Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Release of Two-Disc Versions
These are the two-disc versions of both Predator and Predator 2 (4 discs total) in slim cases with the cover shown on Amazon. The best of both worlds, and a small package for more valuable shelf space.
Published on September 11, 2007 by Back In Time

versus
70 of 79 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Buyer Beware
This double feature Predator/Predator 2 Blu-ray (Own the Moments) was released by Fox home Entertainment in May 2012. It initially contained the 2010 Ultimate Hunter Edition Blu-ray with the modern MPEG-4 AVC video codec and several special features and extras, including a trailer for Predators. Several purchasers of the double feature have confirmed this on various...
Published 18 months ago by R. Gendreau


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

70 of 79 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Buyer Beware, February 2, 2013
This double feature Predator/Predator 2 Blu-ray (Own the Moments) was released by Fox home Entertainment in May 2012. It initially contained the 2010 Ultimate Hunter Edition Blu-ray with the modern MPEG-4 AVC video codec and several special features and extras, including a trailer for Predators. Several purchasers of the double feature have confirmed this on various forums. NOTE: This review does not apply to the Predator Collection released in October 2010. That release has always contained the Ultimate Hunter Edition of Predator.

I received an email from Amazon customer service that states this double feature now contains the 2008 release, which has no extras or special features and uses an older, inferior MPEG-2 AVC video codec. I sent an email to Foxconnect asking them to verify the version of Predator that is currently included in this double feature release. I will post their response here if I receive definitive information. (EDIT) 2/14/2013. I have exchanged emails with Foxconnect, the contact for Fox Home Entertainment. I detailed the differences between the 2008 and 2010 releases of Predator for them and asked which release this double feature contains. They refused to tell me anything, other than it was a Blu-ray of the 1987 movie Predator.(EDIT) 3/11/2013. Please read the comments for additional information. Everyone who has commented has received the 2010 Ultimate Hunter Edition with this double feature.

At this point, my conclusion is that they may have been using this Own the Moments release as a vehicle to get rid of some unsold inventory of the 2008 Blu-ray release. Since everyone who has commented on this review has confirmed that they have received the Ultimate Hunter Edition, the email from Amazon customer service was probably incorrect. The most recent response from customer service regarding this issue is that they relied on information from their inventory dept.

There are strong opinions on which of these two releases is superior. Before purchasing this item, be sure to check the reviews of the individual releases for the 2008 and the 2010 before you take a chance on purchasing this double feature.

Frankly, you are better off buying the individual releases, to guarantee that you are getting the version you prefer.

I gave this review one star because of the conflicting information on content. It does not reflect my opinion of the individual releases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Release of Two-Disc Versions, September 11, 2007
These are the two-disc versions of both Predator and Predator 2 (4 discs total) in slim cases with the cover shown on Amazon. The best of both worlds, and a small package for more valuable shelf space.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth it if you are a fan, January 13, 2008
I saw this item advertised and decided to look into it. I wanted the 2 disk versions of each movie and thought this would be a good option..particularly because other reviews indicated it was packaged in a slim case (my shelf needs some room, so consolidation and smaller size, without sacrificing content is attractive to me). Each one of the special editions of these two movies goes for around $13-$15 a piece so it seemed like a good enough deal.
I picked this up and when I first got it in my hands, I started to doubt my choice. As advertised, the slip case contained only 2 slim dvd cases. I wondered if each one of those actually contained contained 2 disk, or did I in fact get the old, bare bones versions? And the fact that there are no specs on the outer slip as to the contents didn't make me feel any better. I slid the snap cases for each film out of the slip case and grew more aggrevated as the back of each case showed the features listed on the "bare bones" versions only. I opened the cases and to my relief, it was indeed the 2 disk versions, with a disk on the inside of each door. So it looks like someone at Fox messed up, or was just lazy, because this is the 2 disk version of each film, in the bare bones boxes.
So rest assured, you are getting the 2 disk special editions for a decent price and in a more compact package. (search around...I found mine for a heck of a price elsewhere).
As for the movies, I'm sure you have seen them. Predator, despite a few small moments, still holds up well. I Can't say as much for Pred 2. The movie is dated, and some of the things that made it a bit silly originally, shine even bolder here. Still, when Kevin Peter Hall is onscreen in a Stan Winston designed Predator suit, it is enteratining.
As for the features, there is some real fun stuff here. The cast of both films is entertaining to watch in enterviews..particularly the first film. The first film had a big group of testosterone driven guys and you can tell it was a fun boys club on set. I mean, you have 2 future governors in that cast, both with super competitive personalities bigger than life. As for the second film, I have two words...Gary Busey.
If you don't own the Predator films and are thinking about getting them, this is the way to go...as long as you can overlook the mis-packaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Predator and prey, March 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Here's m thoughts on "Predator": it's "The Most Dangerous Game"... but with a masked alien instead of a creepy guy with a satanic goatee.

That's the basic concept behind this gory, suspenseful sci-fi thriller. which starts off as your usual macho BOOMBOOMfest but quickly mutates into something far creepier. Sadly "Predator 2" doesn't measure up to its brilliant predecessor -- while not horrendous, it loses a lot of that primal grittiness in favor of a very dated urban scenario.

"Predator": Major Alan "Dutch" Schaefer (Arnold Schwarzenegger) and his team have been assigned to rescue a cabinet minister kidnapped by guerillas in Guatemala. The team basically blows up the entire guerilla compound and everyone in it, except for one woman (Elpidia Carrillo) that they take prisoner. But on the way back, their numbers start dwindling -- one soldier is dragged away and gutted, and another is shot through the chest with an energy blast. Something far worse than the guerillas is stalking the team through the jungle -- an unknown Predator is determined to kill everyone worth hunting.

