Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Principle Of Evil Made Flesh
I can't say that this is my favorate Cradle of Filth release, but when you look at their other works and what this is up against (Dusk And Her Embrace, Cruelty And The Beast, Etc.), you can tell that I'm not insulting this release by any means. This is probably the closest to black metal Cradle has ever come, but that, of course, is up for debate. The fact of the matter...
Published on December 1, 2004 by Rebecca Lyle

versus
13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For Hardcore COF Fans Only
If you are thinking about purchasing this album on the strength of all the stellar reviews posted here, consider this: All these folks shelled out $27 dollars for a (somewhat) obscure black metal album. In other words, most of these people knew what they were getting before they order the album, and it met their expectations. If you are thinking this will be another...
Published on March 18, 2004 by Burning Babies


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Principle Of Evil Made Flesh, December 1, 2004
By 
Rebecca Lyle (Garland, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Principle of Evil Made Flesh (Audio CD)
I can't say that this is my favorate Cradle of Filth release, but when you look at their other works and what this is up against (Dusk And Her Embrace, Cruelty And The Beast, Etc.), you can tell that I'm not insulting this release by any means. This is probably the closest to black metal Cradle has ever come, but that, of course, is up for debate. The fact of the matter is that this is a dark, grimey, and cold release. They were definately out to make a statement in their first release, and I believe they did just that.

The music is absolutely fantastic. Everyone plays their part well. The keyboards are probably the most evil sounding keyboards I have ever heard on any album. Organ effects are mostly used in combination with the fitting, shabby production, you have the some of the most evil, atmospheric songs ever assembled. Another thing that I believe should be mentioned is Robin's bass work. As a bassist myself, I must say that Robin is a fantastic bassist. Listen to "The Forest Whispers My Name" for a good example of Robin's bass work. The drumming, done by the infamous Nick Barker who already showcases great talent, even for such an early release. The guitars are great, you even get a few ripping solos here and there. Dani's vocals are great. They are not quite as high pitched as you'll find in later releases, actually, a lot of his vocals on this release are quite deep. His lyrics are as poetic as ever, so fans of Dani's poetry will be fulfilled. Everyone does a great job.

All in all this is a great release for fans of dark music. I'm not going to call this black metal, like I said before, that is up for debate, at least for this particular release, but it is one evil ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For Hardcore COF Fans Only, March 18, 2004
By 
Burning Babies (Columbus, OH United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Principle of Evil Made Flesh (Audio CD)
If you are thinking about purchasing this album on the strength of all the stellar reviews posted here, consider this: All these folks shelled out $27 dollars for a (somewhat) obscure black metal album. In other words, most of these people knew what they were getting before they order the album, and it met their expectations. If you are thinking this will be another well produced, consistant COF album, it won't meet yours.
This album stands alone in the Cradle catalog as exhibiting poor production. That will no doubt appeal to the "true black metal" fans. If you are one of those, change my rating to 4 stars. In addition, Cradle's immaturity as a band stands out in this album. Many of the songs are brilliant, but executed poorly. Listen to Summer Dying Fast and The Black Goddess Rises on Bitter Suites if you want to here how amazing those songs can be. In particular, being able to afford something a little more high tech than a cassio toy keyboard helped. Nick Barker's drumming is pretty weak on this album as well. He improved immeasurably on the Vempire ep.
Don't get me wrong. The Principle of Evil Made Flesh definitely has its moments. To Eve the Art of Witchcraft actually works well with the rough production (in fact, its an amazing song). My suggestion is to steer clear of this one unless 1) you own everything else Cradle has put out, or 2) you are a black metal head who only enjoys music that sounds like it was recorded in your basement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars O sangue é a vida!, April 16, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Principle of Evil Made Flesh (Audio CD)
A masterpiece resulting from the excelent musicians and the great song-writing from Dani inspired in Bram Stoker's Dracula! They're the best in the style! This first album of the band is a mist of melodic and also brutal ambiance! Listen to "Black Goddess Rises" and "To Eve The Art Of Witchcraft"! Enjoy this CD in a dark place with a good stereo and your phones on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As far as i know, their best, April 15, 2000
By 
Heaven_Burner (Deposit, Ney York) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Principle of Evil Made Flesh (Audio CD)
What can i say, since i don't have their demos and bootlegs but have their other albums, i think this one is their best. The speed and heavyness are there, with the goth, somberness and melody. Dani's vocals are the most understandable and the tales he tells make you wish you couldn't understand him. This is exactly as it sais, the principle of evil made flesh. On the others i have a fav song, but not on this one. They are all great. I love COF and all their veiws and ideas, they are the best thing to hit the music world since Bathory. I'm ordering their DEmos and Bootlegs and can't wait to own them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sound quality not as good as recent tiles but still awesome!, April 21, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Principle of Evil Made Flesh (Audio CD)
This album has a fast pace to it with dark melodies and some orchestration which is the patent COF sound. A deffinate must if you are a COF fan. It is however heavier than Cruelty and the beast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good album, bad production, July 6, 2005
This review is from: Principle of Evil Made Flesh (Audio CD)
The year is 1994. An English band, with the lovely moniker "Cradle of Filth," are introduced to the world. Little did anyone know at the time, Cradle's debut, "The Principle of Evil Made Flesh," would be the start of a long line of controversial dark metal albums.

