Customer Reviews


1,827 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,505)
4 star:
 (188)
3 star:
 (70)
2 star:
 (38)
1 star:
 (26)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


535 of 564 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paleo diet meets functional medicine!
I love this book!

For anyone new to the Paleo approach to health and eating, Ms. SanFilippo's Practical Paleo is a perfect starting place. While the market has seen an explosion of books in the Paleo diet world over the last decade, this book is unique in that is combines the wisdom of the Paleo approach to nutrition with the unique insights that are emerging...
Published on August 7, 2012 by Author, Wheat Belly: Lose the ...

versus
435 of 492 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars In need of some editing
This is a great book, but it's suffering from some inattention to detail. My husband and I have been following a paleo/primal way of eating for about a year now and after completing a Whole30 program, we discussed having him try an Autoimmune Protocol for the lingering issues he was still dealing with. I was completely overwhelmed at the thought of feeding us without eggs...
Published on September 6, 2012 by Loraine McNeill


‹ Previous | 1 2183 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

535 of 564 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paleo diet meets functional medicine!, August 7, 2012
This review is from: Practical Paleo: A Customized Approach to Health and a Whole-Foods Lifestyle (Paperback)
I love this book!

For anyone new to the Paleo approach to health and eating, Ms. SanFilippo's Practical Paleo is a perfect starting place. While the market has seen an explosion of books in the Paleo diet world over the last decade, this book is unique in that is combines the wisdom of the Paleo approach to nutrition with the unique insights that are emerging from the "functional medicine" approach to health.

She provides, for instance, 30-day meal plans that are tailored to specific health conditions, such as thyroid health and athletic performance. There's an especially delightful and informative discussion about gastrointestinal health (including a Poop Pageant in which she describes how stool character can be used to discern digestive problems that left me laughing until it hurt!). The book is packed with beautiful illustrations that make the discussions crystal-clear.

There are also a substantial collection of recipes, most of them unique that I have not seen before, consistent with the Paleo approach. Even readers who have read other Paleo cookbooks will discover many new twists on meals and snacks in this book.

All in all, Practical Paleo is a masterful piece of work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


451 of 484 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practical Paleo is not just the best Paleo book, it's the best overall nutritional, health, & wellness book on the market!, August 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Practical Paleo: A Customized Approach to Health and a Whole-Foods Lifestyle (Paperback)
As someone who's been actively involved in this community for years, as someone who's attended seminars (even the Practical Paleo seminar), someone who wrote a paleo book (Eat Like a Dinosaur) I am LEARNING NEW STUFF in Diane's book. There's SO much information - I've had the book for weeks and am still finding new things.

Diane's poignant and practical definition of complicated concepts, are so very clear to me - a skill she has a knack for unlike anyone I know of in our community. The entire book takes all the ideas you just can't quite figure out, and makes it easily digestible, easy to understand, and absolutely practical to implement.

This book is intended to be used like a reference book, and that's just what it is. From the tailored information on specific conditions (in my case, Autoimmune) to the reference points on leaky gut, carbs and blood sugar regulation, everything you're looking for is here. There's even sections on stress reduction and self care.

I personally followed the Autoimmune protocol defined in the book for 3 weeks. I took seriously Diane's personal challenge to de-stress and followed, exactly, her defined protocol in Practical Paleo.
I added the supplements and nutrient dense foods.
I stuck to the defined foods to avoid and to add.
I left work earlier every day.
I played with electronics less.
I went to bed sooner.

After some serious hair pulling, temper tantrums and screaming about how limited I sometimes felt (thankfully the book has lots of ideas and recipes to make it interesting)... the results are in:

My skin is clearing up! Admittedly, the massive break-outs on the lower half of my face are one of the main contributors for my commitment to eating more cleanly. I found this link which validated for me that it was caused by too much sugar (hormones) and stress. I'm so glad to be getting perfect skin back again!
No longer bloated or retaining water. I lost 7lbs, SEVEN POUNDS, in the first week. Yes, that's water weight; which is just as awful to carry around! My wedding rings went from being tight to loose in 2 weeks.
Joint pain is reduced massively - I used to crack my knuckles, neck and back by the quarter-hour. My knees were a bit crackly - although not nearly as much as before I went paleo 2 years ago. Now, all of that is disappearing (several hours before I want to crack joints).
Painful or loose eliminations after breakfast are gone. Uh.. yeah. Eggs. I'm gonna have to miss them for a while. I'm hopeful that the reintroduction of pastured soy- and wheat-free egg yolks will go well. We'll see.
Sleeping better. Because I'm not consuming caffeine (eliminated coffee and chocolate) my body naturally fell in a rhythm of getting tired around and waking up naturally.

So do I recommend Practical Paleo? Without a doubt. It will now be the #1 book I recommend to anyone. Because whether you have heart problems, diabetes, are recovering for cancer, are an athlete, want to lose weight, have digestive problems or allergies from food - this book has been tailored to you. There's not a single person in the world that wouldn't benefit from reading this fantastic book.

And then on top of all of that, you get 120 amazing and beautifully photographed recipes. That's more than some cookbooks!

This is the most informative and comprehensive nutritional guide we've ever read. Diane has nutritional plans for whatever ails you: from autoimmune, celiac and thyroid conditions, to heart health, athletic performance and cancer survivors. And each one of these plans includes a full thirty day meal plan, nutritional supplements, supportive nutrients (my favorite) as well as diet & lifestyle just for that condition. Honestly, this kind of tailored in-depth nutritional counseling would run you thousands of dollars and Diane is only charging you two Andrew Jacksons (and only one if you order from Amazon).

Not only that, but it's completely accessible for non-paleo types who just want relief for whatever health issue they are dealing with, explaining in easy to understand and scientifically sound terms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


435 of 492 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars In need of some editing, September 6, 2012
By 
Loraine McNeill (Dallas, TX United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a great book, but it's suffering from some inattention to detail. My husband and I have been following a paleo/primal way of eating for about a year now and after completing a Whole30 program, we discussed having him try an Autoimmune Protocol for the lingering issues he was still dealing with. I was completely overwhelmed at the thought of feeding us without eggs or nightshades so when I heard about the meal plans in this book I was elated! I snapped it up in the Kindle format and started reading. Since I mainly wanted it for the meal plans, I largely skimmed the first half of the book. If you're already familiar with Robb Wolf and other paleo authors, this book will be mostly review. For the uninitiated, the book is easy to read and understandable without needing a degree in biochemistry.

The meal plans themselves have some oversights. In theory, each meal plan will specifically note what, if any changes need to be made to a recipe in order to make it adhere to a specific health condition and, in some cases, it does just that. In others it's completely overlooked. For example, the autoimmune meal plans uses potato pancakes for several meals which, if you look at the recipe, include eggs. Neither the meal plan nor the recipe itself offer suggestions for how to alter the recipe to eliminate the egg, but still end up with something resembling a pancake instead of hashbrowns. It's not necessarily a huge issue if you keep in mind your "avoid" list, but even though I was pretty certain I understood the protocol, I still went back and forth between the meal plan and the avoid list multiple times feeling like I had missed something.

The formatting of the Kindle edition also leaves something to be desired. Some sections of the book I have to read on my laptop because many of the graphs and charts just aren't there on the Kindle. I have pages of nothing but bullet points at the start of each different meal plan. I can still use the meal plans or recipes themselves, but I'm highly disappointed at the quality here and really hope that someone will take the time to look over the ebook and make it more readable and user friendly for the Kindle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


169 of 204 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not very "Practical", November 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Practical Paleo: A Customized Approach to Health and a Whole-Foods Lifestyle (Paperback)
I really wanted to like this book but it was not quite what I expected. It is huge - like a college textbook - the pictures are lovely, it is truly chock full of information and the book is well organized. That being said, I am a single mom on a very, very limited budget living in a small town. We cannot afford lamb let alone find it around here and Shrimp Ceviche? Really? Shrimp is expensive here in the middle of nowhere. Bison? Duck? Sole? No,no, no. Yes, there are chicken thighs two ways - one of the ways is mustard glazed (which my kids won't eat) the other I already know how to make. Sure, there are meatballs. Do you need a recipe for meatballs? This book is not for someone on a limited budget or living more than a mile from Whole Foods. And no, hunting down a local organic farmer is not practical, especially in the dead of winter. My issue was that the title is not accurate. It's not "practical" to eat this way, it's hard (and expensive) work. Pretty book but misleading title. Instead of Practical Paleo a more accurate title would be "Comprehensive Paleo".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


72 of 89 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Recipes aren't good!, February 8, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Practical Paleo: A Customized Approach to Health and a Whole-Foods Lifestyle (Paperback)
I've been incorporating paleo/primal food into my diet for nearly 6 years now. I'm well versed in the science behind it, yada yada yada. Recipes begin on page... 230 and end on 410 - and each recipe is accompanied by a full-size color picture. Yeah, this book is heavy on convincing you of the science of this way of eating. I wish the first 229 pages were sold as a separate book because it makes it cumbersome to try to cook out of this book in the kitchen.

Of the recipes that I've tried, I really dislike them. For example:

Bacon-wrapped Smoky Chicken Thighs (Page 262)- I made it with the savory spice blend (as one of the alternative options listed) and it was just meh. Boring dark meat chicken with no real depth of flavor. Skip this one.

Butternut Sage Soup (Page 348) - The taste of the orange juice is so overpowering, you can't taste any other flavor. I juiced my own large navel orange and it was too much. "1 butternut squash" and "juice of 1 orange" leaves a recipe open to failure. 1/2 lb squash or 1/3 cup fresh orange juice might eliminate these problems. It needed more garlic, more onion, more chicken flavor, some rosemary, thyme... again, no depth of flavor. This recipe was the reason I bought the book so I'm bleh now.

Flourless Mocha-Bacon Brownies (Page 410) - This tastes like straight coffee within an eggy medium. I regularly snack on Lindt 90% bars, so I'm used to things not being overly sweet. My brownies came out as a stiff custard consistency. These weren't sweet whatsoever and are not a substitute for a real brownie.

**Revision: I gave this book another shot and tried another recipe on 3/28/13.

Moo-less Chocolate Mousse (Page 402) - I made this recipe using 4 T of coconut milk (as the recipe states 2-4 T coconut milk) and 2 T of maple syrup (as the recipe states 1-4 T maple syrup or honey.) At first, I thought it was horrid, but I refrigerated it for 30+ minutes and it was more palatable. The maple syrup and cacao powder leaves a sort of bitter after taste, but again, it's palatable.

I live in a family that doesn't eat paleo, and they hated the recipes I made from this book. I definitely can't win them over with these recipes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Nutrition Resource Available, HANDS DOWN, August 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Practical Paleo: A Customized Approach to Health and a Whole-Foods Lifestyle (Paperback)
I have found myself at a serious lack of words to accurately describe the awesome that is this book. I have read and reviewed every Paleo Book that is out on the market, and hands down this one takes the Paleo Cake (all pun intended) Having been able to see the first ever printed copy of this with Diane, I was mesmerized by the amount of information that Diane managed to cram into a book. There truly is something for everyone in this book. From the 30 Day meal plans for every situation under the sun from auto immune conditions to athletic performance there truly is no one that this book won't touch. Diane manages to cover the Paleo Process from preparing your food, to eating it, to what happens on the inside all the way to when you pass the food back out. I know its not always a pleasant dinner conversation but you can learn a lot from your Poop, and Diane has an info graph to teach you.

If I had to pick two books that I would stock up on and hand out to EVERYONE I know whether Paleo or not, gluten free, grain free, dairy free, etc it would be this and Make it Paleo: Over 200 Grain Free Recipes For Any Occasion from the Food Lovers Primal Palate. Not to mention, the food pornography in both books is amazing since Bill Staley took all the photos and if your friends don't want to read, they can drool their way through both books and get something out of it.

To end this, I just want to take a minute to personally thank Diane for truly pouring her heart and soul into this book. The pages just jump at you with all the information floating around in Diane's brain and it is going to touch so many lives. Knowing Diane personally and seeing the sacrifice that went into this book, I can't wait to see all the people who get touched and saved by reading this book. From the bottom of my heart and all the people who are going to benefit from this book, Thank you Diane and I hope you continue to share your vast knowledge with the world through your books, seminars, and website. You are a true invaluable asset to this movement and you need to know that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favorite Paleo book to date!, August 7, 2012
This review is from: Practical Paleo: A Customized Approach to Health and a Whole-Foods Lifestyle (Paperback)
This is the review I shared on my website (smoochbyrobin) and wish to share it here for anyone considering this book. Buy it! You won't be disappointed!

Seven months into my Paleo lifestyle and I'm at a place where I want to do better. Most who know me know that I'm constantly growing and changing. I continue to do things that work but, the more I learn I realize there is always room for improvement. I have fallen in love with the Paleo lifestyle but, I realize I'm still developing the habits and learning how to incorporate them into my everyday life. Then, arrives this beautiful gift from author Diane Sanfilippo, her new book Practical Paleo. The official release of this book will take place on August 7, 2012 and I have had the honor of receiving an advance copy for my review.

With confidence and honesty I can tell you this is the best book on the Paleo lifestyle that I have read to date. I was able to relate to the author and the wonderful way she gets her point across to the reader. When the book arrived my first thought was "this book is huge!" That concerned me at first, as I was looking forward to a real book and not 400 pages of recipes. Don't get me wrong, I think the recipes are a bonus for any book, but I was hoping it wasn't going to be a "cookbook" with a few little words here and there about the Paleo lifestyle. I'm happy to say my concerns were instantly squashed as I opened this book.

When Diane says she's offering a customized approach to the health and whole food lifestyle with this book, she isn't exaggerating! This book is not only full of fabulous information that anyone can understand, but really all you need to do is hold out your hand and it will walk you through the entire process of how to transform the way you are living. From her multiple tear-out guides that can be used to look at as you learn how to shop, stock your pantry and select quality foods, to her extremely well thought 30 day menu plans to help you get started. Not just 1, one-size-fits-all 30 day meal plan, but eleven different 30 day meal plans! This was one of the most impressive features of this book to me. Those of us interested in the Paleo way of life, while we might have the same interests in eating whole foods, looking and feeling better, we are all not made the same. Some of us might be recovering from cancer or need to pay special attention to our heart. Some might be struggling with digestive issues while others are battling Multiple Sclerosis, Fibromyalgia or multiple autoimmune conditions such as Alzheimer's disease or Psoriasis. Maybe you simply want to focus on fat loss or fine tuning your Paleo diet. There are specific menu's including diet and lifestyle recommendations, specific foods to both add and avoid, supplements and herbs to consider and even what types of exercise to consider and/or avoid based on your specific needs.

This might sound a little overwhelming but this book is very well laid out. It's easy to navigate and find what you are looking for. There are explanations why this is not a "diet", how to find health in a modern world and why Paleo is so powerful.

Remember earlier when I mentioned how I was hoping this wasn't going to be just another cookbook? As you can see by my review it's so much more than that but I'm so excited that there are over 120 EASY...read that again EASY....I'm talking EASY recipes! Now, I love to cook for my family and friends, I love to entertain and I don't mind spending all day in the kitchen, sometimes. I very much dislike the need to stand in the kitchen for extended periods of time on a daily basis. In addition to my passion of working within the Paleo community, I'm a full-time wife and mom and I have a full-time career as an event and publication coordinator for an accounting software company. It probably comes without saying that I don't want to spend hours prepping food just to live. Combining the well thought menus with the wonderful recipes in this book makes this so easy! The author also encourages using your leftovers! I personally love this! It is so easy to just heat up a little of last night's dinner for breakfast the next day!

One final detail that makes this book amazing and might I add my favorite Paleo book to date, is the fact that it's beautiful! It's full of color and beautiful photography. It's alive and vibrant and makes it so easy to pick up and look at over and over again.

No matter where you are on your journey, just finding an interest in better living or have been living Paleo for years, this book is a must have. I'm confident you will enjoy it every bit as much as I have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, this is the best food/nutrition book yet., September 9, 2012
This review is from: Practical Paleo: A Customized Approach to Health and a Whole-Foods Lifestyle (Paperback)
Diane from Balanced Bites, really hit it out of the park with this book. I wish when I started my Paleo journey that I would have had this book at my disposal.

I think this book will be accessible to everyone from a Paleo veteran to someone who eats cereal all day. You can tell a lot of thought went into the structure and layout of the book. The first part of the book is an intro to Paleo and why we should be eating whole foods. It's very easy to understand. You get some of the science, but it is never overwhelming. Also included are some awesome guides. They are for quick references ranging from leaky gut, a guide to gluten and a guide to cooking fats. These same guides are also in tear out form in the back of the book so you can mount them to your fridge or carry them with you wherever you go.
My Favorite part of this section is about leaky gut and our digestion. I think this is a subject most people don't know anything about, but it is probably the most important part of our health. Our digestion lays the groundwork for the rest of our body and health. In this section I also really liked how each subject was handled. She introduces you to the subject she is going to talk about and why is it important to our health. Then she explains what can go wrong. Finally she lets you know how to fix it.

The second part of the book is where Diane really excelled. If you purchase this book you have no reason not to succeed at bettering your health. This section runs through numerous meal plans from Blood Sugar Regulation to a meal plan for Athletes. After reading the first section you will probably get a few ideas about which meal plans you might be interested in from reading about certain symptoms. Then you can read through the Meal Plans where she explains them through listing concerns, things to avoid or add and list of supplements or herbs you could be taking. Then she lays out Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner for you for 30 days. This is really so easy.

Finally the last part of the book. Time to start drooling. The recipes all look so good. We have already made the Lemon Rosemary Broiled Salmon.
Practical Paleo "Lemon Rosemary Broiled Salmon"

The Chorizo Meatballs served on Faux Mashed Potatoes.
Practical Paleo "Chorizo Meatballs"

and last night I made some of her Salsa nightshade free version with cucumber and pineapple. I added it to my morning eggs and it was wonderful.
Practical Paleo "Salsa"

They were all amazing, and I already have sticky notes on about a dozen other pages. On the recipe pages themselves she lists if the meals contain nuts, eggs, nightshades or FODMAPS. In some recipes she lets you know how you could make it nightshade free along with other ideas for switching up other ingredients.

In conclusion I can't tell you guys enough how great this book is. This book is for anyone from Robb Wolf to Billy Joe Schmoe. If you are already eating Paleo you could still learn a lot from this book, plus get some amazing new recipes. Or you could just leave it on your coffee table and let your friends stumble upon it. I know if they flip through books like me (back to front) they will want to see more and will start asking questions.

I could babble on and on about this book. Not sure if you can tell how excited I am about it. If you don't want to take my word for it go to your big box bookstore or I think even some costco's and thumb through it. I know you will want to take it home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


109 of 141 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The #1 Book that will save the health of society, August 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Practical Paleo: A Customized Approach to Health and a Whole-Foods Lifestyle (Paperback)
This is truly THE book that will save us. Our health continues to decline at a staggering rate. Some doctors may like to think otherwise but it is true that nutrition is easily the most important element of our health IF you are effectively managing your stress.

Diane is a Paleo "nerd" but please do not let that "fool" you. Paleo, in both mine and Dian's views, simply means to eat real food. She recognizes that we are individually very different which is why she has 11 different 30 day meal plans that were created jus for YOU.

Do you have an autoimmune condition? Poor digestion? Extra fat to lose? Do you need help regulating your blood sugar? Maybe you are just after general health or wish to improve your athletic performance.

Whatever it is, there is a 30 day meal plan created just for YOU.

The first part of the book gives you an easy to understand education about how your body works and why nutrition is so important. She also discusses stress and gratitude which I am a huge fan of (I wrote in a daily gratitude journal for 2 straight years). The second part is all about the 30 day meal plans which is then followed up with 120 EASY recipes. And yes they are EASY.

The first time I made bone broth was one of the most challenging things I have ever done. Thank you Nourishing Traditions. I'm super stoked to make Diane's simple yet very powerful bone broth TODAY.

I could go on and on about this book. I'm a huge fan of Diane Sanfilippo. She cares about the health of the world and is here to change it. I am too. I'll first recommend Practical Paleo to anyone and everyone who wants to improve their health. No other single book can do as much as Practical Paleo can.

What are you waiting for?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Impressively Comprehensive, August 9, 2012
By 
A. Whitwam (San Tan Valley, AZ) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Practical Paleo: A Customized Approach to Health and a Whole-Foods Lifestyle (Paperback)
This is one of a handful of Paleo/Primal Books in our Kitchen and I must say that it is by far the most in depth explanation of the Paleo approach. The bulk of the book will give the reader a great idea of what to eat and why as well as what not to eat and why which in the long run will leave the reader better prepared to think outside the cookbook. While there are many dishes listed (cover says over 120) it doesn't feel as comprehensive as "Make it Paleo" or "Everyday Paleo" which are themselves mostly cookbooks, which isn't completely a bad thing as it makes up for it in other ways. Overall I think this is a solid book which will go a long way in bringing people interested in the Paleo approach up to speed and on the way to happier/healthier meals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2183 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Practical Paleo: A Customized Approach to Health and a Whole-Foods Lifestyle
Practical Paleo: A Customized Approach to Health and a Whole-Foods Lifestyle by Diane Sanfilippo BS NC (Paperback - August 7, 2012)
$39.95 $23.36
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.