Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Many good suggestions
About a year ago I found Alex's podcast and listened to every one of them. The early part of the series focused on how to protect your home. The others are a combination of how to protect yourself and a lot of common sense topics.

This book is a good summary of the information in the how to protect your home series.

If you are like I was when I...
Published on October 26, 2011 by Joe

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Basics for beginners
At 102 pages, this a very concise book on home security basics. Much of the information I read in this book I had already learned through doing various Google searches on home security. However, the author did mention a few things that I hadn't thought of to help make yourself less of a target to criminals. He does not go into details about which locks, screws, home...
Published on January 10, 2012 by C. A.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Basics for beginners, January 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
At 102 pages, this a very concise book on home security basics. Much of the information I read in this book I had already learned through doing various Google searches on home security. However, the author did mention a few things that I hadn't thought of to help make yourself less of a target to criminals. He does not go into details about which locks, screws, home security systems, etc. are the best to purchase. He leaves that to the reader's discretion based on the reader's budget for home security. If you know nothing about about home security, then this is a good place to start. If you're already educated on the basics and looking for something a little more in depth, then choose a different book. I'd recommend "Kick Ass" Home Security! Veteran Police Officer Reveals Simple Ways to Protect Yourself from Burglars, Thieves, and Other Scum-of-the-Earth!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Many good suggestions, October 26, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
About a year ago I found Alex's podcast and listened to every one of them. The early part of the series focused on how to protect your home. The others are a combination of how to protect yourself and a lot of common sense topics.

This book is a good summary of the information in the how to protect your home series.

If you are like I was when I first discovered Alex's podcasts you will benefit greatly from this book. It covers a lot of topics that will really help you get your act together in making your home less of a target for criminals.

As I found out, just because you live in a nice sleepy neighborhood that does not mean someone will not kick in your back door and come into your house. If I had known then what I know now they might not have chosen my house.

The book is pretty concise. I think that the kindle edition at $4.99 is a good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent as an introduction, July 5, 2013
This review is from: Practical Home Security: A Guide to Safer Urban Living (Paperback)
This concise book is clearly written and I was able to finish it in a day. Because of the brevity of the book, there are many topics where more detail may be desired, but the book still provides an excellent overview of how to approach home security. The author has clearly had a lot of unfortunate personal experience with these issues, but the upside is that he does seem to know what he's talking about. Here's a summary of key points from the book:

- Be calmly aware without becoming paranoid.

- Focus on safety of people, not protection of property. And leave serving justice to bad guys to trained professionals.

- After any encounter with a bad guy, promptly call 911 (before the bad guy calls).

- Be unpredictable in your daily activities, including when home lights go on/off. Consider having a TV simulator in the home.

- Be a hard target for criminals, applying multiple layers and redundant measures for deterrence and protection.

- Don't enter the home if a burglary may be in progress.

- Always have a cell phone handy.

- Illuminate the full perimeter of the house, using both constant (eg, light sensitive) and motion-sensing lights.

- Use exterior video cameras, including cameras visible to criminals.

- Keep vegetation trimmed below window level.

- Have security system signs and stickers, but not for the specific brand of system you have. 'Beware of dog' signs can also be effective, even if you don't have a dog.

- Don't let expensive items or children's toys be visible from doors and windows.

- Use solid core exterior doors without windows, with one or more heavy deadbolts, and with a steel or reinforced frame. The door from a garage to a house should be treated as an exterior door. Use a peephole or video camera to see who's at the front door, and be gruff if you don't know the person at the front door. Never let children answer the door or even come within sight of it.

- Make sure all doors and windows stay locked!

- Get a good alarm system, but consider hiring private security for rapid response to alarms.

- Don't identify yourself or your status on your answering machine. Just say 'You've reached xxx-xxxx, please leave a message.' Never let children answer the phone. Never say the man of the house isn't home.

- Dogs have some deterrence value, but are not all equally effective.

- If the home is invaded while occupied, first call 911. Consider having a safe room, which mainly means a door comparable to a strong exterior door. But this is less straightforward if occupants are in multiple rooms. Also consider stashing weapons around the house, but always be mindful of child safety.

- Be very careful about allowing workmen into the home and limiting their access in the home. Don't be fooled by fake workmen or government employees.

- Have a video inventory of your belongings and store it outside the home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Title Says it all, April 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Very helpful. The book offers practical suggestions for security. Dovetails nicely with Alex's great podcast. Great value as a kindle book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best home security book, January 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is the best in its class. It compliments the book, Kick Ass Home Security. Buy them both and have a good small library to protect you every day housing needs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good coverage of the Basics, May 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is based on the material in the author's podcast. It is a great resource. It compliments the podcast material by serving as a review of and reference for all of the home security information in one place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alex is a true expert., April 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Alex Haddox really knows his home security, having lived through tragedy and also having dedicating his life to self-defense and protection. I took lots of tips from him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great intro to basic home security, February 8, 2013
By 
SE (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Very good introduction to basic home security. Things to think about, different options, different considerations, etc. I recommend "Kick Ass Home Security" after reading this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, February 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is book is full of tips for protecting your loved one's. I highly recommend this to any family that wishes to be proactive in the defence of your family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid and concise advice, December 17, 2011
This book is the perfect length if you want a quick no-nonsense primer on what you can do to make your home more secure. It takes about an hour to read through and communicates what you need to know quickly and clearly. Stores of real life crimes and hypothetical security situations help keep you interested and perfectly illustrate the main points of the book.

Where the book stops short is at making specific brand recommendations or providing technical recommendations for home security alarms and the like. On the flip side of that, there is little the book recommends that you could not take action on the very next day after reading it, either by yourself or after making a couple phone calls to local contractors.

I also really liked that Alex acknowledged the line between fear mongering and being serious about protecting yourself. Without that reminder it's easy to see the case studies as sensationalism designed to scare you into action instead of illustrations of the threats you can guard against.

Considering the low cost and the great advice that is easy too act on, this is a fantastic first step to making yourself and your family safer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Practical Home Security: A Guide to Safer Urban Living
Practical Home Security: A Guide to Safer Urban Living by Alex Haddox (Paperback - October 12, 2011)
$14.99 $13.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.