Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blu Review 5 Prison Break
Prison Break Complete Series Blu-ray Review

Distributor - 20th Century Fox - France

This will be the first Blu review for a television series.

First things first then, this set contains each and every episode from every season of Prison Break. From the Pilot episode, through seasons 1-4 and the Final Break epilogue episode, it's all...
Published on November 19, 2010 by Blu Review Obscura

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic TV show, but this item is not well priced.
Prison Break is/was a great TV show and if you have not seen it, then you should. This is one of the best TV shows to air on TV. Great cast, everyone can act. I will not spoil it in any way by talking about the plot (do they ever get out etc.), i advise you buy it and watch it, the production values are extremely high with Hollywood people like Director/Producer Brett...
Published 23 months ago by Consumer Advocate


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blu Review 5 Prison Break, November 19, 2010
Prison Break Complete Series Blu-ray Review

Distributor - 20th Century Fox - France

This will be the first Blu review for a television series.

First things first then, this set contains each and every episode from every season of Prison Break. From the Pilot episode, through seasons 1-4 and the Final Break epilogue episode, it's all included here in this set which is available as an import from France.

The set comes together in a square cardboard box which then lifts up to find a total of 10 Blu-ray cases housed inside. Season 1 is presented in the thicker type case which contains 6 discs inside and the rest of the series and final break episode are contained in the thinner type 14mm cases which hold approx 2 discs each.

As for the episodes themselves, although this is a French release, the episodes start from the main menu instantly playing with the English soundtrack and with no subtitles on display. This is a welcome surprise for UK buyers, as a lot of French releases come with burned in French subtitles so it was pleasing to see that this was not the case here.

Anyway, the episodes look fantastic, presented in a quality 16x9 1080p anamorphic transfer, there is no print damage on display and they really look brand new, which seeing as how the series is only a few years old, should really be expected after all.

The audio offered here is English 5.1 and DTS and also a French 5.1 audio option. The English 5.1 audio track sounds crisp and clear and is of a very high and clean quality.

For extra features we are given various commentaries,documentaries and making of features throughout the set.

As far as region coding is concerned Seasons 2 - 4 and the Final Break are all listed as region A,B & C while strangely Season 1 is listed as B only. I did try Season 1 in my dedicated US Blu-ray player and it played without a problem, so make of that what you will.

Ultimately the best thing about this release is not actually the picture, audio or extras, quite honestly it has to be the price. Up until now only Seasons 1, 3 and the Final Break have been released on Blu- ray in the United States or in the UK and they are not the cheapest of releases. This box set which in addition contains 2 more full seasons than the separate releases, at the time of writing cost a total of Ł81 delivered to the UK from Amazon France. This is a fraction of the price on the separate releases and best of all you do not have the uncomfortable wait that you would have otherwise had, for the eventual releases of Seasons 2 and 4.

Admittedly Season 1 is the main one to own in this series, however for the price here, it is worth having the complete box set, which is all the Prison Break you will ever need and really is the last word on this already classic show.

I cannot see this set ever being bettered and even if a similar box set is eventually released in the UK or US, it will be a while before it is this cheap.

For the Prison Break fan, this set is an essential purchase, for fans of television series in general, you can do a lot worse than this series with the first (and best) season, being some of the best television drama for many years.
Ok, so the follow up seasons were not in the same league as the first and at certain times did tend to stray a little over the top, however do yourself a favour revisit this series and remember how good it was when it all began. At this price for a complete series which is excellently presented and with decent extras, you really can't go wrong.

Return once again to Fox River State Penitentiary for a quality TV drama, which will keep you guessing and on the edge of your seat from the very first episode.

BLU RVIEW OBSCURA - for reviews of those less mainstream titles find us on Facebook
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic TV show, but this item is not well priced., August 9, 2012
By 
Prison Break is/was a great TV show and if you have not seen it, then you should. This is one of the best TV shows to air on TV. Great cast, everyone can act. I will not spoil it in any way by talking about the plot (do they ever get out etc.), i advise you buy it and watch it, the production values are extremely high with Hollywood people like Director/Producer Brett Ratner (Rush Hour / X-Men: The Last Stand).

