Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a great read
Roy Shaw is a great character, with an amazing strength. This is how to prepare for a life on the streets, i recomend this to any teenager with an appatite for success.
Published on July 7, 2000 by jonathan ward

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but not my favorite book of the genre
If you are a fan of books about British gangsters/tough guys, you pretty much have to read this book, as Shaw is one of the most famous (or infamous) of that genre. Personally, this was not my favorite book of the genre. I liked it, but Shaw spent a lot of his life in prison, so naturally a large portion of the book talks about his time there and after a while it just got...
Published on August 18, 2008 by Todd Jones


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but not my favorite book of the genre, August 18, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pretty Boy (Hardcover)
If you are a fan of books about British gangsters/tough guys, you pretty much have to read this book, as Shaw is one of the most famous (or infamous) of that genre. Personally, this was not my favorite book of the genre. I liked it, but Shaw spent a lot of his life in prison, so naturally a large portion of the book talks about his time there and after a while it just got a little boring for me. I liked McLean's "The Guv'nor" better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a great read, July 7, 2000
By 
jonathan ward (savannah, ga United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pretty Boy (Hardcover)
Roy Shaw is a great character, with an amazing strength. This is how to prepare for a life on the streets, i recomend this to any teenager with an appatite for success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars life with a broken nose (ego), September 17, 2001
By 
the Kipper (Chas., SC USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pretty Boy (Hardcover)
this book will pass your time while allowing you to gaze into the pit of dimentia. roy's adherence to his own brutal codes and his colorful memories of the characters that made up london's miscreants. his life was hard, and his choices make that very clear. not to "pop" this up too much but if you enjoy the sopranos you'll probably love roy shaw -- prettyboy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Hard Life, January 21, 2000
By 
OM O'GRADY (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pretty Boy (Hardcover)
I read this book in one sitting. It has a fascinatting account of all the trouble and strife Mr Shaw went through. A tale of overcomming the darkest mental and physical abuse of leading institutes , and of how he has made the transition from barenuckle boxer to successful businessman. Well worth the money and a great read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!!! Fast read!!, October 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pretty Boy (Paperback)
This is a great book about a fighter I have never heard of before. What a life!! Man on honor as well. No guns or knives. Just fists
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A must read!, September 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pretty Boy (Kindle Edition)
one of the best books I have ever read. Action packed through and through. Shaw's life experiences are absolutely jaw dropping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Pretty Boy
Pretty Boy by Roy Shaw (Hardcover - Jan. 2000)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.