Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Never a Dull Moment, May 23, 2010
This review is from: Preacher's Kids: Wicked and Wise (Paperback)
"Preacher's Kids: Wicked and Wise" is the second installment in the Preacher's Kids series. In volume two, we're revisited by Pastor Mason Griffin and his family: his lovely wife Vivienne, their son Miles and identical twin daughters, Mia and Morgan, who are at times quite a handful.

Mia is a gentle soul. She's shy, self conscious and a little awkward. Mia has a journal that helps her cope with her best friend's death. In her journal she writes her innermost thoughts and feelings. The most popular boy in school, Shaun Banks, takes a liking to Mia. First off, Shaun comes to Mia's house to ask her to tutor him in Spanish. From the beginning Shaun's behavior is a little suspect, but Mia is so excited and flattered that she really doesn't notice. But his personality goes straight to bizarre as he becomes a nuisance with his constant calls and unwanted visits. Can Mia ever get him to stop harassing her?

Morgan, on the other hand, is Mia's complete opposite. She's popular, self confident, and has a slight rebellious streak. Morgan's life is consumed with cheerleading and she's obsessed with being the best cheerleader with the best squad. But Morgan has a secret that she's willing to go to any length to protect. Will Morgan's secret be exposed? What will be the repercussions?

With a colorful cast of characters, including Essie, Mia's wise friend; Karry, the girl with the quirky personality that perplexes everyone; and the free spirited Aunt Jackie. "Preacher's Kids: Wicked and Wise" is a sheer delight to read and it showcases Keleigh Crigler Hadley's considerable talents as a new voice in contemporary Christian fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Preacher's Kid, January 30, 2011
By 
The RAWSISTAZ Reviewers (RAWSISTAZ.com and BlackBookReviews.net) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Preacher's Kids: Wicked and Wise (Paperback)
Mia is fighting issues regarding her boyfriend who has control issues and other who think he is 'too cute for her'. Meanwhile, her sister is battling with an eating disorder. With no one else to turn to for help, Mia befriends the weirdest girl in school to get rid of her stalker. How far will Mia go and can she hold on to her faith? Being a preacher's kid is never a dull moment.

PREACHERS KIDS: Wicked & Wise was a breath of fresh air for me. As someone who reads an insane amount of street fiction books, it is good to get away from that genre and read something meant to be enjoyable and educational in the same sitting. It was a pleasant read with a serious message for African American kids. It gaves a much needed insight to anorexia, which is not a color blind disease. I highly recommend it to young kids who may be experiencing something similar or may know of someone experiencing something similar to the issues covered in the book. I love the way Hadley gets her point across without shoving religion down the reader's throat.

Reviewed by Latifa Sanchez
for the RAWSISTAZ(tm) Reviewers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Found myself nodding my head in agreement, April 10, 2010
This review is from: Preacher's Kids: Wicked and Wise (Paperback)
Preacher's Kids: Wicked and Wise is a great piece of contemporary Christian young adult fiction. I liked the way that the author didn't ram Christianity down the reader's throat, although it was evident that this was Christian fiction. The story covered contemporary issues like anorexia, the need to belong to a group, death of a friend, mean girls, the temptations offered by Wiccans, a psycho-hottie boyfriend, getting braces; that young teenage girls would identify and be able to connect with. It was easy to read, although being a teacher, I did pick up some edits missed by the editor.
This is definitely a book I'd like my fourteen year old daughter to read. Many of the incidents and tech-language (Facebook, text talk)had me nodding my head, yeah, my daughter will so connect with this. The message about the dangers of anorexia and Wiccanism comes through strongly. Will definitely be passing this onto my teenager.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Relevant and real - PREACHER'S KIDS: WICKED AND WISE, April 26, 2010
This review is from: Preacher's Kids: Wicked and Wise (Paperback)
Preacher's Kids: Wicked and Wise by Keleigh Crigler Hadley is a timely book for young adults these days. Her writing style is fresh and relevant as she talks from the point of view of her teenaged character Mia. The topics of witchcraft and anorexia are exactly what young people are dealing with on a daily basis. She doesn't preach her Christian views but rather she allows her characters to act naturally, explore the curiosities of their temptations and find both error and wisdom in their actions. It was an enjoyable read with a real message for the youth of our day. I highly recommend it, not only for young people, but for adults who want a glimpse into the real world of kids today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Modern Subjects made readable, April 26, 2010
By 
This review is from: Preacher's Kids: Wicked and Wise (Paperback)
As Mia Griffin goes into 10th grade she encounters more hassles that will test her faith. This series of books is so wonderful to read as it covers subjects that tend to be shied away from at times, including eating disorderes, stalking, etc. It also offers wonderful values and lessons without being pushy so that readers who may not be deep into religion can still read.
In this book, I enjoyed how the author covered Mia's twin sister's battle with an eating disorder while Mia herself comes across a new controlling boyfriend. This book could be read by young adults or adults themselves as I'm sure all ages will find something to like and learn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, April 29, 2010
This review is from: Preacher's Kids: Wicked and Wise (Paperback)
This is the second book in the Preacher's Kids series and it's even better than the first. Mia Griffin is a lovable, fun 14-year-old girl. She deals with all the challenges of growing up, while trying to remain on a Christian path. Through it all, there is humor, drama, and much love.

In this story, Hadley does a superb job of shedding light on the delicate issue of anorexia. The lesson within is one that all young girls should learn, regardless of their religious background.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great series, April 1, 2010
By 
This review is from: Preacher's Kids: Wicked and Wise (Paperback)
I love the Preachers Kid Series because it brings up subject matter that is not commonly talked about but is common in society. Just like the first book the storyline is unpredictable and keeps you interested from beginning to end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Granddaughter loved it., November 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Preacher's Kids: Wicked and Wise (Paperback)
I wanted a Christian based book for my granddaughter so that she would have a book she could identify with. She loved it. Read it in one day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Preacher's Kids: Wicked and Wise
Preacher's Kids: Wicked and Wise by Keleigh Crigler Hadley (Paperback - March 19, 2010)
$7.99
In stock but may require an extra 1-2 days to process.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.