Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Prescription for Nutritional Healing: The A-to-Z Guide to Supplements (Prescription for Nutritional Healing: A-To-Z Guide to Supplements)
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Explore Premium Audio Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro STEM



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

HALL OF FAMEon May 9, 2004
This useful guide provides basic information on a wide range of nutritional supplements, incorporating cutting edge findings in the fields of nutrition and supplementation. This updated edition includes information on newer supplements and herbal remedies like MSM, IP6, colostrum, olive leaf extract and saw palmetto.
In Chapter One: Nutrition, Diet and Wellness, the author provides the basics of nutrition, from the 4 basic nutrients to the micronutrients plus guidelines for selecting and preparing foods. This section includes an interesting article on phytochemicals (biologically active substances in plants that give them their color and flavour).
The chapters that follow provides an overview of vitamins, minerals, amino acids and water, explaining their functions in the body and then providing a detailed discussion of the individual vitamins, minerals and amino acids. The chapter on water discusses various types like tap, artesian, bottled, sparkling, distilled and natural spring water.
The chapter on anti-oxidants looks at a wide spectrum of substances, from Alpha-Lipoic Acid to Zinc. The next chapter deals with enzymes, their role in the body and how they interact with foods. This includes a list of commercially available digestive enzymes.
Natural Food Supplements are discussed in detail, from Acidophilus to Yeast; this section includes entries on SAMe, Phosphatidylserine, MSM, Melatonin, Glucosamine, DHEA, CoQ10, Colloidal Silver, Creatine and Pregnenolone, providing the latest information.
The last chapter is devoted to herbs, including essential oils, extracts, teas, tinctures and wines. Here one can find information on anything from Acerola to Yucca, divided into the parts of the plant that is used, its phytochemical and nutrient content, its actions and uses and further comments on the plant.
The valuable and handy guide concludes with a thorough index. Another excellent guide to supplements is Earl Mindell's Supplement Bible. For a more thorough treatment of nutritional healing, I recommend James and Phyllis Balch's extensive work Prescription For Nutritional Healing.
0Comment|61 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This work is a superior rendition on specific modalities which
relates vitamins and nutrients to specific disease processes.
The beauty of the work is that specific dosages are quoted in
daily milligrams or international units. Nutrients are ranked from essential to important to helpful. There is good coverage
of the various antioxidants i.e. the ACES-Vitamin A,
Vitamin C, Vitamin E and Selenium
The book provides detailed recommendations and helpful
considerations on virtually every disease process. The author
provides a list of Health and Medical Organizations throughout
the USA, as well as a list of important manufacturers and
distributors of vitamins, minerals and other supplements.
This book is a good supplement to your existing vitamin and
nutrient regimen. In addition, it's a good literature source
to provide background information so that you can interface
intelligently with your own physicians and local medical
providers.The book is valuable in handling common health
problems; such as, osteoporosis, allergies, infectious
diseases and the more elusive cancers. The work is a worthy
investment for any personal library.
0Comment|33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2005
I manage "Vitamin" store for a large, "Health" chain. In the past year and a half, I've learned so much about vitamins, minerals, antioxidants, enzymes, and food concentrates. I've used amazon.com to buy DOZENS of books that pertain to my job. But you know what? Not a day goes by where I don't pick up this book.

"Prescription for Nutritional Healing" has to be one of the most complete, detailed, and impressive supplemental references out there. The Balch's deserve two thumbs up for this great read!

Just a note: you will see common trends. For almost every ailment, ACES (Vitamin A or Beta Carotene, Vitamin C, Vitamin E, and Selenium) are suggested (like one other reviewer mentioned). These may be mentioned for more than one reason. While ACES tend to be most studied in formal research, they have also shown to be incredibly safe and effective. Whether the suggested supplements are palliative or curative, The Balch's have done their research with overwhelming amounts of reputable sources.

