Customer Reviews


1,034 Reviews
5 star:
 (667)
4 star:
 (199)
3 star:
 (69)
2 star:
 (39)
1 star:
 (60)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


131 of 140 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VERY underrated movie! A must see!
I bought this movie after it came out and pop it in every couple of months. "Practical Magic" is a wonderful, have-fun movie that is just right as a Halloween movie for any age (save maybe very, very young viewers.) I know because every Halloween party I've had, this movie has delighted my guests.
Sandra Bullock and Nicole Kidman are wonderful as two...
Published on April 26, 2001 by Avalon Daughter

versus
18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but Far from Perfect
This movie certainly is a mixed bag! Not only does it mix in several very good and poignant scenes with some utterly illogical and cheesy ones, but compresses within it no less than five plot strands!
Gillian and Sally (Nicole Kidman and Sandra Bullock) are the latest in a long line of witches, stemming from their ancestress Maria Owens who was banished from her...
Published on December 9, 2002 by R. M. Fisher


‹ Previous | 1 2104 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

131 of 140 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VERY underrated movie! A must see!, April 26, 2001
By 
Avalon Daughter (I wish I was in Glastonbury) - See all my reviews
I bought this movie after it came out and pop it in every couple of months. "Practical Magic" is a wonderful, have-fun movie that is just right as a Halloween movie for any age (save maybe very, very young viewers.) I know because every Halloween party I've had, this movie has delighted my guests.
Sandra Bullock and Nicole Kidman are wonderful as two sisters in this movie. Their on-screen chemistry is amazing. You can't help but smile as they joke with each other and interact because it reminds you of how you were with a close sibling or how you wish you could be with one.
Stockard Channing and Dianne Wiest are amazing. As supporting actresses, they almost steal the show as they are described as the aunts who are "sugar and spice" by the director, Griffin Dunne.
The story is about two sisters who are very close who live with their aunts in what I assume is a New England town. They have the reputation of being "witches" who curse any man who dares love an Owens woman. Of course, Gillian (Nicole Kidman) and Sally (Sandra Bullock) get into a bit of trouble as Gillian's evil boyfriend Jimmy (Goran Visnjic) accidently ends up dead at their hands through self-defense that can be deemed suspicious by anyone else and they try to figure out a way to cover it up. Things get stickier when the Officer Hallet (Adian Quinn) shows up to find the wanted Jimmy and sparks fly between Sally and Officer Hallet. Do they try to send him away and risk Sally losing her one true love? Or do they let him stay and risk Gillian and Sally getting caught while Jimmy's ghost continues to torment Gillian?
This movie is based on a third of Alice Hoffman's wonderful book by the same name. For those of you who have seen the movie (spoiler alert) and are curious about the book, you won't be disappointed. Remember the woman that wished to take another woman's husband? Well, you get to find out what happens to her as well as the adventures that Sally's daughters get into as they grow up. In other words, the book is better than the movie, but the movie is just as fun as the book.
As for those of you who like DVDs and their extra features, it is chock-full of them. From the game of "find the ingredients to mix the love potion" you have to search through the various features in the DVD to click on "ingredients" and get clues as to mixing the love potion which opens up a whole behind-the-scenes featurette. It also contains trailers, bios, and other little tidbits that were artistically designed well and accompanied by wonderful little chimes and music.
This "witch" movie is not quite as dark as "the Craft" (or ridiculous for that matter) as not as sex-filled as "Witches of Eastwick" but genuinely wholesome, fun and delightful. Especially the "Midnight Margaritas" scene which will have you humming the tune for days. A good recommendation for a Halloween movie for most ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The BEST movie involving the Craft I've ever seen, August 7, 2000
By 
Feywild "Feywild" (Freezing in Michigan) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Practical Magic [VHS] (VHS Tape)
As a Wiccan, I was happily surprised at the treatment of witches in this film. Unlike the power-hungry, psycho teenyboppers of The Craft (a horrendous, disgusting film! ), this movie treated their witches with a light, humorous touch. As a romantic, I couldn't recommend this movie more.
Though the special effects were very Hollywood, you have to keep in mind that this movie was made by Hollywood. No, we can't float off roofs; no, we can't raise the dead. Still, all in all, it was a beautiful movie; an affirmation of witchiness!
There was little treatment of the religion of Wicca, but then again the women were never stated to be Wiccan. They are witches, yes, but that's not necessarily the same thing. Some of my favorite movie lines are in this movie (the other is "Ghostbusters"): "There is no Devil in the Craft."; "You can't practice magic while looking down your nose at it."; and "There's a little witch in all of us."
I love this movie. I will watch it again and again and again. And I find myself singing the songs by Faith Hill and Stevie Nicks (wonderful, magickal Stevie!) at work in the middle of the day.
Buy it. Watch it. Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


