remotely so - in this book. "The runners of tomorrow will be strong. The runners will develop themselves through lifting heavy weight and running sand and hills; anything for a heavy, sweating effort." Percy Cerutty (the legendary Australian coach) said this... In 1955!!!!!

3) Periodization is the idea that you structure training from the least specific to your target race to the most specific work for your target race in a way that gets you to the starting line prepared in the best possible way to succeed at your target race. CFE removes this process. The same basic rules apply that CFE takes as their "new and true". You need different components at different times of year. You can't perform the same exercises more than a few weeks in a row. The body will adapt and plateau if one thing is maintained for too long. BUT, the difference is that it is planned in periodization to get you to the starting line to perform your best.

4) The lifts provided form an excellent base of strength for an endurance athlete. There are more specific/functional strength exercises you can/should perform as you get closer to race day. Yes, they will keep up your ability to perform in everyday life while extending your capacity as an endurance athlete. It's all part of that periodization thing. These variations in training can and SHOULD be planned, but CFE makes them random.

5) POSE pisses me off a bit. It has good intention, but once again there's the assumption no one runs correctly to begin with. I teach all of my athletes to pull with their glutes and hamstrings, maintain their foot strike over their center of gravity and those who don't do it to begin with are sure able to do it by the end. We build the strength in the weight room and teach through every day drills. I don't have a fancy name for it nor do I make a ton of money selling seminars, but it works.

Hopefully this all makes sense. Big words, decent ideas and a couple of big objections!!
55 comments|210 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 26, 2012
would really like to give it a 2.5/5, but all 2.5 comes from the layout and presentation.

the main reason i give this 2 stars is that this is a plan for general fitness and will not help you sent PR's at the longer races and has some bad information.

pros:
- The layout and presentation of this book is fantastic and among the best I've seen for instructional books. Each section has a color-coded tab you can easily flip to. Then there are many photos taken from different angles to supplement the text. In terms of fitness books, the layout/presentation of this book is the best I've seen.
- The mobility section is a must read in terms of content. Can't wait for K.Star's book to come out.
- mid-line stabilization discussion is right on.
- section on hydration is a must read.

cons: (note - i'm not a biker or swimmer so my review does not include critiques on those sections)
- in terms of form, this book clearly prescribes doing several exercises at best sub-optimally, at worst incorrectly. for example the bench press and deadlift. so i was interested to see if this bad form was a cross-fit thing and went to the main CrossFit exercise demo website and found this book does not follow what even CF says in terms of setup and form with these exercises. As these are two of the big-3 lifts and they couldn't seem to get them right, I read through the rest of the exercise demo's in the book with a grain of salt. even if it has the best presentation in the market, what good is an exercise book if it doesn't teach the exercises correctly, even according to its parent organization?
- on the internet people claim CFE ignores the benefits of the LSD. This book clarifies that when elite runners are doing LSD runs they are far more intense than rec. runners out on a easy job. however nowhere do they incorporate the mitochondrial benefits of the long distance run. so it seems they choose not to add the benefits of longer runs but don't say why? this carries over to other aspects of the plan. seems like rather than taking what works from 'conventional' plans and adding to it, they do try to create something completely different.
- CF and CFE trains a lot in the anaerobic glycolytic zone. this is not a compatible training mode for aerobic endurance as it affects the mitochondria negatively. no wonder mackenzie has had so many DNF since he came out with this.
- nutrition: never addresses very valid criticisms of the paleo diet including the fact that many people today can process lactose with no problem.(evolution of the digestive system, for one, lack of longer lives and thus more age-related diseases for hunter gatherers, for two.)

in my opinion, a reader should use this book to supplement their overall knowledge of fitness. do not use it if you want to become a great endurance athlete.
11 comment|67 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 24, 2014
I bought this for my 53 year old buddy, and he was successful in dropping 25 lbs in six months and finishing the Marine Corps Marathon, with a surprising lack of injuries. There are great coaching tips in this book to correct the kind of unconscious bad form that adds up to chronic pain when you pound it 10,000 times in a row. I wish that I had this kind of information when I was young, before I ground up my knee and spine just trying to gut it out.

This book is geared toward the bulk of the population interested in general fitness training, and particularly one or all of the Triathlon sports of Running, Biking, and Swimming. The gist is to get your form right as the first priority (extensive great info on this was a highlight for me), and then to use a higher mix of interval training (along with strength training), as opposed to just pounding out more and more miles. The net result is a more manageable training schedule for working folks, and a lower risk of the kind of chronic overuse injuries that tend to plague those who train in long distance events without professional training.

Efficient, Safer, and Effective approach. Lots of useful details.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2013
I CrossFit and I am coming up on doing so for 1 year. I am very interested in how to become faster and stronger, but I also want to know how to be smarter about my movements. This book is amazing. I have it on loan to my trainer right now who is incorporating the knowledge from the book into my workouts. What I have learned from this book has improved my running and my form in lifting. The instructions and the all the illustrations are so well done. Even noobs like me are able to understand the movements and improve quickly.

