Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Presenting Lily Mars
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Jake Owen Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$26.19+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 13, 2000
This is classic classic Judy, I mean it's certainly no 'Wizard' or 'Star' but it's sweeta nd Funny and Judy looks simply marvelous. I definatly recomend to anyone. I forced my mum to watch it the other day and she did unwillingly and she loved it, she say's its one of her favorite Judy films. songs are great, acting is 100% and the comedy is all there
very good .
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 26, 2006
[Rating is difficult without seeing the DVD product ..my rating is based on previous viewings of the film.]

Some reviewers have noted that this film is only for Garland fans . I beg to differ, but as a Garland fan, my opinion on this issue would be legitimately questioned. Who cares? Musical gems abound in this film. "Every Little Movement" with Lily and a scrub woman on the bare stage illuminated only by a ghost light, singing of their passion for the theatre; Judy's final medley "Where There's Music" (and just about every tune from the Freed/MGM music storage vault, including "Gotta Dance" and "Broadway Rhythym").. they continue. Worth more othan 90 minutes of modern special effects in my book .. this is real talent kids. Watch and learn and be moved.

Judy at her most luminous. Congratulations to all involved for re-issuing this marvelous piece of movie history. Enjoy.
11 comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 4, 2005
This film is clever and surprisingly charming. Perfectly pitched comic set pieces and Judy Garland at her most confident, wry, and strikingly attracive... you can't lose.

Songs are lovely and lovingly delivered (except for that last overblown feathers and black lace extravanza).

The book is from a Booth Tarkington novel (his kind and clever views of americana make for fine movie fare, .i.e. "Alice Adams" with Kate Hepburn).

Judy, besides her staggering gifts of voice, luminous transparency, comic timing, and reliable emotional insincts is, in this movie, a surprisingly generous actress. Watch her scenes with her younger siblings in the film... she's confident enough to play it straight, letting them get the laughs. And the laughs come - aplenty.

That's a fine and unexpected reward from

an actress who's already stolen your heart.

Watch this film. You'll have a ball.
11 comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 30, 2006
The quintessential 1940s showbiz musical! Great costuming, production values, and music offset the slight plot. Garland looks lovely and shines in the role of Lily Mars, ably supported by Van Heflin as the harried producer who falls in love with Lily and makes her a star. Based on the 1933 Booth Tarkington novel. Marta Eggerth is wooden and lacks any kind of charisma, but Connie Gilchrist is wonderful in her supporting role. This type of film, with Judy at her youthful peak, is tailor-made for Technicolor, but, alas, it was filmed in black-and-white. One of Garland's best early films.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 3, 1999
Similar to Garland's "Everybody Sing," a successful screwball comedy of the 1930s, this later effort finds Garland as a stage-struck small town girl from an eccentric family who is determined to fascinate Broadway producer Van Heflin at all costs. A clever script with a strong supporting cast helps keep the film moving, and although Garland's vocal talents are underused in this film, her few numbers are well staged and exceptionally performed.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 14, 2000
Judy Garland's "Presenting Lily Mars" takes an old film vehicle and makes it an enjoyable treat: the young girl desperate to make it on the big time. Desperate underlined three times. In her countless efforts to get herself a reputation as a performer and a status as a star, Miss Mars manages to completely drive a big-shot producer (Van Heflin) to insanity and true love, get herself tangled with a bunch of chorus girls, and upstage a Russian singing star. Not the basis for a big star, but for Lily, her star is nevertheless slowly on the rise... Garland takes a few numbers and makes them funny and charming and spectacular in the film's finale. She is naive and pert as the insistent Lily Mars, and a joy to watch. Heflin is very good as the producer who inadvertently winds up falling for her, Marta Eggerth is... eccentric- as the vivacious singer. Supporting players are fine, too: Spring Byington is delightful as Garland's supportive mother, and Connie Gilchrist is very good as an old war-horse of the theater and Garland's confidante. Although not much substance is put into the story or songs, it's still a nice little show to watch if you can.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2006
This is really a fabulous confection. Judy never looked better- the honey/blond/brown hair, styled in innocently sexy way is really stunning. But, it's more than about the hair... it's truly a sweet romantic treat. The chemistry between Judy and Heflin is palpable-- and devoid of the manic kid-ness of teamings with Rooney. This film was a step-out for Judy from her usual Freed Unit duties, produced by Joe Pasternak who unearthed a different Judy from usual fare. Her charm and engagingness in tact- but here seasoned with an appealing touch of sexiness. Ableit not a classic per se, PRESENTING LILY MARS is a fine example of a perfectly charming little film serving up Judy at her pre-peak, fun, romantic. Ironically, it was originally to be a non-musical vehicle for Lana Turner. It's definitely worth watching and owning... especially for followers of JUDY-ism!!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 27, 2002
Judy Garland is absolutley wonderful in this film. If you are a fan of hers ( like me) you'll love it! Evn if your
not the movie is great. The story line follows Lily Mars(Judy Garland) a stage struck young lady that is dying to be on the stage through fantasticly funny situations as she trys to convince a broadway producer ( Van Heflin) that she is perfect for one of his shows. Add in a little romance later in the film between Judy and Van to make it perfect. Of course Judy sings beautifully as always which makes this musical comedy even better , my personal favorite song is " Tom, tom the Piper's Son" But they are all wonderful. I highly recomend everyone see this there's plenty of laughs and I'm sure you'll enjoy it! :)
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 3, 2000
Though many do not see "Presenting Lily Mars" low-key charm, it is a feel-good movie: funny, spectacular numbers, star power, and charm. It is a pitty that Garland's final number was cut four minutes but that won't bother you. Her comic and vocal talent is explosive NOWONDER SHE IS THE WORLD'S GREATEST ENTERTAINER!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 2, 2006
I only saw this movie once, probably twenty-five yeas ago on late night TV. But I remember I found it charming, romantic and a lovely Judy Garland vehicle. Other reviewers here have more details, obviously having seen it more recently than I, but I was thrilled to see it on the list of possible DVD's and voted for it. That's after one viewing many years ago. It has stayed with me, and to me, that says alot. I am delighted it is coming to DVD and will be buying my own copy so I don't have to wait another twenty-five years! I can hardly wait.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.