Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully illustrated, excellent guide to sequencing for home practice
This is a truly beautiful book, from the illustrations to the beautiful excerpts and inspirational quotes to the heavier stock and convenient spiral binding. It's a perfect home practice companion with several useful sequences from beginning to advanced. The themed sequences do an amazing job of clearly illustrating how you can build up to a back bending or hip opening...
Published on May 29, 2009 by Angela Tomassetti

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars but nothing I can't easily get elsewhere
The book was not quite was I expected or was looking for. I was looking for a book that would help guide me in creating my own sequences for home practice to augment my studio practice and help me emphasize asanas of my choosing that I am working on in class. Rather than a book about "sequencing," it provides a full range of "sequences," not quite the...
Published 1 month ago by A. Harvey


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully illustrated, excellent guide to sequencing for home practice, May 29, 2009
This review is from: The Yoga Practice Guide, Dynamic Sequencing for Home Practice and Teachers (Spiral-bound)
This is a truly beautiful book, from the illustrations to the beautiful excerpts and inspirational quotes to the heavier stock and convenient spiral binding. It's a perfect home practice companion with several useful sequences from beginning to advanced. The themed sequences do an amazing job of clearly illustrating how you can build up to a back bending or hip opening apex pose. It does exactly as it says on the tin, provides dynamic sequencing for home practice. What you will not receive is insight into alignment, how to get into poses, etc. So while a beautiful book, if you're an absolute beginner, I'd recommend going to a few classes with a qualified instructor to ensure you are moving safely in and out of your yoga poses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally a great book (with sequencing!) on Yoga, April 10, 2008
This review is from: The Yoga Practice Guide, Dynamic Sequencing for Home Practice and Teachers (Spiral-bound)
Wow! This is the book for which Yoga practicioners on all levels have been waiting.. not only are the positions laid out VERY clearly visually but there is excellent sequencing..the exercises are easy to follow and the size and format of the book make them totally accessible. I'm impressed. The book, though simple in design, tells exactly what you need to know. It's 'in your face' yoga..good work Mr. Bowditch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great reference for a home practice, March 6, 2011
By 
Nik Gervae (San Francisco, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Yoga Practice Guide, Dynamic Sequencing for Home Practice and Teachers (Spiral-bound)
I recently received the revised (third) edition of Bruce Bowditch's "The Yoga Practice Guide", so here is my updated review.

"The Yoga Practice Guide" is a wonderfully-crafted book full of sequences; you can lay the book flat on the floor or prop it up, and just follow the series of hand-drawn pictures of each pose. There are sequences for beginning, intermediate, and advanced practitioners, as well as some of the standard vinyasas, pranayama, and even a chair sequence to do while at the office. Sequences are labeled for their emphasis (hip openers, back bends, etc.), and there are also some modular subsequences you can string together for a complete session.

The emphasis is on the practical: If you don't have the knowledge or time to craft your own sequence, you just flip open this book and get started. No space is spent on explaining why the poses are sequenced as they are, but seeing them presented graphically rather than being absorbed in the action, you can glean the patterns of warmup, peak energy poses, and cooldown, which will help you as you begin to do more of your own sequences or even improvise. For more thorough sequence design I expect you'll want some deeper training or a book dedicated to such.

The book's construction is very nice. The pages are light cardstock rather than paper, and the whole thing is ring-bound to lay flat. The cover is of the same light cardstock as the pages, which means the book needs care in handling.

There are some changes from the second edition. The type is set is a smaller but more readable font. On most pages the drawings a little bit larger in this edition, although on some they seem to be a tiny bit smaller. In any case, overall usability of this edition is better. Some poses are shown from different angles that makes it clearer what to do. Lots of subtle improvements like that. The drawings used to be of different people, men and women, but now they all appear to be of the same man. While I appreciated the nod to diversity in the earlier edition, I think the sequences are easier to follow when it's the same person.

There are a few more sequences in this edition, and more illustrations for the pranayama section.

