Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but poorly timed
This book is a great book. 2 nits. One big, one small.

Nit #1: "Admonitions" seems a bit contrived.

Nit #2: This book should have either been released earlier or released 3 months later. The game is changing with 1.0 and all previous books will require fixes and updates to work. This increases the barrier to entry for newbies and should be rectified...
Published on August 14, 2008 by Justin Abrahms

versus
24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wait for the next edition of this book
This book is a solid, practically-oriented introduction to Django, but be warned: the code in the book fails with Django 1.0. This is an important caveat because you cannot progress through the exercises unless you know the gotchas and how to modify the code accordingly. Some of the incompatibilities are quite major.

I found that the book pitches a bit low for...
Published on August 11, 2008 by Rob


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wait for the next edition of this book, August 11, 2008
This review is from: Practical Django Projects (Expert's Voice in Web Development) (Paperback)
This book is a solid, practically-oriented introduction to Django, but be warned: the code in the book fails with Django 1.0. This is an important caveat because you cannot progress through the exercises unless you know the gotchas and how to modify the code accordingly. Some of the incompatibilities are quite major.

I found that the book pitches a bit low for an experienced developers and it's thin on discussion of the meat of what's going on under the hood. A minor issue with the book is the author's insistence on "admonishing" you literally every second page. You see, calling things "admonitions" one of the secret signs that Python nerds use to show that they're part of that very special little gang of elite hardcore "Pythonistas". For the rest of us, it's just grating (or maybe I'm just not dope enough to be a Pythonista, yo. Y'know what I'm saying, bro? Word.)

Issues aside, I do like its very hands-on approach and I'm betting that the next edition will be a 4.5 star book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but poorly timed, August 14, 2008
By 
This review is from: Practical Django Projects (Expert's Voice in Web Development) (Paperback)
This book is a great book. 2 nits. One big, one small.

Nit #1: "Admonitions" seems a bit contrived.

Nit #2: This book should have either been released earlier or released 3 months later. The game is changing with 1.0 and all previous books will require fixes and updates to work. This increases the barrier to entry for newbies and should be rectified as soon as possible.

[Update: Word is there will be a hg repo for updated code samples. Now retracting Nit #2]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for Beginners, August 26, 2008
By 
Amazon Customer (Orange, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Practical Django Projects (Expert's Voice in Web Development) (Paperback)
Another reviewer noted that this was the perfect book for beginners/newbies. It is not. As stated in the book and on the back cover, it is for intermediate folk.

The book makes quite a few assumptions about the reader's level of Django and development experience, as a result it can be a very frustrating experience for a beginner.

Please also note, as other reviewers have noted, that the book's code examples are for Django .9x (update: written for 0.96) and not for 1.0. Apress, the publisher, has not given any updates to the errata nor do they have the book's source code posted. So, if you are not an intermediate python programmer or an intermediate Django developer, you may find yourself throwing this book or your computer in frustration.

Other than that, if I could just figure out which version of Django it is written for, I would love this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but already dated., August 25, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Practical Django Projects (Expert's Voice in Web Development) (Paperback)
This is a well-written book that is fairly easy to read. If you're new to Django (or web development in general), this book will teach you how things fit together. There are lots of code examples, and the author walks you through building an app, and then puts the complete code at the end of the section (which I like).

The code in this book seems to be built using the 0.96 release of Django. I started learning with the svn version (leading up to 1.0), and a large number of things work differently than explained in the book. If you buy this book and want to use version 1.0, you'll often need to read through Django's documentation, too. Also, the author periodically explains some basic python syntax in an effort to make the book more accessible to new python users. In my opinion, this could be removed from the book in order to spend more effort explaining Django.

Overall: A good book. I'm glad I bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ars Technica review of Practical Django Projects, July 11, 2008
By 
This review is from: Practical Django Projects (Expert's Voice in Web Development) (Paperback)
The final, and best, section of this book covers a few topics that have personally revolutionized my understanding and how I think about developing my Django applications. James goes to great lengths to explain the philosophy behind Django's concept of reusable applications.