89 of 97 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved this movie., February 18, 2001
By 
"tradervic27" (Durham, NC United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Practical Magic [VHS] (VHS Tape)
No matter what religion you are or how you feel about witchcraft, if you enjoy good acting & a great storyline, you'll like this film. Both Bullock & Kidman are excellent & their characters are well-drawn, likable & familiar. Most women will relate to the loves & losses, trials & errors of these independent young women.
They are, of course, different in some ways. Born into a legacy of witches & dark history, the Owens females live under a curse that destroys any man who gets too close to them. (Then again, some of us may have felt 'cursed' more than once in our love lives...)
Bullock plays Sally, the levelheaded one who is determined to have a "normal" life. She falls in love early (w/a little crafty help from the aunts -Stockard Channing & Dianne Wiest), then marries & has two daughters who look exactly like she & 'Gillie' (Kidman). For a few years, Sally is blissfully happy until the day she hears the cricket chirp - a sign of impending death. After her husband is killed, Sally falls into a depression so deep that only her sister can pull her out.
They have an unbreakable bond - not only of blood & love, but of spirit. The strength of this bond actually saves Gillie's life, when she manages to hook-up with an evil madman who 'comes back' from death. The ending is quite well done.
This was a movie about belief, trust, family & a very old fight - good vs. evil. It was also about a love strong & pure enough to break a centuries-old curse, true enough to save a woman pulled in the depths of true evil. It is touching, satisfying & emotionally uplifting. Rent it! Then rent it again for the soundtrack alone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AN ENCHANTINGLY ENTERTAINING FILM, September 30, 2003
By A Customer
A truly magical ancestress, a witch in very deed, escapes the hangman's noose only to place a curse on herself and her female posterity. What ensues is an enchantingly wonderful, though sometimes dark, tale of two witch sisters who live to deal with the family curse.
Nicole Kidman and Sandra Bullock star as the witch sisters who approach their upbringing in magic very differently. Bullock's character, the level headed and pragmatic Sally, wants nothing more than to find true love and live a normal life while her sister Gillian (Kidman) wants to live it up and change the men in her life like most people change their socks.
The two join magical forces when one of Gillian's assorted men emerges as a sinister character played by Goran Visnjic. Their adventures seem to have gone well until a lawman (Aidan Quinn) shows up with all too many questions and seems all too familiar to Sally.
Perhaps even more appealing than Kidman and Bullock from the standpoint of screen presence, Dianne Wiest and Stockard Channing star as a couple of enchanting -- almost Victorian -- aunts of our two heroines that are absolutely spellbinding and unforgettable.
Practical Magic, regardless of the theme, is not a Halloween flick like Hocus Pocus and should not be avoided by any who might think that it has seasonal appeal.
An enchantingly entertaining film!
Douglas McAllister
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simply Magical, March 20, 2000
This review is from: Practical Magic [VHS] (VHS Tape)
After reading the excellent novel by Alice Hoffman, I was excited to see this movie, since rearely are there any good films made about witches, especially romantic comedies. But 'Practical Magic' is charming. Yes, Aidan Quinn could've done SO much better (he didn't seem all there), but other than that, it's great. Stockard Channing and Dianne Weist are adorable. Channing plays the delightfully abrasice aunt, while Weist is the sweet gentle one (quite a change from her role as the Wicked Queen in NBC's the 10th Kingdom). Kidman is so scatterbrained you have to love her. And, as usual, Sandra Bullock plays the reserved romantic, which suits her acting ability. You can also see ER's Goran Visjinc playing the crazed abusive boyfriend (very different from his ER character). All in all, this movie was excellent, although Quinn's performance was dull. Still worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but Far from Perfect, December 9, 2002
By 
R. M. Fisher "Ravenya" (New Zealand = Middle Earth!) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This movie certainly is a mixed bag! Not only does it mix in several very good and poignant scenes with some utterly illogical and cheesy ones, but compresses within it no less than five plot strands!
Gillian and Sally (Nicole Kidman and Sandra Bullock) are the latest in a long line of witches, stemming from their ancestress Maria Owens who was banished from her village on the crimes of witchcraft. Pregnant with her lovers child, and devastated that he never came to rescue her, she placed a spell upon herself that she might never again feel the pain of love. However, this spell became a curse, and for the next three hundred years, the men that any Owens women ever loved would reach an untimely end. This is what happened to Gillian and Sally's father, and soon after their mother died also of a broken heart, leaving them to stay with their quirky aunts Frances and Jet (Stockard Channing and Dianne Wiest). The four make a loving family, but as Jet puts it - 'with the sweets comes the sour', as the close-knit town community despise the strange and eccentric Owens women...except of course when its in their best interests to go to the aunts for help with their life-love.
