Customer Reviews


91 Reviews
5 star:
 (67)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


66 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really cute... recipies are fun and yummy
My daughter is only 3, but she participates a lot in these recipies. Lots of fun.
The names they give the foods and the pictures also make children more willing to eat the food. If you have a picky eater he/she will surely eat the creations from this book.
I appreciate that they didnt use a lot of fancy ingreadiants or get too rediculous with cutting things into...
Published on March 24, 2003 by Heather

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only for a small age group
I can see where this book is good for 5-6 year olds, but beyond that age you need a better cookbook. I have three girls, ages 6, 8, and 10, who love to cook, and as each pass through the age group of this book, i I keep hoping they'll like it, but they prefer other cookbooks. I recommend the Williams Sonoma Kids Scrumptious cookbook below, if you have a good reader then...
Published 5 months ago by Amber


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

66 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really cute... recipies are fun and yummy, March 24, 2003
This review is from: Pretend Soup and Other Real Recipes: A Cookbook for Preschoolers and Up (Hardcover)
My daughter is only 3, but she participates a lot in these recipies. Lots of fun.
The names they give the foods and the pictures also make children more willing to eat the food. If you have a picky eater he/she will surely eat the creations from this book.
I appreciate that they didnt use a lot of fancy ingreadiants or get too rediculous with cutting things into shapes etc. like many kid's recipie books
The hide-and-seek muffins are awsome! they taste like shortcake w/ the strawberry baked right in!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Food for the Pre-Schooler's Soul!!!, August 3, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Pretend Soup and Other Real Recipes: A Cookbook for Preschoolers and Up (Hardcover)
What a find! Mollie Katzen and Ann Henderson have compiled a delicious assortment of fun-to-make recipes for kids. My daughter was THRILLED to be able to make and serve Blueberry Pancakes for Sunday breakfast. The experience was a terrific boost for her. You could virtually see her self-esteem growing as she presented her culinary masterpiece to us. She also made chocolate-banana shakes for dessert last night. The recipes are so well illustrated that she is able (at 4 and a half years old) to verify that she has included all of the ingredients. She is eagerly anticipating her next cooking adventure. I tip my chef's hat to the authors for combining real food with recipes that are truly suited for kids. Does anyone know if the Culinary Institute of America offers scholarships? I think she's ready!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun for parents and children!, April 4, 1997
By A Customer
This review is from: Pretend Soup and Other Real Recipes: A Cookbook for Preschoolers and Up (Hardcover)
"Pretend Soup" is thoughtfully written, beautifully illustrated, and a great introduction to cooking for small children. Each recipe has detailed instructions for the grown-up helper, followed by a two-page children's recipe -- step-by-step pictures and simple word instructions.
Unlike some other children's cookbooks, the recipes are all "real", healthful foods (Pretend Soup is a real recipe for a fruit salad in a yogurt/orange juice "soup").
This has become one of my standard gifts for the 4-6 year old birthday party circuit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Oh, SALT!", January 14, 2003
This review is from: Pretend Soup and Other Real Recipes: A Cookbook for Preschoolers and Up (Hardcover)
This was my daughters response when she found the Zucchini moons recipe. She never ate them before, but now she knows tht salt is the secret! This book has a variety of recipes that kids (and adults) will enjoy...from Bagel faces to popovers to chocolate banana shakes...in easy to follow, kid and adult friendly format.
The recipes are vegetarian with an emphasis on health, they are not, however, vegan friendly.
Oh, and a tip on the oatmeal recipe...it's ready to eat sooner if you drop a frozen cube of milk in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Yummy family cooking time, January 21, 2007
By 
This review is from: Pretend Soup and Other Real Recipes: A Cookbook for Preschoolers and Up (Hardcover)
Mollie Katzen is well known in the food world for her involvement with the Moosewood Restaurant in Ithaca, New York. She has been creating recipes and writing vegetarian cookbooks for adults for many years. However, until she witnessed her son's preschool class making applesauce one day, she didn't think her three-year-old would have an interest in preparing food.

When she talked to his teacher, Ann Henderson, she discovered that the class cooked weekly. Something clicked during this conversation and she remembered her "play cooking" as a child, with her mother's old bowls in the backyard.

Several years later, Mollie and Ann teamed up to write a cookbook for parents and their preschoolers to use to experience the fun of early cooking at home.

Because this unique cookbook is designed for both adults and preschoolers, it does not follow traditional cookbook layout. First, the recipe is written traditionally for the adults to go through. Next, the recipe is written in a pictorial version for the kids to use. The authors also give tips to make these more fun and safe for the children. Ideas such as colored tape on the handle of the butter (or plastic) knife to teach them which end to hold, and creating a cooking station at the kitchen table where it is safer for the kids to reach using an electric skillet. Each recipe is presented in a colorful way, with ideas on how to introduce young and picky eaters to try new foods.

