Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Pressure Cooker Perfection
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Billy Talent Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer angrybirds angrybirds angrybirds  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$11.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon March 1, 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I was very excited to receive this book, as I've had some wonderful results from recipes produced by America's Test Kitchen. I pay close attention to their equipment reviews. The descriptions of methods and cookers is worth reading. Today, I made two recipes from the cookbook and was disappointed - to put it mildly - with the results of both. I made a warm potato salad, following the recipe as closely as I could. The potatoes were mushy and way overcooked. I attempted to make the lovely top sirloin roast on page 100, choosing the meat with the help of 3 butchers at a store that actually has butchers cutting the meat. I followed the instructions precisely. The sauce was very tasty, but the meat was overcooked and dry as cardboard! The recipe predicted that the internal temperature of the meat after cooking would be around 105 degrees; my ruined roast was almost 200 degrees.

I have been using pressure cookers since I was married over 40 years ago, and own and use four pressure cookers several times a week. In addition, I used to demonstrate several different brands of pressure cookers in retail stores including Macy's and Williams-Sonoma. After choking down the cardboard for dinner tonight, I consulted some of the many other pressure cooker books I've collected over the years. To cook chicken parts, Roy DeGroot, Lorna Sass, and the booklet that came with my Kuhn-Rikon cooker all say to use high pressure for around 9 minutes. The "Perfection" book's time under high pressure for thighs is 20 minutes. I usually cook chicken breasts for 5 minutes under high pressure, but this book instructs cooking braised chicken breasts for 15 minutes! I am not going any farther with this book, because I can't afford to waste any more food.
2828 comments| 682 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon March 29, 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I thought America's Test kitchen was churning out fail proof recipes. I thought they were trying out all the different options in appliances and ingredients to tell us which ones were the best. In the past I thought they were doing a bang up job!

Then comes along Pressure Cooker Perfection. A cookbook that sound like it is going to be right up my alley since I grew up with marvellous food coming from pressure cookers and have a firm belief in the ability of Pressure cooking to save energy, save time and produce terrific food.

The first hint that things might not be quite right was a quick flip through the book and all the many pictures of meat : chicken, roasts, stews, Turkey, etc. There is woefully little devoted to anything besides meat and potatoes - although there is a tempting looking recipe for beets and another for artichokes. There are absolutely no recipes for desserts - puddings, flans, etc perhaps because there is not a single recipe that mentions using a steamer basket or a trivet.

The second oddity was the fact that the book ranked the Fagor cooker (I own one) as a top buy and a Kuhn rikon as a 'recommended with reservations'! Without going into a review of pressure cookers, I would recommend that you read the reviews for both brands on Amazon before taking the plunge and buying a cheaper but more frustrating appliance. I've learned how to handle my Fagor but, compared to the pressure cookers that I grew up with, it is a second class appliance.

However, I took my hissing, spitting Fagor and a whole organic chicken and set out to try the recipe for the whole chicken in rosemary and garlic. the cook time seemed a bit long but I figured I would trust the books - tested by America's test Kitchen after all. Twenty five minutes later I had an over cooked, falling off the bone chicken that was good for not much more than shredding. Oh well, there's always a bum recipe or two in every cook book. so i decided to try out the Classic Pot roast with potatoes. This recipe - for a 3 to 4 lb roast - called for 90 minutes under high pressure. Seriously?? You could reduce a beef bone to jelly in 90 minutes under high pressure!! I cut down the time to 50 minutes (based on my older recipes) and the roast was done perfectly. The flavor was boring. . . sorry America's Test Kitchen, and a waste of a perfectly good roast.

So, this is not a pressure cooking book that I would recommend. The cooking times seem to be off. The variety of recipes is limited and I question the book's recommendations of the best cookers. Pressure cooking is a marvellous way to cook. If you are interested in it there are many other better books out there for you to explore.
1010 comments| 428 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon March 3, 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
SUMMARY - This book:
- omits whole categories of food that highlight the benefits of pressure cooking;
- gets operating instructions wrong, resulting in many overlong timings & overcooked food [ETA];
- shows lack of breadth in range of cooking technique; and
- incompletely surveys available models in the buying guide.
Fortunately, a much better beginner thru advanced book is Hip Pressure Cooking: Fast, Fresh, and Flavorful -- with much more accurate and informative information, and a wider variety of recipes (over 240) and techniques, Hip Pressure Cooking is the one to get.

