Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Strong singing makes this another winner for Marcia Ball
With her debut album on Alligator, Marcia Ball has produced an album that perhaps is not as much a good-time, rollicking disc of New Orleans influenced R&B as her prior albums. The music here is a bit deeper and the album focuses more on her as a singer than a pianist, though there are more than enough places for her to display her considerable talents on the piano...
Published on June 7, 2001 by R. Weinstock

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Strong material, variable production
It's refreshing to hear music that's sung and played by a serious musician: Marcia Ball's exciting New Orleans-styled piano and her committed vocals are a happy invitation to an uplifting listening experience. This album sounds like it was recorded...in an actual *recording* studio? Yes, the air is a little tight around the mike, but do I hear a real acoustic piano...
Published on May 28, 2002 by plsilverman


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Strong singing makes this another winner for Marcia Ball, June 7, 2001
By 
R. Weinstock (Falls Church, VA USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Presumed Innocent (Audio CD)
With her debut album on Alligator, Marcia Ball has produced an album that perhaps is not as much a good-time, rollicking disc of New Orleans influenced R&B as her prior albums. The music here is a bit deeper and the album focuses more on her as a singer than a pianist, though there are more than enough places for her to display her considerable talents on the piano. Good material, a cameo by Delberrt McClinton, a fine studio band with guitarist Pat Boyack meriting special praise, and Marcial Ball perhaps singing better than ever make this a release that should appeal to fans of classic blues and R&B.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long, Tall Texan, April 27, 2001
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Presumed Innocent (Audio CD)
Ms. Ball's latest CD shows that she is like a fine wine and only improves as time goes by. Her latest is a perfect follow up to "Let Me Play With Your Poodle". Her Texas/Louisiana roots show throughout but she adds a touch of Memphis blues and even some boogie woogie. The song selection is right on target with a great balance of originals and covers. The duet with Delbert McClinton is fantastic but Marcia's own voice and keyboard work are the keys to this CD. And, its out just in time for Jazz Fest. If you can, go see Marcia Ball in concert. If you can't, this CD may be the next best thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Long, Tall, Texas Shot of Blues, April 26, 2001
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Presumed Innocent (Audio CD)
Like fine wine, Ms. Ball continues to improve as the years pass. This CD is a wonderful follow up to "Let Me Play With Your Poodle" and lets her explore not only more of the Louisiana/Texas sound that has been the hallmark of her career but offers her an opportunity inject a hint of Memphis and some boogie, too. If you ever have a chance to see her in concert don't miss it. This CD may be the next best thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "talent in the purest form...Marcia Ball", September 8, 2001
This review is from: Presumed Innocent (Audio CD)
Think of boogie woogie, zydeco, piano skills unmatched and a great expressive style...the result is Marcia Ball...memories of past releases come to mind ~ "Hot Tamale Baby", "Gatorhythms", "Blue House", "Let Me Play With Your Poodle" and "Sing It", all on the Rounder label, composer of blues with lyrics pouring straight from the heart...I'm a big, big fan, and this latest release from Alligator Records ~ "Presumed Innocent", spells a winner.
From ballads to New Orleans blues, Marcia keeps them coming straight at you, entire CD is a must have...don't pass this one up...Can't say enough, except...we need more of the same...so spin this, sit back and enjoy, cause' Marcia's so happy when she's with you...you're going to have a ~ BALL!
Total Time: 52:53 on 13 Tracks ~ Alligator Records ALCD-4879 ~ (2001)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marcia as good as ever, May 15, 2004
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Presumed Innocent (Audio CD)
Marcia has been influenced by many different styles of music, predominately blues and roots rock but also including R+B, country and jazz - even some Cajun. You can find elements of all these in this album though some are more obvious than others. She has never been a prolific recording artist but her albums are all of the highest quality. This wonderful album, mostly of good-time music, shows Marcia singing as good as ever and backed by plenty of great musicians, although she only occasionally shows her dynamic skills on the piano.
The songs are mainly original (often written by Marcia) but also include covers of You make it good (a cover of an Allen Toussaint song featuring Delbert McClinton as duet vocalist), I have the right to know (originally written and recorded by Brenda Burns and also covered by Francine Reed) and I'm coming down with the blues (a Don Covay song from 1960).
Among the original songs, I particularly like Louella (on which Marcia makes more use of her piano than usual for this album), Thibodaux Louisiana (with a touch of Cajun). She's so innocent (an outstanding ballad) and You make me happy (a great song to close the album) - but every song here is brilliant.
If you like great rock music with a variety of other influences, this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 Stars Ain't Enough But It Is All That I Can Do, December 6, 2001
By 
J. Brewer (Oklahoma City, OK USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Presumed Innocent (Audio CD)
I am a long term Marcia Ball fan. Her music and piano boogie really energizes me. Recently she appeared in concert locally (Norman OK). I took my two daughters who are in their early 20s and who were not familiar with Ms Ball. They were both mesmerized by the talent and the music of this lady. Any of her CDs are a bargain. All of her stuff is fun. All of her music is hot ... hot ... hot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected, but I like it, August 9, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Presumed Innocent (Audio CD)
I was shopping in the Amaxon's Alligator web site and I saw Marcia Ball, I bought it on a wim. Not hard blues but good, fun rythm and blues. Great stuff. I don't have any others, but I will. Great Piano by Marcia, and great guitar, especially on Thibodaux, Louisiana, A great rocking tune. Delbert McClinton stops by on Scene of the Crime. If you like old fashioned fun Rythm and Blues this is great stuff...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just the Best!, May 9, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Presumed Innocent (Audio CD)
A great new CD by a longtime favorite of mine, Marcia Ball. Presumed Innocent showcases what her loyal fans have admired throughout her career, a deep passion for her music delivered with her wonderful sense of humor and elegant taste. A must have for Marcia Ball fans and all fans of good music! (PS The Doyle Bramhall you have linked as producer is not correct-the father, not the son, produced this album with Marcia.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Strong material, variable production, May 28, 2002
This review is from: Presumed Innocent (Audio CD)
It's refreshing to hear music that's sung and played by a serious musician: Marcia Ball's exciting New Orleans-styled piano and her committed vocals are a happy invitation to an uplifting listening experience. This album sounds like it was recorded...in an actual *recording* studio? Yes, the air is a little tight around the mike, but do I hear a real acoustic piano?
The highlight of the album is "She's So Innocent", a kind of album sub-title, a mello and sombre ballad beautifully rendered by Marcia. This is the quietest slow number here and the most impressive. "I Have The Right To Know" is reminiscent of the best of Percy Sledge, with a dash of Domino (as in Fats). Like many of the selections, however, it runs about one minute too long. The Don Covay co-composition "I'm Coming Down With The Blues" is a great addition. It's a lesser-known slow number and it's soulful throughout.
The best uptempo item is "Fly On The Wall", actually a mid-tempo. The arrangement is perfect with backing vocals well mixed. A contender is the Ball composition "Louella", somewhat reminiscent of Frankie Ford's "Roberta" [aka "Loberta"], a fun lyric about some chick's penchant for making private business public. Must make a nice *set* entry.
"Count The Days" has an entertaining hook, but the arrangement is third-rate. With lyrics presumeably derived from the Presley-related "Milcow Blues Boogie" and a chorus possibly based upon The Beatles "All Together Now" you'd think this track would cook, but the mindless repetition of "...one, two, three..." and the length of the tune leaves one perplexed by a poorly integrated novelty effect. Maybe a fun after hours sing-along but not a number to hold the third position on an album by an esteemed artist.
The CD closes with Marcia's "You Make Me So Happy", an engaging track which directs you right back to Track One. Perhaps by leaving off a few numbers and simplifying a few more the album would really cook. Still a notable effort.
[Marcia is included on the Island Visual Arts video "Let The Good Times Roll - A Film About The Roots Of American Music"].
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 15, 2014
This review is from: Presumed Innocent (Audio CD)
Very enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Presumed Innocent
Presumed Innocent by Marcia Ball
Buy MP3 Album$9.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.