Digital List Price: $5.97
Kindle Price: $4.60

Save $1.37 (23%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Flip to back Flip to front
Audible Narration Playing... Paused   You are listening to a sample of the Audible narration for this Kindle book.
Learn more

Get the Free Kindle App

Enter email or phone number to get a link

Processing your request...

Prairie Rose (A Town Called Hope Book 1) Kindle Edition

108 customer reviews

See all 5 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
$4.60
Unknown Binding
"Please retry"
$46.00

Length: 272 pages Word Wise: Enabled Series: A Town Called Hope (Book 1)

"Tattered and Mended"
The art of healing the wounded soul. See more by Cynthia Ruchti.

Editorial Reviews

From Library Journal

Rosenbloom Cotton Mills, known as Rosie, has spent her entire 19 years in an orphanage in Kansas City, Missouri. Then, in May of 1865, Rosie saves Seth Hunter from an attack by his brother-in-law. Seeing a chance to escape the orphanage, Rosie accompanies Seth and his son, Chipper, out west to act as their housekeeper. Rosie soon falls in love with Seth but feels she can never marry because she was an illegitimate child. Eventually, her Bible reading convinces her that those who had said she was doomed to a solitary life were misinterpreting the Bible. In Rosie, Palmer (The Treasure of Zanzibar, Tyndale, 1997) has created an entertaining and humorous character, letting this romance rise above most others. Highly recommended for collections with a demand for historical romance.
Copyright 1997 Reed Business Information, Inc.

Review

"Highly recommended."--Library Journal

Product Details

  • File Size: 835 KB
  • Print Length: 272 pages
  • Publisher: Tyndale House Publishers, Inc.; Reprint edition (September 9, 2011)
  • Publication Date: September 9, 2011
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B005M5N20S
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Not Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #154,806 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

Catherine Palmer lives in Atlanta with her husband, Tim, where they serve as missionaries in a refugee community. They have two grown sons. Cathy is a graduate of Southwest Baptist University and holds a master's degree in English from Baylor University. Her first book was published in 1988. Since then she has published over 50 novels, many of them national best sellers. Catherine has won numerous awards for her writing, including the Christy Award, the highest honor in Christian fiction. In 2004, she was given the Career Achievement Award for Inspirational Romance by "Romantic Times BOOKreviews" magazine. More than 2 million copies of Catherine's novels are currently in print.

With her compelling characters and strong message of Christian faith, Catherine is known for writing fiction that "touches the hearts and souls of readers." Her many collections include A Town Called Hope, Treasures of the Heart, Finders Keepers, English Ivy, and the Miss Pickworth series. Catherine also recently coauthored the Four Seasons fiction series with Gary Chapman, the "New York Times" best-selling author of "The Five Love Languages."

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

65 of 65 people found the following review helpful By Beverly on June 14, 2000
Format: Paperback
Rosenbloom Cotton Mills is ana unusual name for an unusual girl. Brought up in an orphange, Rosie is no stranger to hardship. But when she impulsively leaves the orphange for the Kansas praire, she takes on more hardship than she originally anticipated, including a dour widower, his young son who has never gotten to know his father, and a homestead desperately in need of a woman's touch. Rosie faces each challenge with a smile and with the knowledge that God is her father and his love in her heart. The humor in this book is expertly balanced with the hard praire life that Rosie comes to love. In the midst of her hardships, Rosie comes to understand the true meaning of not only God's love for her, but her love for Seth. Palmer is a great Christian romance writer in the tradition of Oke and Glover, and I recommend her highly.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
56 of 57 people found the following review helpful By A. Churchwell on January 1, 2003
Format: Paperback
I love romance stories but as a Christian always felt guilty when reading the "dirty" ones. When I purchased this book I did not even realize it was a Christian romance and had never read a Christian romance novel. I just thought it was a western/romance type of book. When I started reading and realized it was a Christian romance, to tell you the truth, I thought it would be boring as I was used to the steamy scenes in mainstream romance. Boy was I wrong! I laughed and cried with Rosie as I finished this book in only one day and immediatley ordered the other books in the series and not one has been a disappointment. I will never go back to mainstream romance books with their filthy scenes. I now can read about people falling in love in a Godly way. God Bless everyone who reads this.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
24 of 24 people found the following review helpful By Amazon Customer on December 17, 2001
Format: Paperback
Sometimes with series books, the characters are so perfect and predictable, I really don't care enough about them to read any of their further adventures. Not so with Rosie and the other residents of A Town Called Hope. I gobbled this story up as fast as I could and then waited anxiously for the sequels to arrive at my library. As soon as the Prairie Trilogy was in print--with Prairie Fire and Prairie Storm--I bought it for my friend for Christmas. She fell in love immediately with Catherine Palmer's characters, just like I did. Now she has bought Prairie Christmas and is a huge Catherine Palmer fan.
Catherine Palmer has created a cast of characters that will live on in the reader's mind long after the pleasure of reading Prairie Rose and its successors are over.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on February 17, 1999
Format: Paperback
This book is one of the few I read in one sitting. I couldn't bear to put it down!!! From the opening scene when Rosie is sitting in the tree to the time she boarded the stagecoach on her way back to the orphanage, I was captivated. I am hopeful of writing my own books someday, so I study the writing style of each book I read. And I loved Mrs. Palmer's writing style! Truly, I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys quality fiction. And the message of Jesus Christ and His love was woven in so skillfully, it was truly wonderful. PLEASE, keep on writing Mrs. Palmer!!!! If you are thinking about this book but have not read it as of yet, I would recommend it STRONGLY!!!! stick it in your shopping cart and wait anxiously for it to arrive at your home! Or, run to your nearest Christian Bookstore and buy a copy TODAY! I will warn you, though, the third book in the series is not yet published. You will want to get the sequel, 'Prairie Fire' immediately,(Which was JUST as good as Prairie Rose) and then wait for TWO...LONG...MONTHS until the third is published. Beg, Borrow, or Buy a copy TODAY!!!!!!!!!!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful By Bonnie McKinzie on June 5, 1998
Format: Paperback
Rose Mills, thinking she was lovingly placed in a stocking with her name on a piece of paper when her parents could not provide for her learns later that her name is simply the label of the stocking mill that made the sock! Rosie did not mind the orphanage so much, but she missed having a home to call her own. However, the methodology she chose to find it was quite outlandish in her day.....that of simply declaring herself an employee and jumping on a wagon heading to the Kansas prairie. Talented and witty, Rose quickly makes friends, but cannot even dent the hard shell of the man she works for in spite of the fact his 5 yr. old son adores Rose. Seth's wife is dead, and he did not even know he had a son until after the civil war was over....then when he claimed him, his dead wife's family set out to recapture the boy and/or kill Seth. Seth himself had not had a loving father, so he had no idea how to be one! The boy did not even know his Pa, so he gave him a hard time! Rosie was the only one the boy related to and Seth wanted no part of it! Rosie made her home in the crude barn with the animals, tilled the land, cooked the meals, cared for the boy and after the floating bridge was built....collected "tolls" from travelers without her employer's knowledge.....but saved him and his 2 closest friends from certain ruin by her ingenuity. A neighbor, a large German man courted Rosie and proposed marriage....as good an offer as she was likely to get and a promise of a home of her own for the very first time in her life. But something was not right....something was missing. When her 6 month "job" was finished, 20 yr. old Rosie put herself on a stagecoach bound for the return trip to the orphanage as a paid worker when the unimaginable happened. I can hardly wait for the sequel!
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?