Recipes such as popovers, green spaghetti, bagel faces and pretend soup are simple enough to not confuse young cooks, but complex enough to inspire their imaginations and leave them with good, healthy fun food to eat. Each of these recipes has been made and taste tested by Ann's preschoolers and the book is peppered with quotes from the kids on what they thought of the foods that they made.

I'm looking forward to spending some time with the preschoolers in my life and trying out some of the fun food recipes found inside this fun little cookbook.

Armchair Interviews says: Fun time in the kitchen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adorable!, February 16, 2000
By 
Melanie "mongoliamel" (Cass Lake, MN, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pretend Soup and Other Real Recipes: A Cookbook for Preschoolers and Up (Hardcover)
This bright and engaging cookbook written and illustrated by Mollie Katzen will appeal to children of all ages, from the toddler dying to get his hands in the muffin batter to the 9-year-old just learning his way around the kitchen. Easy to follow illustrations demonstrate the recipes for the youngest "readers", while captivating cartoon characters liven the pages. Fun and delicious taste treats that were served to Mollie's panel of kiddie experts and passed the test! She's got the quotes to prove it. Adorable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great cookbook for kids!, January 22, 2002
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pretend Soup and Other Real Recipes: A Cookbook for Preschoolers and Up (Hardcover)
Before buying this book, my 3-year-old daughter had pretty much refused any kind of vegetable. She just didn't want to put anything remotely vegetable-like in her mouth. She got so excited when she saw the Salad Bar recipe. We immediately set to work and lo and behold...she loves it! Now when I ask her what she wants for dinner, her reply is almost always, "Salad Bar!"
Whoo hoo! Thanks Mollie Katzen and Ann L. Henderson! You've performed a miracle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a MUST for picky eaters, August 8, 2002
This review is from: Pretend Soup and Other Real Recipes: A Cookbook for Preschoolers and Up (Hardcover)
I am a mother of a 4 year old picky eater. My son would not touch any vegetables. Since purchasing the Pretend Soup, my son thinks it is a treat to read the cookbook at bedtime and decide what he wants to try the next day. The hind and seek muffins are his favorite. I am looking into buying the first book. Wonderful book, with GREAT pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspired me to want to buy an electric skillet, August 30, 2009
By 
This review is from: Pretend Soup and Other Real Recipes: A Cookbook for Preschoolers and Up (Hardcover)
I was curious about the title of this book so I picked it up and gave it a run through. I have children that are almost 4 years old and I come from a family that has had a long love affair with cooking and baking. That said, I found this book inspiring and encouraging when it comes to realizing that children as young as mine can really be involved in the actual cooking and baking process.

The book is really well made, and it comes with an assortment of simple recipes that are written in 2 ways: traditional directions for the adult to follow and simple directions created in picture form for the little ones not able to read yet. I thought it was a cute concept that includes the children in all facets of the cooking experience, from recipe to creation. But because there are two sets of directions for every ONE dish in this book, the book doesn't really have a lot of recipes. This book is more about layout than contents.

The recipes in this book are meant to be delicious AND nutritious (and inexpensive as a bonus), as most of them incorporate fruits and/or veggies, and they are all relatively simple to whip up, as this book wants caregivers and children to revel in the "experience" more than the dish itself.

As for the "experience," this book does a fine job of encouraging and suggesting ways (or things) that can make cooking in the kitchen a fun, educational, and enjoyable time for all. This is an actual COOKbook for preschoolers, too, as in some recipes need you to use heat to cook with, something you don't find too often for kids this age. In fact, most of these recipes are ideally meant for those who have an electric skillet, as this can allow the kids to feel like they are really cooking, and allows the adult more control over the hot surfaces. Of course, the recipes can be made from the stove and oven, but as I mentioned before, this cookbook encourages "experience" over everything else.

This cookbook also recommends that adults approach the cooking experience with preschoolers with lots of time, cleaning supplies, and patience, as children this age are very awkward and unsure of the process. Speaking with experience, I wholeheartedly agree. They give you some tips on how keep mess to a minimum, but you'd be suprised at what kids are capable of. :)

All in all, This is a great beginners guide to introduce cooking to little ones. It's perfect to open up and use on a slow, cold or rainy day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pretend Soup and Other Real Recipes, December 21, 2000
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Pretend Soup and Other Real Recipes: A Cookbook for Preschoolers and Up (Hardcover)
Pretend Soup is an outstanding cookbook for teachers, parents and most of all children! Ann Henderson and Mollie Katzen have written a true gem. Pretend Soup is an absolute CLASSIC! Truly child friendly and yummy recipes. I'd like to see more from this duo of writers: what a great idea to pair up an experienced educator & practitioner and a chef. When can we expect Pretend Soup Two! I am a seasoned educator and director and use this book often in my school.
PS I am not 12 as indicated above!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Pretend Soup and Other Real Recipes: A Cookbook for Preschoolers and Up
$17.99 $10.16
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.