Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars cute
This is a very short book that has lots of little colorful graphics. It is for young kids and goes over some of the ideas kids have come up with through the years of what church is like. I got it to read and show to my daughter who is 4 and she seemed to like the pictures really well. It was cute and fun.
Published on October 20, 2010 by Jessss

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A light-hearted look at what kids think about going to church.
When it comes to church, kids sometimes think and say the darnedest things. The Tales from the Back Pew series takes a light-hearted look at some of the misconceptions our children may have about church.

In Preacher Creature Strikes on Sunday, the main character is wondering if church will be anything like the stories he's heard. There's obvious cause for...
Published on June 11, 2009 by Shaun Tabatt


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars cute, October 20, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a very short book that has lots of little colorful graphics. It is for young kids and goes over some of the ideas kids have come up with through the years of what church is like. I got it to read and show to my daughter who is 4 and she seemed to like the pictures really well. It was cute and fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So Cute! Outstanding Book!, January 30, 2009
This review is from: Preacher Creature Strikes on Sunday (Tales from the Back Pew) (Paperback)
Inside the pages of this enlightening children's work we are given a peek into the mind of a child as they are about to experience their first day at church. I had never given much thought to the subject matter of this book and I am thankful to author, Mike Thaler, for reminding me that children's perception of people, places, and things, that they have never seen, been to, or experienced, can be quite different than what they really are.

As we start our story journey mom is taking her son to church, and her little boy begins to imagine what is going to happen, as only a child can. I laughed out loud at some of his thoughts, such as: getting a good work-out by standing up, sitting down and kneeling a hundred times, getting to say "Almonds," during the sermon, and making you pay for singing (the collection), instead of them paying you. What a hoot!
Traveling on our little guy recounts some of the Bible stories he has heard, such as: a guy who went on a cruise inside a fish (love that one), and another guy who wandered in the desert leading other people, who should have stopped at a gas station and asked for directions. Too cute!You even get a little taste of his thoughts about God and Heaven. Finally off he goes to be with other children where he makes new friends, plays games, learns Bible stories and has a great time as a whole new world is opened up to him.

I liked this book. The illustrations are big and bold and brought each page to life. The story is told in a fun, light way that is sure to bring a chuckle to all that read it, along with a learning experience. I believe this book will help parents to better understand how a child may well think about their first experiences with church-going, and will help a child to see there are a lot of good times ahead for them at church. It will also open the door for children to discuss different happenings at church with adults so they may have a better understanding of what is going on. Very well done and I am proud to recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Dreaded Sermonator, November 18, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is funny...I mean REALLY funny. "Preacher Creature Strikes on Sunday (Tales from the Back Pew)" by Mike Thaler is the story of a young boy going to church for the first time. He dreads going to church because he has heard all about it.
He heard that you have to stand up, sit down and kneel a hundred times. Then you have to stay awake while some guy called a preacher tries to keep you up. And you have to be QUIET. Next, the preacher gives a boring talk called a sermon. It can last for hours...for days....sometimes even weeks! That is why the preacher is called "The Sermonator"!
When the young man and his mother actually walk into the church, they are greeted by friendly faces (everybody's awake). The boy is invited to join other children in the children's church where he plays games, sings songs, makes puppets and acts out Bible stories. He makes lots of new friends and is eager to return the next week. He is so excited about going to church that he is going to invite his friends to go with him!
I have been a fan of Mike Thaler's books for many years. He has written over 250 books for children of all ages. When I was working as a school librarian, the kids loved "The Teacher from the Black Lagoon" and other books from "The Black Lagoon" series.
The illustrations in this book are hilarious. I downloaded the book on my Kindle so the pictures did not appear in color but I still loved them. The illustrations add a great deal to the humor of this story.
I am delighted that Mr. Thaler has written a series of Christian children's books. This is an awesome book to use with children both at church and at home. CAUTION: This book might cause unsuspecting adults to crack a smile or even let a giggle slip out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adoreable, October 19, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is so cute! I downloaded this book not really knowing what to expect, but as I started reading it, I not only saw that it was short but also perfect for younger children. As I started reading it I felt like a little kid again.
Though I wouldn't recommend it for people older than eight, I would say that this will get laughs out of your child, sibling, grandchild, etc. The child in the stories misconceptions about church will have any kid laughing and rolling on the floor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny and informative, June 4, 2009
This review is from: Preacher Creature Strikes on Sunday (Tales from the Back Pew) (Paperback)
Thursday, June 4, 2009
Preacher Creature Strikes on Sunday
If there's a child in your life being introduced to church after toddlerhood, Preacher Creature Strikes on Sunday by Mike Thaler makes a funny, useful gift.

