Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practical and Helpful Advice for Preparing and Finding Unusual Weapons
I have to admit that I was initially put off by the chintzy and dark looking cover, but the title sounded promising and I am glad that I purchased it.

This book is a veritable smörgåsbord of ideas for possible defensive weapons. The author focuses specifically on weapons that aren't really weapons. I guess you could call them dual purpose tools. The author...
Published 17 months ago by J. Robideau

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WHY BOTHER
Perhaps a good reason to read this little book is to think about these desperate "weapons" and how poorly this may go. It is about hand to hand combat that is mostly bound to go poorly.
Very poorly -- unless you go over this and realize you should be much better prepared, and not rely on finding a handy broom or wrench to save your life.

Better to arrange...
Published 13 months ago by michaell


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practical and Helpful Advice for Preparing and Finding Unusual Weapons, July 10, 2013
By 
J. Robideau "Rob" (Bhaisipati, Lalitpur, Nepal) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Prepper's Underground Guide to Improvised Weapons! How to Protect Yourself Without a Firearm Using Everyday Items! (Kindle Edition)
I have to admit that I was initially put off by the chintzy and dark looking cover, but the title sounded promising and I am glad that I purchased it.

This book is a veritable smörgåsbord of ideas for possible defensive weapons. The author focuses specifically on weapons that aren't really weapons. I guess you could call them dual purpose tools. The author is constantly evaluating how these "weapons" would appear to the police if you were stopped somehow. He focuses on defensive tools that are societally acceptable to carry with you.

The books starts with an introduction to fighting with impact weapons with an overview of why impact tools are superior to using only our bodies, proper targeting, angles, and quite a bit of "legalese" about the use of force. There are better books on the use of force and I would recommend that you pick up something by Rory Miller and skip this section.

He then moves on to innocuous looking items that you can carry with you that will double as impact weapons in a fight. Then the author goes from room to room in the house and highlights the possible defensive tools in each room. The author wraps up the book with some content on edged weapons and how to find or create improvised versions of them.

The book was properly formatted for my kindle and the photos worked very well with the text. It has a linked table of contents that is easily accessed from the "Go to..." menu and you can easily flip from chapter to chapter. The font was larger than usual.

Overall, I would highly recommend this book to anyone who wants the upper hand in an unexpected fight. For me, this book opened up a world of possibilities and got me looking at everything around me to evaluate how it could be used as a weapon.

If you enjoy reading about personal security and tactics, I also recommend Tactical Bible Stories: Personal Security Tips from the Bible for more advice on keeping you and your family safe in dangerous times.

If you enjoy reading about survival and prepping and want a slightly different perspective, I also recommend Ultralight Survival: Make a Small and Light Bug Out Bag That Could Save Your Life for specific advice on creating the lightest and most efficient bug-out-bag possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Being prepared, December 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Prepper's Underground Guide to Improvised Weapons! How to Protect Yourself Without a Firearm Using Everyday Items! (Kindle Edition)
As far as a beginning book on improvised weapons this is a pretty good start. Eventhough I knew about most of t hem there were several that were new to me. The author did give some thought in putting this book together and he did a pretty good job. Even if you don't fall into the "prepper" category there are useful weapons described if you happen to get caught in a spot without a traditional weapon to protect you and yours. I'm sure most people can come up with many others but that is the idea, getting people to think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WHY BOTHER, November 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Prepper's Underground Guide to Improvised Weapons! How to Protect Yourself Without a Firearm Using Everyday Items! (Kindle Edition)
Perhaps a good reason to read this little book is to think about these desperate "weapons" and how poorly this may go. It is about hand to hand combat that is mostly bound to go poorly.
Very poorly -- unless you go over this and realize you should be much better prepared, and not rely on finding a handy broom or wrench to save your life.

Better to arrange some precautions so you will not be in this situation. Yes, out in a car you might want to put a small bat (and ball)- or a screw driver, or golf club just in case. But out walking none of these things will be available. And at home ---- no excuse for needing this.

At home -- do prepare. Drill a quarter inch hole in the floor inside exterior doors about a foot from the open edge for a phillips screw driver - even a broken dead bolt will not matter as the door flops and will not open. Make a loop of nylon strap to go around the knob of the bedroom door, fastened to the frame with a three inch screw and washer -- easy out, very hard and noisy to get in. A safe room for $5.

