Customer Reviews


364 Reviews
5 star:
 (316)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 45 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review of Alan Jackson's "Precious Memories Vol. 2"
Prime Cuts: Only Trust Him, Sweet Hour of Prayer, Just As I Am

Sequels are perilously tricky. Whether it is a movie or a book or a music album, the second installment often struggles to live up to the novelty hype generated by the successful original. In 2006, country music legend Alan Jackson took a breather and released his first ever Gospel album entitled...
Published 21 months ago by Timothy Yap

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as Vol I
The music and harmony on Vol II is superb and Alan Jackson is one of my favorite singers. However, I did not enjoy the selection of songs included as much as the gospel music included on Vol I. Still,all said, Vol II is an enjoyable listen.
Published 20 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 237 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 45 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review of Alan Jackson's "Precious Memories Vol. 2", March 26, 2013
This review is from: Precious Memories Volume II (Audio CD)
Prime Cuts: Only Trust Him, Sweet Hour of Prayer, Just As I Am

Sequels are perilously tricky. Whether it is a movie or a book or a music album, the second installment often struggles to live up to the novelty hype generated by the successful original. In 2006, country music legend Alan Jackson took a breather and released his first ever Gospel album entitled "Precious Memories." It was released when Jackson was riding on the crest of superstardom when every song he released to country radio was a guaranteed hit. Hits songs such as "Where Were You (When the World Stopped Turning)," "Drive (For Daddy Gene)" and "Remember When" spryly flourished. Rarely would a song miss its stay on the penthouse of the chart. Anything Jackson touched turned platinum including "Precious Memories." Though no radio single was serviced, Jackson's first Gospel album went double platinum (selling over 2 million copies) and it debut on the Billboard Christian and Country album charts at number one. Almost seven years later, however, circumstances have changed for Jackson. His last couple of studio albums hardly produced a top 10 hit. In fact, the trio of singles released from his last year's "Thirty Milles West" all failed to crack even top 20. It would be interesting to see how "Precious Memories Vol. 2" will flare considering such a dour turn in Jackson's career.

Commerciality aside, this project (just like its prequel) is a labor of love. Out of his filial piety to his aging mother and his mother-in-law, Jackson has decided to record yet another collection of traditional hymns of the church. The song selection here is safe; for anyone who has had some exposure to the more traditional side of Christian worship could easily hum along with Jackson on evergreens such as "Amazing Grace," "He Lives" and "When the Roll is Called Up Yonder." But sonically, this album is stridently tangent to Jackson's neo-traditional country of rollicking honky tonk sprinkled with a light dose his patented humor. Rather, "Precious Memories Vol. 2" (like its predecessor) is Jackson's quietest record to date. Hushed, reverent and scantily clad with Jackson's warm tenor and nothing more than just an acoustic guitar, an organ, a piano and harmony vocals. Such a deliberately intricate sound brings out an intimate, emotional and personal side of Jackson that we hardly encounter when he lets loose and rocks on his charted hits.

Most importantly, listening to this album reveals that these hymns mean a lot to Jackson. Sure there could have been a thousand versions of John Newton's "Amazing Grace." And truth be told, neither Jackson nor his long time producer Keith Stegall did any melodic gymnastics to it. Jackson just sings it straight; yet there is something in the way Jackson nuances this ode of God's grace that makes you listen intently. Jackson is particularly effective in the slower hymns such as "Only Trust Him," "Sweet Hour of Prayer" and "Just as I Am." In fact, the simplicity of the backings places the cynosure on Jackson's vocals making him more emotionally (and spiritually) striking. Thus, when he sings "Only Trust Him," it is as if Jackson has come out of the speakers and gently nudging us with deepest earnestness to trust our blessed Savior.

However, on the more propulsive hymns such as "He Lives," "Love Lifted Me" and "There is Power in the Blood" Jackson's underwhelming performances just could not bring out the dynamic power of these chestnuts. It is almost impossible to sing with believability the miraculous power of Christ's resurrection on "He Lives" with such a minimalist approach. If Jackson could bring back the electrifying verve he has invested into his secular hits such as "It's a 5 o'clock World" or "Don't Rock the Jukebox," these hymns would be jumping with Holy Spirit exuberance. Nevertheless, for an intimate reading of hymns you can worship with, "Precious Memories Vol. 2" is a warm, gentle and heart rendering record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Sequel!, March 26, 2013
This review is from: Precious Memories Volume II (Audio CD)
This is another superb Alan Jackson CD and if you
liked the first Precious Memories you will like this
one just as much! It's very similar to the first!
He is great at singing those good Gospel tunes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Equal to Volume I, March 28, 2013
By 
Big (Belton, SC, United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Precious Memories Volume II (Audio CD)
If you liked Precious Memories I, you'll also like Vol II. Alan's wonderful voice and style (reverent) are sure to please both God and man. The use of acoustic guitar, auto harp, piano and organ are equally superb. These old hymns simplicity are unparalleled for their lyrics and ability to make you both glad and sad at the same time-- glad that they draw you closer to God and sad that you remember loved ones who are in heaven and awaiting your arrival. As our country goes from moral abyss to moral abyss, some things never change-- God's love for us, man's sinful nature, and Alan Jackson's remarkable ability to tug at our heart strings. Get as many CD's as you can afford and share Precious Memories with your loved ones and friends. They will thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost as good as the first, March 26, 2013
By 
I am not a huge gospel fan, but I am an Alan Jackson fan, and I love the original "Precious Memories." I have only listened to Volume II once, so I might like it even better after I listen to it a few more times. If you liked the original, you will like Volume II. There is not a bad track on this album. My early favorites are "O How I Love Jesus", "When the Roll Is Called Up Yonder", and a really good version of "Amazing Grace."

Volume II might be a little more polished than Volume I, which is why I didn't give it 5 stars. Nevertheless, it's a worthy successor to a country spiritual classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Pleasant Followup to 2006s Precious Memories - 3 ˝ Stars, March 30, 2013
This review is from: Precious Memories Volume II (Audio CD)
Alan Jackson had a surprise platinum hit with 2006s Precious Memories. Seven years later, Jackson decides to rekindle the magic with 2013s Precious Memories Volume II. Like the first installment, the frills are minimal, more concerned with the sanctity of the classic church hymns than musical revolution. That said, Jackson seems a bit more invested and sharper this go round. There is nothing innovative, but innovation wasn't the key of the first nor should it be that of the second set. It is a pleasant presentation of the hymns of the church, in a southern, countrified presentation.

Jackson hits a home run opening with "Amazing Grace". The piano states the tune alone, with organ creeping in towards the end of the stated verse. Jackson's deep baritone takes over after the intro, showcasing his rich, lovely tone. Additional vocal tracks support Jackson's lead, adding to the dimension of holiness of this gospel staple. A key change adds a thoughtful contrast on the verse "When we've been there ten thousand years..." All in all, Precious Memories: Volume II gets off to a great start.

"He Lives" gives the set more tempo. Jackson's baritone continues to linger over simple, organic production work. Backing vocals complement Jackson's lead on the refrain, in a responsive style. "He Lives" is predictable, and while the key change's purpose is to eliminate that sentiment, it is only marginally effective given its own predictability. "Just As I Am" is stronger, with Jackson continuing to sound pure. It is predictable as well, but undeniably pleasant. "Love Lifted Me" provides a contrast, keeping the 6/8 lilt of the traditionally hymn intact. As well as "Love Lifted Me" is executed, "O How I Love Jesus" is the better showing, delivering one of the album's very best. The production work remains simplistic yet unforced and lovely, not to mention sound vocal production and backing vocal support. In regards to performance practice, Jackson and producer Keith Stegall make a sound choice in the reiteration of the refrain at the end (twice at the end).

"Only Trust Him" is arguably the most 'countrified' cut of Precious Memories. The vocal twang and the timbre associated with traditionalist country is fully embodied. "Only Trust Him" is trumped by favorite "There Is Power In The Blood", which is a classic that comes closest to 'reinvention' without taking the plunge. Upright bass reinforces the rhythmic acoustic guitar, while southern gospel piano and tinges of organ add the 'cherry on top'. Uptempo, "There Is Power in The Blood" provides the most contrast to the multitude.

"Precious Memories" finally sees the light of days on the second installment, accompanied by acoustic guitar initially. Upright bass remains in play, strengthening the memorable refrain. Beautiful, the biggest detraction is the cut is lengthier than the rest, 'sitting' over the course of over four minutes. The reverent "Sweet Hour of Prayer" is a beautiful as anticipated, further accentuated by celestial vocal harmonizations. The jubilant "When The Roll Is Called Up Yonder" is brief, but packs a solid punch, contrasting the reflective "Sweet Hour of Prayer". The support of the backing vocals are vital to "When The Roll Is Called Up Yonder" success. Closing cut "Wherever He Leads I'll Go" is a solid end to a solid effort, even if it fails to eclipse the most elite hymn interpretations ("Amazing Grace", "O How I Love Jesus", "There Is Power In The Blood" or "When The Roll Is Called Up Yonder").

Overall, Precious Memories Volume II is another fine addition to the Alan Jackson discography, as well as any country or Christian music collection. It presents material already long tread, but revisits it well. Throughout, Alan Jackson's vocals shine brightly, sounding incredibly sincere and devoted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mar conen, April 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Precious Memories Volume II (Audio CD)
my husband is really pleased with alan jackson Ala n Jackson is versital, he can go
high and then low like george jones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as Vol I, March 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The music and harmony on Vol II is superb and Alan Jackson is one of my favorite singers. However, I did not enjoy the selection of songs included as much as the gospel music included on Vol I. Still,all said, Vol II is an enjoyable listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Album, March 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have enjoyed Alan Jackson since his early years. It seems his albums keep getting better, and this one is one of his best yet. You can't go wrong with selecting songs praising the LORD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars CD, June 10, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Precious Memories Volume II (Audio CD)
I was disappointed with this CD. I do not think it is as good as the first one. It is still good, but it will be hard to ever top the first CD. I would still recommend it to those who have his first volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay, but ..., June 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Precious Memories Volume II (Audio CD)
Volume I was better. But Alan Jackson is NEVER bad! Good song choices, and good for "sing-along" in the car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 237 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Precious Memories Volume II
Precious Memories Volume II by Alan Jackson (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.