Customer Reviews


141 Reviews
5 star:
 (102)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


101 of 105 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book could be life changing or even life saving
I've been reading about Vitamin D for the last several years, ever since that big study came out showing it to be helpful in the prevention of cancer, heart disease and several other conditions. The problem was trying to find good, solid information when much of what we read on the internet is from media sources which are often inaccurate or they all seem to have...
Published on June 6, 2010 by PT Cruiser

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Repetitive!
The information is good but the book is EXTREMELY repetitive. It could have all been said more concisely in one or two chapters.
Published 11 months ago by Lena Parle


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

101 of 105 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book could be life changing or even life saving, June 6, 2010
This review is from: Power of Vitamin D: A Vitamin D Book That Contains the Most Comprehensive and Useful Information on Vitamin D Deficiency, Vitamin D Level (Paperback)
I've been reading about Vitamin D for the last several years, ever since that big study came out showing it to be helpful in the prevention of cancer, heart disease and several other conditions. The problem was trying to find good, solid information when much of what we read on the internet is from media sources which are often inaccurate or they all seem to have different ideas on how much is necessary or how much could be toxic. This book is written by Sarfraz Aaidi, MD, FACP, FACE who is an endocrinologist and leading expert on Vitamin D. He's an Assistant Clinical Professor of Medicinte at UCLA as well as the Director of the Jamila Diabetes and Endocrine Medical Center in southern California. So we're talking about an expert here. He takes the whole subject of Vitamin D and puts in into one easy to read book in simple layman's terms and it's so interesting that you'll probably read it in a few hours. The information could change your life or relieve many chronic symptoms that you probably never thought were related to a vitamin D deficiency.

Did you think that because you may live in a sunny climate or that because you take a daily multi-vitamin that shows 400 IU's of Vitamin D as the "recommended daily requirement" that you are getting enough of the Vitamin? Or that because you drink Vitamin D fortified milk that you are getting enough? Did you know that you'd have to drink more than 20 glasses of milk a day to actually get the amount you need? Dr. Sarfraz tells us that almost all of his patients test low for Vitamin D, even those living in sunny California. The reasons? Sunscreens, fear of being out in the sun, air pollution, spending the sunniest part of the day indoors at work as well as several other factors.

He also lists several chronic conditions that you probably never guessed could be eliminated or at least reduced by an adequate amount of Vitamin D. How much to take? That depends on a lot of factors which he talks about in his book. There are several common medications that can deplete Vitamin D in the body and people absorb it at different rates. Dr. Sarfraz tests his patients at 3 month intervals and he tells you which simple blood test you need to accurately show your current levels. (Not all tests are equal.) He then gives suggested starting dosage levels, depending on what level you currently test at. He also talks about toxicity from Vitamin D (very rare) and how to avoid it.

I've been reading every article I could get my hands on about Vitamin D for years, and there were still so many things covered in this book that I didn't know about. I highly recommend this book for anyone interested in and easy (and inexpensive) way to improve their health. It's a book that I'll be ordering for a few friends, especially those who are cancer survivors. Two thumbs up for this excellent book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


82 of 85 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loaded with essential information, May 5, 2010
By 
Rich Blumenthal ((Mission Viejo, CA USA)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Power of Vitamin D: A Vitamin D Book That Contains the Most Comprehensive and Useful Information on Vitamin D Deficiency, Vitamin D Level (Paperback)
Did you know that if you take a multivitamin containing 100% of the recommended daily level of vitamin D, drink milk, eat fish twice a week, and get a little midday sun, you are almost certain to be deficient in vitamin D? Did you know that many doctors desiring to monitor their patients' vitamin D levels, order the wrong blood test? Did you know that the reference range shown on the test results is wrong? (That is, even if it says you have enough, you are probably deficient.) Did you know that government guidelines on how much vitamin D you need are understated by a huge factor? Did you know that vitamin D has been found in medical studies to help significantly in the prevention and treatment of cancer, heart disease, diabetes, and all autoimmune diseases?

