Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Math?
I don't think there is much to write about math or a math book? This book serves its purpose? helps you understand math.
Published 8 months ago by L. Watson

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Skip this one
You'd think with how important it is to understand each step in solving a math problem, that a math text wouldn't skip any.

Not so! This book routinely skips past steps. You'll find signs flipped, things factored, and numbers changed with no explanation.

You sometimes end up with an answer that is technically the same as what the book's example has,...
Published on August 21, 2008 by Michael Robinson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Skip this one, August 21, 2008
This review is from: Prealgebra (4th Edition) (Martin-Gay Hardback Series) (Paperback)
You'd think with how important it is to understand each step in solving a math problem, that a math text wouldn't skip any.

Not so! This book routinely skips past steps. You'll find signs flipped, things factored, and numbers changed with no explanation.

You sometimes end up with an answer that is technically the same as what the book's example has, but signs will be flipped in the book. Sometimes the answer is completely off, and it's because you followed the book's incomplete instructions. It's like they never handed this book to someone who doesn't already know everything in it before putting it up for sale.

Skip this if your course gives the option.

edit:

This is based on the 4th edition, but given the nature of the textbook publishing industry, the 5th edition is probably the same book with a new cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Math?, April 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Prealgebra (4th Edition) (Martin-Gay Hardback Series) (Paperback)
I don't think there is much to write about math or a math book? This book serves its purpose? helps you understand math.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars not happy camper, March 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Prealgebra (4th Edition) (Martin-Gay Hardback Series) (Paperback)
I understand I bought a used book but the seller could have been more detailed on his usage there's pages I can't see the problems in. I seen class mates with new books for a cheaper price than I paid for this overused book! Not a happy customer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, December 6, 2014
By 
J. Lyons (CHULA VISTA, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Prealgebra (4th Edition) (Martin-Gay Hardback Series) (Paperback)
Good value for student.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wrong edition, December 8, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Prealgebra (4th Edition) (Martin-Gay Hardback Series) (Paperback)
I was sent the wrong edition for my math class. Didnt have time to return it before school started. I just dont like algebra anyways..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Prealgebra (4th Edition) (Martin-Gay Hardback Series)
Prealgebra (4th Edition) (Martin-Gay Hardback Series) by K. Elayn Martin-Gay (Paperback - December 22, 2003)
Used & New from: $0.47
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.