Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 5, 2012
Go to their website for these terrible instructions if you want them free.

Book has terrible spelling, formatting, photos, etc, because they took it straight off the website.

The instructions are simply terrible. I'll be honest, I have yet to find a good book with instructions.

If you want instructions to make almost anything out of duct tape, here they are:

Make duct tape fabric by taking two strips of your desired length, and putting the sticky sides of each piece together so that half of each strip's sticky side is exposed. Fold one of the two pieces over the other like a hot dog. Take another piece of tape and, putting sticky side to sticky side, use the new tape to cover up the exposed sticky tape, so that half of the new tape's sticky side is exposed. Repeat with new pieces of tape until the fabric has your desired dimensions. Add one last piece of tape and fold it over as you had done in the beginning. Cut the fabric to a sewing pattern for your desired result. Tape pattern pieces together.
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2011
This is actually quite the terrible little book. It has a lot of grammatical errors as well as words typed/spelled incorrectly. I'm mostly disappointed with the very vague instructions.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 20, 2013
this looks like a book but really its just a link up to a bunch of projects online. you have to dig and flip threw a tun of links and added crap at the end of each short how to. i mean i get its free but its was rather annoying.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 9, 2013
Grammatical errors, spelling errors. Don't waste your (not you're) time and money on this piece (not peace). It is all taken from Instructables website.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 6, 2012
To start, this book does has some grammatical errors. Even though it is a great price, just go on the website. I found some of the projects impossible. Mostly because of no matrials. Otherwise it was o.k.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2014
To those who reuse and recycle, or who need to repair a beloved piece, this book gives some great ideas too.

Absolutely hysterical: the Duct Tape Hammock. Even if you read this review but do not own the book, you can probably envision, what it looks like. This example also illustrates why I think this is a cool book; It makes us think how we could simply create or repair something. In the this age of prefabricated solutions and "buy, buy, buy" pitches that is amazing. This book is packed with creativity.

Sidenote: It appears that the authors were in a real hurry to share their ideas with the world, the book could have benefitted from some proof reading. While for me that does not take away anything from its content, teenagers might get the wrong impression.

Love these creative ideas!

Gisela, Hausmann, author & blogger
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2013
Practical Duct Tape Projects has to be the most poorly written book of any sort I've ever read. Each project was contributed by different authors, but apparently no one was asked to edit any of the book for anything- content, spelling or punctuation. There are even typos that were ignored that any word processing program would automatically flag. One contributor made a mistake in the making of his duct tape coat and it tore the first time it was tried on, but rather than fix it so it is perfect for the photos, and warn how to avoid the defect, they included it in photos with special detail shots pointing to the tear, but little was said on how to avoid making the same mistake. Many chapters read as if it were a direct transcription of an especially inarticulate video demonstration. There was no project described clearly enough to enable someone with no duct tape experience to complete the project. The book did have a competent graphic designer working on the cover and page layout and the layouts were pleasing. The photos were well executed and were in focus, yet it was often hard to get a sense of scale or to tell just what the item was or why anyone would want it. It appeared that an attempt was made to offer details within many of the photos, but that feature didn't work on my smart phone. The authors should be embarrassed to present such shoddy writing even if the goal was not to make money selling books.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 8, 2013
I picked this up for free, and didn't realize it was put together from Instructables. Anybody who does DIY projects is aware of this site, one I don't really frequent because the vast majority of the projects posted there are poor quality, with even poorer instructions and photography.They put out several others, different titles and subjects, all are equally horrible in quality.

This "book" is simply a compliation of projects from the site, which includes frequent advertising for the website. The directions are complete with typos, nothing is edited and the projects shown are those only suitable for children.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 10, 2013
This book is horrible it's the worst book I've read. The instructions are to confusing I wasted 20 rolls of duct tape! I'm sure there is a better way to use duct tape
...
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 10, 2014
I am amazed to find out you can make clothing from duct tape. That is just some of the projects in this book. You can also make a holder for a MP3 player, a flashlight,book marks,water bottle and many other things with the instructions in this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.