Exposed to the desparate and all-consuming nature of love that is witnesses in the aunt's customers Sally decides that she never wants to fall in love. Gillian however can't wait, and while she scampers away from the town as soon as she's old enough, Sally creates a spell in her childhood of the man she is to fall in love with - a man so perfect she feels he can not possibly exist, with qualities such as being able to flip pancakes, ride a horse backwards, and have one green and one blue eye. Her logic is if he doesn't exist, she can never have her heart broken.
Time will tell differently however - by their adulthood Sally is happily married and living a blissfully normal life with two daughters and Gillian is involved with a gorgeous -but dangerous- man. Sally truly loves her husband however, and when the curse takes effect she is devastated. Gillian has problems of her own however when her boyfriend Jimmy gets violent. When Sally goes to rescue her sister they are both kidnapped by Jimmy and manage to escape only by loading his liquior bottle with belladonna, a powerful sedative. Unfortunatly, Jimmy doesn't survive the experience.
Terrified, the sisters perform a ressurection spell, but when Jimmy returns as something 'dark and un-natural' they panic, knock him out and bury him in the backyard. But not all things stay buried, least of all Jimmy, and when a police-dectective from Arizona comes investigating his disappearence the house, Sally is petrified - especially since he has one green eye and one blue one...
Sandra Bullock and Nicole Kidman are great as Gillian and Sally, and they carry full weight of the mish-mashed storyline on their shoulders. Kidman's accent faulters at times (especially whenever she says 'aunts') but on the whole performs the carefree, irresponsible younger sister very well. Bullock as the older, more composed and sensible Sally is just as good, and the two can easily pull off the sister bond.
Unsurpringly Stockard Channing and Diane Weist create the aunts perfectly, with Channing as the sharper, more eccentric Frances and Weist as the gentle and kind Jet.
Aidan Quinn however is nothing to sing and dance about. He enters the movie quite late, and then leaves just as early and Bullock has far more chemistry with the actor playing her first husband, even though he's in the movie for an even shorter time (or maybe its just because I love their run 'n jump kiss so much!)
...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful Performance by Kidman, January 31, 2000
By 
"vidsparky" (the Emerald City in Kansas) - See all my reviews
While many reviews are positive and a few of them negative in this section, I found it to be a fantastic tale about women and the Craft. Yes, Bullock could give a better performance, but I don't think it is about her or Kidman. Instead, I challenge all of the people who have written negative reviews to examine EVERY DAY LIFE and then watch the movie. I found this a heart-warming tale about the "magical" instances in our childhood. As a child, I was told of curses, boogey stories, voodoo, magic and it was left for me to decide what to believe. Depending on the viewer's BELIEFS, the story could or could not happen. The thing that I ultimately think made the movie was the special effects and the composition of the scenes. The director (Dunne) utilized them in a way that they did not stand out. Rather, the effects were blended seemlessly into the film. To those doubters, watch it first, then again, noting the effects. Only after the second time, decide wheather you like it or not. Overall, I found the movie (DVD) captivating. I will be buying this on DVD very soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entralling Adult Fairy Tale, November 9, 2001
By 
This review is from: Practical Magic [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I probably would not have gone to see or rented this movie , but saw it on a flight on Sabena Airlines in early 1999 so I was part of a captive audience
I found the movie very charming and last weekend I rented it to see it for a second time. Good storyline and beautifully set
The two lead roles are played by Sandra Bullock : Sally ,The down to earth and good hearted Sally who wants nothing more than a happy domestic life (unfortunately there is a 300 year spell that makes a love affair with a man impossible-that is if the man is to live!)
And Nicole Kidman :Gillian the wild and mischievous one that loves the high life
Both add sparkle to the movie in their own way. Then there are the two ultra-eccentric aunts who are devout believers in `the Craft' played by Stockard Channing and Dianne Wiest
And Sally's two daughters are charmingly portrayed by child actresses who I think will go far !!!
Then there is the vampire like villain who Gillian stupidly gets involved with played by Goran Visnjic and the knight in shining armor played by the indomitable Aidan Quinn
This is a enthralling adult fairy tale where good defeats evil and love conquers all (themes which have been lacking in the 90's but which I fervently hope will see revival)
See it. You'll be spellbound!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I adore it, March 9, 2007
This is a movie that, since I bought it, I have watched over and over again. The first few months after I initially bought it, in fact, I would watch it every single Friday night without fail. The neat thing about "Practical Magic" is that it is many things - it is romantic comedy; it is paranormal; it is horror; it is about family; it is about surviving in a community where you are different - it is all those things and more. Beautifully imagined and acted, the story captivates while it carries you along with it.