Dr. Sarfraz Zaidi is an endocrinologist who has been evaluating and correcting patient's vitamin D deficiencies for ten years and has uncovered misconceptions, misinformation, and medical oversights that are shocking. In testing thousands of patients, Dr. Zaidi found only ONE person, a fair-skinned lifeguard, who had optimal vitamin D without taking megadose supplements. Similarly, he never encountered anyone whose vitamin D blood level was dangerously high. What this means is a major public health crisis comes inadvertently from doctors who warn you about overdosing, but in doing, so they actually cause you to be deficient which puts you at FAR GREATER RISK than an overdose.

The book contains interesting case studies. Read about Anna on page 55 who suffered MS which was partially caused by a vitamin D deficiency that no doctor thought to check for 13 years. When Dr. Zaidi reversed the deficiency the patient's condition improved.

Do you know how easy it is to correct a vitamin D deficiency that you probably have? Listen up; this is complicated. Step one is pick up a copy of Power of Vitamin D and read it carefully to get a solid background on the subject. Then go to your doctor and ask for a 25(OH)D blood test, also known as 25-hydroxy vitamin D. (Don't let your doctor talk you into a 1,25(OH)2D blood test. It's the wrong one as explained on page 127 and 128.) Get the results. If it's under 50 ng/mL or 125 nmol/L (and it's highly likely that it is), go to the chart on page 143 to determine your daily dose of vitamin D. Once you know the daily dose, go to a health food store and tell the clerk you'd like to take that dose of vitamin D3. It will probably set you back 10 to 20 cents a day. Take the vitamin D every day with food. In three months go back for another blood test. Keep increasing the dosage until you're over 50 ng/mL but under 100 ng/mL.

How hard was that? If everyone in the US followed these safe, simple steps, the number of deaths due to chronic degenerative disease would drop sharply. The CDC tells us about 1.5 million Americans die each year of chronic disease. The actual number saved if everyone optimized their vitamin D is not knowable exactly but it is certainly in the hundreds of thousands EACH YEAR. The great part is you get to choose which group to be in: Currently you are probably in the larger group that is deficient in vitamin D and twice as likely to die prematurely of horrible degenerative diseases. Or you could join the smaller group with optimized vitamin D; hundreds of medical studies clearly show this group to be largely protected from those diseases. Obviously, there is no silver bullet that can protect you 100% and no one is claiming vitamin D has that power. But if you want to stack the deck in your favor, this is an extremely easy, safe, low-cost approach that requires no major effort or lifestyle change. But you need to know what you're doing and that's where this book comes in.

Power of Vitamin D is a fantastic introduction to this sometimes confusing subject. It is relatively short, very easy to read, fairly comprehensive, and offers clear explanations. Here are some things I like about the book: a list of diseases on the front cover that medical studies have definitively linked to vitamin D deficiency; absolutely clear statements in several places advising what your blood level should be for optimal health; an explanation of the two types of "units" that blood test use, and how to interpret and convert between the two; instructions as to which blood test to get and why; a clear description what it takes to overdose (instead of a bland warning not to take too much); it mentions serious flaws with government guidelines on vitamin D that have been loudly criticized by many longtime vitamin D researchers; and it includes interesting case studies involving real patients.

Because Dr. Zaidi covered these points in such a clear, concise, and convincing manner, I am happy to give Power of Vitamin D the highest rating of 5 stars. Whether you are just beginning the journey or have already read many articles, this book has lots to offer on every page. But don't forget, you're not "done" when you finish reading the book. It only can help you if you follow the steps outlined three paragraphs ago and stated in far greater detail in Chapter 23. If you are part of the 97% that haven't yet optimized your vitamin D level, implementing the suggestions in this book may well change your life for the better.