Pressure cooking is a great technique for maximizing flavor & simplifying cooking, and the visibility of ATK will make this book be many people's first introduction to pressure cooking. However in spite of their hand-holding instructions, I cannot recommend this book as a first pressure cooker book (see the HipPressureCooking website "Beginner Basics" instead). The individual recipes are well-presented (except for bad timings, below) though available elsewhere, but in terms of covering pressure cooking techniques and ideas, the book gets some things wrong, and the collection is fairly narrow and incomplete. As a fan of the ATK approach, I was not expecting this range of problems. DETAILS:

FOOD CATEGORIES: I expected a comprehensive treatment of all things pressure cooking, given the title. Instead this is mostly a collection of braised & moist-cooked meat recipes. Out of the 64 recipes (& variations), only 17 are vegetarian (mostly starch), rather than the variety found in any of several more comprehensive pressure cooker recipe books (e.g. by Laura Pazzaglia, Victoria Wise, Lorna Sass, or Jill Nussinow, and others).

The vegetable coverage is especially weak, with most vegetables out there simply missing. The timing chart on p. 20 only lists 15 vegetables, 4 of which are potatoes. (Astonishing that a food editor would not see the problem with this.) There are actually a lot of great things you can do with vegetables in the pressure cooker (for example, Modernist Caramelized Carrot Soup, on the web), but you won't find out about them here.

There are other categories of foods that benefit from pressure cooking. In this book there are no desserts, no breads. No fruits or nuts. No eggs. No condiments, jams, or preserves. What about baby foods, or the easiest & safest ever dulce de leche? Not here. And they are missing out on clever techniques & accessories, such as utilizing different cooking zones, pressure steaming, pot-in-pot cooking, or helper handles to lift out pots, etc. (Look at the HipPressureCooking site for examples).

OVERLONG TIMINGS: A major problem is that many of the cook times they give are way too long. What I at first chalked up to individual variation in ingredients, seems instead to be a systematic problem, due to misunderstanding basic operating instructions. See the DadCooksDinner review of this book (April 9, 2013) for an explanation of how they misread the pressure indicator on a manual pressure cooker, thus producing longer time recommendations than necessary. [It seems like they have the same problem with electric pressure cookers, see "A Technical Oddity" below.] For their recipes, it is better to get the timing estimates from any of the other great pressure cooker books out there, or the very comprehensive HipPressureCooking timing charts on the web. [ETA 4/23/2013]

RECIPE TECHNIQUES: Also, they don't seem to get pressure cooking "style". For example, a few recipes, like chicken curry, use **canned** chickpeas (!). A few minutes in the PC is all it takes to convert dried chickpeas to cooked, and they taste much better than canned. That would have been a better and more instructive recipe (and they could have added a note about substituting canned beans if desired). Some bean recipes are written for dried, but why not all of them? Or [ETA 4/23/13], for some recipes (e.g. short ribs), they say if they are not cooked enough, to simmer longer until done. Real PC cooks will just put the top back on and bring it back up to pressure for a bit longer.

ATK writes as though they are the first people to ever think of things. For example, for artichokes they say "... the nearly 45-minute cooking time plus prep can make them a real turn off .... We suspected the pressure cooker could make a big difference here." Duh, quick artichoke cooking has been known for ages and is one of the no-brainer reasons for getting a pressure cooker (more flavorful broths & no-stir risotto are a few of many other reasons). It is so much more interesting when the provenance of an idea is given instead.

BUYING GUIDE: Their product reviews have very poor coverage of models which are actually out there, and exclude some of the best examples. They really don't "get" electric pressure cookers. The recipes ignore the fact that different models cook at different PSI and hence different temperatures, which will affect cooking time. For example, some start at 15psi and then cook at 11psi (e.g. Nesco PC6-25P), others cook at only 9psi (e.g. Cuisinart) -- different settings for "High" will result in different cooking times, but none of the recipes address that. They ignore the convenience factor of electric PCs, that you just set it and walk away, no monitoring and fiddling with temperature once pressure is reached, and automatic timing. And, they didn't look at the different features that can make a model worth choosing. Some have a browning setting and some don't. For example, Instant Pot supposedly automatically calculates timing based on food type and quantity (if I understand it right, that will be my next purchase) and has a stainless steel insert (rather than "non-stick"). The Emson also works as an indoor smoker. Etc. And they completely ignore the fact that most of them also work as slow cookers, rice cookers, or vege steamers, etc., so can save space (and money) by replacing many appliances with one.