Sally and Jillian Owens are the latest in a line of witches stemming from Maria Owen in the 1700s. She was set up as a witch and set to be hanged, but using her magic, she caused the rope to break. However, she was exiled to the island on which the current Owens' live; pregnant and alone, she waited for her lover to save her. When he did not, she cast a spell upon herself so that she would never love again; however, she became so bitter over time that it turned into a curse, one passed through the ages, causing any man that was truly loved by an Owens woman to die an untimely death. Jilly (played by Nicole Kidman) revels in her sexuality and role as a witch; Sally (played by Sandra Bullock) longs for a normal life. After Sally's first husband dies and she is just getting her life back together, she receives a frantic call from Jilly, whose boyfriend Jimmy Angelov has apparently snapped. She runs to Arizona to rescue Jilly, but they both end up being taken hostage by Jimmy, who seems completely off his rocker (I can't remember the actor's name right now, but the man who plays Jimmy Angelov is amazing). When he tries to kill Jilly, Sally ends up killing him instead. Desperately trying to come up with a way to get out of the situation, Jilly suggests that they raise him from the dead. This, of course, leads to unfortunate results and Sally is forced to kill him again, and they bury him out back. Gary Hallett (Aidan Quinn), a cop from Tucson, shows up shortly thereafter, looking for Jimmy.

That is a good bit of the basic plot - there is, of course, a great deal more to it and the ending is wonderfully sweet. Everyone who I have made to sit down and watch this movie with me has enjoyed it - even my husband. So, do yourself a favor and buy this movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stockard Channing and Sandra Bullock Steal the Film!, May 24, 2003
By 
Mike "mavjb" (Toms River, NJ, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The initial release of this movie had some Wiccans complaining that it wasn't fully accurate of the religion. We must remember, it's Hollywood and they do take liberties with "facts" for effect and entertainment.
On the plus side, this is probably the most Wiccan friendly film available that explains some of the Earth based tenets within the Craft.
Sandra Bullock will make you laugh and certainly make you cry. The scenes where we see her frustration penetrates the audience like a beacon. Only the heartless of the world could possibly be unaffected. Additionally, Stockard Channing acted her butt off along with the rest of the cast. The whole film came across as though they had a wonderful time making it.

It is a cute romantic comedy with whacky aunts, a wild sister and a boyfriend from hell, LITERALLY. It's worth the purchase and should get a number or repeat viewings when you need a little pick me up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2104 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Practical Magic (1998)
Practical Magic (1998) by Griffin Dunne
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.