Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 13, 2011
I totally enjoyed this book and took the same amount of time to read it as Pride and Prejudice and Zombies but there are just some parts that don't mesh well. MILD SPOILER***** In P&P&Z the refer to their Master as Master Lui however in this book his name is Geoffrey Hawksworth? Not sure why that was so hard to correlate that! I also had problems believing Jane would ever want to step foot in Netherfield Park after everything that happens in this book, much less become it's mistress even for a short time! Overall, this was a good book, but it is obvious that the same author didn't write both books. Read it though, I really enjoyed it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 9, 2010
I must admit, after my thorough enjoyment of PP&Z I had rather high hopes. Perhaps a bit too high, because while I did like Dawn of the Dreadfuls, it lacked the charm that its precursor had. Without Jane Austen's words to play with, the story becomes a fun romp through a Regency-era England with zombies lurking around every corner and in every pond- but I was not delighted, merely mildly entertained.

The book could have stood alone easily enough, had the names of the main characters been changed. I think I should have liked it better that way... it seemed to me as if Miss Austen's characters were not acting true to themselves.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon May 20, 2010
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The rethinking of Austen's Pride & Prejudice to include zombies was a masterwork: Pride and Prejudice and Zombies: The Classic Regency Romance - Now with Ultraviolent Zombie Mayhem!. This book is a wholly original prequel, unfettered by the constraints of Austen's narrative.

I enjoy zombie-based horror/suspense fiction, and this book does a good job of creating a believable narrative with robust character development. It is unique to read about battling them in a time before automatic weapons, computers, and other high-tech gadgetry, and creates a palpable air of suspense.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 1, 2010
Such a deliciously quirky premise should be deftly handled and true to the original, or it just slides into drivel. Although this promising idea had a pretty solid beginning, it very quickly did the sliding. It's NOT HARD to mimic the voice of a 19th century heroine if you've read more than one Jane Austin novel. To willfully ignore the way people spoke, to flout the courtesies they gave and expected, to use bad grammar and awkward syntax just makes the book heavy going and ultimately impossible to read.

Too bad. Great idea.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon August 17, 2010
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Going into this book my expectations were low. Part of a continuing series of gimmick novels, riding on the success of the original P&P&Z mashup, this novel met those low expectations and did little more. There are more zombies than in the first book but the writing is not as good and the story is featherweight. If you loved the first book you will probably enjoy this one as well, but expect diminishing returns.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 12, 2015
decent product, decent price, fast, no complaints
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 7, 2012
I LOVE Pride and Prejudice, and I love zombies so one would think that this would be a slam dunk... nope. What made Pride and Prejudice and Zombies work was that it was so clever and fresh, but now it's been done and this prequel just seems ridiculous. I had a hard time reading this and would not recommend it to Austin fans OR zombie fans. Skip it and try something fresh like The Zen of Zombie (Scott Kenemore)or Alive Inside (LV Dunn).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2010
this was alot better than pride and prejudice and zombies...i thought it would lead up to pride and prejudice and zombies but i was once again wrong... this could of been a different book if he just changed the names around. but on the good side, it was a acutally fun book to read...

unlike his others
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 11, 2010
Everyone knows that it is in bad form to leave in the middle of a funeral; it is even more distasteful when it is your funeral. However, Dreadful Mr. Ford no longer cares about the rules of Polite Society so he tries to walk out in his funeral. Thus teenager Elizabeth Bennet sees her first you know what; as saying that profane word is unacceptable.

Her father Mr. Bennet fought in the zombie war, but retired after the Dreadfuls were defeated. With their return, he trains his daughters in the use of the deadly arts. Jane is the most compassionate yet compliant while Elizabeth is the most excited, but alas not the best pupil as she prefers a direct application of force. As the new outbreak turns pandemic since the recently departed kept their heads, the Bennet brood and a hundred or so inexperienced rookies prepare for combat although Elizabeth is a bit distracted by several males including her warrior instructor, a scientist and an aristocrat. However, Elizabeth hardens her heart into that of a fighter although she and her sisters become outcasts as fighting is a man's responsibility.

The latest over the top of Big Ben Jane Austen starring in another novel is an amusing zombie historical fantasy. The story line is fast-paced from the moment Mr. Ford decides to leave his funeral and never slows down as heads are sliced in the zombie war. Readers will enjoy the teenage escapades of Jane (and her siblings) as she learns to fight zombies and living males in Steve Hockensmith's zany prequel (see Seth Grahame-Smith's Pride and Prejudice and Zombies; the writer has also starred in Ben H. Winters' Sense and Sensibility and Sea Monsters).

Harriet Klausner
77 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 28, 2010
This is a great prequel to "Pride and Prejudice and Zombies." I do wish the zombies could get a chance to munch on Mrs. Bennett. Perhaps the zombies feel that they would starve to death as Mrs. Bennett has no brains? Another fine addition to the classics take-offs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.