[By the way, if you don't like the "non-stick" insert that came with your 6qt electric PC, you can replace it with an aftermarket stainless steel one which fits many models (including my Nesco PC6-25P), 6-quart Pressure Cooker 18/10 Stainless Steel Cooking Pot. ETA 4/25/13]

THE BINDING doesn't want to stay open, it is even hard to open the book past 90 degrees, rendering the book hard to use.

THE GOOD: Some of the intro material is useful, including the reasons for owning a pressure cooker on page 4, though I would put improved flavor as reason #1. (See for example Dave Arnold's Cooking Issues tests of broths cooked at different pressures, and the role of the Maillard reaction in flavor development at higher pressure; or [ETA 4/24/13] DadCooksDinner's Irish Mashed Potato test, to see how a pressure cooker wins.) People new to pressure cooking will appreciate this intro section (though this info is nothing new and available elsewhere).

The recipes themselves aren't that original and similar ones can be found elsewhere, but newbies will like the hand-holding that comes with most of the recipe descriptions, though they could be quite disappointed with some of the timing guidelines. For the recipes I have tried, I find the flavor not quite complex enough, which is my usual experience with ATK, ymmv; e.g. the pomegranate braised short ribs could have used some added spice and less sugar. There are some clever recipes here (e.g. one-pot pastas, no-stir risotto), but I've already got similar recipes in my other pressure cooker books. Except for the narrow meat-based coverage, and glitches like using canned beans (above), the recipes themselves look fine, as long as you consult other sources about timing, such as the HipPressureCooking site. As far as meat recipes go, there is a nice variety of flavors and suggested variations, and steps are quite well-explained (otherwise my rating would have been lower). It would be helpful if there were a master recipe list on a single page somewhere in the book. But if you have to consult a different book to get more recipes and accurate timings, why buy this one?

A TECHNICAL ODDITY: They have convoluted instructions for electric pressure cookers, which shows yet more misunderstandings. They claim that electric pressure cookers will overcook unless you ignore the built-in timer and manually shorten the cook time; and most recipes have space devoted to how to fuss with the steps if you are using an electric pressure cooker. There are two problems with this. First of all, if the times are too long, why not just use the built-in timer but set it for a shorter length of time, wouldn't that be much simpler?

But the second problem is this: as with manual pressure cookers, they seem to misunderstand when cooking under pressure begins. After the steam stops coming out of the regulator, the pressure climb is just beginning, and reaching full pressure takes additional time; but they seem to think that timing should begin when the steaming stops. They say "There is a lag between the time the electric pots come up to pressure and when the timer starts..." (p.10, and in many individual recipes). Actually, that is exactly what the timer is *supposed to do*, start counting down only after FULL pressure is reached (which is a few minutes after the valve seals). Since the times in this book are too long, of course they need to be shortened for an electric pressure cooker (as they do for manual pressure cookers).

Additionally, they assume that all electric pressure cookers are exactly the same, but actually not all electric pressure cookers have the same design (even though they look like they are all made in the same factory.) One model I tried, Emson, started the countdown the moment you turned on the heat (not good). The one I kept, Nesco, does seem to start counting down once full pressure is reached. And if Instant Pot automatically calculates cooking time based on type & quantity of food, why would you want to defeat that and do it manually? So ATKs command about ignoring the timer on an electric pressure cooker and doing it manually simply does not apply uniformly. [Rephrased this section 4/23/13]

