Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Reference
I am a pure G1 fan who purchased this book hoping to learn more about Beast Wars since I have only seen a few episodes. Prime Target gave me all the information I was looking for & a whole lot more.
The book exhaustively covers the mythos both comic and tv around the Transformers and Beast Wars. The authors cover all the essentials with a great writing and...
Published on June 30, 2002 by V. Ravindran

versus
13 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars save your money - thats minus 1 star
What is this written by GO-Bot fans?
Needs to be rewritten with out all the opinion and mistakes.
Facts, not opinion are what are needed in this book. Heck they think Ravage is a "Dog" did the do any real research when writing this. Sections in the book make wonder why they even bothered writing this book other then for profit. What did they get paid for every...
Published on August 17, 2003 by hk729


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Reference, June 30, 2002
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Prime Targets: The Unauthorized Guide to Transformers, Beast Wars and Beast Machines (Paperback)
I am a pure G1 fan who purchased this book hoping to learn more about Beast Wars since I have only seen a few episodes. Prime Target gave me all the information I was looking for & a whole lot more.
The book exhaustively covers the mythos both comic and tv around the Transformers and Beast Wars. The authors cover all the essentials with a great writing and presentation style. I found re-reading the summary of all the episodes I had watched years ago to be too much fun. What made it really cool is that the authors did not spare the criticism for the dumb parts. It would have been lame if they tried to take some of the early tv episodes too seriously (e.g. anything with Chip Chase), but they instead treated everything objectively and instead created a defining chronology of all things Transformers.
Having a single book that ties together comic & tv, Beast Wars & Transformers, pre-Movie & post-Movie, and UK comic & US comic, is really something more than I would have ever hoped for. I thank Mad Norwegian for making this book happen.
And Hasbro, if you are reading this, thanks to this book, I went out and bought a bunch of Beast Wars stuff that I never would have been interested in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Prime Targets': a Transfan's must-have, August 12, 2002
By 
Jeff Steele (Brandon, Mississippi; USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Prime Targets: The Unauthorized Guide to Transformers, Beast Wars and Beast Machines (Paperback)
I'm a 32-year-old, longtime Transfan. And I've been a Transfan since 1984.
PRIME TARGETS (a good book to have) has summaries of EVERY episode of TRANSFORMERS (including TRANSFORMERS: THE MOVIE), BEAST WARS and BEAST MACHINES...as well as summaries of every issue of Marvel US and Marvel UK's TRANSFORMERS comic-book series.
It's been YEARS since I've seen MOST episodes of the TRANSFORMERS cartoon. And, worse, I've NEVER had the chance to buy even one issue of the namesake Marvel UK comic.
But at least now, I get to read summaries of the US and UK TRANSFORMERS media.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT book! GREAT info, January 24, 2009
By 
This review is from: Prime Targets: The Unauthorized Guide to Transformers, Beast Wars and Beast Machines (Paperback)
short version....BUY IT!!!!!!!

i love this book.

it gives you a run down of EVERY episode from the very first one in 1984 to (at the time of printing) last one.

it gives you fun useless fact(others may not have liked them) that make it better then a dry listing of episodes airdates and descriptions. you can find THOSE an any number of internet fan sites.

it also covers all the US comic issues as well as the UK only issues and tried to help make sense of it all.

if you are a fan of those robots that transform...BUY IT!!!

there are a few spelling/grammar mistakes and one or 2 character errors i think but they are far and few bewtween when you look at the WEALTH of information that is included in this book and at a bargain price.

it doesnt have any pictures so if you were looking for a guide for the figures then this is NOT the book for you. there are many great examples of those elsewhere

what you DO get is the MOST comprehensive book detailing the STORY of the transformers and that is FAR more important and unique.

i know art was an issue but when you are doing an UNOFFICIAL release it is hard to get that;)

overall i have to say this is the best transformer book(and i have read MANY ones which were horrible). if you combined this WITH a book that has color pictures of toys then it would become my TF bible!!!!

(p.s. the author also has a book like this dedicated to g.i.joe. you'll love that one as well)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Transfans Dream!, July 10, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Prime Targets: The Unauthorized Guide to Transformers, Beast Wars and Beast Machines (Paperback)
This is the best book ever. It deals with character development on an episode by episode basis as well as giving plot summaries of the UK and US comics. The commentary is done by true TF fans who point out the goofs and bumpers with humor and a sharp wit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Knowledgable and interesting..., March 9, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Prime Targets: The Unauthorized Guide to Transformers, Beast Wars and Beast Machines (Paperback)
I really enjoyed reading this book. I have always been a Transformer fan and this book really helped me to grasp a little bit more of the Transformers universe. If you're a Transformers fan you'll like this book not only for its information but also for the authors rather random use of humor as well. Even if you aren't a Transformers fan this book is still an excellent knowledge base.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Transformers, December 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Prime Targets: The Unauthorized Guide to Transformers, Beast Wars and Beast Machines (Paperback)
A Christmas gift for my son this year that he asked for. He will enjoy this gift and get entertainment from it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, February 3, 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Prime Targets: The Unauthorized Guide to Transformers, Beast Wars and Beast Machines (Paperback)
Highly recommend .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars save your money - thats minus 1 star, August 17, 2003
By 
"hk729" (beaverton, OR USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Prime Targets: The Unauthorized Guide to Transformers, Beast Wars and Beast Machines (Paperback)
What is this written by GO-Bot fans?
Needs to be rewritten with out all the opinion and mistakes.
Facts, not opinion are what are needed in this book. Heck they think Ravage is a "Dog" did the do any real research when writing this. Sections in the book make wonder why they even bothered writing this book other then for profit. What did they get paid for every word? Unnecessary sections that detract form the book and make stupid points ... Pointing out physic mistakes as if the cartoon was the "real world" come on its a cartoon anything goes and then the utter bashing of some of the industries well know pioneers of cartoon stories ... why again why did they write about this subject?
DO NOT BUY THIS BOOK..save you money...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Just does not cut it., May 5, 2003
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Prime Targets: The Unauthorized Guide to Transformers, Beast Wars and Beast Machines (Paperback)
I got this book because I am a TF freak. I was expecting a good book and was severely disappointed. Better luck next time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Prime Targets: The Unauthorized Guide to Transformers, Beast Wars and Beast Machines
$19.95 $16.70
Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.