Customer Reviews


261 Reviews
5 star:
 (229)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Holiday flicks!!!!
Add these to the classics list!!! My kids LOVE these movies and watch them all year long!!! We love them too!
Published 20 months ago by William D. Blackwell

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Very Short Cartoons
I really enjoyed P&L when it was first on TV. I did not realize, however, just how many commercials they had stuffed in and how short the feature really is. On the disc, each cartoon is only 23 minutes long. Just FYI.
Published 3 months ago by Drew


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Holiday flicks!!!!, August 21, 2012
This review is from: Prep & Landing / Prep & Landing: Naughty vs. Nice (Totally Tinsel Collection) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Add these to the classics list!!! My kids LOVE these movies and watch them all year long!!! We love them too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thanks Disney for Giving Us 2 New Holiday Classics!, October 17, 2012
This review is from: Prep & Landing / Prep & Landing: Naughty vs. Nice (Totally Tinsel Collection) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I loved both of these television specials! I watched them both the night they each aired. I've been waiting to own both of these on disc for a couple of years now. I passed up the Prep and Landing DVD last year in hopes that they would create a disc with both of them. I'm glad I waited! It'll be nice to have both of them on one disc. I also hope that they put a few special features on this blu-ray as well. It would be nice to have a couple "Behind the Scenes" featurettes or something like that. Regardless, these will be nice to have to watch each holiday season!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray Review: "Prep & Landing: Totally Tinsel Collection", December 21, 2012
By 
This review is from: Prep & Landing / Prep & Landing: Naughty vs. Nice (Totally Tinsel Collection) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Disney spreads their holiday cheer this Christmas by releasing "Prep & Landing: Totally Tinsel Collection" on Blu-ray. You get both of these witty and hilarious adventures on one Blu-ray disc with the DVD edition accompanying it as well. If you aren't familiar with "Prep & Landing" I'd say it's time you did so. Santa's little helpers have never been so much fun.

"Prep & Landing" introduces us to Lanny and Wayne. They are part of an elite team of high-tech elves who make houses ready for Santa Claus to arrive. When things go horribly wrong, the hilarious duo must rise above their challenges in order to save Christmas.

In "Prep & Landing: Naughty vs. Nice," Lanny and Wayne come up against a young computer hacker looking to get himself off Santa's Naughty list. Christmas could be canceled forever if the two elves don't recover the classified North Pole technology the boy has stolen.

These two mini-movies are hilarious and entertaining. People of all ages will find something redeeming in the "Prep & Landing" shows. The animation might be different than what we get with Pixar, but the spirit is there. That shouldn't come as a surprise since Pixar's John Lasseter is an executive producer of the films.

The picture and audio quality of the Blu-ray edition is wonderful. Every character and background comes to life thanks to an impressive high-definition transfer. The color palette is vibrant and the 5.1 surround disperses the musical score and sound effects throughout your home theater.

Special features consist of short films like the Emmy-winning "Operation: Secret Santa" and "Tiny's Big Adventure." "Behind the Jingle" introduces voice-actor Grace Potter, who gives us a glimpse into the studio and the making of a "Prep & Landing" mini-movie. There are North Pole commercials, North Pole News, and promotional spots. You can also get information on "Kringle Academy" if you feel ready to enroll.

"Prep & Landing: Totally Tinsel Collection" is a perfect gift for any child to unwrap under the Christmas tree. It's perfect for the whole family to enjoy as they come together to celebrate the holiday season. Two great mini-movies, short films, and plenty of fun extras make this a worthwhile purchase for any lover of Walt Disney animation or Pixar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars so cute!, December 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a really cute "movie" with 2 different stories. However, be warned - it is short and we all said "that's it?" when it finished.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prep Landing was great..., September 12, 2012
By 
This review is from: Prep & Landing / Prep & Landing: Naughty vs. Nice (Totally Tinsel Collection) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I didn't buy it because I thought the price was a bit much for a short flick but with an added new short for 2012 I'll pay the price with the added bonus of blu-ray + DVD.Prep & Landing: Totally Tinsel Collection [Blu-ray]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful Disney humor!, December 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Short and cute stories even the little ones will be able to sit still for and enjoy! I love animation, and Disney did not disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'M A SUCKER FOR CHRISTMAS SPECIALS, ESPECIALLY GOOD ONES LIKE THIS, November 30, 2012
This review is from: Prep & Landing / Prep & Landing: Naughty vs. Nice (Totally Tinsel Collection) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Looking for some fun this Christmas that will also make a great gift for animated film fans? Then by all means pick up the PREP & LANDING series that arrives in time for Christmas. It features both the original PREP & LANDING and the new short NAUGHTY VS. NICE. The package features both standard DVD and Blu-ray and includes a number of extra features that are as entertaining as the specials themselves. Included are several other short shorts that involve the elves including SECRET SANTA and TINY'S BIG ADVENTURE, a training film for prospective elves, a North Pole newsreel, hilarious commercials for the North Pole viewers (like Elf-Date.com and The Fruitcake Factory), a behind the scenes look at Grace Potter as she makes a song for the toons and does one of the voices and a behind the scenes look at how the programs are made.