If you like this book, and are interested in anti-aging medicine, I suggest adding "The Super Anti-Oxidants"

(James F. Balch). Also, a very easy read - there is great information on how we age, and what we can do to prevent it.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 15, 2002
I have been buying these updated books for as long as I can remember. I found this book to be the queen bee on detailed info on all nutritional supplements. I learned an incredible amount of information on how important nutrition is to your body. Missing certain supplements in your body can cause all sorts of undesirable diseases and problems. It describes in detail what diseases/problems occur (most likely) when you are lacking certain supplements. This book has been truly helpful in the building of my site (parentingnaturally.net) and has shed a lot of light on nutrition.A must have!
0Comment|29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon December 22, 2006
Prescription for Nutritional Healing should be a staple in every home. These are the same reference books they use in the health food stores to help you choose what supplements to take for your particular ailment. Everything is listed by symptom which makes it very user friendly. There are listings for critical "must haves" and also some options for things that could be useful. I've used it many times and have found it to be the authority on wellness that might save you a trip or two to the doctor. I can't live without it.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 21, 2005
Simply put, I have used this incredibly thorough book like a health and nutritional "bible". I have studied nutrition and supplements and have found the information presented to be accurate, concise, easy to understand and it covers virtually every topic imaginable. If you have any health concerns, it offers sound natural advice as well as supplemental information, pros and cons and warnings as well (which many books fail to deliver). You will not be disappointed. I would highly recommend this for every family library!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 2009
This book was a disappointment to me. I have the 4th edition, and was hoping to find new information on tryptophan. Nope, same mistakes as the previous edition, and same dated material regarding it still being banned in the US. This book comes from the estate of Phyllis, and I suppose that explains why the info is incorrect about the tyrptophan - which is currently available at most vitamin shops.
22 comments|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 23, 2015
I bought this thinking it was the larger book version so I was bummed on receiving it. But as I looked at it I realized that I like that it is lighter in weight which is good for traveling and although it doesn't contain as much information as the larger it is a good start and handy for quick look ups. So I kept it. I am happy with it and will use it those times I don't want to fool with the heavier book. Good item.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMEon August 15, 2009
This useful guide provides basic information on a wide range of nutritional supplements, incorporating cutting-edge research results in the fields of nutrition and supplementation. This updated edition includes information on newer supplements and herbal remedies like MSM, IP6, colostrum, olive leaf extract and saw palmetto amongst others.

In a discussion of nutrition, diet and wellness, the author provides the ABC of nutrition, from the 4 basic nutrients to the micronutrients plus guidelines for selecting and preparing foods. An interesting article deals with phytochemicals (biologically active substances in plants that give them their color and flavour).

The chapters that follow provide an overview of vitamins, minerals, amino acids and water, explaining their functions in the body and then providing more detailed information on the functions, roles and sources of these individual vitamins, minerals and amino acids. The section on water compares tap, artesian, bottled, sparkling, distilled and natural spring water.

The chapter on anti-oxidants looks at a wide spectrum of free-radical scavengers, from Alpha-Lipoic Acid to Zinc. Anti-oxidants include amino acids, enzymes, minerals, phytochemicals & trace elements. They protect the body against aging and disease. The section on enzymes deals with their role in the body and how they interact with different foods. A list of commercially available digestive enzymes is provided.

The alphabetical index of Natural Food Supplements contain the latest information on nutrients from Acidophilus to Yeast, including substances like SAMe, Phosphatidylserine, MSM, Glucosamine, CoQ10, the natural antibiotic Colloidal Silver plus the natural hormones DHEA, Creatine, Melatonin and Pregnenolone.

The subject of herbs encompasses essential oils, extracts, teas, tinctures and wines. Here one can find information on anything from Acerola to Yucca, divided into the parts of the plant that is used, its phytochemical and nutrient content, its actions and uses plus further observations on the plant's qualities.

This valuable and handy guide concludes with a thorough index. Another excellent guide to supplements is Earl Mindell's Supplement Bible. For a more thorough treatment of nutritional healing, I recommend the extensive work Prescription for Nutritional Healing.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2015
This is such a great reference book! It's very comprehensive and easy to read. I'm just starting a collection of holistic healing/alternative medicine books and this is a great addition to my little library. I'm amazed at the amount of natural cures available for common illnesses this book displays. The physical size of this book also won't take up much space on your bookshelf.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse