Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Watercolor Magic, March 30, 2006
This review is from: Practical Art: Watercolor Workshop (Paperback)
If you dream about painting in your spare moments, perhaps overlooking a placid lake in the middle of a magical kingdom...then this book may cause to you wonder why you have not purchased that portable easel. With this book, paint and outdoor scenes you can begin to create magical worlds on canvas. If your art teacher sent you to the library during art class, the step-by-step instructions could still bring out the artist in you.

Topics include: Paint, paper, brushes, brushstrokes, color wheels, color mixing, color blends, washes, painting effects, how to build a painting, composition, sketching, focal points, outdoor painting and specific scenes like cherries in a tree.

Projects:

Ballet Shoes

Cherries

Tuscan Landscape

Geese in the Park

Peony in a Jar

Boats on a Canal

Field Gate

Street Scenes

Chair by a Window

Cliffs and a Beach

Portrait

As someone who was sent to the library, I must say this book has been helpful. I can only say I have an extreme longing to buy that easel and head for Whidbey Island. I know a beach there...with a long walking trail. Suddenly a weekend vacation is sounding like a painting escape. If you love to travel, this book could be an entryway to memories of your vacations.

I am very excited about this particular book since recently my kitchen became filled with items decorated in Cherries and I've been imagining a border around the top filled with cherry art. The designs shown in this book would be very compatible with such an idea and all the instructions make painting seem a dream. Having the book first allows for exploration and adaptation. Once you have the book, you will know what else you need to begin a new hobby.

Throughout you will find inspirational paintings, exercises, step-by-step projects and a desire to leave the house for long summer days of artistic expression. Once you learn the techniques, the possibilities are endless. If you have been looking for a book on watercolors, this is the best one I've found recently.

~The Rebecca Review
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Beginner Book...The Best, June 20, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Practical Art: Watercolor Workshop (Paperback)
I have been reading a lot of basic watercolors books and this book is by far the best one I have read. It has many, many step by step illustrations for each lesson. It is NOT a book of the author's artwork which will leave a beginner frustrated and lost. I am working on lesson one easily and I am enjoying learning. Better than taking a class with a lot of other students. This is a definate HOW-TO book for beginners as well as advanced. Just perfect...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great watercolor lessons with beautiful paintings, March 16, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Practical Art: Watercolor Workshop (Paperback)
This is a truly outstanding book to learn watercolor painting from. All of the step-by-step paintings are beautiful and inspiring, and very clearly explained with great step-by-step illustrations. I would recommend it for anyone who wants to learn watercolors at their own pace and have a choice of what he/she will be painting in a lesson. It's a beautiful book. Two of my favorite paintings to learn are an English garden scene with a fence and a scene from a canal in Venice. The colors are all outstanding. The cost of this book is cheaper than a single art lesson, but includes many lessons. I think both the beginner to the more advanced student can learn plenty from this book, and it does not intimidate you as some other instruction art books do. It makes it fun.

A new DK book by the same author, Watercolor Workshop II is coming out April 30th, 2007. I plan to buy it as soon as it comes out based on how good Watercolor Workshop has been. Its a great book, inexpensive, and very inspiring without overwhelming the student.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Watercolor Workshop, May 23, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Practical Art: Watercolor Workshop (Paperback)
Excellent book. Since it was very useful the instructor recommended we use it in class. Step by step instructions on projects the author selected. i.e. followed the bunny instructions in class and it came out just like the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Workshop in a Book, January 10, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Practical Art: Watercolor Workshop (Paperback)
Very informative. Lots of step by step examples to follow along. Lots of information and tips to get great results. I loved it so much I also purchased her second book. I love her style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, May 23, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Practical Art: Watercolor Workshop (Paperback)
great book for great info getting started with watercolors wish i would have found it sooner great service thanks alot
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you check it out more than 3x from the library, you may as well buy it., December 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Practical Art: Watercolor Workshop (Paperback)
This book contains wonderful examples of color, style and technique. I checked it out from the library and kept renewing it so I knew it was a book I needed in my art library. I have used it every weekend trying new methods. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favorites., September 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Practical Art: Watercolor Workshop (Paperback)
One of the best books for beginners. Great explanations and lessons with many samples. Very well written, I have referred to this book many, many times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Watercolor Workshop, July 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Practical Art: Watercolor Workshop (Paperback)
Not only did this book cover basic information for beginning artists, it gives step by step instructions for different projects. It also gives information to extend the more experienced watercolorist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Used book on watercolor, May 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Practical Art: Watercolor Workshop (Paperback)
The book was in great shape, you'd never know it was used. The instructions were easy to understand and
follow, with beautiful pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Practical Art: Watercolor Workshop
Practical Art: Watercolor Workshop by Glynis Barnes-Mellish (Paperback - April 17, 2006)
Used & New from: $17.62
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.