PREP & LANDING/NAUGHTY BUT NICE

Every year a new crop of holiday specials makes it to television, sometimes trying to capture the magic of Christmas but more often than not trying to make some sort of statement instead. The best/worst example of this is the Frosty sequel more concerned with climate change than a Christmas tale. But now and again a new show arrives that has the potential of being a great new holiday treat. The Prep & Landing shows are just that.

The first one, PREP & LANDING, works for both children and adults. The prep & landing teams are elves that make sure things are set for Santa's arrival. They make certain kids are asleep, areas are ready for toys and the landing strip on the roof is cleared and marked for Santa's sleigh. The best elf to handle this is Wayne who thinks he's being promoted this year. Instead he's kept at the job and given a trainee named Lanny.

Disappointed, Wayne doesn't exactly take to the job as well. When Lanny makes a few mistakes, everything from messing up the Christmas tree to losing part of the landing strip, Wayne must find his Christmas spirit once again and come to the rescue.

The show plays out like Mission Impossible with elves replacing Tom Cruise and his elite team. Gags revolve around the gadgets and techniques used to insure everything goes right. Christmas phrases are inserted for code words and the spirit of Christmas joy finds its way directly into the story.

Christmas is compacted into a 30 program that will offer laughs galore for kids and adults alike. A smile is sure to cross your face while watching this. As in the best of classic cartoons, this computer animated short film offers jokes that the kids will laugh at but that adults will find more subtle humor in to offer a chuckle. It is a rare treat, a new holiday special that delivers the goods.

PREP & LANDING: NAUGHTY VS. NICE

When a naughty child tries to gain access to the equipment used by the North Pole for the naughty list using a stolen device, Wayne and Lanny are assigned to put a stop to it and get it back. Accompanying them is an expert in naughty, a coal elf named Noel, Wayne's little brother.

Noel is much loved and admired by all, a loud and obnoxious sort who seems fun to almost everyone who knows him. Of course this leads to a massive case of sibling rivalry. While Wayne is the older brother, Noel always seems to show him up.

The team takes off, arrives and sets out to save Christmas by retrieving the device. Once there they discover another case of sibling rivalry, one that is about to destroy Christmas itself. In saving this disaster from ruining the holiday, Wayne and Noel learn what being brothers is all about.

This time around not only are the Christmas themes present again but a tale that might help children deal with jealousy at Christmas time unfolds as well. I know, I said earlier that stories that deal with issues ruin Christmas specials. Fortunately here the issue is one that involves Christmas rather than uses it as a backdrop. Best of all the story entertains and offers laughs for both children and adults once more.

I love Christmas. I love Christmas specials having grown up with the classics of the past, from RUDOLPH to the TV series shows that featured Christmas episodes like The Beverly Hillbillies. So to find a new special for the holidays that meets the criteria that I have for one (must be true to the spirit, must be about the holiday and not some political agenda, must entertain, must touch me in some way) makes me feel an incredible amount of joy. I've just added this DVD to my list of must watch movies for the Christmas season. I would suggest that you pick up a copy for your shelf as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Destined to be a classic, November 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The only bad thing I can say about this DVD is that I wish I had waited for this to be released. I bought the first Prep & Landing DVD, but this one is so much better. You get both of the main Prep & Landing shows, but this DVD also includes the shorts. So, even if you have the first DVD, it is worth the duplication of the first show to get the 2nd one and the shorts. It will be one for your collection for many years yet to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great DVD, January 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
These two mini-movies are excellent! They are some of the only Christmas movies my husband will watch (Mr.Tough Guy that he is). He loves the whole Mission Impossible type theme!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two New Christmas Classics!, November 14, 2012
This review is from: Prep & Landing / Prep & Landing: Naughty vs. Nice (Totally Tinsel Collection) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
If you have never seen either of these new Christmas classics (in my humble opinion) you have really missed out. Both of these are amazingly funny and the characters so memorable. I love it when they get frustrated and say "Oh Tinsel!" (I believe that was the saying). You get to see the underworld of Christmas and the elves that really make Santa's job that much easier and inside that you get to have fun as well. I love the relationship between Wayne and Lanny as it is somewhat of an odd couple type of relationship which makes it even funnier that it could be! I can also say that my kids love these shows as well, and on this DVD you not only get the two main shows, but also two shorts to extend your prep and landing experience! All-in-all, this is a Blu-ray that I highly recommend to all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9ba4b60c)

This product

Prep & Landing / Prep & Landing: Naughty vs. Nice (Totally Tinsel Collection) [Blu-ray]
$20.00 $14.83
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.