Note to medical professionals: If you happen to be a medical professional, I GUARANTEE your patients will be far better off if you arm yourself with this knowledge and follow through with further study. And I wouldn't be surprised if your practice flourishes once your patients understand you are protecting them against future serious illness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS COULD BE ONE OF THE MOST IMPORTANT BOOKS YOU WILL EVER READ!, June 19, 2010
By 
Kathy W (Baltimore, MD, USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Power of Vitamin D: A Vitamin D Book That Contains the Most Comprehensive and Useful Information on Vitamin D Deficiency, Vitamin D Level (Paperback)
THIS COULD BE ONE OF THE MOST IMPORTANT BOOKS YOU WILL EVER READ!

Do I have your attention now? GOOD! Read on . . .

This is a book I believe everyone should read. Even if you are one of the few with good vitamin D levels, you likely have friends or relatives who are low. This is a book with very detailed info on Vitamin D and all I can say is "WOW!"

At 161 pages, it is a relatively small book, but it is packed with information on D, its possible effects on many health conditions, explanations of how the body works in regard to D and certain conditions, and case studies from the Doctor's patient files. This wonderful 2010 book is by Sarfraz Zaidi, MD, an Endocrinologist who has monitored Vitamin D and its effects in his patients for the last 10 years in California, where D therapy has made a tremendous difference. Vitamin D is actually a hormone, and he explains why it is one and how it works in the body. This book was written to get this info out to the public because there is a lot of mis-information "out there" about D, as well as a lack of information. (Many of you also know that Western medicine seems to distance itself from herbs and vitamins while pushing pharmaceuticals, many with side effects.)

Note-I am NOT a doctor. And I am not saying anything against doctors. What I am saying is that there may be alternatives that your doctor is not knowledgeable about because he is wedded to pharmaceutical care. The more knowledgeable YOU are, the better you can discuss your condition with him/her and possible options.

From what I've read, the statistics are showing that about 85% of us are probably D deficient, even if we take multivitamins, spend time in the sun, and eat D-fortified foods. Apparently, D has been researched in great detail in the last 20 years, but few Western doctors really get into the possibility of D deficiency.

The book mentions potential benefits of D regarding a whole mess of conditions, including high blood pressure, diabetes, fibromyalgia, arthritis, lupus, osteoporosis, cancer, heart disease, kidney disease, chronic fatigue, arthritis, M.S., asthma, thyroid problems, dental problems, problems during pregnancy, problems in newborns, and depression, and much more.

This book has so much information that I found fascinating--D absorption is affected by where you live, the darkness of your skin, the amount of fat in your body, the time of year, and many other factors. D even builds up the immune system to fight off diseases and flu. Doctor Zaidi uses his medical knowledge to explain various health conditions and how they work and how D helps. For example, in the CANCER segment, he explains the process of how cancer develops in your body, the link between D deficiency and cancer, and that D can help in both the prevention of and treatment of cancer. He follows with a case study where a 49 year old male with aggressive colon cancer was treated with chemotherapy and vitamin D. Three years later, the patient continues to be cancer free.

The book says that the current reported RDA (recommended daily amount) is way too low at about 200, 400, or 600 IU (per day), depending on your age. It sounds like it averages out that our D intake should be more like 2000 IU, but everything that says "includes 100% of your RDA of Vitamin D" is based on the 200/400/600 old RDA. So, most people get a whole lot less D than they apparently need and doctors don't usually test your D levels. BTW-this book also explains the D testing process, what the numbers should be, the common mistakes when D is tested, and which D test you should have. He also addresses the how much is too much question. (I told you this book will amaze you with info.)

For my own experience, a friend of mine who researches vitamins, minerals and herbs told me to take the 2000 IU Carlson D3 about a year ago and it continues to be part of my daily vitamin routine. Carlson appears to be a respected name and he claimed the D3 is the one that is properly absorbed by the body (as opposed to plain Vitamin D.) Carlson also makes the D3 available in soft gel, and I believe that liquids and gels are absorbed easier by the body than hard pills and powdered capsules. This bottle contains 120 of the 2000 IU, so, at one tablet per day, a bottle will last you about 4 months. (Take whatever brand you want--I'm just telling you which one I take and why.)

