Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent overview of ecological genetics!, April 29, 2005
By 
Jennifer E. Smith (East Lansing, MI, U.S.A.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Primer of Ecological Genetics (Paperback)
I am a graduate student studying behavioral ecology. I have taken courses in ecological genetics and evolutionary ecology. Most professors don't use a text book of any sort when teaching on these topics. This book is an excellent reference for learning the fundamentals about these topics. It includes current and classic examples from the primary literature as well as a carefully constructed glossary of terms. I highly recommend this resource to both professors teaching courses to upper level undergraduates and graduate students!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to Understand Textbook, November 6, 2006
This review is from: A Primer of Ecological Genetics (Paperback)
This is a great textbook that could easily be used in any evolution or genetics class. It clearly describes issues like evolution and natural selection in the context of ecological genetics. The examples are interesting and stay in the reader's mind, and the problem sets and online answers are a great resource. This book also serves as a handy reference guide anytime you need to find a formula or definition. It's appropriate for upper level undergraduate courses or introductory graduate courses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Resource, May 17, 2009
By 
This review is from: A Primer of Ecological Genetics (Paperback)
Rarely do you encounter a technical book that you actually enjoy reading cover to cover. Beyond the content, which is superb, structurally this is the best written and organized textbook I've ever used. The prose is clear, clean, concise, while still being comprehensive, with well thought out examples. Anyone doing pop. gen. or eco. gen. should have this on their bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good book, January 27, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Primer of Ecological Genetics (Paperback)
The book is has an impressively concise and complete at the same time without loosing any explanatory power. As stated, it's a great reference book for concepts or formulas. It seems like everything is just right where it should be. I was a senior undergrad who hadnt taken a statistics or an ecology course before when I used this book and I understood it fine, a testament to the authors writing ability.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I recommend it., September 2, 2013
This review is from: A Primer of Ecological Genetics (Paperback)
It help me alot to understand the basic concepts in population genetics. It's a great book for those who want to study the fields of genetics and ecology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars it is a quite good book to buy, September 20, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Primer of Ecological Genetics (Paperback)
This book is very good I think because the organisation of the book is nice and concepts in the book are well interpreted by comparing and tips for notice. The not large content of the book is also its advantage, you won't spend much time on the details that can make you more confused when we first get access to evolutionary ecology.
So my recommendation may be helpful if you have some interest on it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, January 23, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Primer of Ecological Genetics (Paperback)
The book arrived in perfect conditions which had me worried since it was paperback and those usually get roughed around in the mail. The book was new as announced and arrived in a timely fashion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

A Primer of Ecological Genetics
A Primer of Ecological Genetics by Daniel L. Hartl (Paperback - February 1, 2004)
$54.95 $52.20
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.