Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Songs of Summer Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 30, 2002
I am a pure G1 fan who purchased this book hoping to learn more about Beast Wars since I have only seen a few episodes. Prime Target gave me all the information I was looking for & a whole lot more.
The book exhaustively covers the mythos both comic and tv around the Transformers and Beast Wars. The authors cover all the essentials with a great writing and presentation style. I found re-reading the summary of all the episodes I had watched years ago to be too much fun. What made it really cool is that the authors did not spare the criticism for the dumb parts. It would have been lame if they tried to take some of the early tv episodes too seriously (e.g. anything with Chip Chase), but they instead treated everything objectively and instead created a defining chronology of all things Transformers.
Having a single book that ties together comic & tv, Beast Wars & Transformers, pre-Movie & post-Movie, and UK comic & US comic, is really something more than I would have ever hoped for. I thank Mad Norwegian for making this book happen.
And Hasbro, if you are reading this, thanks to this book, I went out and bought a bunch of Beast Wars stuff that I never would have been interested in.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 12, 2002
I'm a 32-year-old, longtime Transfan. And I've been a Transfan since 1984.
PRIME TARGETS (a good book to have) has summaries of EVERY episode of TRANSFORMERS (including TRANSFORMERS: THE MOVIE), BEAST WARS and BEAST MACHINES...as well as summaries of every issue of Marvel US and Marvel UK's TRANSFORMERS comic-book series.
It's been YEARS since I've seen MOST episodes of the TRANSFORMERS cartoon. And, worse, I've NEVER had the chance to buy even one issue of the namesake Marvel UK comic.
But at least now, I get to read summaries of the US and UK TRANSFORMERS media.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 24, 2009
short version....BUY IT!!!!!!!

i love this book.

it gives you a run down of EVERY episode from the very first one in 1984 to (at the time of printing) last one.

it gives you fun useless fact(others may not have liked them) that make it better then a dry listing of episodes airdates and descriptions. you can find THOSE an any number of internet fan sites.

it also covers all the US comic issues as well as the UK only issues and tried to help make sense of it all.

if you are a fan of those robots that transform...BUY IT!!!

there are a few spelling/grammar mistakes and one or 2 character errors i think but they are far and few bewtween when you look at the WEALTH of information that is included in this book and at a bargain price.

it doesnt have any pictures so if you were looking for a guide for the figures then this is NOT the book for you. there are many great examples of those elsewhere

what you DO get is the MOST comprehensive book detailing the STORY of the transformers and that is FAR more important and unique.

i know art was an issue but when you are doing an UNOFFICIAL release it is hard to get that;)

overall i have to say this is the best transformer book(and i have read MANY ones which were horrible). if you combined this WITH a book that has color pictures of toys then it would become my TF bible!!!!

(p.s. the author also has a book like this dedicated to g.i.joe. you'll love that one as well)
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2002
This is the best book ever. It deals with character development on an episode by episode basis as well as giving plot summaries of the UK and US comics. The commentary is done by true TF fans who point out the goofs and bumpers with humor and a sharp wit.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2006
I really enjoyed reading this book. I have always been a Transformer fan and this book really helped me to grasp a little bit more of the Transformers universe. If you're a Transformers fan you'll like this book not only for its information but also for the authors rather random use of humor as well. Even if you aren't a Transformers fan this book is still an excellent knowledge base.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2012
A Christmas gift for my son this year that he asked for. He will enjoy this gift and get entertainment from it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2016
Basic descriptions on tv episodes and comic stories. Funny because it calls out all the goofs and a lot of the book has misspelled words.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 17, 2003
What is this written by GO-Bot fans?
Needs to be rewritten with out all the opinion and mistakes.
Facts, not opinion are what are needed in this book. Heck they think Ravage is a "Dog" did the do any real research when writing this. Sections in the book make wonder why they even bothered writing this book other then for profit. What did they get paid for every word? Unnecessary sections that detract form the book and make stupid points ... Pointing out physic mistakes as if the cartoon was the "real world" come on its a cartoon anything goes and then the utter bashing of some of the industries well know pioneers of cartoon stories ... why again why did they write about this subject?
DO NOT BUY THIS BOOK..save you money...
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 5, 2003
I got this book because I am a TF freak. I was expecting a good book and was severely disappointed. Better luck next time.
22 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2015
Highly recommend .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.