As you can see, I am very excited to be able to recommend this book. It is just packed with info! I HIGHLY recommend it for everyone's personal library and I am so very glad this book found me.

I sure hope it finds you too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Improved Health, February 19, 2010
By 
Michelle (Westlake Village, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Power of Vitamin D: A Vitamin D Book That Contains the Most Comprehensive and Useful Information on Vitamin D Deficiency, Vitamin D Level (Paperback)
I'm a patient of Dr. Zaidi's with multiple sclerosis. I have been on many MS drugs, and have seen many MS specialists. But my MS has gradually progressed over the years. The first I ever heard of vitamin D benefits was from Dr. Zaidi. For about the last two years now I've been taking vitamin D and now have had no new lesions, and my old lesions have decreased in size. Thank you Dr. Zaidi!!!! This is a must read book for so many health issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vital information, March 25, 2010
By 
This review is from: Power of Vitamin D: A Vitamin D Book That Contains the Most Comprehensive and Useful Information on Vitamin D Deficiency, Vitamin D Level (Paperback)
"Power of Vitamin D," is a vital source of information on the affects of Vitamin D (which is really a hormone) in the prevention of several diseases such as cancer, heart disease, thyroid disease and asthma. As a former asthma sufferer myself, I have witnessed the miraculous benefits of using vitamin D to treat my asthma. On page 51, Dr. Zaidi states, " There is a strong link between vitamin D deficiency and asthma...experts in the field of asthma speculate the epidemic of asthma to be linked to the epidemic of vitamin D deficienty as both these epidemics started in the last few decades." (pg. 51 - 51) Upon Vitamin D treatment, my asthma is pretty much non-existent. I no longer suffer from asthma attacks or bronchitis and can't remember the last time I have had an attack of either one. Even if I get a cold now, I increase my does for 2 to 3 days as per my physician's instructions and either the cold never happens or if I do get a cold, it is very mild and gone in a day or so. "Power of Vitamin D," is an easy read full of vital information for anyone looking for a way to find the root to health problems instead of medications to cover them up. I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars vitamin user, January 27, 2010
By 
Ishwar Patel (Camarillo, CA. USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Power of Vitamin D: A Vitamin D Book That Contains the Most Comprehensive and Useful Information on Vitamin D Deficiency, Vitamin D Level (Paperback)
Finally an indepth yet easy to read book on Vitamin D!
I have been reading about vitamin D in newspapers and magazines. Therefore, I was curious to learn more about vitamin D. I bought this recently released book, "Power of Vitamin D." I could not stop reading till I finished it. Vow! what a great book! Dr.Zaidi explains in an easy to understand manner what are the scientifically proven health benefits of vitamin D, why almost everyone is low in vitamin D despite taking vitamins and going out in the sun, what is the right test to diagnose vitamin D deficiency and what is the best way to treat vitamin D deficiency. To me it became quite clear that most physicians are not uptodate about vitamin D. What is even more impressive is the actual case studies that Dr. Zaidi has included from his own practice to illustrate how his patients are benefiting from his own unique strategy to treat vitamin D deficiency. He has also included scientific studies published in the respected medical journals. Yet he explains all this indepth knowledge about Vitamin D in an incredibly easy to understand language. I, for the first time realized that vitamin D is actually not a vitamin but a hormone. This book is certainly a landmark in the landscape of vitamin D. A must read for anyone who wants to take care of his /her vitamin D needs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Power of Vitamin D, March 3, 2010
By 
A. Daya (Westlake Village, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Power of Vitamin D: A Vitamin D Book That Contains the Most Comprehensive and Useful Information on Vitamin D Deficiency, Vitamin D Level (Paperback)
This is an excellent and very comprehensive book on Vitamin D.
Dr Zaidi has done thorough research and presented information that is easy to read for both physicians and layperson alike.
Vitamin D deficiency is currently in epidemic proportion and supplementation will prevent
many types of cancers, autoimmune disorders, osteoparosis, multiple sclerosis, depression, arthritis etc. This book is excellent resource and essential for your personal library.
A Daya MD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enlightened, February 15, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Power of Vitamin D: A Vitamin D Book That Contains the Most Comprehensive and Useful Information on Vitamin D Deficiency, Vitamin D Level (Paperback)
I've learned a great deal from "Power of Vitamin D". I was surprised about how many conditions are affected by vitamin D that I never knew about - cancer, heart disease, asthma, diabetes, chronic fatigue and more. I was amazed by the high dose most people need and the fact that most people really are low in vitamin D, even if they are now taking vitamins! Good specifics on dose, toxicity and the correct lab test (even doctors often order the wrong test!). I'll get my doctor to check my Vitamin D at my next physical. I especially appreciate Dr. Zaidi's ability to communicate complex biological processes in a way I could easily understand. Easy to read, add this to your basic library for self-care.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Resource For Info on Vitamin D - Highly Recommended, June 11, 2010
This review is from: Power of Vitamin D: A Vitamin D Book That Contains the Most Comprehensive and Useful Information on Vitamin D Deficiency, Vitamin D Level (Paperback)
The "Power of Vitamin D" is exactly the type of book that is needed for anyone interested in learning more about the benefits this important hormone. Like most books of this type, it is very upbeat on the benefits and uses of the vitamin in question (D3 in this case) and I am always inclined to take the material with a grain of salt. That being said, this is one of best researched and well presented works on Vitamin D that I have found.

