Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most accurate Ketone measurement
I only use this for meauring ketones while striving for nutritional ketosis.

I don't use the BGL monitor because i would have to recalibrate it when switching from ketone to BGL.

Independant testing showed this brand to be the most accurate so that is whay I chose it.

Downside is ketone strips are pricey, but worth the cost when compared...
Published 18 months ago by Sandi Shores

versus
58 of 59 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beware the "no code" test strip conversion!!!
Received this meter and test strips (shipped from a different vendor but still ordered from Amazon) this week and got a very rude surprise. Turns out Abbott (the manufacturer) is converting all their new test strips (I bought Precision Xtra Blood Glucose Test Strips Box of 50ct) to "no coding," meaning that the testing units do not require calibration with each new box of...
Published 14 months ago by Deborah Savadra


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 59 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beware the "no code" test strip conversion!!!, April 20, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Precision Xtra Advanced Diabetes Management System 1 ea (Health and Beauty)
Received this meter and test strips (shipped from a different vendor but still ordered from Amazon) this week and got a very rude surprise. Turns out Abbott (the manufacturer) is converting all their new test strips (I bought Precision Xtra Blood Glucose Test Strips Box of 50ct) to "no coding," meaning that the testing units do not require calibration with each new box of test strips you open.

The bad news is, THIS meter DOES require coding it with the test strip's lot number. So basically, I got sold a brand-spanking-new, *obsolete* meter!!

I spent about 15 minutes on the phone with Abbott Diabetes Care (overseas call center) trying to figure out why my test strips did not have a calibration strip and why the meter kept asking for a lot number, finally determining that the test strips they're now selling do not work with the meter being sold here. Thankfully, Abbott is sending me a new meter free of charge to replace the old meter (not sure if what I'm getting will test ketones as well -- hope so!). Otherwise, I'd have been sending this one back for a refund.

The meter itself looks to be quite simple to use. It's just unconscionable that this model is *still* being sold, given that the supply of compatible test strips is dwindling due to Abbott discontinuing them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most accurate Ketone measurement, December 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Precision Xtra Advanced Diabetes Management System 1 ea (Health and Beauty)
I only use this for meauring ketones while striving for nutritional ketosis.

I don't use the BGL monitor because i would have to recalibrate it when switching from ketone to BGL.

Independant testing showed this brand to be the most accurate so that is whay I chose it.

Downside is ketone strips are pricey, but worth the cost when compared to the cost of poor health.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT BUY!!!, October 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Precision Xtra Advanced Diabetes Management System 1 ea (Health and Beauty)
This is the OLD meter that no longer works with the current test strips! I just got off of the phone with Abbott who told me this. I also wasted a nearly $6 (current) test strip by sticking it into this outdated meter. It was dishonest and misleading not to make this fact clear up front!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Outdated Model, October 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Precision Xtra Advanced Diabetes Management System 1 ea (Health and Beauty)
It is very unethical to sell an outdated model when you know the current strips are not going to work with it.
I should have listened to the advice on these pages but thought the problem would be fixed. Do not order a model unless it has "no coding" written on the front.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ketonic Diet Management, May 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Precision Xtra Advanced Diabetes Management System 1 ea (Health and Beauty)
One of the few systems able to measure ketones as well as glucose. Easy to use, easy to get fresh supplies from local drugstores.
Consistent accurate results in less than 15 seconds from two drops of blood when you do both measurements. Know definitely if you are dropping your carbohydrates enough to get into mild Ketosis and fat burning mode instead of fat-storing mode.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reliable, February 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Precision Xtra Advanced Diabetes Management System 1 ea (Health and Beauty)
This meter does both glucose and ketones. Seems accurate, easy to use. Using it to monitor weight loss. Everyone benefits knowing their blood sugars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars NOT THE VERSION PICTURED, October 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Precision Xtra Advanced Diabetes Management System 1 ea (Health and Beauty)
If you were looking to replace an older style monitor (the white one, as pictured here)
because you liked it, or the lancing device better than the newer versions......DO NOT BUY THIS
What arrived was the newer version, of which we have about 6 already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Requires way too much blood for sampling, November 20, 2013
By 
Robert Mccullough "Robert McCullough" (Los Angeles Area, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Precision Xtra Advanced Diabetes Management System 1 ea (Health and Beauty)
The large amount of blood that you need to give this device to get a reading is absolutely ridiculous. There have been numerous occasions where I cant get enough blood for the device without poking my self two or three times and other times I don't get the blood in enough time and wind up wasting a stick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This gives me some idea of my blood sugar but A1C reading are always much lower., September 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Precision Xtra Advanced Diabetes Management System 1 ea (Health and Beauty)
I was diagnosed with pre-diabetes and, since I really do not want the full-blown version, I am trying to find out the foods that affect me most. To aid in obtaining that information, I take my blood sugar levels often. My averages using this product run about 15 points above my AIC levels. Hopefully it at least helps me see the effects of various foods. I am now using a different and more accurate system for my pre-prandial readings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Precision Xtra Advanced Diabetes Management System 1 ea (Health and Beauty)
Very accurate
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Precision Xtra Advanced Diabetes Management System 1 ea
$22.50 $20.03
In stock. Usually ships within 2 to 3 days.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.