[Updated 4/23/2013 to include corrections & improvements for clarity, plus tagged additions.]
2222 comments| 599 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2013
I am a big fan of Cook's Illustrated and was very excited by their article in the Jan/Feb 2013 issue of the magazine covering pressure cooking. I ordered this book right away and received it with much anticipation. After a thorough read and test of a couple of recipes, unfortunately, I cannot recommend this book. Compared to other books that cover the subject well, this book falls short on almost every front. The introductory material is fine, but adds nothing new. The cooking times are generally longer than similar recipes in other books. By contrast, other books more often recommend natural cool down, especially for meat recipes. Chris Campbell mentions that the cooking times are different in this book. To test the relative merits I made 15 Bean soup using the CI method of 25 minutes at high pressure, followed by rapid pressure reduction using the pressure relief valve on my Fissler cooker. Then I made a second batch, but used 15 minutes on high, off heat followed by natural cool down which took about 20 minutes. The beans were mushy and over cooked using the CI method, perfect using the shorter cook and slower pressure reduction technique. Big difference in the finished soup, frankly the CI soup went down the drain. Next I tried pot roast. Way over-cooked using the CI times compared to Miss Vickie or the similar cook times found in several other books. To say this is a surprising result is a huge understatement. CI's test kitchen has proven reliable for years. I am a charter subscriber to the magazine and cannot say this has ever happened before. Others have pointed out the extremely limited selection of recipes, another big disappointment. Was this book rushed into print? Not recommended. Any of several others are much better, Lorna's and Miss Vickie's come to mind.
66 comments| 93 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 28, 2013
Was so looking forward to receiving this book but it's somewhat disappointing. Nearly all the recipes are braised; a fine and tasty technique but certainly does not reflect the totality of pressure cooking. ATK touts the benefit of nutritious cooking with a pressure cooker, but then cooks all veggies and grain in excess liquid which has to be drained off. Then they praise the economy of using economy cuts of meat, but use boneless short ribs which are not what I would call an economy cut at $4-6/lb. None of the recipes utilizes a basket/rack to steam the contents. An OK cookbook, as far as it goes, but given ATK's reputation and the title of the book, I expected more.

Update 4/16/2013 I contacted ATK about using 3 quarts of water to 1 cup rice, convinced it had to be a mistake. They confirmed they used 3 quarts. That's just unnecessary and means they're (1) expending energy cooking down the rice further after initial pressure cooking and (2) throwing out vitamins with the water they drain off. Both situations are contrary to the purpose of pressure cooking. No wonder they think everyone else's cooking times are wrong! Consequently, I am downgrading this review to 2 stars.
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon March 23, 2013
I'm a big fan of pressure cooking, which, unlike the crock-pot, not only saves time, but also creates superior tasting food via it's specific and unique cooking method. But, as with many things, I'm in a rut with my pressure cooker, consistently using it only for the same few things, over and over, namely: pot roast, bean soups and stock.

I'm also a fan of Cook's Illustrated, and their many publications and television programs (though not their marketing schemes, so glad that this was available via Amazon), so I was definitely looking forward to PRESSURE COOKER PERFECTION and widening my pressure cooking horizons.

And I wasn't disappointed. They do a great job summing up why pressure cooking is a good method and how it works, as well as recommending specific pressure cookers. Having had two of the brands they discuss: Fissler Vitaquick Pressure Cooker, 10.6qt and Kuhn Rikon 12-Quart Duromatic Stockpot Pressure Cooker I can say that my experiences basically mirror Cook's, with one notable exception. While I ADORED the Fissler's initial performance, it failed very, very quickly. (Try three uses. Yeah, that's bad.) As for the Kuhn, I've had the same issues Cook's did--scorching and having to babysit the heat to maintain pressure--but have found their customer service top-notch. (I've written detailed Amazon reviews on both units, if anyone is actually interested in knowing more.)

Anyway, on to the recipes ... First off, as someone who gets both Cook's Country and Cook's Illustrated (1-year auto-renewal), I'm used to seeing a lot of repeat recipes in their cookbook releases. For the most part, that is NOT the case this time, at least not as far as I can tell. (Unlike in their Slow Cooker Revolution cookbook, which seemed to offer mostly dupes already used in the COOK'S COUNTRY slow cooker section.)

I've only tried one recipe so far, but I'm already impressed. I made the chicken noodle soup and, never having cooked a whole chicken in a pressure cooker before (or any chicken, for that matter), I was really wowed by the outcome. Starting with just plain water, not stock, produced a rich broth and fabulous, juicy chicken. It was a huge hit and my family preferred it to the "chicken and slicks" Cook's recipe I had been using as a my go-to for chicken soup/stew. (My only change to the recipe as written was that I still made the noodles myself and I also halved the celery amount.)

Having read through some of the other recipes, I'm also impressed with WHAT they are offering ... The vast majority of which are things that seem like they SHOULD be cooked in a pressure cooker, not foods/meals that have been shoehorned into a device not really designed to best feature those ingredients. (Again, this is very different than their slow cooker cookbook.) Meat, beans and other slow cooking and braise-friendly items are what the pressure cooker shines at, so those are the recipes I want to use it for! It's not a matter of wanting to cook EVERYTHING in my pressure cooker, it's wanting to use my pressure cooker for the foods it makes better than cooking via other, more traditional, methods.