Everything that this band has become famous for (opaque riffs, blast beats, creepy interludes and spoken words, morbid/Satanic lyrics, and nails on the chalkboard vocals) is present here; but this album also differs from later albums (like "Damnation and a Day" and "Nymphetamine"). First of all, it may have to do with his age, but Dani Filth's vocals are lower and raspier, not nearly as high pitched. He often sounds like he's gurgling hot grease. Next, and more importantly, "The Principle of Evil Made Flesh" is Cradle of Filth's fastest and rawest sounding album, and it may be their coldest and darkest album. All of these songs are creepy to the bone and send chills down your spine. Finally, Cradle have sort of made a name for themselves by making concept albums (an album which tells a story). But you don't need to worry about following a story when you listen to "Principle," because it is not one of those albums. This C.D. is all about the music.

The title track has fast, running guitar riffs, an equally as fast drum beat (which gives the beat a thump), and some face-melting yells from Dani.

"Forest Whispers My Name" opens with downshifting, churning riffs. Some throaty yells, snarls, and a shriek follow, as do more fiery guitar riffs.

"Black Goddess Rises" has some more snarly vocals and heavy (albeit slower and repetitive) riffs, but this song is a standout because of the use of the piano at the beginning. Plus, a mini guitar solo is thrown in at the end.

"One Final Graven Kiss" has more pianos and what sounds like an orchestra.

"Crescendo of Passion Bleeding" has a beginning which could be a Slayer song. It slows down near the end, but the beat picks back up again when a scorching guitar solo makes an appearance.

"To Eve the Art of Witchcraft" switches back and forth between an organ and fast, sprinting guitars and drums.

"Dream of Wolves in the Snow" is one of the aforementioned creepy spoken word interludes. A demonic voice calmly utters: "Ah, listen to them, the children of the night. What sweet music they make."

"Summer Dying Fast" has a thumping drum intro. The guitars kick in and Dani lets loose some more yells like he's a tortured soul in Hell, but the highlight here is the pounding snare drums. Sometimes during this album (like with this song), the guitars are almost pushed to the back of the mix and the drums drive the beat.

Unfortunately, since it is a debut, and it was released on a small record label, the production is a very cheap, bare bones minimum. As a result, much of this album, even the heaviest moments, sounds faded and distant. To make up for this album's production (or lack thereof), you need to turn the volume level to ten and push your headphones closer to their ears.

In conclusion, "The Principle of Evil Made Flesh" is a good dark metal album and a great debut, but it is, ultimately, for diehards and collectors only. If you're new to Cradle of Filth or are only a casual fan, do not start here. Pick up "Midian" or "Dusk and Her Embrace" first, then, if you're still interested in the band's beginnings, come back to this C.D.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Here, is where it all started, June 21, 2005
By 
This review is from: Principle of Evil Made Flesh (Audio CD)
While I am aware that Cradle of Filth had more than one demo made by the time this cd came out (the demo's can be downloaded off of Soulseek. They even made an lp with a different label in 93 but that never saw the light of day and can't be purchased or found on Soulseek) So, what I mean by " Here is where it all started" is, that this was the first official Cradle of Filth release, which would be the start of an incredible career. This cd, doesn't have the production of future releases but isn't bad by any means. I mean listen to a Darkthrone album now that is some bad production. Also, many people have mentioned the price being a little bit higher than what most cds cost, It costs $27.49 through Amazon.com. For me though, you can't put a price on such an incredible album (and band). While this isn't my favorite Cradle of Filth cd. I mean look what it is up against. Dusk and Her Embrace(my favorite cd of all time) Cruelty and the Beast (2nd favorite cd of all time) and Midian (3rd favorite cd of all time) this however, is still a true masterpiece. It is differant than other cof releases, being that this is a debut they grew from this. I mean, some bands come out throwing little jabs but as the years goes by they become great and start throwing knockout punches, however, even with the slightly cheap keyboards (which disapear on future releases) cof comes out throwing knockout punch after knockout punch. Here is a song by song review below.

