Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Power System Analysis by Grainger & Stevenson
This is a thoroughly revised version of the classical Power System Analysis text by the late Professor Stevenson. The new author, Professor Grainger, has made every effort to retain the flavor and clarity of the original text material. The text covers all classical power system material starting with: basic concepts, transformers, transmission line parameters &...
Published on May 3, 2000 by N.D. Rao

versus
21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Review of Power System Analysis
This book is mostly based on the classic textbook Elements of Power System Analysis by the late William D. Stevenson, Jr. While Stevenson's book was concise and to the point stressing the fundamentals of power systems, the new book is stuck in the computational details. These unnecssary details clutter the presentation and make it for hard for the undergraduate...
Published on December 9, 1999


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Power System Analysis by Grainger & Stevenson, May 3, 2000
This review is from: Power System Analysis (Hardcover)
This is a thoroughly revised version of the classical Power System Analysis text by the late Professor Stevenson. The new author, Professor Grainger, has made every effort to retain the flavor and clarity of the original text material. The text covers all classical power system material starting with: basic concepts, transformers, transmission line parameters & performance, network models, power flow solutions, 3-phase faults, symmetrical components and applications, economic operation and power system stability. Two brand new and highly readable chapters on contingency analysis and state estimation add value to the usefulness of this text. A superb solution manual is available for instructors. This text is admirably suited to power system analysis courses at senior undergraduate level and graduate level.
We, at the University of Calgary, have adopted this as the text for the 4th year power system course ENEL 587.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Review of Power System Analysis, December 9, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Power System Analysis (Hardcover)
This book is mostly based on the classic textbook Elements of Power System Analysis by the late William D. Stevenson, Jr. While Stevenson's book was concise and to the point stressing the fundamentals of power systems, the new book is stuck in the computational details. These unnecssary details clutter the presentation and make it for hard for the undergraduate student to know which information is important and which are secondary details. In other words, the student will not see the forest from the trees! My recommendation after using both textbooks is very loud and clear: as an undergraduate text, stick with the clear and elegant original text by W. D. Stevenson and use the bloated version by J. J. Grainger only as a reference for the interested student.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for anyone interested in electric power systems, April 29, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Power System Analysis (Hardcover)
This is a classic. Anyone interested in the electrical theory behind generation, transmission, system protection, power flow analysis, and system stability analysis should buy this book. This is the standard textbook in many EE departments and will prepare you well for the PE exam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a student textbook - students beware, November 9, 2009
By 
Joseph Maiz (Philadelphia, PA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I am in a class that requires this book, and let me just let everyone aware that this book is not a true text book. For those that are new to this field, this is one tough book to start with. I wish my school would select a different book.

My problems with this book as a new student trying to learn power analysis:
1- No step-by-step methods: it goes from setup of a problem to the answer.
2- Unfriendly examples: you get examples that were already explained within the reading.
3- No appendix that has formulas or basic information: since this is not a text book, this problem just shows that in a textbook you have them and here they are not included.
4- Jumps into the supject: This is assuming that you know everything by heart before going into detailed subjects.

For what this book is, I am sure it does it well - for those that are in the industry and want a supplement to help your daily needs, then this might be fine. For those that are new students in the power engineering/ electrical engineering that want a book to learn from, I advise to look for an honest text book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Software code, January 25, 2001
By 
Mr. Joesel Pante (Vancouver, BC Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Power System Analysis (Hardcover)
This book is famous even when I was in college in 78. But technology changed in the area of computations. One area that this book is poor is that it does not have software code to test the algorithms. As a student or professional, you do not just compute using calculators. You need to test it with a program. It will help a student a lot if there are sample code in C to test around and checks one's calculations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Reference, November 2, 2006
By 
A. Hester (Arlington, TX) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Power System Analysis (Hardcover)
I used this book as preparation for the PE examination. It was actual better than my college text book. I recommend it. One complaint is the author drops the use of units in his calculations which can be a pain from time to time. Overall pretty good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No answers!, July 29, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I was trying to learn this subject on my own because the school I attend does not offer a course on power. I got through the first chapter and tried to solve some problems on my own, but got no where because there are no answers in the back of the book for any of the problems. I guess there are some solutions manual, but since the book was not published recently (1994) all of the resources for it seem to be depreciated. From the looks of the book (so far) it seems like a really great resource, but not good to teach yourself out of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This book is Awesome!, June 3, 2013
By 
Beeba (Fairburn, GA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Power System Analysis (Hardcover)
This book was highly recommended by a lot of people when taking the P.E. exam. It will teache you concepts that may have been kind of "foggy" in your regular course of study. I have highlighter marked all through my book..and YES, I did pass the P.E. exam. :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, June 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is just very good,if u're a teacher u'll love this book, for an undergraduate class's u have everything u need to make your class's just complete and scientifically complete, i'm very satisfied with this purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must for Power Engineers, September 5, 2011
This review is from: Power System Analysis (Hardcover)
Excellent resource for students and professionals in power engineering. I found the text very helpful when studying for the PE Exam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Power System Analysis
Power System Analysis by John J. Grainger (Hardcover - January 1, 1994)
$255.72
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.