So far, my biggest gripe, and why I didn't give it five stars, is that it's paperback and I loathe paperback cookbooks. They don't last, don't hold up, are impossible to lie flat for use without breaking the spine and are just a generally dumb choice for reference material, which is what a cookbook is. Cookbook are meant to be used in a way most books aren't: held open, referred to repeatedly, occasionally spilled upon and kept around for decades. A paperback isn't going to last long enough to make that happen, which is why I'm disappointed this isn't at least OFFERED in a hardcover version.

But all, in all, this is a great addition to my kitchen bookshelf, for as long as it lasts anyway, and I can't wait to try some more of the recipes!
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I bought this book specifically for the recipes; simple, everyday food made with fresh ingredients. Despite the many negative reviews about the book from ePC owners (and ATK's bias) to the contrary, I bought it specifically for an electric PC (Instant Pot) and have found this to be an excellent cookbook. To be sure, the timing given is for stovetop PCs, but with the proper timing adjustments, the recipes turn out very well.

I'd like to say a few things about ATK's dislike of ePCs (a big part of why the best of them are "Recommended With Reservations"). In the full review of them found in the magazine and on the website, they go into great detail. It mostly comes down to 2 things. First, it seems that all ePCs (including my Instant Pot) automatically switch over to "Keep Warm" when cooking is completed. This seems to completely befuddle them. But really, is turning your electric unit off when the timer sounds any different than turning your stove off when your own timer goes off at the end of stovetop cooker's pressure time? I think it's exactly the same, as both require getting up and turning off the pot when the beep sounds (Note - the Instant Pot 7-in-1 switches to 'keep warm', but the heating element is turned OFF until pressure releases, then turns back on in warming mode). 2nd, they dislike the nonstick cooking pots. Fair enough, but their last review didn't include any of the models that ship with stainless pots (very nice ones, too, with thick bases, like the one on my IP) and completely ignores the optional stainless pot available for some of the others. And yes, those models (Instant Pot among them) were available well before their latest ePC review was written. Ok, rant over, back to the book.

The beginning of the book covers the basics of operation and advantages (along with reviews) of pressure cookers. Especially helpful are the tips and food guides found on pages 4-23. As a relatively new PC owner, I find myself referring to them often, even when cooking from another source. Experienced PC cooks will just skip right past them, but they're very nice for beginners and anyone, really, who's cooking something new.

The chapters are well organized and include nice entries like Fast and Easy Suppers as well as Fancy Dinners and Large Roasts. I appreciate that anything that's not normally a main dish is all in one chapter, Sides. Desserts are a notable omission, but they redeem themselves with One-Pot Pasta and Pasta Sauces and Indoor Barbecue. The recipes predictably make use of fresh ingredients and ATK's signature streamlined methods, like finely chopping the vegetables for Bolognese sauce in a food processor, then doing the same with the pancetta and mortadella. This not only speeds up prep time, it allows the ingredients to cook down faster while still releasing all their flavor compounds to the sauce. Total time? 90 minutes. Not shabby. The sole exception to the "fresh" rule seems to the condensed French onion soup used in Weeknight Pot Roast and Potatoes. It works, though, and got my pot roast on the table in 70 minutes, start to finish (note - I prefer to use Lipton Onion Soup and a cup of water, we like the flavor better). ATK helpfully gives total time involved, and highlights time under pressure in big type, a nice touch. Some nice detailed variations are included in many of the recipes, like Garden Tomato Sauce with variations for Puttanesca, Arrabbiata and Tomato, Vodka & Cream Sauce.

In the 3 weeks I've owned the book, I've sampled recipes from 3 chapters; the aforementioned Weeknight Pot Roast and Potatoes from Big Roasts and Fancy Meals, Pulled Pork from Indoor Barbecue and Barbecued Beans from Sides. All were very good. To the pork I added about 1/4 cup of my barbecue sauce (tossed after shredding) and to the Barbecued Beans I added about 2 Tbls more catsup to amp up the tomato flavor a notch. Both were the kind of easy fixes that I commonly make with new recipes, slight alterations to suit our tastes.

