Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Stephen Kellogg All-New Amazon Fire TV Beauty V-Day Amethyst Jewelry Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Gift Card Offer jstfd6 jstfd6 jstfd6  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 Kindle Voyage Winter Sports on Amazon.com Sale

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 31, 2010
Before you buy this cable to hook up your PC with your TV please read the following:

In order for this cable to work, the markings on your TV must be RGB. You will have to look closely to read this or find it in your TV manual. If it is Pr,Y,Pb IT WILL NOT WORK. You will find these markings next to the red, green and blue connectors on the back of your TV. Remember, they must be marked R,G,B.

Regards.
1111 comments384 of 390 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2009
This worked amazing to hook up my projector to my DVD player. Much better picture quality than with the previous S-video cable.

This WILL NOT work to hook up your laptop to a Television. Do not even try.
44 comments86 of 89 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 11, 2011
Ignore ANYONE who buys this cable to connect a computer to a TV and gives it 1-3 stars because it didn't work. Ignore those who wrote "I read the warnings but bought it anyway" and then complained. These people have no clue.

This cable does NOT convert any signal. It is used in situations where the devices are expecting a certain signal. It is not misleading, and there really isn't a need for a manual because it doesn't do anything requiring installation. Does any other cable come with a manual or instructions? "Plug it in."

Case 1: your computer video card can be CONFIGURED to output Component video (various HD resolutions or SD 480p). This is configured in the control panel/pane. Some ATI products had this ability, others required a dongle with dip switches that told the card which signal to send over component (720p, 1080i, etc.). If your card was software configurable, it will tell the video card to do the conversion and send Component video over the proper pins on the VGA connector. A television or projector would then see this as an HD signal and display it. There is also a shareware utility that can hack into some cards to tell them to send the signal out correctly.

Case 2: your monitor or projector can receive component signals over the VGA input port. Again, certain monitors and projectors can do this. It's more common on projectors, but my 42" Panasonic Plasma MONITOR (not TV, MONITOR) can do this. Again, you need to go into the menu of the receiving unit and tell it to look for component signal over the particular input.

Case 3: very rare, but there are a few older projectors and monitors with 3 connector RGB inputs (also known as SYNC on Green). But again, your output device must be able to send sync on green over VGA. This was more common 10-15 years ago.

If you don't have these setups, this cable is not for you. If you rate it 1 star because it doesn't work for you and you don't have one of these setups, you need to look up the meaning of caveat emptor. Or simply investigate before you buy a product.
11 comment38 of 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2010
Even though all these helpful reviews said "this won't allow you to plug your laptop into your TV," i thought that for sure my situation must be different. Don't fall into the same trap - This cable does not convert RGB video into a component signal.
If you need something for plugging your component into an RGB port in a projector, this is for you. And it's very well made.
22 comments62 of 71 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 1, 2010
I ordered this cable in the hopes of connecting my laptop to my 50" plasma TV. The cable arrived in good condition, and I believe it's a good-quality cable - it feels strong, but is still very flexible - but it didn't work for me.

In order to use this cable, the device with VGA out must be capable of sending a TV signal, sometimes called an RGB signal or a sync-on-green signal. Because this is a very specific type of signal, it's almost impossible to find out whether or not a certain device is capable of it. Basically, if it's designed for displaying on a TV, it's going to send the right signal, but most laptops have display ports for connecting to monitors, not TVs. For this price, however, it's probably worth buying the cable and testing it in your situation, instead of scouring the web and living in constant uncertainty.
0Comment16 of 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 11, 2008
I have a HD compatible projector and this cable helped me connect my blu-ray to the projector and the picture quality is just great.
I'd recommend this to anyone with a HD compatible projector or tv.
0Comment7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 5, 2012
IT IS MADE TO CONNECT ELECTRONICS TO COMPUTER MONITORS FOR EXAMPLE: PLUG THE RGB IN THE ELECTRONIC (E.G. BLU-RAY PLAYER) THEN CONNECT IT TO THE COMPUTER MONITER.
0Comment7 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2008
Excellent conversion cable. Some HD projectors/TVs accept the composite signal via connector that looks like a VGA one from a PC. This allows you to come out of the DVD player or other video source using 3 component plugs and go to the VGA style input on the projector. Works great.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon December 11, 2010
Even after reading the various warnings submitted by others before buying this item, I decided to get it anyway. Most had alerted that the product wouldn't work for those who were trying to use the cable to link their TV with their computer. I was trying to connect a DVD player (component output) to a PC monitor (standard RGB HD-15). Should be no problem right? Wrong. The monitor doesn't recognize the connection. So, I just figured I'd return it. After all, it's Amazon. Well this particular product must be returned to the seller and the seller does not reimburse their shipping cost nor pay for the return shipping. Since the original shipping cost exceeds the product cost, it makes no financial sense to return the item. A cheap but important lesson for the future.
22 comments11 of 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 9, 2010
This product is what I expected, a decent vga to rca cable, it arrived quickly, and was in new condition. However, I still could not get my laptop to show on my tv, even after spending the better part of a day on it. Fortunately the product was inexpensive, so it was more of a waste of time than money.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 12 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.