Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Presidential Text Around
This is an excellent text for anyone interested in political leadership. Both the beginner and anyone who wants a top notch reference text. I have owned dozens of books on the American presidency, I only buy one from the list to give as a gift to others: Edwards & Wayne's "Presidential Leadership." Buy it you will enjoy it. I am buying a new copy to...
Published on January 23, 2001 by nolandavis

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent introduction
Edwards creates a book which may be a decent introduction to some more complicated ideas presented by more famous or prolific Political Scientists like Neustadt or Kernell, but there isn't a clear thesis to his book and much of it is uncited, which leads to incorrect assumptions, or things which are flat out wrong.

In specific, he writes on page 332 that "the...
Published on November 3, 2007 by A. Olson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Presidential Text Around, January 23, 2001
By 
"nolandavis" (DeKalb, IL, U.S.A.) - See all my reviews
This is an excellent text for anyone interested in political leadership. Both the beginner and anyone who wants a top notch reference text. I have owned dozens of books on the American presidency, I only buy one from the list to give as a gift to others: Edwards & Wayne's "Presidential Leadership." Buy it you will enjoy it. I am buying a new copy to replace my old copy, which is falling apart!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent introduction, November 3, 2007
Edwards creates a book which may be a decent introduction to some more complicated ideas presented by more famous or prolific Political Scientists like Neustadt or Kernell, but there isn't a clear thesis to his book and much of it is uncited, which leads to incorrect assumptions, or things which are flat out wrong.

In specific, he writes on page 332 that "the houses of Congress are highly decentralized," and then runs with that assumption for quite some time. Edwards could not be further from the truth on this matter. It is a nearly unanimous conclusion among Congressional scholars (Smith, Gamm, Schikler, Dodd, Aldrich, Cooper) that the Congress has become almost as centralized as the days of Czar Cannon.

He also writes that Congressional voting records have been moving away from party line voting but this is flat wrong. The levels of party homogeneity are at an all time high and intra party cooperation is at an all time low. This negatively affects his conclusions in reference to the interactions between the President and the Congress.

While this book may be a good overview of certain things, Edwards has incorrect conclusion when it comes to the examination of Congressional / Presidential negotiations... and that relationship ought to be one of the clearest in the mind of any aspiring Political Scientist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Edwards and Wayne's Presidential Leadership, February 11, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Presidential Leadership: Politics and Policy Making (Paperback)
I have used this book and its earlier editions for years in my courses about the U. S. presidency. It is an excellent resource.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 31, 2014
This review is from: Presidential Leadership: Politics and Policy Making (Paperback)
Excellent in-depth look into the executive branch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Political Science, July 1, 2008
By 
Carole G. Barker (Dahlonega, GA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book was required reading for my Political Science class on the American Presidency. It was very informative and supported the professor's lectures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Condition, November 5, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Presidential Leadership: Politics and Policy Making (Paperback)
This book was sent quickly and in fantastic condition. Saved about $20 (including shipping) by ordering through here rather then buying at school bookstore. Very pleased!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT BOOK!!!!, October 24, 2008
This book was sent to me within a week, which was great!!! The book was cheaper than what it was sold for in my campus book store. And the book was sent in good shape.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Presidential Leadership: Politics and Policy Making
Presidential Leadership: Politics and Policy Making by George C. Edwards (Paperback - July 15, 2009)
$160.95 $139.52
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.