This edition omits the glossary of the second edition, which is fine since it's a visual guide anyhow. Asana names are still in Sanskrit, and still without diacritics. If you are serious enough to care about that, you're likely to get Mr. Bowditch's companion volume, "Yoga Asana Index".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have for ALL Yogis!, April 10, 2008
This review is from: The Yoga Practice Guide, Dynamic Sequencing for Home Practice and Teachers (Spiral-bound)
This is the book the yoga community has been waiting for! This is the book that will help you build your practice at home. There are hundreds of yoga books full of poses but none that teach sequencing ... UNTIL NOW! I recommend this book to all students and teachers of yoga. Although Bruce is an Anusara certified Yogi he has created a gift for yogis of all styles. You will never put this book on the shelf!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT book of Asana and Pranayama sequences from a Certified Anusara teacher, March 4, 2011
This review is from: The Yoga Practice Guide, Dynamic Sequencing for Home Practice and Teachers (Spiral-bound)
This book in amazing. I am so grateful that Bruce Bowditch, an incredible yoga practitioner and Anusara instructor, has created and offers this book to us. I love how much deeper my practice is when studying with Anusara instructors and since I am rarely able to attend the few classes that are offered locally, this book provides approximately 20 asana sequences of various levels of difficulty and focus, as well as some pranayama, a restorative sequence, and a chair sequence, outlined by one inch detailed figures and Sanskrit names. This book is of course meant as a supplement to real class experiences, but for practicing yoga students of all levels. I highly recommend it, Thank you Mr. Bowditch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book for new teachers!, February 8, 2013
By 
rocha (washington, dc) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Yoga Practice Guide, Dynamic Sequencing for Home Practice and Teachers (Spiral-bound)
I'm just completing my 200 hour teaching certification and was looking for a guide that would help me draft sequences for my classes. This book is an amazing help. I deducted one star just because all the terms are in sanskrit, and if you want the English translation then you have to buy a separate book. I don't think it would have been that hard to just add a glossary in the back....that being said, the layout is superb, and the sequences are thoughtful. My only other suggestion is that the book be hardcover so it could last for years :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent resource, June 5, 2011
This review is from: The Yoga Practice Guide, Dynamic Sequencing for Home Practice and Teachers (Spiral-bound)
I find this guide an excellent resource for my home practice and for teaching. The sequences outlined are well-planned and easy to follow and the illustrations and Sankrit names for postures help to give a thorough understanding of each pose. I highly recommend this text for home practitioners looking to mix things up, as well as, for teachers looking for some new sequences to share with their students.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An essential reference for home practice and teaching, January 10, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Yoga Practice Guide, Dynamic Sequencing for Home Practice and Teachers (Spiral-bound)
This is a delightfully inspiring, technically excellent, deep resource for your own yoga practice and an essential resource for yoga teachers. If you have ever stalled out in your own yoga asana practice, or felt limited in your teaching, especially when it comes to sequencing, this is the book for you! I love the way it lies flat, making it user friendly when I am on the mat. The sequences are powerful and imaginative, thanks Bruce for giving me a boost to the next level of practice and teaching, my students are loving it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Divine., December 21, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Yoga Practice Guide, Dynamic Sequencing for Home Practice and Teachers (Spiral-bound)
Bruce Bowditch has created an amazing resource- that I use on a weekly basis for inspiration for my class sequencing. Composed with so much care and authenticity- this truly is a "gift" to the yoga community.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent resource, July 20, 2008
By 
e lyon (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Yoga Practice Guide, Dynamic Sequencing for Home Practice and Teachers (Spiral-bound)
This book is a timeless, endless resource.

See the sequences as the body moves through them,
illustrated with great clarity and simplicity.

Bruce has taken the time to create a simple, masterful
resource for practitioners and teachers alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Yoga Practice Guide, Dynamic Sequencing for Home Practice and Teachers
Used & New from: $26.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.