If you are like me and read MobilityWOD and follow SFCrossFit and their amazing team of trainers, then this book is a natural addition to your tool bag.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2013
Seems majority of the reviews before me are a lot more educated in fitness and endurance training. I just started Crossfit and bought this book for not only expanded knowledge but for broken down views of the lifts most used in Crossfit to help me prepare for my WODs. I think in general, raises a lot of good points on endurance training that I had never considered before as I used to just train by running and occasionally lifting weights. I highly recommend this book as it's also written very well and easy to understand for people like myself.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I've been following the Crossfit endurance program for the last 38 weeks and this book has now provided a simple, comprehensive reference guide for the elements of the program. It includes sections on the principles of Crossfit, endurance activities and all the various lifts and movements. So far it has saved me a few visits to YouTube searching for demonstrations.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 8, 2015
Firstly, this is the most bloated book I have ever read. Over 400 glossy, colorful pages full of nothing. On the up side, it does contain a description of the pose running method, some drills and a couple of tips for swimming & biking. But that doesn't justify the purchase. 1,5 stars at best.
Secondly, Mr. MacKenzie is blatantly incompetent. He makes obvious factual errors in his text as well as shows grossly incorrect form in his instructive photos. More on that further down.

The prime sin (bloatedness) has 3 symptoms:
1. The author tries to cover too broad a topic of endurance, strength & mobility. He should have stuck with just the 1st one. Instead you get this 3lbs brick that's a patchwork of topics not holding well together and is so big it's actually awkward to hold in your hands.
2. The most annoying trait of this book: talkative, empty-worded style. And repetitions. Oh my god! So many repetitions! I wanted to drop the book in the trash bin so many times. Each section starts with pseudo-intro that conveys common knowledge dressed in fancy words. Once passed that, the irrelevant comparisons kick in. By the time you actually get to some valuable information, you're already bored and annoyed. And then, just when you were going to start appreciating the reading, the repetitions start, over and over in different wording. Mentally draining.
3. Embellishments. The book is literally packed with colorful frames, photos, sequence photos, close-up photos and a lot of white space. You gotta fill those 400 pages somehow! A lot of trees got killed for no good reason.

Author’s lack of competence:
I could go on and on about the incompetence, but I'll just point out the 3 areas where the author really ‘shines’, with some examples:
1. Clearly he lacks in-depth understanding of the topics covered. He tries to position himself as an expert by repeating after folks like Romanov and Starret, but without actually understanding them. He’s so focused on self-promotion that he forgets it’s easy to verify his “expert knowledge”. Examples:
Page 18 delves into biochemistry: "...pyruvate (the enzyme used to break down glucose)..." - yeah, product of glucose breakdown or enzyme used for glucose breakdown? Not much of a difference, apparently.
Page 31 – mechanics: “The acceleration force being applied to the object is the torque”. That's some heavy duty BS. At this point probably Mr. Jones, an elderly physics teacher, decided to hang himself.
2. The author is clearly incompetent in writing books: his language is meaningless, full of awkward (or just wrongly used) phrases, preaching instead of teaching and making unfounded assumptions, e.g. that reader has no idea about crossfit and then building whole sections around that assumption.
3. Mr MacKenzie, having no talent for writing, not only made the mistake of becoming an author, but also, without the skills required to show proper form, decided to become the model in his instructive photos. And thus, having preached the importance of neutral head position in running in p.27, he defaults back to his forward lean only 2 pages later and stays that way throughout the rest of the book. Don’t even get me started on the strength exercises: soggy KB swing, feet splayed out and dangling around in gymnastic movements, forward barbell position in push press finish, depressingly bad clean (with the bar in front of the feet!), hunched back in snatch setup, etc., etc.. This guy makes basic mistakes in CF movements and that’s the truth. You can even see the grimace of exertion (and pain?) as he struggles with them . The whole strength section (almost 100 pages) is rubbish, potentially damaging to inexperienced people who might apply the technique shown.

In summary: the book way to long and doesn’t hang together, has errors in both text and in illustrations, undermining my trust in the author; it’s written with poor style and little content. It was probably aimed to be an 'all-in-one' guide for starting triathletes, but if you’re serious about any of the topics it covers, don’t bother with this one, just get a proper source. Waste of money.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 10, 2014
Mr. MacKenzie does an excellent job explaining exercises and techniques. If that weren't enough there are many easy to follow, step-by-step photos. This makes "Power, Speed, Endurance" a perfect book for beginners. Those with more experience may benefit from techniques and ideas presented in the book, but may find a majority of the material a review instead of an eye-opening experience.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2014
Great book with lots of information. Very to the point. This would be an excellent reference for triathletes. It's a very big and heavy book in full color with thick glossy pages. There are a lot of photographs depicting what he is trying to demonstrate. There are sections for running, cycling, and swimming, which details technique and form for each. He then details strength and conditioning and mobility. There are a ton of exercises and stretches, again, demonstrated with photos. He has a small section in the back on nutrition before going a little into the program of crossfit. I did not get the impression that he expects you to stop your training to add this in and he makes it easy to incorporate into your current program. I bought this and the Unbreakable Runner by T.J. Murphy. I gave that one away. Keeping this on my coffee table for quick access. I highly recommend if you are looking to add some crossfit type exercises into your routine.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2014
This book is the basis of CrossFit endurance combining the fundamentals of crossfit with skill based work and technique for running, swimming, and biking while improving the athlete's ability to sustain effort over long duration.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse