Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The right stuff!
Alright! Listen ! if you want a book to help you with your Biochem PhD. this is not the one for you . But If you want to learn Biochem in a very clinically relevant way, look no further! Dr. Meisenberg has a very clear grasp of the material and conveys it well in this book. this is a book for medical students. if you are one .. you know as well as I do that we want to...
Published on February 22, 2010 by DocsRock

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Numerous Basic Errors
The error start in the second and third formulae in Chapter 1 (page 4). Both confuse the number (mol) and concentration (molarity), which any person who has had general chemistry should discover. In addition, it incorrectly states that it is 1 in 5 million molecules of water dissociate; it is correctly 1 in 555 million, which any person capable of basic math should...
Published on August 25, 2010 by John


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The right stuff!, February 22, 2010
Alright! Listen ! if you want a book to help you with your Biochem PhD. this is not the one for you . But If you want to learn Biochem in a very clinically relevant way, look no further! Dr. Meisenberg has a very clear grasp of the material and conveys it well in this book. this is a book for medical students. if you are one .. you know as well as I do that we want to learn Biochem just enough to use it clinically and to do well on the USMLE. The Clinical associations and illustrations in this book make it just right for that purpose. Along with a bit of
Dr. meisenberg's intelectual humor, it makes biochem almost palatable!(You'll catch it in there here and there). You WILL find in this book all the info needed to rock the step ( as I did) in a short, fun, no fluff format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Textbook, December 26, 2001
By 
Jeremy Reeves (Memphis, TN United States) - See all my reviews
The author, Dr. Meisenberg, actually teaches Biochemistry at the medical school I attend. I found the text very well formatted and the illustrations extremely helpful. I personally read this book from cover to cover and along with the BRS, I think Biochemistry doesn't have to be a painful experience. Meisenberg integrates metabolism and other important subjects into several chapters to re-emphasize key points over and over. Many elaborate illustrations and graphs make learning hard to remember facts easier, and with the help of pertinent biochemical clinical facts you'll soon find relevance in a clinical setting far from the classroom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great MEDICAL Biochemistry Textbook, May 9, 2007
This book is designed to educate medical students. It is easy and if you do the questions at the end of the chapters it helps you have a sound foundation of medical biochemistry. It is CLINICALLY oriented!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for medical students, October 25, 2009
I love this book - I would not, however, use this as your only biochem text book (I would also get Lippincott or the First Aid General Principles book). This book seems like it was written knowing where medical students run into problems. The book explains things simply and in a relatively easy to understand way. I also like the clinical applications in this book - not only is the biochemistry taught, but it also provides some clinical information as well. I didn't really like this when I was an M1, but now as I'm studying for my boards, I love it. I'll definitely reference this book for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Textbook, December 26, 2001
By 
Jeremy Reeves (Memphis, TN United States) - See all my reviews
The author, Dr. Meisenberg, actually teaches Biochemistry at the medical school I attend. I found the text very well formatted and the illustrations extremely helpful. I personally read this book from cover to cover and along with the BRS, I think Biochemistry doesn't have to be a painful experience. Meisenberg integrates metabolism and other important subjects into several chapters to re-emphasize key points over and over. Many elaborate illustrations and graphs make learning hard to remember facts easier, and with the help of pertinent biochemical clinical facts you'll soon find relevance in a clinical setting far away from the classroom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Numerous Basic Errors, August 25, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The error start in the second and third formulae in Chapter 1 (page 4). Both confuse the number (mol) and concentration (molarity), which any person who has had general chemistry should discover. In addition, it incorrectly states that it is 1 in 5 million molecules of water dissociate; it is correctly 1 in 555 million, which any person capable of basic math should discover. Numerous basic errors repeat to the end of the text. The number of basic errors in the text should cause doubt of its validity. Use Berg or Lehninger or Devlin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not so great, September 21, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book was required for my biochem. course and I would not recommend it for someone who it learning the information for the first time or who has not had a biochemistry course. It is highly condensed and would probably be great if studying for the USMLE, COMLEX etc b/c it is more of a review. A lot of details that are needed to understand the basic concepts are left out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, May 30, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have had the honor of having the author as a teacher in Medical School. He is a very smart man in all aspects of Medical Biochemistry. More straight-forward and clinical than most other texts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Alright, now we're talking, August 13, 2014
By 
This review is from: Principles of Medical Biochemistry: With STUDENT CONSULT Online Access, 3e (Paperback)
Arrived on time, etc ......... highly useful, etc etc etc ........... met and continues to meet expectations (and then some).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, October 31, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Principles of Medical Biochemistry: With STUDENT CONSULT Online Access, 3e (Paperback)
Lots of great information in this textbook. Very high level of knowledge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Principles of Medical Biochemistry: With STUDENT CONSULT Online Access, 3e
$77.95 $52.01
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.