Written in Thaler's goofy, punny style that's great for both boys and girls, a gradeschool boy tells us his mom is taking him to church. "I've heard all about church," he says. There's lots of sitting and standing, over and over. You have to sit on smelly seats called pews. You sing super long songs while you stand. ("It's sort of like the Pledge of Allegiance...only longer.") The preacher's talk is called a sermon and it can last for hours...even weeks! (Which is "why the preacher is called 'The Sermonator.") The sermons are about the Bible, which is a book God wrote ("I wonder if he used a computer") about strange people...Like the guy who wandered in the desert for forty years. ("He should have stopped at a gas station and asked for directions.") And a guy who took a cruise...inside a fish.

The boy's mom says God is invisible and can see everything you do. He loves you, no matter what, and wants you to be with him in Heaven someday. (Heaven is "more fun than an amusement park.")

The boy isn't exactly thrilled to go to church, but once he gets there, he's surprised. The people seem friendly. He gets to be with a bunch of other kids and play games and sing songs. They even put on a play about a boy named David "who beats up a big bully named Goliath. The preacher says he was able to do that because God helped him. He says God will help us too, if we ask him." In the end, the boy decides, "I love church. I wish every day was Sunday. Mom says when you love God...every day is Sunday!"

Throughout, Jared Lee's illustrations delight, being just as zany as Thaler's text. In them, characters have bubbles, like you'd seen in a cartoon strip, and say things that add to the story. For example, when the boy says going to church is called "being in the service," Lee's illustration shows a little boy being yelled at by an Army sergeant.

What I Like: Humor is a superior way to teach young children, and Thaler and Lee are experts at tickling young kids' funny bones. For children who've never been to church before, this is a terrific introduction - one that will make them laugh and understand. Thaler and Lee are a perfect match, and I hope they create many more books together.

What I Dislike: Excellent.

Overall Rating: Very good.

Age Appeal: According to the publisher, 6 to 9, but many preschoolers will like this book, too.

Kristina Seleshanko
Managing Editor
Christian Children's Book Review
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cute for kids, October 27, 2010
By 
Anne Wingate (Salt Lake City) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B002S6UNLA/ref=cm_cr_rev_prod_img

Every book has an intended audience. The intended audience for this one is a child, maybe seven to ten years old give or take a few years, who has rarely if ever been to church. The child's mother, or both parents, have suddenly become converted, and getting the child to church in a good mood is essential to the family's future happiness. This cute and funny picture book will help, because it's silly enough that the child feels drawn to prove that it isn't (or that it is) really as bad as s/he thinks. I like it, and if I had anti-church kids this age I would buy it in paper book format as well as Kindle, so the child would fully enjoy the pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A light-hearted look at what kids think about going to church., June 11, 2009
By 
Shaun Tabatt (Cottage Grove, MN USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Preacher Creature Strikes on Sunday (Tales from the Back Pew) (Paperback)
When it comes to church, kids sometimes think and say the darnedest things. The Tales from the Back Pew series takes a light-hearted look at some of the misconceptions our children may have about church.

In Preacher Creature Strikes on Sunday, the main character is wondering if church will be anything like the stories he's heard. There's obvious cause for concern when you consider the fact that you may get drafted into the service, be forced to sit on smelly benches called pews, and deal with the guy up front they call the sermonator. On top of all that, they actually make you pay to join in the singing. Fortunately all his fears are laid to rest when he finds that the people are actually pretty nice. Sunday school even ended with cookies and milk!

Children ages 4-8 and their parents will enjoy the light-hearted fun found in the Tales from the Back Pew series. As you complete each story, you'll be able to talk about the realities of "church life" and how it really isn't as bad as they maybe thought it was at first. Be on the lookout for two new titles in this series (Walking the Plank to the Baptism Tank & The Three Wise Guys), both scheduled to release later this year.

Mike Thaler, known as the Riddle King of America, is the author of the popular Black Lagoon books and the Heaven and Mirth series. He lives in Portland, Oregon, and travels nationally, speaking in schools, libraries, and churches.

Jared Lee is an accomplished illustrator with experience working for the likes of L.L. Bean, Procter and Gamble, Hasbro, Scholastic, Simon & Schuster, and the U.S. Postal Service. He currently resides in Lebanon, Ohio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Preacher Creature, November 9, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a very neat book to share with cildren in Sunday School, and at home. I recommend it to pastors, youth pastors and Sunday School teachers alike, as well as parents who have children who do not want to go to Sunday School.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Childrens book, December 29, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My daughter, who is 7, loved this book. We bought it while at church for her to read. She wanted to read another of his books but we couldn't find one. This was a great church book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not My Cup of Tea, May 10, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Honestly this book just rubbed the wrong way. No child is this stupid and I don't believe they think this way about church. To me the "light hearted" felt more like "insulting". My daughter (age 10) was offended and refused to finish the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Preacher Creature Strikes on Sunday (Tales from the Back Pew)
Preacher Creature Strikes on Sunday (Tales from the Back Pew) by Mike Thaler (Paperback - January 19, 2009)
$4.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.