Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must for Students and Professionals Using APA Style
This book has been needed for twenty years. Students and professional researchers who write dissertations and manuscripts using APA style have desperately needed this very helpful resource. The book illustrates standard presentation tables for more than twenty types of standard statistical tests. The concept of "Play It Safe" tables will save researchers...
Published on April 27, 2000 by William C. Bailey

versus
29 of 43 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Maybe for the APA style...
I was deeply disappointed with the book. The tables look as done with a typewriter, good for those missing that 70's thesis. Apparently nobody told the authors that p-values are no longer to be reported as p<0.05, but with their full value. And finally, there is no "clever" solution to more complex tables, but just tons of tables with pretty standard results...
Published on May 2, 2003 by VSOP


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must for Students and Professionals Using APA Style, April 27, 2000
This book has been needed for twenty years. Students and professional researchers who write dissertations and manuscripts using APA style have desperately needed this very helpful resource. The book illustrates standard presentation tables for more than twenty types of standard statistical tests. The concept of "Play It Safe" tables will save researchers hundreds of hours of time. The table illustrations are clear and precise depending on the focus of the data to be presented. The few words that are written prior to presenting a table are helpful in clarifying the data contained in the tables. One small problem is noted. It would have been helpful to include how APA style recommends reporting statistical data in paragraph form in this book also. Despite this omission, I still give this book 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No more puzzling over tables!, February 18, 2002
By 
debvh (New Jersey) - See all my reviews
This is an invaluable resource for anyone who needs to present their research results in APA style. This is not a statistics text but rather a manual for generating tables. Each chapter focuses on a different statistic and includes a "play it safe" comprehensive table as well as several variations. Well-organized, practical, and concise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You can create any table by using this book as a guideline, January 11, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
No matter how complex your table will be, if you use this book as your guideline, you will be able to create it. The reviewer who claimed this is not true probably wanted them to give him the exact table. Their book would have been 1,000+ pages long to give an example of every combination of every table.

What this book gives you is the foundation upon which to build tables. Whenever you aren't sure how to build your table, just take a quick gander through the appropriate section(s) of this book, and follow their guidelines -- do NOT try to copy. Your result will be an excellent, easy-to-follow table.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars APA Tables, October 31, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Presenting Your Findings: A Practical Guide for Creating Tables (Paperback)
This was one of my bibles during my doctoral studies. This book was a life-saver when writing my dissertation which comprised 70 tables. This user-friendly manual cleary demonstrates how to present statistical analyses in addition to qualitative results (e.g., word tables) in APA format. While the APA Style Manual shows how to create tables, this particular manual takes it a step further by providing clear examples of how to present a wide array of statistical analyses that include ANOVA, MANOVA, Factor analysis, Chi-square, and regression (to name a few). This is an indispensable manual to have if you work with research, are writing a thesis, dissertation, or refereed journal article.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable Resource for Presenting Data, September 20, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Presenting Your Findings: A Practical Guide for Creating Tables (Paperback)
A very well-written edition (recently updated) that discusses the proper table format for a wide range of statistical analyses. As a researcher in both descriptive and inferential statistics this book is invaluable in providing a variety of ways in how data can best be displayed. Fast delivery; arrived here in about five days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 43 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Maybe for the APA style..., May 2, 2003
By 
VSOP (Pelotas, Brazil) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I was deeply disappointed with the book. The tables look as done with a typewriter, good for those missing that 70's thesis. Apparently nobody told the authors that p-values are no longer to be reported as p<0.05, but with their full value. And finally, there is no "clever" solution to more complex tables, but just tons of tables with pretty standard results. What is reported in the tables is not widely applicable too. In my area - epidemiology - we do not report standard errors, we report confidence intervals. We also do not report mean squares, f-values, or t-values, or chi-squared-values and so on - we report only the full p-values. If you're not into APA, look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, June 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Presenting Your Findings: A Practical Guide for Creating Tables (Paperback)
This is an excellent resource for guiding students presenting research findings in APA 6. I recommend it highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really helpful!, March 31, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Presenting Your Findings: A Practical Guide for Creating Tables (Paperback)
If you are doing research in psychology, this reference is a must. While I love my APA guide, this is a more clear and it is directed towards research presentation and paper writing. Really helpful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Typical APA, December 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Presenting Your Findings: A Practical Guide for Creating Tables (Paperback)
Typical APA. The one thing I'm looking for isn't there so I have to follow some loose "guidelines" and hope the committee approves. But it's better than nothing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for designing tables, October 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Presenting Your Findings: A Practical Guide for Creating Tables (Paperback)
This book was recommended by a colleague. The tables I designed using the formatting suggested by APA were beyond expectations. They great on the final poster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Presenting Your Findings: A Practical Guide for Creating Tables
Presenting Your Findings: A Practical Guide for Creating Tables by Adelheid A. M. Nicol (Paperback - January 1, 2010)
$19.95 $15.45
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.