For any extreme like personal combat have a pocket knife-- a special one, not seen, like Spyderco delica a 2.9 inch blade that locks. Then a panic response to being in a choke hold just may save your life. Have a cop flashlight with 5 or 6 D cells - a club and a light. And a .12 ga shotgun -- double barrel so you can load peas or rock salt in one barrel to scare away, have a great club, and be the winner for sure. Just never, as described in this book 'preppers Undergroun Guide'---be in a fight with an intruder using a bar or soap and a wood spoon. Just don't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great introduction to armed self-defense, January 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Prepper's Underground Guide to Improvised Weapons! How to Protect Yourself Without a Firearm Using Everyday Items! (Kindle Edition)
This is an amusing and serious book at the same time. I like the writer's style and as a self-defense teacher for more tha 30 years I am always looking for new tricks, weapons and tactics. I knew a lot of the improvised weapons, but there were a lot of items that I overlooked or did not know. Women, younger and older people should always consider an armed response to an illegal attack, but please think, before you get in a situation with an attacker or with the police .... The writer gives good advice, that's for sure.
I would add some psychology of an attack, because that is very important, the adrenaline rush can disable the strongest martial artist or turn a little boy into a seasoned fighter ... My favourite weapon will always be the folder, but the one I used against an actual attacker was a simple flashlight (AA), what I remember the most about the fight was that the flashlight was very efficient, I was shaking afterwards and later very angry for years.(for not following trough, which is a bad idea.)
Another thing to remember ... train, decide what to use as a weapon before something happens (if possible). When I heard burglars in my house I could not decide right away what to use as a primary or secondary weapon (I have a large collection of all kinds of weapons), now I would go for the impact weapon, that's what the author is trying to tell us in this great, little book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Imaginative, January 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Prepper's Underground Guide to Improvised Weapons! How to Protect Yourself Without a Firearm Using Everyday Items! (Kindle Edition)
When most folks thing of weapons, they immediately come up with guns and knives. This little book goes waaaaayyyyy beyond guns and knives. It's downright amazing what/how you can come up with something either moderately lethal or extremely lethal! Kinda scary, but very informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great advice in a quick and easy read, January 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Prepper's Underground Guide to Improvised Weapons! How to Protect Yourself Without a Firearm Using Everyday Items! (Kindle Edition)
Good, practical advice. Really liked the legal and medical concerns expressed. Good food for thought.
Helpful and inexpensive ways to be safe in any setting or room.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Useless!, March 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Prepper's Underground Guide to Improvised Weapons! How to Protect Yourself Without a Firearm Using Everyday Items! (Kindle Edition)
If you don't know everything in this book, or couldn't think of it on your own, you have no chance anyway! I have been in the military and had some training, but I thought this book would have much more. There is nothing more than a page worth of information in this. Hit them with something hard. Use something sharp if warranted. Throw something hard in a sock. Maybe use a chain or a baseball bat. Fold up a magazine. Hit in sensitive areas. There. I just covered about everythng in here and saved you some money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quick Read and Will Make You Think!, December 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Prepper's Underground Guide to Improvised Weapons! How to Protect Yourself Without a Firearm Using Everyday Items! (Kindle Edition)
Read through this quickly and was surprised at the number of potential weapons surrounding me! As a woman, I didn't grow up in playground fights and have watched my husband in a few bad situations just pick up an item that would give him an edge in a fight! Now I have a better feel why he grabbed a particular item at hand and why it would have helped if he had to protect himself! No one wants to be in these types of situations, but it helps to know where to start in protecting yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ehhh. Ok, November 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Prepper's Underground Guide to Improvised Weapons! How to Protect Yourself Without a Firearm Using Everyday Items! (Kindle Edition)
All kind of common sense but.... I guess there were some cool ideas for weapons. And the hole warning about the law thing..... I got it. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Basic Defense, November 18, 2012
This review is from: Prepper's Underground Guide to Improvised Weapons! How to Protect Yourself Without a Firearm Using Everyday Items! (Kindle Edition)
Common sense tactics, which most people should already know. There is nothing really new here, but may remind some of basic tactics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.