The author, Dr. Zaidi, has an impressive background in diabetes care and I was interested in finding out more about the relationships between my Type 2 diabetes and Vitamin D. As it turns out, there is substantial evidence that vitamin D is very important in the body's regulation of blood-sugar, insulin production, and insulin resistance.

Reading through the well laid out book, I found other chapters that interested me as well. Being treated for an aggressive cancer that effects the bones and also being on steroids as part of my treatment for well over a year, my doctors have been concerned about my loss of bone density. The chapters on Osteoporosis and Steroids provided interesting insights into the treatment I was put on (Calcium and Vitamin D3 compliments).

I like the formatting of the book and the inclusion of the Case Studies and cited References. This helps the reader relate to the conclusions made in the book and provide the ability to dig deeper if there is something of interest.

As with any new vitamin or supplement addition, it is important to let your primary care provider what you are taking, especially if you are on prescription medications.

Highly Recommended!

CFH
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vitamin D Deficiency is a Global Phenomenon, August 5, 2010
This review is from: Power of Vitamin D: A Vitamin D Book That Contains the Most Comprehensive and Useful Information on Vitamin D Deficiency, Vitamin D Level (Paperback)
"The findings are astounding! We now know that vitamin D affects almost every organ system in the body." ~ pg. 1

How many people have to suffer before doctors realize that their patients may have a vitamin D deficiency?

A lack of vitamin D can also be responsible for Cancer, Heart Disease, Diabetes, High Blood Pressure, Kidney Disease, Fibromyalgia, Chronic Fatigue, Osteoporosis, Arthritis, Lupus, M.S., Asthma, Thyroid Diseases, Dental Problems, Problems during Pregnancy, Problems in Newborns, Chronic Pain and Depression.

Some Shocking Facts:

Milk does not provide adequate Vitamin D unless you drink over 20 glasses a day.

The farther North you live from the equator, the less intense the sunrays, therefore
your skin forms less vitamin D.

Wearing sunscreen prevents the synthesis of Vitamin D by 95%.

This book is written in a way that is very easy to understand. The writing is clear and concise. On each page there is a surprising fact. The author has also included fascinating case studies and medical studies.

One of the reasons you will love this book is because it gives hope! There really is a cure for many illnesses and they all start with taking the right dosage of Vitamin D. Read this book and you will feel enlightened. Buy this book for your doctor and every family member and friend. The information in this book will be life changing!

"Vitamin D deficiency is the true epidemic of our time." ~ pg. 17

~The Rebecca Review
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.