Customer Reviews


242 Reviews
5 star:
 (113)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (62)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy with this unit
A lot of these "wall warts" have really terrible voltage regulation -- for example, a wall wart rated at 5 volts and 2 amps might measure as much as 7 or 10 volts when the load is only 1 amp. This could be dangerous for a unit intended for USB/2.5" HDD use, where the load can be quite variable.

This one is rated at 5 volts, 2 amps, and by my measurement...
Published on October 12, 2011 by Walter Bass

versus
19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 6 volts, not 5 volts
This adapter comes with 5v label but actual output is a very stable 6v! Beware not to burn your device.
Published on April 10, 2012 by djs


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy with this unit, October 12, 2011
By 
Walter Bass (Sunnyvale, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Premium External Power Supply 5.0v 2.0A (2000mA) AC/DC Adapter for USB HUB and 2.5-inch HDD Enclosure (Electronics)
A lot of these "wall warts" have really terrible voltage regulation -- for example, a wall wart rated at 5 volts and 2 amps might measure as much as 7 or 10 volts when the load is only 1 amp. This could be dangerous for a unit intended for USB/2.5" HDD use, where the load can be quite variable.

This one is rated at 5 volts, 2 amps, and by my measurement measured 5.38 volts with no load. I think that that is low enough to not pose a significant hazard to any 5 volt equipment. So I would rate the voltage regulation of this power supply as probably much better than average for these kinds of units, and good enough to not be a concern.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 6 volts, not 5 volts, April 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Premium External Power Supply 5.0v 2.0A (2000mA) AC/DC Adapter for USB HUB and 2.5-inch HDD Enclosure (Electronics)
This adapter comes with 5v label but actual output is a very stable 6v! Beware not to burn your device.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good replacement, but check the plug size with your original, September 7, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Premium External Power Supply 5.0v 2.0A (2000mA) AC/DC Adapter for USB HUB and 2.5-inch HDD Enclosure (Electronics)
I bought this as a replacement for my Roku's external P/S which gave up the ghost as many 1st-gen Roku power bricks have done. The power specs on this one are just right, but the plug is way too small. I knew that going in and replaced it with the plug from my Roku's dead brick. If you're not prepared or able to do the same thing, be sure to measure the one you're replacing. Many 5 VDC P/S bricks use a 5.5 mm (od) plug. This one is 3.5 mm.

The one I bought was sold by Oyen Digital and it appears to be a good P/S and the specs on it are the same as those listed in the product description. The P/S I received was not the one pictured, but it was a similar size and (after a plug transplant) it powers my Roku just fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do not buy, December 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Premium External Power Supply 5.0v 2.0A (2000mA) AC/DC Adapter for USB HUB and 2.5-inch HDD Enclosure (Electronics)
I bought this power supply to use for my CM storm trigger keyboard. It blew out two keyboards with its faulty voltage. Horrible company
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Burnt out within 10 seconds of plugging it in., September 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Premium External Power Supply 5.0v 2.0A (2000mA) AC/DC Adapter for USB HUB and 2.5-inch HDD Enclosure (Electronics)
I'd read some of the bad reviews, but then read so many good ones, I figured for the price, I'd take a chance and just return it if it didn't work. It worked for 10 seconds. Then I heard a popping noise and smelled that familiar smell of burning electronics. It showed no further signs of life. Returned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Amazon Recommended Wrong Item, January 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Premium External Power Supply 5.0v 2.0A (2000mA) AC/DC Adapter for USB HUB and 2.5-inch HDD Enclosure (Electronics)
I needed a AC/DC Adapter for my Cooler Master Storm Trigger. I was directed to this item through the Storm Trigger product on Amazon. I thought it would be compatible, but the adapter plug was too big for the keyboard. What a waste of money, stop the false advertisement, Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect replacement, August 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Premium External Power Supply 5.0v 2.0A (2000mA) AC/DC Adapter for USB HUB and 2.5-inch HDD Enclosure (Electronics)
When the power adapter frayed on our baby monitor, my wife almost went out and bought a new monitor. I reigned her in and found a replacement adapter for cheap. And it worked just like I would expect it to. It had higher quality cables than the adapter than came with the monitor thats for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good part not suited to device., December 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Premium External Power Supply 5.0v 2.0A (2000mA) AC/DC Adapter for USB HUB and 2.5-inch HDD Enclosure (Electronics)
Good part not suited to device. This part showed up in a search for a power supply for the Roku box, but it has the wrong size plug end on it--too small for the ROKU.I'll be able to whack the end off and solder on a larger one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not a genuine FOSCAM product, July 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Premium External Power Supply 5.0v 2.0A (2000mA) AC/DC Adapter for USB HUB and 2.5-inch HDD Enclosure (Electronics)
a backup power supply is a necessity. I keep this plugged in near my router, so when I need to test/reprogram a camera I won't have to bring the existing power supply along. Also, note that the power supplies do sometimes go bad, so a spare is a good thing to have. Just bought 2 more for insurance.

** update ** I powered 2 of these on of the 3 I ordered. one powered for 5 seconds and faded out, the second was powered for one minute until I heard a pop and smelled an electrical burn. These are low quality Chinese crap and not manufactured to FOSCAM specs. Avoid as they are inferior and a waste of money. Rating changed to one star- if they offered lower I would have rated a ZERO.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Purchased for Foscam Cameras, March 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Premium External Power Supply 5.0v 2.0A (2000mA) AC/DC Adapter for USB HUB and 2.5-inch HDD Enclosure (Electronics)
I purchased two of these power supplies. They work excellent as a replacement for my Foscam camera power supplies. Word Filler
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.