Customer Reviews


207 Reviews
5 star:
 (155)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


71 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I looked hard for this item
This is the second one of these boards I've owned. Several years ago the Restaurants were made to get rid of all wooden cutting boards, because of bacteria being able to live on the wood surfaces where normal washing couldn't get to. A friend, who owns a diner in Ok. told me to get rid of the wooden board that I had and I found one like this. I have used it almost...
Published on September 18, 2009 by William L. Newman

versus
27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nice Design but don't put in dishwasher
We have purchased two of these and love the size and the channel around the edge on one side. I would normally not write about an item like this but felt compelled after our second board warped. This happened within a week of ordering and has gotten worse each week. If we hand wash its fine but the heat from a dishwasher is proving more than this plastic can handle.
Published on February 11, 2011 by FishTech


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

71 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I looked hard for this item, September 18, 2009
By 
William L. Newman (Mesquite, Tx United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Prepworks from Progressive International PCB-1812 17.25" X 11.25" Cutting Board (Kitchen)
This is the second one of these boards I've owned. Several years ago the Restaurants were made to get rid of all wooden cutting boards, because of bacteria being able to live on the wood surfaces where normal washing couldn't get to. A friend, who owns a diner in Ok. told me to get rid of the wooden board that I had and I found one like this. I have used it almost every day for years and it is still good. However lately I've been cutting mattes for some pictures and it worked so well that I ordered another to use for that purpose alone. I just missed it too much in the kitchen.
I would like to mention that I couldn't find one locally, Even at Walmart. All they had were wooden boards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good cutting board, December 28, 2009
By 
S. Chew "mitchgant" (Washington, DC United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This board is very simple and does not try to be to fancy (like some other plastic cutting boards OXO I'm, looking at you). It is a medium to large cutting board that has a trough around the edges to catch the juices from meat when carving. Trough is a little on the small side, so you will need to watch it overflowing. But overall a very nice product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal, November 8, 2009
By 
M. Floyd (Washington D.C.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I hear varying sides of the discussion as to which material is safer for cutting boards. I'm not sure which one is safer, but I prefer non-wooden boards because of the simple fact I can stick them in the dishwasher.

I ordered the larger 11.25" x 17.25" of this model and I'm loving it so far. It's narrower than I prefer, but the trade off is that it is easier to clean in the sink should you decide to do so. It is a perfect fit in my small dishwasher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Big but slippery, March 16, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Prepworks from Progressive International PCB-1812 17.25" X 11.25" Cutting Board (Kitchen)
I am overall very satisfied with this cutting board. My only complaint is that it slides all over the place on my counter top. I'm gonna need to buy a rubber mat or something to put underneath.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No problems here . . ., September 1, 2010
By 
Teney (Colorado Mountains) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Prepworks from Progressive International PCB-1812 17.25" X 11.25" Cutting Board (Kitchen)
I have had two large 12x18 poly cutting boards from another vendor for over 10 years--and use them and run them through the dishwasher daily. I wanted additional, similar poly cutting boards and found these on Amazon. I liked the fact that they are a bit smaller (17.5x11.25)so they fit into my dishwasher better--if I am not careful the 12x18 boards keep the detergent dispenser from opening fully.

I was a little leary of ordering these new boards because a couple of reviewers stated that they warped in the dishwasher, but decided to try for myself and ordered 4.

They arrived earlier than the promised date, packaged well. I removed one from the wrapping and ran it through my dishwasher with the next load. No problems--even with the sanitizer setting selected. The next day I unwrapped the other 3 and ran them through the dishwasher successfully.

The size is perfect. It fits into my dishwasher easily, but also is large enough to accommodate a fair size cooking project. I keep two clean ones out on the countertops all of the time to make it easy to use them and to protect the countertops. Having extras means I can have a few in the dishwasher and still have clean ones available.

The rim around the edge is nice if you are cutting something which is juicy. Because they are poly, I don't have to worry about bacteria or odors--I just use the sanitize selection on the dishwasher. If you put raw meat on one, be sure to wash it thoroughly before using it for vegetables, cooked meats, or other food--this is true for any cutting surface.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nice Design but don't put in dishwasher, February 11, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Prepworks from Progressive International PCB-1812 17.25" X 11.25" Cutting Board (Kitchen)
We have purchased two of these and love the size and the channel around the edge on one side. I would normally not write about an item like this but felt compelled after our second board warped. This happened within a week of ordering and has gotten worse each week. If we hand wash its fine but the heat from a dishwasher is proving more than this plastic can handle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good board, but beware, will warp!, December 18, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Prepworks from Progressive International PCB-1812 17.25" X 11.25" Cutting Board (Kitchen)
I already own a bamboo cutting board, but sometimes I get sick of having to wash it immediately so that juices don't seep in. I searched all over to find a cutting board that I could use and then just toss in the dishwater for cleanup and I landed on this. The cutting board itself is large and works well, however the board DOES WARP if you stick it in the dishwasher (I even made sure to turn off the high temperature wash and the heated dry). Another sticking point is its lack of nonslip feet/backing. I was fully aware that this product didn't have nonslip backing, but I was willing to compromise on that to get a board that did not warp when washed in the dishwasher. Its a little frustrating that this happened because of all the research i put into it. Overall a decent cutting board but if I were to do it all over again I would have purchased something with a nonslip backing, even if I had to hand wash the thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Huge upgrade, October 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Prepworks from Progressive International PCB-1812 17.25" X 11.25" Cutting Board (Kitchen)
When I cook at my parents' house, I become very frustrated with the smaller cutting board they keep. This was a great replacement. It doesn't require them to oil it like a bamboo board and it's large and easy to cut on. I recommend using a wet napkin underneath for some traction, otherwise this thing slides everywhere. Easy to clean too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good utility cutting board, October 23, 2011
By 
rocky49152 (Lyndhurst, OH USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Prepworks from Progressive International PCB-1812 17.25" X 11.25" Cutting Board (Kitchen)
The only qualm I have with this cutting board is that it will tend to slide if it's sitting on a formica kitchen counter with no rubber backing underneath it - which is a problem easily solved. Otherwise nice big surface, sits right over our sink, and fits in our dishwasher also. Good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect low-cost all purpose cutting board, November 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Prepworks from Progressive International PCB-1812 17.25" X 11.25" Cutting Board (Kitchen)
I really need to replace my plastic cutting boards more often- this was a great buy! It has a nice deep gutter to help keep my counter clean and reduce cross contamination. It comes out of the dishwasher sparkling clean and it's a convenient size for working on most dinner sized projects. I used it last night to de-bone a chicken and it worked great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.