Customer Reviews


550 Reviews
5 star:
 (231)
4 star:
 (163)
3 star:
 (80)
2 star:
 (37)
1 star:
 (39)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


186 of 199 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Welcome Back to the Jungle
"Predators" is back to basics return for the "Predator" franchise, they have juggled the elements that made the first film successful but couldn't seem to get right for the sequel or the "Alien vs. Predator" movies. "Predators" starts with the original premise of the first movie. Eight people of different ethnicities (if not occupations) are thrown into a living green...
Published on July 9, 2010 by Jym Cherry

versus
28 of 37 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unconvincing Action Figure
I can only imagine someone liking this film if they've never seen the original, because it breaks no new ground in the franchise. It works double-time to copy the original's high points, right down to Adrien Brody and Alice Braga slavishly aping Arnold Schwarzenegger and Elpidia Carillo. I struggle to grasp so many creative people approaching such a popular franchise...
Published on October 31, 2010 by Kevin L. Nenstiel


‹ Previous | 126 27 2855 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, August 31, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Predators (Blu-ray + Digital Copy) (Blu-ray)
great movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Padded Remake With Boring Story, November 28, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Predators (DVD)
No matter how they try to dress it up, this is just a remake of the first Predator.
Why didn't they have more Predators no longer hunting humans on the streets of earth, but a massive full scale war with the army and the twist being they now can take on our form and also they need our women to mate to carry on their race and plan to take over our planet, that would have been more exciting. I tried to enjoy this film but it was so tacky and cliche ridden I thought why the heck did they even bother.
What should have been an all out assault on our senses is just a let down making this the perfect example of just how much hollywood is short changing fans.
Let's hope this is the last Predator sequel, as it looks like leftovers from Outlander and Avatar.
Worth a watch if you must but it's no worthy addition, Predator 2 is still the best of the Predator sequels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I actually liked it, November 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Predators (Amazon Instant Video)
After reading the IMDB reviews on this movie I thought it was going to seriously suck, but I actually really enjoyed it. It might mostly be due to the fact that I'm a fan of Topher Grace, I love action/thriller movies in general, and I'm not a die hard fan of the original Predator movies, but regardless, I liked this movie. I recommend it if you're not so nostalgic that you can't get past that it's not the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's bigger but NOT better!, October 20, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Predators (DVD)
I've been reading the mostly positive reviews that this film has gotten, quite a bit of them WAY TOO extreme! It seems a lot of them NEVER really saw or experienced the original/classic (!!)PREDATOR.
First off, the movie is not bad at all but it fails to improve on the original in several instances:
1st) Despite the new designs, new looks, & new effects of the creatures, there is NO REAL villainy or menace demonstrated by them in contrast to P1 & P2. I recall how it practically taunted & toyed with its victims B4 killing them (i.e.- Mac & Dillon in P1, the Jamaican "hit"team in P2).....NONE of that creativity here. And where was the agility & athleticism that was demonstrated in the 1st 2 films, which left a LOT 2 the imagination, them being so huge (swinging & running along the jungle/treetops in P1 & climbing buildings/leaping along rooftops in P2)???? Several opportunities wasted!
2nd) How does a team of professional killers (each his own right?) suddenly "rally around" one man (Royce) without hesitation??? Couldn't they at least show SOME challenge 2 his sense of authority. It seems too cliched these days in a lot of movies 2 throw a bunch of "strangers" together & have them working together or following each other as a group almost immediately (BORING!). Still, the cast is mostly believable as individuals & made up of some pretty decent actors (Adrien Brody, Lawrence Fishburne, etc). At least the filmakers didn't try 2 sink the franchise by using an ALL pretty-looking TWILIGHT cast (EW-WWWW!!!!!). But then again, we R watching this movie 4 the Predators, right?
And speaking of- despite the mostly negative comments here regarding the ALIENVSPREDATOR series & the attempts by reviewers 2 separate it from the 1st 2 Predator films here at AMAZON, there is a bit of noticable homage (AVP) in this film- the Predator's holographic map/imaging system & the revelation by Noland that they hunt in groups of 3s (recall in AVP, it was 3 Predators that entered the Pyramid 2 begin their "rite of passage").
Poor Derek Mears who suited up as number of the creatures in this film! He clearly left NO impression in that God-AWFUL FRIDAY THE 13th POS "remake" (as Jason, of course) & he likewise does so (or doesn't depending how U look at it!)here. Any chance giving Kevin Peter (R.I.P. bro!)Hall's brother a phone call?
I had real high hopes 4 this film, the conventional wisdom being a sequel is SUPPOSED 2 follow & improve on the original (ALIENS/ALIEN, SPIDERMAN2/SPIDERMAN). It's not really that bad, truthfully. I'm just HOPING that the inevitable next sequel gets it RIGHT next time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT, February 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Predators (Blu-ray + Digital Copy) (Blu-ray)
This was what I expected and more. Thankfully, Troublemaker studio let the director play this one straight. My only complaint has to do with the commentary between Robert Rodriguez and director Nimrod Antal. There was more mutual hand-jobbing going and little insight of the production process. Small detail - barely worth mentioning - just sayin....

Can I say 'hand-jobbing' on Amazon?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great step up for the Predator/Alien movies, August 6, 2011
By 
C. Vieira (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Predators (Blu-ray + Digital Copy) (Blu-ray)
The most recent movies in the Predator and Aliens series have been lacking a certain sophistication and thrill that made the first movies so terrific - that is not the case with Predators. This is a fantastic thrill-ride with superb acting. There is a great story in this script and that's what makes it so great. If you loved what made the original Predator so good, definitely get this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, December 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Predators (Blu-ray + Digital Copy) (Blu-ray)
good movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, November 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Predators (Amazon Instant Video)
good movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, November 4, 2014
This review is from: Predators (DVD)
good movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, October 16, 2014
This review is from: Predators (DVD)
Good movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 126 27 2855 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Predators (Blu-ray + Digital Copy)
Predators (Blu-ray + Digital Copy) by Nimród Antal (Blu-ray - 2010)
$29.99 $5.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.