Prime Music

Buy Used
Used - Like New See details
$0.25 + $3.99 shipping
Sold by bestcdhead.

or
 
   
Sell Us Your Item
For up to a $0.30 Gift Card
Trade in
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Precollection
 
See larger image
 

Precollection

LilysAudio CD
3.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (17 customer reviews)


Available from these sellers.


Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
MP3 Music, 10 Songs, 2003 $8.99  
Audio CD, 2011 $15.99  
Audio CD, 2004 --  

Amazon's Lilys Store

Visit Amazon's Lilys Store
for all the music, discussions, and more.


Product Details

  • Audio CD (January 6, 2004)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: MANIFESTO RECORDS
  • ASIN: B00008G5KK
  • Average Customer Review: 3.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (17 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #401,322 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. Precollection
2. Melusina
3. Will My Lord Be Gardening
4. Mystery School Assembly
5. Squares
6. Catherine (Let a Positive Stream...)
7. Perception Room
8. Meditations On Speed
9. Dunes
10. 365

Editorial Reviews

Amazon.com

Kurt Heasley and his band may fool newcomers to the party by sounding very British, but this American band proudly wears such British influences as the Kinks, My Bloody Valentine, and Teardrop Explodes on its sleeve. Precollection, their first full-length release since 1999, is an impressive, mature effort that expands a predictable Brit-pop sound into something with varied textures, shades and nuance. The title track opens the disc with a riotous bloom of pop color. It's followed by sprawling, delicate gems. Things pick up with the energetic, insistent "Squares." The bounce of big drums and the shimmer of jangly guitars on "Perception Room" results in a magical pop moment. You have to wait until track eight for the roiling, Modern Lovers-esque number, "Meditations on Speed," which takes Best of Show. Are those keyboards a nod to the Doors? Who knows, but it's a brilliant track either way. --Lorry Fleming

Product Description

Long awaited 2003 album for the indie rock vehicle of singer/songwriter Kurt Heasley, the first since 1999's 'The 3-Way'. Ten tracks. Digipak. Manifesto.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the lilys souding positively fresh June 27, 2003
By Paul C.
Format:Audio CD
Ignore all negative reviews of this album. Critics seem to misunderstand this band often. Heasley's musical vision can't be pinned down on any particular lilys album, except possibly this one. I really hear elements of the early and later period lilys. I'd say on the third listen things started clicking. Think along the lines of syd barrett collaborating with my bloody valentine and you sort of get the picture. I saw him perform most of these songs solo acoustic a month ago and it was fantastic. This could easily be the best album I buy this year. And if you haven't bought pig lib either, pick it up. Stephen Malkmus and Kurt Heasley would do well to go on tour together. Buy it new, support this artist. He is one of the funniest and most charming people I have met. I never write reviews, but this album must be heard!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The newcomer speaks up June 13, 2003
Format:Audio CD
OK, I've got tons of records & LOVE good pop music, but somehow, I've never been turned on to the Lilys. Why hasn't someone forced them down my throat!? Actually, Precollection was bought for me by a rabid Lilys fan who swore I'd thank him later - which I've now done about 20 times. I've since delved in to The 3 Way & Better Can't...(both EXCELLENT!) & I understand the disappontment of some long-time fans but I'm glad I heard Precollection first. While the other records have a more immediate kick, the comparibly mellow Precollection is the first one where people may have to struggle for reference points. Not 60's, not shoegazey, not particularly modern OR retro sounding - just Kurt Heasly music. These songs subtly worm their way in to your brain - marvel as structures that aren't immediately clear become positively anthemic with some patience. The third listen really did it for me - I hate that there are a few people who've dismissed it after the first spin. Peresvere folks! On certain days, I've had this entire record stuck in my head & I still can't put my finger on exactly why it's so great. Is this even helpful?! I guess all I really wanted to say is that without all the massive expectation, I was able to freely digest this record & it's my favorite of the year so far. I keep coming back to it. It's got a soul & mystique that sets it apart from most of today's disposable pop music.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's okay to be a little disappointed November 9, 2003
Format:Audio CD
Not the record I was expecting. When Heasley unveiled what was reported to be the new band lineup in 2000 on the 'Selected' recordings, I thought..promising, very promsing. Even though the centerpiece of that record was a re-recording of an older track, it was such an explosive little production, it left me wanting more. Imagine my surprise three years later with the arrival of 'Precollections'. The music is terrific, of course. Any time Mr. Heasley pulls together a full length, he is going to bring along his brimming sack of ideas. How then to explain the lack of spark on this one? I have no gripe with the production, it suits the material. If I do have a problem, it's with the pervading lackluster tone of 'Pre'. Indeed it wouldn't surprise to hear of Heasley's recent treatment for depression. Following the manic heights of the Elektra/Sire recordings, these tracks seem to file in, sedated and shuffling from the beginning. Though the best material is dazzling, it isn't very well served by the overall package. 'Will My Lord..' is truly a gem, though 'Squares', channels Julian Cope and 'Mystery School..' is a dead ringer for Wire. 'Dunes' has been getting alot of play around here, irresistible. Not a man for half measures, Heasley has scrapped Lilys mach 1 for the present and more power to him.
Oh..I also didn't think 'Yoshimi Battles the Pink Robots' was that great, although I love the Lips. Sorry.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a new direction May 31, 2003
By A Customer
Format:Audio CD
I predict a lot of people will feel burned by this album because it doesn't sound like their last couple. Lilys have the habit of changing their sound everyone once in a while, and this is never easy on fans, at least not the fairweather variety. I too was hoping for more of The 3 Way's sound (a very delicious & ecclectic variety of orchestrated pop). But listening to this a few times I think it was probably time for Kurt to move on.
The production is a little less clear than in "the Michael Deming years" but it isn't bad at all. The songs are fairly strong, with some stronger than others. "Will My Lord be Gardening" is a charmer. "Meditations on Speed" is hilariously freewheeling & reminiscent of Velvet Underground. "Squares" reminds us that few people can write songs so oddly structured & make them sound so memorable.
Overall, what I like about this disc is that it is very unpretentious & honest... Kurt not bowing to either critics or fans... riffing on his new family-life & picking out the beauty or oddness along the way.
Just, you know, don't get too used to this one either.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Precollection--Lilys January 9, 2004
By A Customer
Format:Audio CD
This is an absorbing album from a songwriter of rare originality. It may not be immediately comprehensible or appealing to some at first listen, but repeated hearings will bring rewards to those who persevere. Kurt Heasley's influeces/inspirations are apparent (lots of good British pop sounds from the sixties to the nineties)but he molds them into a unique sound that is more than the sum of its parts. The song structures are unpredictable (check out twisty and meandering "Mystery School Assembly"), and even the more straight-ahead pop tunes such as "Squares" and "Perception Room" contain musical suprises. The lyrics abound in baroque, stream of consciousness imagery and clever wordplay. And it all still manages to stay catchy! Every track is different and worth savoring individually; the unifying element is the somewhat murky, dark production which gives the album a melancholy vibe, even on the more uptempo tracks. These complex, layered song arrangements could have benefited from clearer, less drum-heavy production, but this is still one of the most under-rated releases of 2003. A must-have for fans of inventive pop music!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Recent Customer Reviews
4.0 out of 5 stars Marinate on It
I remember the Onion AV club's review of this album mentioning something about how the songs require double digit listens to sink in. Read more
Published on April 12, 2006 by Jed Sundwall
2.0 out of 5 stars Precollecting
The Lilys take a trip to Manchester in "Precollection," their first new album in four years. Okay, they don't literally travel there -- they just musically travel to a Brit-tinged... Read more
Published on November 6, 2004 by E. A Solinas
2.0 out of 5 stars mad
heasley's gone mad again. genre-hopping from ripping off MBV early on (a good thing, actually) to ostentatious chord changes in SPADES in "the 3-way" era to this mess of... Read more
Published on January 26, 2004
2.0 out of 5 stars kinda/sorta
This latest one by the Lilys has definitely left me wondering if I should/would "impulse-buy" any future release. Read more
Published on August 13, 2003 by Brandon Buckner
4.0 out of 5 stars amateur critics/ selective memory/ limited exposure - NO.
If you've been following the Lily's career than you are aware that they (like the worlds greatest bands) do not repeat themselves (see Blur/Think Tank). Read more
Published on August 4, 2003 by Scott H. Townend
5.0 out of 5 stars consistency is the last refuge of the unimaginative
read the first review far below...it's true, this album takes a bit of listening until one truly warms up to it. Read more
Published on June 22, 2003
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fourth Way
This may be the best Lilys album, but for reasons far different than those that made THE 3-WAY, BETTER CAN'T MAKE YOUR LIFE BETTER and SERVICES (FOR THE SOON TO BE DEPARTED)... Read more
Published on June 11, 2003
1.0 out of 5 stars Huge Disappointment
I usually do not write reviews but feel compelled to warn people NOT to buy this album if you are expecting something even remotely similar to the Lily's last album Three Way. Read more
Published on June 5, 2003
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only

Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 



Look for Similar Items by Category