Automotive Deals Best Books of the Month Shop Women's Clothing Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Enter for the chance to win front row seats to Barbra Streisand Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
14
Format: Audio CD|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 9, 2007
If for no other reason, buy this strictly for the La Villa Strangiato cover. It is obvious to me that Steve uses this song as a warm-up; for he effortlessly shreds this composition from top to bottom in a truly unique and fresh way. I never thought it possible to improve on this song; but somehow Steve's guitar aggressively explores a new dimension - all in the spirit of the Rush original.

Aside from this cover, almost all other songs layer creative and fresh musical compositions that both sound good and demonstrate Steve's amazing musicianship.

Other talented guitarists aim to prove their worthiness by cramming a bazillion sixty-fourth notes into each passing measure. Steve knows better.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 8, 2005
While not the best way to get started on your collection of Steve Morse's music, for those of us who have everything else, it is a way to hear a cut or two you may not have.

I didn't have the RUSH tribute cut in my collection, for example.

Any Steve Morse cut is worth having.

By the way, I just got to see Deep Purple again and that may be another way to add to your collection of Steve's music. All of their material from the last 10 years is heavily laced with Steve's influence.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 8, 2015
Steve Morse is one of my favorite composers and guitarists, he's got chops and heart, doesn't bury an idea in his colossal technique but isn't afraid to shred it when it's appropriate. His unique command of the guitar is instantly identifiable, a mark of the true musician. This compilation covers a lot of timeframes and stylizations, the record Split Decision may be a more cohesive grouping on its own, but I enjoy almost anything by Morse.

His contribution to the band Deep Purple over the last decade sorta reminds me a little of what Joe Walsh did for the Eagles, much mo betta after than before.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 18, 2008
Any product containing Steve Morse music earns five stars for that fact alone. Add some video, and you've got a great deal. I should mention that all nine of the songs offered here are available on separate releases, each containing stellar music by Steve and other artists.

My list of sources: "Prognosis" and "Led On" can be found on Major Impacts (2000); "Air On A 6 String" and "Wooden Music" can be found on Major Impacts 2 (2004); "Heightened Awareness" and "Busybodies" can be found on Split Decision (2002). These are all Steve Morse or Steve Morse Band projects and are must-have CDs for the serious Morse-ophile!

"Quantum Soup" is available on the Jordan Rudess CD entitled Feeding the Wheel (2001). I have not heard the CD (outside of that tune) but will be ordering it soon. "La Villa Strangiato" is from a '96 Rush tribute CD entitled Working Man. "The Clap" is from a '95 Yes tribute CD entitled Tales from Yesterday, which also features Steve's rendition of "Mood for a Day". Neither CD is a standout, but worth a couple bucks used.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 20, 2011
He's the lead guitarist from the Dixie Dregs, who I used to go see at the Georgia theater in Athens Georgia in the late 1970s. This guy is the real deal, and you won't find a more talented guitarist in any style. He's jazzy, fusion, rock, you name it. Very accurate, very subtle. Very much worth listening to.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 13, 2005
I just bought "Prime Cuts" and "Rapture of the Deep" by Deep Purple (featuring Morse on guitar). Both albums are enjoyable in different ways. "Prime Cuts" shows off Steve's guitar work on this instrumental disc. "Rapture of the Deep" shows Steve blending in with the other musicians of Deep Purple. A powerful rock album.

"Prime Cuts" = 4 1/2 stars

"Rapture of the Deep" = 5 stars
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 2, 2009
Excellent instrumental prog rock/fusion CD with melodic complexities. While the songs pay tribute to others, they are definitely seen through the artistry of "the Steve". The tunes flow effortlessly and, just when you think you've heard everything, bam! more impressive mastery of Steve's chosen weapon. His dynamic use of the fretboard makes this a highly recommended CD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 7, 2009
Steve Morse continues to amaze me. Ive seen him perform several times and I just stare with my mouth wide open. Now when I listen to his stuff I do the same. Any guitar player that tries appreciates his stuff. I reccomend any guitarophile get this album. Try La Villa Strangiato and youll see.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 26, 2011
Steve Morse is an accomplished guitarist no doubt, depending on your taste. This CD is one of his best works. If you like Steve Morse, you'll love this CD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 23, 2013
Steve Morse releases some similar yet interesting mixes of previous songs and some new ones. A great meat & potatoes SM release.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.