Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic simulation of real ACT questions
After dragging my feet for quite some time, I finally caved in and ordered this book for several of our students. I run a successful ACT test prep company and we have always stuck to official ACTs for all practice -- mainly The Real ACT (CD) 3rd Edition (Real Act Prep Guide) our own product, Boost Your Score! The Unofficial Software Guide to the Real ACT, and other...
Published on October 15, 2011 by Devorah Goldblatt

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WASTE MONEY
Don't buy the 2nd edition because the 2nd and 3rd edition totally same . just waste money. cheat on people.
Published 13 months ago by ero


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic simulation of real ACT questions, October 15, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 1,296 ACT Practice Questions, 2nd Edition (College Test Preparation) (Paperback)
After dragging my feet for quite some time, I finally caved in and ordered this book for several of our students. I run a successful ACT test prep company and we have always stuck to official ACTs for all practice -- mainly The Real ACT (CD) 3rd Edition (Real Act Prep Guide) our own product, Boost Your Score! The Unofficial Software Guide to the Real ACT, and other materials purchased directly from the ACT company. We have been finding, however, that some of our students still need even more practice. I've gone through most of the other books out there (Kaplan, other Princeton Review books, Barrons, etc.) and I've been unimpressed, particularly when it comes to science and reading passages. I simply do not feel that those books do an adequate job of simulating actual ACT questions. This book, on the other hand, is excellent. Questions very closely mimic those on official ACTs, answer explanations are clear, and questions are sorted by subject for students who need extra practice in a particular area. Great job, Princeton Review!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Need more tests? Get it!, June 14, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 1,296 ACT Practice Questions, 2nd Edition (College Test Preparation) (Paperback)
With the exception of "the Real ACT" tests, the princeton tests comes closest to the real act than any other prep companies' tests. If you need more tests to practice with then get this book! It's great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent ACT practice questions with answer key and detailed explanations, April 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 1,296 ACT Practice Questions, 2nd Edition (College Test Preparation) (Paperback)
In prepping students for the ACT, I have found that many of them need lots of supplementary work, of the drill and practice variety. I have also found that these students benefit from working on real ACT-type questions under time constraints, similar to an actual ACT test.

1,296 ACT Practice Questions is one of the best books on the market to meet this need for supplementary practice. The Reading passages and Science passages are well-written and fit the criteria of ACT-style passages and questions. The answers are also detailed and the explanations are easy to understand. I'd definitely recommend this book for supplementary practice in preparation for the ACT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Many good questions!, February 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 1,296 ACT Practice Questions, 2nd Edition (College Test Preparation) (Paperback)
This book helped me a lot when I was practicing to the ACT, it has a lot of qood questions in it, but as they say in the book: It is not REAL ACT questions, if you want 100 % real ACT questions, you will have to buy an original ACT product.I liked it alot, and recommends the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for test prep!, November 22, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 1,296 ACT Practice Questions, 2nd Edition (College Test Preparation) (Paperback)
I am a professional tutor who specializes in teaching the standardized tests for college and graduate school entrance. I focus primarily on the ACT and the SAT. This book is perfect for practicing the techniques and material for the ACT. It doesn't have any test prep information in it. There are other books that have that type of test prep information in them. This just has the questions and answer explanations. Princeton Review probably does the best job of recreating the question types that are on the actual ACT as any of the test prep companies on the market. I would advise that one purchase this book in conjunction to another book that teaches the actual techniques to get a solid amount of information and preparation for the ACT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Functional and helpful book, June 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 1,296 ACT Practice Questions, 2nd Edition (College Test Preparation) (Paperback)
The book is well laid out and provides good instructions. It is a good asset when studying for ACT's and practicing appropriately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WASTE MONEY, January 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 1,296 ACT Practice Questions, 2nd Edition (College Test Preparation) (Paperback)
Don't buy the 2nd edition because the 2nd and 3rd edition totally same . just waste money. cheat on people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars sufficient, November 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 1,296 ACT Practice Questions, 2nd Edition (College Test Preparation) (Paperback)
This book is absolutely fantastic for practice. The math and english in this book is exactly on par with what you will see on the actual exam. The science is alright, while this book does have a few hard passages, they are simply too short. The actual ACT has much longer science passages. The only con about this book is that the reading is too easy compared to the real test. Nevertheless, the amount of practice you get from this book makes it worth your time and effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This helped, December 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 1,296 ACT Practice Questions, 2nd Edition (College Test Preparation) (Paperback)
This product helped partially when I prepared for my ACTs. Honestly, it's all about how much work you put into it. All it really does is prepare the test taker with ACT formatted questions in a time slot. After you drill that into your head, you don't really need the book any longer. The odd thing is that when I took the ACTs the third time, all I needed was 10 minutes on the book, the night before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect timing!, January 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 1,296 ACT Practice Questions, 2nd Edition (College Test Preparation) (Paperback)
Purchased 2 items and they both arrived within 3 days. This is a great book to study for the ACT. Highly reccommend over the book sold by the ACT company. We have both and this one is SO much better to simplify and explain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

1,296 ACT Practice Questions, 2nd Edition (College Test Preparation)
1,296 ACT Practice Questions, 2nd Edition (College Test Preparation) by Princeton Review (Paperback - January 11, 2011)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.