Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Twist to Further Understanding of a Difficult Problem
This book delivers a good story without being preachy about the difficulties of peanut allergies. The Princess and the Pea analogy works, and makes sense. As a result, Regina comes to her own conclusions about how her choice of birthday cake will affect her friend's health and ultimately their friendship. A great book to use with "The Peanut-Free Cafe."
Published on June 16, 2009 by Mary Anne Beier

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The publisher set device restrictions which prevent the Kindle edition ...
The publisher set device restrictions which prevent the Kindle edition from being read on Kindle Paperwhite devices. Be careful when you consider this book and make sure it is compatible with your device.
Published 2 months ago by Michael


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Twist to Further Understanding of a Difficult Problem, June 16, 2009
This review is from: The Princess and the Peanut Allergy (Hardcover)
This book delivers a good story without being preachy about the difficulties of peanut allergies. The Princess and the Pea analogy works, and makes sense. As a result, Regina comes to her own conclusions about how her choice of birthday cake will affect her friend's health and ultimately their friendship. A great book to use with "The Peanut-Free Cafe."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great to help kids understand food allergies, July 7, 2009
This review is from: The Princess and the Peanut Allergy (Hardcover)
The book analagizes a tiny bit of peanut to a little tiny pea under a princesses bed in "the princess in the pea"-- helps kids to understand that even a tiny little bit can hurt. Also addresses some social problems kids might have regarding allergies. Really a sweet story that my two year old non-allergic girl loves even more than my four year old with allergies. I think it would be great for older children as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a good book, especially for those children who don't have allergies, November 13, 2013
This review is from: The Princess and the Peanut Allergy (Hardcover)
Regina has picked out the perfect cake for her birthday party, but when her BFF Paula tells her that she can't eat it because she's allergic to peanuts, Regina feels betrayed. However, Regina really doesn't want to hurt her friend, and realizes that friendship is more important than peanuts!

This is a very good book. Having a daughter that is allergic to peanuts, I really liked the lesson that the book tried to teach. And even beyond that, I thought that the book was excellently illustrated, and very entertaining.

This is a good book, especially for those children who don't have allergies - it helps them to understand their friends who do, and get the idea that they can compromise around allergies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love the Book!!!!, September 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Princess and the Peanut Allergy (Hardcover)
My daughter has multiple food allergies. She really enjoyed reading it. She also loves princesses. I thought the book helped her with dealing with her allergies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book for a teaching moment!, September 14, 2012
This review is from: The Princess and the Peanut Allergy (Hardcover)
"The Princess and the Peanut Allergy" is a great story for teaching students about peanut allergies and the dangers when a child comes in contact with peanuts or anything that may contain them. In this story, Regina, the main character, is having a birthday party and wants it to be princess themed with "a fabulous castle cake made with great big brownie bricks and ice cream cone and candy towers." The only problem with the cake is that it has peanuts in it. Regina's best friend, Paula, is so excited for the party until she hears about the cake. Paula has a peanut allergy and Regina didn't know about it. Regina doesn't know whether to choose the castle cake or her best friend for the party. They start arguing over the situation and then Regina tells Paula that she can't come to the party anymore.

When Paula gets home, she talks to her dad about what happened and says that she wishes she didn't have to tell people about her allergies. Her dad tells her to "always tell people" and "don't be a quiet little mouse." This is important because people do need to know about other peoples' allergies so they can stay safe. When Regina goes to bed that night, her mom gives her the book "The Princess and the Pea." Regina reads it and as she fell asleep, "thought about how that one little pea could be such a BIG deal," especially since the princess felt it through all those mattresses. The next morning, she thinks about what she thought about that night and decides that a peanut allergy was not going to come in between their friendship and she decides to go back to the bakery and order a cake without peanuts. In the end, Paula came to the party and they had the "best princess cake ever."

I would use this text in my classroom if one of my students has peanut allergies or if they have a best friend who has peanut allergies. Peanut allergies are starting to become more common now than they ever were. It can be very scary for a child if they would happen to come in contact with peanuts and their throat would start to swell. It's great that this text has Paula talk about a time that it did happen to her and what happened as a result. Also, I would ask the children if they have any suggestions on how we could help the child, who has a peanut allergy, stay safe in our school and make them feel comfortable. I would write them down so that everyone can see them and if they forget, they can always go back and look at it to refresh their memory. Maybe we could even talk about other allergies and how we could keep them safe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great book for kids with food restrictions!, January 30, 2010
This review is from: The Princess and the Peanut Allergy (Hardcover)
This book addresses food allergies from the viewpoint of a child not personally dealing with them. Regina is planning a birthday party, and becomes very upset that her best friend won't be able to come because of a food allergy. (Her friend tearfully tells her dad she wishes she could keep her allergy secret, and her dad is supportive that she did the right thing.) The book ends with the realization that the important thing is to keep everyone safe and have fun.

While not all kids can have such a perfect ending to food allergy outings, kids will see their own fears and frustrations addressed and dealt with by other kids their age. They also will see a satisfactory ending without any hard lessons involving epi pens and ambulances.

A great book to share with classmates, or in a group with a food allergic individual. (Or to use in any lesson plan dealing with tolerance and compromise)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book!, October 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Princess and the Peanut Allergy (Hardcover)
Absolutely love this book! My daughter enjoyed it as well. I think it's a great book for little ones who have peanut allergies and those with friends who have peanut allergies. This book should be in every elementary classroom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, February 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Princess and the Peanut Allergy (Hardcover)
I have a 5 yr. old that is pn/tn allergic and she loved it! We enjoyed it so much that we donated a copy to the local library. It's a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, December 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Princess and the Peanut Allergy (Hardcover)
A great book to help your child understand more about their peanut allergy by putting it into words they understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars My daughter loves this book!, October 11, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Princess and the Peanut Allergy (Hardcover)
My daughter is 3 1/2, loves princesses, and is allergic to peanuts and almonds. She LOVES this books, and wants me to read it over and over and over!

Some of it is a little silly, like how the main charactor didn't know her best friend was allergic (didn't she have a peanut-free lunch table?)...and how she asked for the cake to be made with out peanuts, in a bakery that uses peanuts, without worries about cross-contamination. BUT, that might be too complex for kids to understand, so I think this is a great book for preschoolers, and am buying an extra copy for my daughter's class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Princess and the Peanut Allergy
The Princess and the Peanut Allergy by Wendy McClure (Hardcover - March 1, 2009)
$16.99 $11.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.