"Predator 2": The Colombian and Jamaican drug gangs are currently in a massive war for Los Angeles, which is interrupted by a mysterious invisible creature that starts killing both sides. Lieutenant Michael Harrigan (Danny Glover) finds out that an extraterrestrial Predator is loose in his city -- and in turn, the Predator is being hunted by a covert government agency.

"Predator" and "Predator 2" are pretty much what you would expect from a classic action movie and its sequel -- the first one is pretty brilliant, and the second one is competent but suffers by comparison to the first. In fact, the only thing the two movies have in common is a tentacle-haired, antifreeze-blooded alien who likes to skin things.

The original "Predator" is a grimy, gritty piece of work, with a small number of soldiers moving through a sweaty tropical forest. It has a very primal, timeless feeling -- you could set this story in any wilderness, in any time period, and it would feel roughly the same. And having the characters be so isolated in the jungle just hammers that home.

"Predator 2" loses that primal, timeless feeling, mostly by planting itself in an urban setting swarming with people... and oh yeah, dating itself with the government-agency-seeking-aliens subplot. It's not a bad movie, but it doesn't grip you the way the first film does -- although it does have some clever moments, such as the Predator scanning a child with a toy weapon.

One thing both movies do have is excellent casting. Schwarzenegger does what he does best, roaring and blasting his way through the jungle, uttering some lovely lines that have reached cinematic immortality ("Get to da choppah!"). Glover gives a good performance as well as a hard-bitten, weary cop who has enough on his plate before the aliens show up.

"Predator / Predator 2" is a duology worth watching -- the first movie is a deserving action/sci-fi classic, the second more flawed but still watchable. Just don't watch the Predators' battles with the xenomorphs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes... it does have the ULTIMATE HUNTER EDITION! (at least mine does) :/, March 26, 2014
Well, I've been collecting Blu-rays for a short time now, and finally got the new Full HD TV set-up, and then starting re-watching some older titles on DVD.... now, I told myself that I wouldn't be making the effort to be re-buying many old titles that I already own, but after seeing a lot of the "classics" again, and in comparison to the new HD format, all I have to say is... yikes! A lot of them suffer badly from transfers that came from a much dirtier and damaged film source. The first "Predator"(one of my all-time faves) on DVD is one of those that is WAY to sub-par in video quality for my tastes. SO MANY black specks and scratches pop-up, that it's flat-out distracting to watch now by today's standards.

So, I had to make the effort of up-grading this bad-boy on good ol' Blu-Ray... and whatta'ya know, Best Buy has both the 1st and 2nd Predators movies on sale this week (for only $7.99) in a nifty little Double Feature 2-Pack. I did a lot of research to find out what exactly this Collection consists of, and there is a lot of back-and-forth on what was actually included. There were many reviews stating that the set included the much more superior release of the 1st Predator, the 2010 "Ultimate Hunter Edition" which includes butt-loads of special features and a far better, fully remastered HD transfer, as opposed to the far inferior 2008 Blu-Ray release of the film that really didn't do the masterpiece justice(from what I've heard). But, then there were many other conflicting reviews stating that this set actually contains the cruddy 2008 release... ahhhh, who to believe?! Well, I figured it would be worth it to throw caution to the wind and just buy it at this awesome price, and hope I get the "UHE" version of the 1st film... and, I DID! SWEET!

So, I am here(after putting you all through this painful rant) to confirm that the version that Best Buy is currently selling is the proper 2-Disc Pack, with the much more superior UHE version of "Predator"... and, of course, a great copy of its equally entertaining sequel as well!

While some still confirm that there are copies floating around out there that do still contain the 2008 version, I can say with certainty that the one I bought this week at BB does include the correct version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DVDs, March 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This was a gift for a niece's boyfriend and he was thrilled to have received it. It's a nice double DVD purchase for a good price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two monsters more the merrier!, February 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love this which in my has best looking blu-rays of both movies!Great transfers,sound and fantistic buy for a great space critter that loves to hunt!Good shipping speed!Must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Action Packed, October 2, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is one great movie. Both are action filled and never leave your seat movies. Arnold and Danny did great jobs. Great special effects. The Predator was awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars BEWARE, potential buyers!, August 29, 2013
I got this "Own the Moments" double feature single case collection at my local Walmart, and Predator 1 won't play in my Blu-Ray player. Predator 2 plays just fine, and the transfer and extras are wonderful. My one star is for the defective disc of part one. It has the Ultimate Hunter Edition artwork, but I don't know if that's what it really is, since there's always a "Disc Error" message when I put it in my player. Apparently, I'm not the only one having issues with disc one, judging by the other one star reviews. What is going on here? Could it be that Predator is actually the older 2008 release disguised as the UHE? If you wanna get rid of a lot of unsold and unwanted inventory, just bury it like they did the e.t. Atari game, instead of misleading consumers. It takes away your credibility, and causes customers to lose their respect and trust in you. Hint hint Fox!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Does not work, June 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
As described in many reviews, the Predator disc is not the Ultimate Hunter Edition. It is an outdated disc and my Blu-Ray player even did not recognize it. Replaced it once thinking that it may be an issue (scratch) with the disc, but disappointed to find the same issue with the replacement - had to return it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Predator Collection (1 & 2) [Blu-ray]
Predator Collection (1 & 2) [Blu-ray] by Schwarzenegger (Blu-ray - 2010)
$39.99 $31.46
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.