Professional restaurant supplies Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_cbcc_7_fly_beacon $5 Albums Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Gifts for Mom to look and feel great Mother's Day Gifts Amazon Gift Card Offer bschs2 bschs2 bschs2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl ReadyRide Bikes from Diamondback Learn more

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$13.27+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 21, 2012
Me cosidero un completo admirador de Ruiz Zafon, pero "El prisionero del Cielo" es un material que debimos tener tanto en La Sombra del Viento como en El Juego del Angel.
Me cuesta, encontrar una razon para que no fuera asi, solo me queda pensar que fuera cuestion de editores, y demas personajes que giran en derredor de un escritor, y que después se vio que, podia constituir algo mas que ofrecer de la magnifica pluma del Sr.Zafon. Por demas esta decir que es una lectura deliciosa, como nos tiene acostumbrado este gran escritor. Como una nueva novela? ....No se acerca ni remotamente a las que le precedieron.
0Comment|38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 4, 2012
Excelente, pero a diferencia de los dos anteriores, este te deja con las ganas!! ESPERANDO CON ANSIAS!! Y Fermin Romero de Torres mi favorito!!
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2012
Nuevamente Ruiz Zafón nos sorprende con otro tomo de la serie del cementerio de los libros olvidados. Su narrativa es tan fluida e interesante, que si dispone de una tarde completa, es posible leerlo y gozarlo. Su relación con eventos pasados es tan real y creíble que obligadamente hay que recurrir a La sombra del viento. Si no ha leído este libro antes, es recomendable, más no necesario. ES la novela que tiene menos páginas de las dos anteriores, y al parecer faltan más por venir. ¡Es un libro que hay que leer!
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 21, 2012
A powerfully written story at the start of the 20th century centered in the beautiful city of Barcelona, Spain, the character development, prose, and gently flowing story line kept my interest throughout the book this is one in a trilogy relating to the same characters, and intertwining the plots of the different books. It leaves you hanging waiting for the next volume to come.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 24, 2014
Firs, although this book is #3 in The cemetery of forgotten books series, you don’t need to have read the previous two in order to read this one.

Ruiz Zafon has written each book (The shadow of the wind, The angel’s game and now The prisoner of heaven) to stand individually. Of course, all three of them use the same characters (Daniel, Fermin, etc.) and at some point they cross path, but each book can be read individually.

In The prisoner of heaven, eloquent Fermin receives the visit of a dark friend from the past. His appearance plunges Fermin and his friend Daniel into a dangerous adventure that started twenty years ago with a man in a prison who the inmates called “the prisoner of heaven.” Why is he in jail and why Mauricio Valls, the director of the jail hates him so much? That and how Fermin comes into the story is narrated in a novel full of intrigue and suspense.

The book is set in Barcelona, during Spain’s Civil War (1938-1939); a period where you were incarcerated for just having the wrong thoughts about Franco, the dictator. This political turmoil reminded me of The feast of the goat by Mario Vargas Llosa.

I was totally immerse in the story and was very disappointed to see that Valls didn’t pay for his crimes! Of course, this is all for another book, not less.

What I enjoyed most (as with the previous books) was Fermin’s dialogue. Alas! The man has a way with words that just made me read his lines twice and laugh out loud!

For those of us who had read Ruiz Zafon’s two previous books, The prisoner of heaven holds a nice surprise. But don’t worry, you’ll be equally surprised by just reading this one too :-
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 4, 2012
Al principio me costó engancharme en las letras de este libro, estaba desesperada por saber a dónde llevaría esta nueva trama y de pronto empiezan a aparecer personajes y situaciones mencionadas en los libros anteriores y no pude hacer nada más que devorar el libro. Este es el enlace entre la Sombra del Viento y el Juego del Ángel. Siempre hay intriga, fluidez y una historia atrapante.

Disfruté mucho volver al Cementerio de los Libros Olvidados, la magia y el secreto que hay en ese lugar se mantiene y continuará en la siguiente entrega. Me gustó ahondar más en la historia de Fermín, en cómo se entrelazan las vidas de los personajes. Algo que he valorado mucho en este libro ha sido la amistad entre Daniel y Fermín, realmente es conmovedora y dan deseos de tener una amistad así de incondicional.

No quisiera esperar tanto para el siguiente libro, el desenlace de todo que explicará muchas cosas (a mi parecer) de El Juego del Ángel. Extrañaré mucho las visitas al Cementerio de los Libros Olvidados.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 12, 2014
Veo una enorme influencia de Umberto Eco y de Jorge L. Borges. ciertos párrafos son sublimes... otros... tan solo "llena" papel. Esto es tan solo mi opinión, luego de leer buenos libros por más de setenta años. Exageradamente largo
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 25, 2012
I was a little disapointed with this book. I read the other two in english and this one in spanish. Maybe that was the reason why I did not like it too much. I think that the Spanish from Spain (although very beautiful) seems to have a more serious tone and is diferent than the Spanish dialect of Latin America.
With that note I still think this book lacks the depth of the other two in the series.
Still "The Shadow of the Wind" and "The Angel's Game" are works of art and two of my all time favorite books from modern authors.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2013
I found the story intriguing and an interesting sequel to
Carlos Ruiz Zafon's earlier books, which I had read. But
I felt disappointed that the book did not go further. The
book ended on a sort of "to be continued" note, which
made me look forward to the next installment.

Despite this minor criticism, I enjoyed Zafon's witty
dialogue and sense of humor. I wish I could have
given the book a five star rating.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 21, 2014
Soy admirador del autro. Su estilo es único ysus narraciones muy por encima de lo que he leído recientemente. Su estilo romántico y a la vez lleno de suspenso, misterios y aventura, resulta en algo tradicionalmente moderno. Compré la trilogía de la serie y la recomiendo plenamente.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse