Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ben lays it all out there with this one!
Ben has a very unique style that is direct and straightforward. This book is an interesting read in that he is very clear about what fundamentals are crucial and which things are not worth over analyzing. This was great for me as It cleared up somethings I've been struggling with a bunch. For example he makes it clear that it's so important to have a strong, solid grip...
Published 21 months ago by Dave Solimini

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok book
Ok reading for all level shooters idpa as well little more should have been on drill and prep for competition
Published 18 months ago by Bruno Soucy


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ben lays it all out there with this one!, February 5, 2013
This review is from: Practical Pistol: Fundamental Techniques and Competition Skills (Paperback)
Ben has a very unique style that is direct and straightforward. This book is an interesting read in that he is very clear about what fundamentals are crucial and which things are not worth over analyzing. This was great for me as It cleared up somethings I've been struggling with a bunch. For example he makes it clear that it's so important to have a strong, solid grip on your gun- and why. This may be obvious in some ways but he explains more on this topic that I never considered. On the other hand some instructors/authors have very specific ideas of just how to move into boxes, where your feet need to be, etc, etc. Ben suggests there are other more important things to focus on. Great stuff. His candid approach to the game is intriguing and he's not afraid to give examples of the challenges he's run into and more importantly- how he's addressed them.

The book has all the ingredients for people just starting out in action shooting as well as for people like myself, who have been shooting for years and are looking for fresh ideas or have plateaued. This book, along with the others that Ben and Jay have put together, gives you all the tools you need to reach new levels in USPSA/IDPA. It took me a while to realize that in many ways, I've been wasting ammo in practice. Now I have what I need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not the typical boring approach, February 5, 2013
This review is from: Practical Pistol: Fundamental Techniques and Competition Skills (Paperback)
The author's unique no nonsense approach to improving technique is what separates this shooting book from the rest. His approach is simple. The explanations are to the point. And the reasoning of why certain things work and others don't is clearly explained. Many shooting books only give general info and technique explanations. This book gives direct reasoning behind the methods instead of just saying, try it and see what works. The author is quick to point out that he's not going to spend time talking about things that aren't important. He simply says, that's not important for the goal so don't waste time on it. There's too many shooting technique books that go over the same thing, in the same long winded way. However, the author has knifed through a lot of that nonsense to give a detailed, to the point, clearly written and easily understandable game plan to greatly improving your shooting skills. All you have to do is have the desire to want to improve and the motivation to GET TO WORK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding!, February 5, 2013
This review is from: Practical Pistol: Fundamental Techniques and Competition Skills (Paperback)
I may be (slightly) biased, but I'm certain that in the very near future this book will be considered the absolute bible for anyone wishing to become a better USPSA/IDPA shooter. I'm a fairly new USPSA Grand Master, and many things in this book resonated with me by either confirming what I had already learned, at great expense and effort, or clarifying things upon which I wasn't quite as certain. The short version is that it's worth every penny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great practical shooting book, November 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Practical Pistol (Kindle Edition)
If you are looking for a great book to take a lot of trial and error out of your training this is it. Ben does a great job of telling you what will work and then ways to test it. This is so much better than "just do what worked for me". That is part of what is so powerful about this book. The actual information is the other part. Ben cuts through a lot of the practical shooting myths and uses some really great shooters explanations to do it. You can definitely tell Ben has taught classes and he uses that experience to explain a lot of errors and their fixes. Overall this is a great book on the practical shooting sports from somebody who has done it and can explain it. The sport still takes practice but this will certainly make your progress faster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm learning a lot about shooting, February 4, 2013
This review is from: Practical Pistol: Fundamental Techniques and Competition Skills (Paperback)
The book flows through the fundamentals of practical shooting like trigger control, grip, & stance in a conversational manner that's easy to follow with the truths of what some different schools of thought have on the subject. We have books from Saul Kirsch and Brian Enos to name a couple that go deep into practical shooting, but there needed to be more written about shooting from more top shooters.

I think Ben saw this and got to work; pulling from his years of experience instructing students and being a highly accomplished shooter to put together what seems to be everything he knows about the technique and skill of competitive shooting in one place. Training and Dry Fire practice are covered in his other two books, Champion Shooting: A Proven Process for Success at Any Level (Volume 1) and Champion Shooting: Guaranteed Results in 15 Minutes A Day.

In addition to the fundamentals listed above, he expands into concepts of the flinch and timing of the gun, skills like draw strokes, shooting on the move, training your focus, stage breakdown and planning, programming, match pressure and more. The blurbs peppered through the book from seasoned shooters Bob Vogel, Chris Bartolo, Dave Sevigny, Matt Mink, J.J. Racaza, Blake Miguez, Jay Hirshberg, Mike Hughes, Matt Hopkins, Taran Butler that help solidify these concepts as well.

"... make no mistake; the best shooters in the game have mastered the fundamentals" - Ben Stoeger

One of my favorite sections is on target arrangement where I learned some details that I had not thought of before now. The sections on mental focus, match pressure and shooting under pressure are equal favorites since it had been a point of contention in my shooting performance for a while now.

Overall, there is a lot to absorb; still, the book is a sincere, deliberate and thoughtful effort to help you be a better shooter. Read it once, then read it again and again. This is a two-hundred page volume of information that deserves a spot in your library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Book Rocks, February 13, 2013
This review is from: Practical Pistol: Fundamental Techniques and Competition Skills (Paperback)
Imagine opening Ben's head, dumping all of the shooting knowledge into a book, and hiding the rest of the stuff away from the kids where it belongs. Now imagine that knowledge was arranged in an easily digestible, streamlined format in a way that anyone with the ability to read will learn from. In the time it takes you to drive to the range and for the cost of a box of ammo you could read this book and have such a head start over where you were before it. If you're starting out and want to know what to start working on.....get this book. If you've been shooting a while and want to get better.....get this book. Hell, even if you hate Ben and just want to know what he's doing to win.....get this book. I did have one problem with the book though. Whoever cast the goofy looking model for the demo pictures needs to be let go. The important thing is the content and it's all there. With the "If You Read This Book, Do What It Says And Don't Get Better, Ben Will Come Cut Your Lawn Guarantee" what do you really have to lose?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stop getting wrapped up and start simply shooting., February 4, 2013
This review is from: Practical Pistol: Fundamental Techniques and Competition Skills (Paperback)
If you only ever buy one USPSA/IPSC/IDPA technique book, buy this one! Easy to read and understand concepts that hit hard on just the first time through no matter what level you are currently at. As B class USPSA shooter I can see many ideas/concepts that would have saved me alot of time in D/C class getting all wrapped up in crap that just didnt matter. I can also see the path to A class and beyond much clearer now than I ever could before. Couple this will other titles from Stoeger and you have one hell of a combo for getting the best results possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practical Explained, April 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Practical Pistol (Kindle Edition)
This book is a must have for anybody either starting out or looking to take their practical shooting to another level. A great look into what a champion does in preparing to win.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the best book on the fundamentals of shooting that I have read., March 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Practical Pistol: Fundamental Techniques and Competition Skills (Paperback)
Easily understandable and helped me learn the why and the how to shoot properly. It also dispels some long held myths that don't hold water. Just buy it. Then go buy lots of ammo. Now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A portable training coach!, July 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Practical Pistol (Kindle Edition)
I purchased this book right when I started shooting a few months ago, along with several other USPSA and competition shooting books and this one is leaps and bounds above all the others. The book isn't written in tactical jargon, but rather plain and easy to understand english. It's helped me avoid a lot of early mistakes in my learning and focused my training on what really matters in this sport. Now that I feel like I understand the basics, when I re-read this book I picked up on nuances that I originally missed. Fantastic book, highly recommend to anyone who plans on, or is participating in USPSA!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Practical Pistol: Fundamental Techniques and Competition Skills
Practical Pistol: Fundamental Techniques and Competition Skills by Ben Stoeger (Paperback - February 4, 2013)
$26.95 $21.47
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.