Darkness Our Bride (Jugular Wedding) - 5/5 One of the best cof intros/ insturmental tracks of all time. I love this and never skip it.

The Principle of Evil Made Flesh - 5/5 First full length track and it is a classic. One of the most well known tracks on this album. A re-recorded version of this song (along with The Black Godess Rises and Summer Dying Fast)were put on the Bitter Suite To Succubi(2001) ep.

The Forest Whispers my name - 4/5 Aother classic song,a re-recorded version was put on the V empire (1996) ep.

Iscariot - 3.5/5 Good insturmental not as good as the other insturmental tracks on this album but still good.

The Black Goddess Rises - 15/5 One of my favorites if not my favorite track on this cd. Incredible. Dani Filth hass amazing lyrics in this one. There is just something so hypnotizing about this song.

One Final Graven Kiss - 5/5 Another beautiful insturmental, the keyboards in this song never cease to amaze me.

A Crescendo of Passion Bleeding - 5/5 A song that definetly comes out swinging. This song reminds me of something you would find on the "Total F*cking Darkness" demo but with much better production.

To Eve The Art of Witchcraft - 15/5 This song, just held my attention from the moment it began, I love it. The best on this cd (even though The Black Goddess Rises is in a really close 2nd) the production which isn't as good as later cof actually helps make this song sound even more beautiful. Fast forward it to about 4:40 into the song to find out what I mean.

Of Mist and Midnight Skies - 4/5 Has a very eerie Dracula vampire type feeling to the intro. Takes a little while to get going but when it does watch out.

In Secret Love We Drown - 4/5 another eerie insturmental that is oddly calming.

A Dream of Wolves in the Snow - 5/5 an odd song, Dani mostly just speaks the lyrics still incredible with awesome keyboards. the lyrics in this song " Listen to them, the children of the night. What sweet music they make" would go on to be in the song Queen of Winter, Throned from the V empire ep.

Summer Dying Fast - 5/5 another classic from this album. Great drumming intro by Nicholas. The guitar solo is also a big part of what makes this song so great. Dani's lyrics are also incredible. Perfect closing song.

There is also an outro type hidden track.

The path to glory started here. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Principles of Metal on Plastic, July 1, 2002
By 
David Bauer (St. Charles, MO United States) - See all my reviews
This is classic Cradle of Filth. All the aspects are here: the stampeding drum beats, the lightning-fast guitar parts, and song structure that is lacking in many other bands in this genere. The only thing missing is Dani's trademark vocals, which are found in later albums. No matter. Songs like the title track, 'The Forest Whispers My Name' and 'Black Goddess Rises' are worth the price of the album. For real metal fans, especially Cradle fans, 'Principle of Evil Made Flesh' is a requirement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantasitc, July 28, 2002
By 
Daniel (San Antonio, TX) - See all my reviews
First off, I have to warn that the sound production is not the best part of this album, giving it a very rough sound as opposed to the digital sound quality of later albums. But this is some of COF's best material, including "The Forest Whispers My Name," "Black Goddess Rising," "Summer Dying Fast," and not to mention the blistering title track. The musicianship is flawless, with the minor exception of some of the keyboards, which sound a little bit like music from games like Zelda, not that that's a bad thing. Dani's vocals also had yet to turn into the piercing shriek he now has, but still fit the music very well. All in all, buy it now, order it if you have to, but it's well worth the price of admission. Check out "Dusk and Her Embrace" too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A masterful work, April 11, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Principle of Evil Made Flesh (Audio CD)
Cradle of Filth's first major release and it is phenomenal. As a pretty hardcore black metal fan I can say that this is great music. It combines a lot of really great sounds. Ranging from hard grinding guitars and piercing vocals to more melodic sounds and near whispered lyrics. An all around good album. Fav. tracks - The Forest Whispers My Name, Of Mist and Midnight Skies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Principle of Evil Made Flesh
Principle of Evil Made Flesh by Cradle Of Filth (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.