Crystal clear Blu Ray, on a large LED TV it looks impeccable.

Sadly though, this box-set, is not well priced.

Try this one instead, it is from France, but it is Region Free and it default to English for both Audio and menus.

Prison Break Complete Blu-ray Collection incl Final Break-23 Discs [French Import, Region Free]

The Show is 5 Stars, the price on this box set is not great so i gave it a 3 star, i would never give it a 1 star, that might scare someone away from great TV/Blu Ray watching.

I hope i saved you some hard earned money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars NOT really BLU-RAY!, December 12, 2011
I purchased this item really looking forward to getting the complete set on blu-ray since it is not offered in the United States. My item arrived beautifully packaged with both the box and discs labeled "blu-ray". However, when I took out a disc, the edges of it were rough like a standard dvd (blu-ray discs have smoother edges). I then put the disc in my blu-ray player and played it on my hi-def television. The picture also looked like a standard dvd. Just to be sure, I then took the disc and put it in my desktop computer which DOES NOT play blu-ray movies. It played perfectly. Finally I took the disc and popped it in a standard dvd player which also does not play blu-ray movies. Again, it played perfectly. Conclusion: These are not blu-ray discs as advertised. At least the set I received wasn't. They are standard dvd's that will play on any standard dvd player. If you order this item, make sure you confirm for yourself that these are blu-rays upon receiving them. I was disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Collection., January 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a review of the blu ray collection, not the show. The show is incredible, enough said. This specific collection is a foreign import and like many I was a little skeptical about ordering for fear it would be in the wrong language or wouldnt work in my blu ray player due to region coding. I was pleasantly mistaken as this collection is exactly what i have always wanted and at an unbeatable price. The collection includes all 4 seasons in single standard blu ray cases as the picture shows, as well as the final stand alone feature film "The Final Break" all packed in a nice cardboard sleeve. The ONLY thing that i could tell that would make this look different than anything you could buy off a shelf in a store in the US is the region code/rating logo on the front of each package (not a big deal). The cover art is different from the US versions but not bad. The price for this cant be beat, $80 for all 4 seasons and the stand alone film. Each season (if you can find them in store) will run anywhere between $15-20 for just DVD. Not all the seasons were released on blu ray in the US so this is about the only way to get them all in that format and they look and sound incredible. They played instantly with default language of English, menues are all in English. Like I said before, the only way you could tell this wasnt purchased in a store in the US is the region code/rating logo and the different cover art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works great USA, December 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I was worried about the fact this is a french release. As another reviewer said, this is no problem. I am half way through season four so I have had all but 3 disks in my blu-ray player with no issues. Special features are mostly in the form of featurette interviews with producers/writers and are not outstanding. Buy this for great picture and sound, but if you have a dvd copy, probably not worth the upgrade just for special features.

I am enjoying watching through the series again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Break for entertainment, November 13, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The quality of the entire boxed set is excellent. It made the purchase of my Blu-Ray player worth it. I had no problem viewing this region free version. The product arrived in excellent shape & well packaged. I missed this show when it was first aired & started watching the reruns on DirecTV and was totally hooked. I ordered the series when I got tired of only being able to watch 2 episodes a day which is how they were aired. If you can get over the credibility of the initial concept & just suspend belief & go with the flow I think you'll find this was, in my opinion, one of the best series ever on TV. One word of caution when viewing the final episode stop it at the point of "4 years later", then watch the "Final Break" episode. Then continue viewing the final "regular" episode. It will make the end clearer & make more sense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great show Full HD, June 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Each disc contains full menus 1080p video and dts master audio. This set is region free with a ton of special features. if you are looking for prison break in high def this is your set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Suspense!, May 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have seen all of these, but had to own it. Watching again with 81 yr. old step-dad. He really likes it too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good show!, May 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Never watched series when it was on-got hooked by a friend-glad to get it before it sold out!
Series that can be watched over and over!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love the series -- but the case for the dvds all broken in side, April 6, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love the series! never dull -- each show leaves you wanting to watch the next. the problem was the case holding the dvds for each season. each case when opened had broken pieces -- many.... not good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.