The idea here is that one should strive to develop small, tightly-focused, and loosely coupled applications (or modules) that can be plugged into any application to add instant functionality. In fact, a large portion of what makes Django such an attractive framework--it's auto-generated admin interface, and copious add-on library--are developed in this exact same fashion. It's one of the reason's Django is so powerful and easy to adopt.

With few Django books on the market at this point, I would recommend Practical Django Projects to anyone who has at least cursory experience with web development or web frameworks. By going through the two substantial projects in this book, a competent developer can hone their Django skills to a level that some have reached only after months or years. This book is short for the amount of useful information it will impart on you; at a thin 256 pages, you'll be speeding through chapters at a nice brisk pace that satisfied my scatterbrained personality.

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must Have Book When Learning Django, July 22, 2008
This review is from: Practical Django Projects (Expert's Voice in Web Development) (Paperback)
If you found that you have worked through the tutorial on the official Django website and are still wanting more, this is the book to get. I started working with Django about 2 months ago and first purchased The Definitive Guide to Django. I am not to familiar with any type of web or other programming and definitely not familiar with web frameworks. After working through the guide and reading some of the online documentation, I found that I was still confused in some areas.

Make sure you work through some of the basics of Django before reading this book. While it does take you step by step through making different projects, you may be confused if you have never seen Django before. There are a ton of great applications out there already developed with Django and this book takes you in to a few examples of them.

In my eyes, James Bennett is the leading authority on Django tutorials. I find myself finding more and more great examples on his personal blog every day. I would highly recommend this book to anyone wanting to learn more about Django.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could be perfect BUT these serious flaws:, November 10, 2008
By 
ldm616 (United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Practical Django Projects (Expert's Voice in Web Development) (Paperback)
1) The code examples don't work with the current version of Django.

2) Despite several references to them in the book (eg p111), there are no source code downloads on the Apress website, period. I have emailed and called Apress customer support and received no reply.

3) Not as serious as the previous issues, but there are virtually no screenshots in the book. Even a few would make the code in the book come alive.

Bottom line: The concept is great. The execution, flawed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have!, July 6, 2008
By 
Brandon Taylor "Web Developer" (Winston-Salem, North Carolina) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Practical Django Projects (Expert's Voice in Web Development) (Paperback)
This book certainly doesn't disappoint. The examples are excellent, and can easily be abstracted and applied to just about any Django project. I found the TemplateTag examples to be particularly helpful.

The book is an easy read, and is a great companion to The Deinfitive Guide to Django. Two thumbs way up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Out of date in less than a year, April 3, 2009
This review is from: Practical Django Projects (Expert's Voice in Web Development) (Paperback)
This book was published in 2008, when Django was in version 0.96. Almost immediately after publication Django released version 1.0, and the bulk of this book became out of date. Further, neither the author nor the publisher has published any web resources, whether errata, code samples, or a guide to upgrading. Fortunately, there are a smattering of blogs from Django enthusiasts out there, if you can find them, who will walk you through the changes you'll need to make to get the code in this book working. All that being said, this is a well written language guide, probably one of the best I've ever read. So save your money and wait for the second edition, due out sometime in 2009.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Projects Don't Work, December 27, 2008
By 
A. M. Cohen (Newton, MA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Practical Django Projects (Expert's Voice in Web Development) (Paperback)
Book seems reasonably well written. I learned some things from the first two chapters but, as other reviewers have noted, Django 1.0 and beyond are not compatible with this book. You can Google around and find how different people solved the incompatibilities, but that's painful and not educational.

Apress needs to issue an errata on their site discussing the changes needed. Until they do this, the book's not awfully useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Practical Django Projects (Expert's Voice in Web Development)
Practical Django Projects (Expert's Voice in Web Development) by James Bennett (Paperback - June 25, 2008)
$44.99 $3.11
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.