Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smashortrashindiefilmmaking.com Review
From SMASHORTRASHINDIEFILMMAKING.COM'S REVIEW:

President's Day is a horror/comedy slasher movie that gets it right. The staples of the genre are there: gore, nudity, suspense, and laughs. What sets this apart from so many other slashers is that it is not dumb. The story is clever AND it honestly takes a little detective work on the audience's part to figure out...
Published 22 months ago by Bryce Cuomo

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Presidents' Day !
I think this movie it is a little bit cheesy on the way the actors act , Slacking on the police they sucked big time !!! I give it 3 stars ... The only thing I think they did pretty good on the movie is when the killer slashed all the students ...., the only thing I don't understand how come a killer strike to kill during the day and the damn school does not have any cops...
Published 5 months ago by Rigo


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smashortrashindiefilmmaking.com Review, February 12, 2013
By 
This review is from: President's Day (DVD)
From SMASHORTRASHINDIEFILMMAKING.COM'S REVIEW:

President's Day is a horror/comedy slasher movie that gets it right. The staples of the genre are there: gore, nudity, suspense, and laughs. What sets this apart from so many other slashers is that it is not dumb. The story is clever AND it honestly takes a little detective work on the audience's part to figure out who is the killer. The fun thing of it is that both of these gentlemen made sure the clues were there, but not obvious. The dialog is well-written and seems natural for all involved. And - shocker of shocks - most of the characters are really likable. I wish other writers would take a hint from the makers of this movie that not all characters have got to be unlikable jerkwads.

The acting overall was superb (with the exception of one or two actors that tended to play it too over the top). But what of the blood and gore and sex and nudity? This is a slasher after all? Well, you get it folks. Let me put it to you this way; the Lincoln killer carries an axe. That's not to say that he doesn't get creative with other instruments of death - he does. The audience gets to view dismemberments, decapitations, eye gouging, burns, and a plethora of other inventive kills along the way.

Of the three films I have seen by LaMartina and George, this is by far the most polished and professional of the lot. Production values are superb when it comes to the sets, locations, props, and costumes. Technically the cinematography, editing, lighting and sound are well done. The writing shines because it is not stupid. Anybody can make a bad slasher film, but it takes skill to write a script that is funny, clever, intelligent, and suspenseful all at the same time. Chris LaMartina and Jimmy George have done just that - again.

RATING: 9 out of 10 school bells. Fun, smart, hip, and clever. If you like low budget horror movies that are well done, you'll love this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Casting my student vote, April 16, 2013
This review is from: President's Day (DVD)
Being that "President's Day" is a micro budget film, with an estimated budget of only $5,000, it was a film that I actually liked.
A true throwback to real horror, this film has all the great elements that make up a low-budget, gory, cheesy horror flick.
With the budget the filmmakers had, I was surprised at how great basically all of the effects were in the movie, mainly because a lot of movies with way bigger budgets attempt to do, but fail badly.
Some of the things that I didn't care for was the acting, but that's just me. It seemed that only a couple of the actors in this film could actually act. A lot of it comes out as some of the crappiest acting I've ever seen, but that's just me. There were a few parts where the dialogue as well as the acting was just really cheesy to me. The kind that makes you wonder if it was intended to be that way, or if they writers/actors really thought it was going to be golden.

So overall I really enjoyed this film, apart from the acting. It has all the elements that belong in a cheesy, low-budget horror film, and everything was put together nicely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good movie, April 22, 2013
This review is from: President's Day (DVD)
I thought the movie was very good, considering the producers had very little money to put into it. It still had a very good plot and scary atmosphere. I commend the actors, directors, and the whole film crew, on a job well done. If they had more money, this film would have been even greater that it was. Great job, guys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Indie Horror I've Seen In A While!, April 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: President's Day (DVD)
President's Day is a new slasher movie that delivers the gore, t & a, and the laughs. It also has a great mystery. You'll be guessing until the end as to who the killer is. The bodycount is huge. I didn't count myself, but I wouldn't doubt if as many as twenty people were killed in this movie. Just great fun from beginning to end!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars INCREDIBLY FUN SLASHER!, February 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: President's Day (DVD)
A lot of effort and a lot of polish went into this indie slasher film and it turned out great. George and LaMartina have done it again with this horror comedy! The extras are a ton of fun too. Check it out and support independent films!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Everything your comedy horror fan wants or needs, November 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: President's Day (DVD)
A funny, inventive well filmed modern nod towards 80s slashers. A great cast, plenty of gore, some nudity and some impressive direction make this low budget indie seem better and a hell of a lot more enjoyable than most big budget horror. Definitely worth checking out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good ol' slasher fun, September 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: President's Day (DVD)
I really like this movie. It was well done, had the 3 b's, boobs, blood and booze. Well done. I bought this movie because I liked the previous movies that this director and his crew made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars finally the return of descent slasher movies, April 11, 2013
This review is from: President's Day (DVD)
Were to start this movie was the best slasher movie i have seen in the last three years. It brings back the style of the who done it slasher type movie were the killer walks around with a mask on or dressed up as someone else. the plot is simple nothing new the actors did a first rate job with their parts and delivered great performances not the best but great none the less fans of old school slashers will want to check this out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Presidents' Day !, July 12, 2014
This review is from: President's Day (DVD)
I think this movie it is a little bit cheesy on the way the actors act , Slacking on the police they sucked big time !!! I give it 3 stars ... The only thing I think they did pretty good on the movie is when the killer slashed all the students ...., the only thing I don't understand how come a killer strike to kill during the day and the damn school does not have any cops watching at all , the damn principal just talked & talked and does not do his job ... Instead of getting cops in school during the day & night to watch the students ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: President's Day (DVD)
Very happy with seller and product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

President's Day
President's Day by Chris LaMartina (DVD - 2013)
$14.98 $12.72
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.