Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great intro to Git / handy reference
I'm a relatively seasoned SVN user eager to make the switch to Git. Where Travis' earlier book on Git was aimed more at the general user (no real prior VCS experience assumed), this one dispensed with many of the introductory remarks about VCS in general and focused on getting up to speed with GIt and understanding how it works.

There is a good mix of "how to"...
Published on November 9, 2010 by Joel Clermont

versus
12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A decent beginner's guide
This book is great for quickly showing you how to use git. As others have said, it does a good job at laying out the basics, without dragging you through a bunch of detail on the inner workings of the tool. For some people that might be nice. I have been using git for quite some time, and I got this book thinking it would help me deepen my understanding and introduce...
Published on March 3, 2011 by Matt


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Reasonably-sized complete reference, January 16, 2013
By 
vrto (Prague, CZ) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pragmatic Guide to Git (Pragmatic Guides) (Paperback)
So you keep hearing about git and DVCS from everywhere. Where to start? Well, let me tell you that Pragmatic Guide to Git is a pretty good choice. This book is rather small but complete reference to how to use git. Not only it does describe git itself, but the author patiently explains principles of DVCS and correct use-cases for specific situations. It has an interesting format - it's basically bunch of problem-solution items, where problems go to the left page and solutions to the right one. As a result you can open the book and immediately see what's going on.

Problems have clear names, don't exceed a single page and cover pretty much the whole git. There are 44 items in total, even though for basic usage no more than half is really needed (but I still definitely encourage you to read the whole thing).

I am rating it with 4 out of 5 stars, because sometimes I felt that the very important stuff didn't get as much attention as one would expect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good reference, March 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pragmatic Guide to Git (Pragmatic Guides) (Paperback)
A good reference book for when you need the command line. I wish they would have covered the GUI aspect of Git as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book. I never used git now I think I can, August 11, 2011
By 
T. Hollins (Columbia Station, OH USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pragmatic Guide to Git (Pragmatic Guides) (Paperback)
Well written and the author is correct. The side by side is the best in this situation.

I think I can tackle the mysterious and elusive G I T monster. I look at git now, like I used to look at ajax. Everyone talked about how hard it was, etc. but its not. Just read this book and you'll be dangerous with git. I am going to do a "checkout" of my first library (Three20) and see how it goes.

Good book, well written. Author has made git accessible to everyone in a very short form. Excellent job. Kudos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice and Concise Reference, November 29, 2010
By 
Larry (Somerville, MA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pragmatic Guide to Git (Pragmatic Guides) (Paperback)
This book kind of reminds me of a "Nutshell" book in that it's a no-nonsense, concise, and useful text. The left-page explanation coupled with the right-page examples is a nice touch. Need to do something? Just hit the Table of Contents to find what you're looking for, read the text to make sure you know what you're doing (always handy) and maybe find out something you didn't know, and then morph the appropriate example(s) into what's right for you - neat!

This is the kind of book you leave lying around within easy reach.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars As the title says, a pragmatic guide to git, August 12, 2011
By 
This review is from: Pragmatic Guide to Git (Pragmatic Guides) (Paperback)
"Pragmatic guide to git" is a new form book from the pragmatic programmers... guide books. The book is structured in such a way that each double-page is a task that you would try to accomplish. The right side of the page is a textual description and the left side of the page are examples of command line runs. This guide is about... git.

Git (the distributed version control system originated from Linux Torvalds) is reasonably easy to use and very powerful, but you'll need to understand a couple of the concepts underneath it. Most version control systems (such as svn) are centralized ones and git is distributed. To add to that, some commands in git at similar as on svn, except that they have different meanings (add being an example). The first part of the book explains some of these basic concepts and then it is divided in seven parts:

1. Working with git (covering all the basic operations)
2. Organizing your repository with branches (covering very basic branching options)
3. Working with a team (covering push, pull)
4. Branches revisited (e.g. handling conflicts)
5. Working with repository history (as says)
6. Fixing things (resetting, erasing, etc)
7. Moving beyond the basics (exporting, subversion, bare repositories).

For part 1-6, the form of the book fitted very well and it made it a lot more clear. For part 7 however, the form of the book felt restrictive. The examples output was so large that it wasn't shown as it wouldn't fit on the book. Also the explanations became terser. I think that it would have been best to abandon the guide form at this point.

I wasn't new to the topic but found the book a good quick guide. It is small and reads fast (one-day read). It gives a fairly thorough overview of git usage. I'd definitively recommend it for anyone who is coming from other version control systems but is new to git. I was thinking between 3-4 stars. 3 stars as it does what it says and the forcing it in the new form didn't feel good. 4 stars as it does it well and it is the first guide in this new form. In the end, I decided for 4. Good introduction!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really pragmatic, November 28, 2010
This review is from: Pragmatic Guide to Git (Pragmatic Guides) (Paperback)
As the title suggests, this book is a pragmatic approach to git. Hence, the reader is guided in a practical way through all the common tasks that must be performed when using git on a daily basis.

It will be particularly useful for those who need to start using it as fast a possible and already have experience with another version control system (preferably a distributed one). However, the book doesn't cover specialized stuff such as server configuration for code hosting or low-level commands.

I find that the layout of the book with the left page providing a brief explanation of a task, and the right page with some example commands that perform that task, is a nice idea that becomes really useful both when reading the book and when using it as a reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Getting Started Book, September 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Straightforward getting-started book unadorned with lengthy BS up front. Kind of a guide that sits out on your table top with pages bent open while you are working. Not a coffee table book to impress friends. I've only gotten halfway through it because that's all the farther I needed to go to get the job done. To be honest, the first 20 pages covers enough to get rolling.

Nota Bene: if you are coming over from Subversion, Git is something different. Never the less, this is straightforward stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Cookbook, March 3, 2011
This review is from: Pragmatic Guide to Git (Pragmatic Guides) (Paperback)
A great book of git "recipes" for users needing a quick start, or a quick lookup book for specific functions
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Concise and a great value, December 28, 2010
By 
Loc Nguyen (Orange County, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pragmatic Guide to Git (Pragmatic Guides) (Paperback)
This is a must have book for anyone who wants to switch to Git and hit the ground running. It doesn't go into depth about the inner workings at all. Instead you learn the commands you need to know to start using Git right away. Once you accustomed to committing, branching, pushing, pulling etc, then reading one of the thicker books is in order. For the price I don't think you can find a better "nutshell" text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good intro, January 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I think this is excellent beginner book to git, but I wish it would show examples of manipulating some of git hidden files
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Pragmatic Guide to Git (Pragmatic Guides)
Pragmatic Guide to Git (Pragmatic Guides) by Travis Swicegood (Paperback - November 25, 2010)
$25.00 $17.93
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.