The book has lots of white space on the pages, which makes it so easy to jot down alterations, and also allows me to easily note the timing for my Instant Pot, which often varies from the listed time. Pages are glossy white, with ingredient lists and major steps in bold type. Why doesn't every cookbook do this? Also included with every recipe is a detailed explanation (with thumbnail photos) of the techniques used and a few troubleshooting tips. Again, experienced PC cooks may find this unnecessary, but with the new resurgence in pressure cooking, many of us will find these quite valuable.

It's not a big book, with only 100 recipes, but when I compare it to The Great Big Pressure Cooker Book, it shines. That book has 500 recipes, every one of which lists ingredients in brick-red ink, which all runs together on it's busy pages. Further, the index is very poorly organized, with some recipes appearing under their main and secondary ingredient and on their own, by title, and others only found once under their main ingredient. Most damning of all, the timing for electric cookers given with every recipe I sampled is woefully off. Risotto takes 6 minutes in my Instant Pot, GBPCB's author thinks it takes 10. ATK lists it at 6 minutes, spot on. Note that for short-cooking foods, ePC timing is the same as for stovetop models.

Of the 3 pressure cookbooks I own, this is my favorite. It is well organized, easy to read and cook from and the recipes use simple, commonly available, fresh ingredients.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2013
I have used a pressure cooker almost daily for the last 35 years and was really excited to see ATK's take on using a pressure cooker. I bought the book sight unseen. When it arrived, a quick preview indicated dishes that were better made using other cooking techniques and not very many recipes that took advantage of the attributes of a pressure cooker. Also the cooking times and liquid amounts appeared to be wrong. I decided that ATK had to know something that I didn't know. After all, they are the best in the business. After testing some of the recipes, my fears were confirmed. The recipes are not salvageable. I am mystified as to how they produced this cookbook. A quick perusal of manufacturer cookbooks, Lorna Sass's books, and hippressurecooking.com will give you better results.
11 comment| 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 14, 2014
This pressure cookbook is primarily written for stove top pressure cookers and I have an Instant Pot electric pressure cooker, which I am addicted to. That being said, I gave this impressive cookbook FIVE STARS for a good reason. At the end of each recipe, there are always directions on adaptations which need to be made when using an electric pressure cooker. I have learned more from this cookbook than any other PC book I've read. The front of the book explains in detail what to do differently, which I can say, I never knew never having owned a pressure cooker before.
Also, worth noting are two recipes I tried, and for a PARTY, no less! FIVE MINUTE macaroni and cheese, which was easier than I don't know what, and turned out great! (I will say, after sitting around all night, it needed a bit more moisture, but straight from the cooker-FABULOUS.) I could see many things do with it now that I've tried it. The other one I made, and it happened to be the HIT of the party, was a SPICY SAUSAGE DIP. It was inhaled!
I am finally glad to have my hands on a trusted book that caters to EVERYONE. Thank you ATK! Please make another one soon; I use my pressure cooker A L L the T I M E!!
I will say one thing: This Book is NOT all INCLUSIVE. Admittedly, it does leave out some chapters one might expect to find in a pressure cooker cookbook. However, the recipes that ARE included are a FANTASTIC way to familiarize oneself with one's pressure cooker, in the CLASSIC "WHY THIS RECIPE WORKS," trademarked phrase we've come to not only know, but also expect solid results from America's Test Kitchen.
11 comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2013
I first saw this book on QVC and it really sounded good. Most (maybe all) the recipes were done in electric pressure cookers. I was going to buy it from them, but it was less expensive on Amazon. This book caters to stove top pressure cookers (PC), and if that's your choice, I'm sure this book is good for you judging by the favorable reviews. But for people like me who was afraid of them for years, electric PC was the way to go and I love it. If you want to see how to cook with an electric PC, you have to go to the bottom of the page where is says, on almost every recipe, "can I make this in a 6 qt. PC?"Then it gives a little paragraph about how to do it in a 6 qt. PC. There are no fish recipes, having never used a stove top PC, can you cook fish in a stove top PC? Also, I know I can make a cheese cake in the electric PC, can that be done in a stove top. There are no desserts in this book at all. I have other cookbooks by America's Test Kitchen and I love them all, but if it didn't cost anything to send it back, it would go back. I'll stick with Bob Warden's two cookbooks that were very helpful. The rating for this book on Amazon was about four stars, on QVC it only got around 2 stars. I find that strange unless the demo boy the shopping network made people mad.
33 comments| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse